Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Police hunt Gerry Adams' brother over child sex abuse

• 18-12-2009 1:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭

The brother of Sinn Fein President Gerry Adams is wanted by police to face child sex abuse allegations.

Officers launched the manhunt for Liam Adams, who is in his 50s, after he failed to appear at a court hearing in Belfast.

It is believed he may have fled across the border, and it is understood gardai are assisting the PSNI with the search.

The 61-year-old republican leader has apparently urged his younger brother to hand himself in and has made clear the alleged victim - a woman now in her 30s - must get justice.

The West Belfast MP made a statement to police in which he expressed support for her.

The allegations are believed to date back more than 20 years, and Liam Adams, who had been living in west Belfast, has been questioned on a number of occasions by detectives.

The arrest warrant was issued last year when he failed to show up in court for a preliminary inquiry.

The Sinn Fein leader said he had been aware of the allegations about his brother for some time.

"Since the first day I spoke to (her) about the abuse she suffered I believed her," he told the Irish News.

"She must get justice. The only way this can happen now is through the courts. I have made a statement to the PSNI in support of (her)."

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/21/20091218/tuk-adams-brother-hunted-by-police-f858358.html

I heard this on the radio earlier, there was a plea by Gerry to his brother to hand himself in to police :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I didn't know his brother was a priest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

meh, why even bring Gerry into it?

He's not defending him or anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Fair play to Gerry for not trying to cover it up and deny it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

He'd hang his own brother for political gain... good one ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Gerry if he has any moral fibre should treat his brother like Sinn fein treat all pedos and Knee cap him.

Its party policy and we wouldnt want our dear friend gerry to be a hyprocrite now would we.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭imeddyhobbs

Was it Ian Paisley junior that he is accused of buggering?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

and if he defended his brother like most would you would say typical of him.

I did not expect any less but its worth pointing out that this is the typical hypocritical nature of afterhours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Was it Ian Paisley junior that he is accused of buggering?

Have you seen the state of him?

Id imagine he was one ugly baby.

I dont think even aul fritz would have a lash at him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

no doubt he was slipped a passport, a safe house and a few quid before gerry asked him to turn himself in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

WindSock wrote: »

.........which is rather out of character for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

So you wouldn't hand over your brother if he was a sex offender would you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

snyper wrote: »
    Gerry if he has any moral fibre should treat his brother like Sinn fein treat all protestants and Knee cap him.

Its party policy and we wouldnt want our dear friend gerry to be a hyprocrite now would we.

FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

In fairness, his brother was his brother was his brother. The allegations have nothing to do with Gerry, and he made the right decision by giving the statement that he did...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

No doubt he will be caught, get 7 years in prison, despite Sinn Fein claiming he should be released under the GFA and when he does get out, be greeted like a hero and whisked off in waiting cars to a lavish reception at a secret location.

Or is that treatment just for murderers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Police hunt Gerry Adams' brother over child sex abuse

Ulster says blow.....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

er..... if it happened 20 years ago... why is a case being put forward to the courts now? Is there that big a backlog?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

er..... if it happened 20 years ago... why is a case being put forward to the courts now? Is there that big a backlog?

Maybe she only came forward recently?

when he does get out, be greeted like a hero and whisked off in waiting cars to a lavish reception at a secret location.

I thought it was just for Brits....O - they don't get charged, do they...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

Nodin wrote: »

What do the brits have to do with the murder of a guard in the republic? Adams has helped protect murderers, terrorists et al for years, and has already been said, the brother is probably living in the Republic under an assumed identity. Gerry is simply using this for political capital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

The victims of abuse sometimes have a lot on their plate (funnily enough) and it takes time for them to come forward.

yes we do, bank robbers and cop killers are always charged and as far as I recall, not many have been treated to a party curtesy of an MP.

There are a few nasty thugs who have been welcomed with open arms into a minor nationalist party that no one cares about, but they are insignificant and despised by the majority of right thinking people....actually, i get your point;)

dan719 wrote: »
    , the brother is probably living in the Republic under an assumed identity. .

Because somebody said it on a message board?
    dan719 wrote: »
    Gerry is simply using this for political capital.

And if he didn't hand him over he'd be the worst bastard in the world...

You'd almost get the idea people had decided that earlier and were just using this as another excuse to get a dig in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

WindSock wrote: »
    That we know of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

Because somebody said it on a message board?

And if he didn't hand him over he'd be the worst bastard in the world...

You'd almost get the idea people had decided that earlier and were just using this as another excuse to get a dig in.

No because when your brother is the head of an organisation which has a history of hiding people (quite succesfully to be fair) from the law it seems reasonable to assume you'll be able to pull in a few favours.

yes we do, bank robbers and cop killers are always charged and as far as I recall, not many have been treated to a party curtesy of an MP.

What, like the lads in the 1970's that were hired to rob banks south of the Border? They were paid, not charged.

Didn't Nairac of Miami Showband fame get a posthumous medal?

That Para that shot two teenagers....they let him stay on in the army after his brief stint inside, didn't they? Wasn't there a few Tory MP's that campaigned for his release? Wasn't there a nice reception when he got out?
    bank robbers and cop killers are always charged

...but not troops, state sponsored paramilitaries or others who shoot/bomb Irish people, apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

a minor nationalist party that no one cares about,

If you mean Sinn Fein - you are way wide of the mark. The greens are in power with 2% in the polls, last time I checked Sinn Fein were at least a multiple of that. In the north of Ireland they are one of the biggest parties so not a minor party by any means.

What, like the lads in the 1970's that were hired to rob banks south of the Border? They were paid, not charged.

That Para that shot two teenagers....they let him stay on in the army after his brief stint inside, didn't they? Wasn't there a few Tory MP's that campaigned for his release? Wasn't there a nice reception when he got out?

Think I remember that one wasn't that pte Lee clegg ? Shot a catholic girl in the back of the head as she was in a stolen car. Then faked getting run over by the car and then had the tories campaigning for his release. Considering he was one of the very very very minor number who were actually ever charged that is pretty staggering.

No doubt he will be caught, get 7 years in prison, despite Sinn Fein claiming he should be released under the GFA and when he does get out, be greeted like a hero and whisked off in waiting cars to a lavish reception at a secret location.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Morlar wrote: »
    If you mean Sinn Fein - you are way wide of the mark. The greens are in power with 2% in the polls, last time I checked Sinn Fein were at least a multiple of that. In the north of Ireland they are one of the biggest parties so not a minor party by any means.

Presumably though Fred lives in the Republic and isint that interested in other countries politics !

Think I remember that one wasn't that pte Lee clegg ? Shot a catholic girl in the back of the head as she was in a stolen car. Then faked getting run over by the car and then had the tories campaigning for his release. Considering he was one of the very very very minor number who were actually ever charged that is pretty staggering.

The very man. A sterling example of the kind of person the parachute regiment seems to specialise in sending here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I wonder if people will cue up to shake his hand in court....

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Presumably though Fred lives in the Republic and isint that interested in other countries politics !

O he seemed interested enough to be able to compare here to Bulgaria at one stage.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

Could we not go through a history of Sinn Fein and talk about how another alleged paedo has slipped across the border so easily?

That's an important part of this story that needs to be addressed!!

ToniTuddle wrote: »
    and talk about how another alleged paedo has slipped across the border so easily?

What border ? Seriously there is no border except on maps. It's the same as going from one end of a road to another end of the road except with different flags and police etc. I think there should be a lot more co-operation between PSNI and Garda Siochana if that's what you mean - they should both access one system for ID'ing criminals, not interpol, just an all island database/system with completely transparent legislation where neither force is in any way hindered from getting their man.

ToniTuddle wrote: »
    Could we not go through a history of Sinn Fein and talk about how another alleged paedo has slipped across the border so easily?

That's an important part of this story that needs to be addressed!!

you're surpised about some one slipping across the border easily.....

You're sure you're in Donegal?

What border ? Seriously there is no border except on maps. It's the same as going from one end of a road to another end of the road except with different flags and police etc. I think there should be a lot more co-operation between PSNI and Garda Siochana if that's what you mean - they should both access one system for ID'ing criminals, not interpol, just an all island database/system with completely transparent legislation where neither force is in any way hindered from getting their man.

Exactly what I meant.

you're surpised about some one slipping across the border easily.....

You're sure you're in Donegal?

Har har :)

They should seriously be able to kept more tabs on someone who is being accused of something as serious as sexual abuse.
    If it had have been recently they would have gotten him no doubt.
    Probably because it's 20 years ago they drag their bloody heels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Ah, I see the usual are having a dig in.

RAR RAR SINN FEIN!!!

<Insert something sensible>

BUT RAR RAR, GERRY IRA SINN FEIN PRODS!!

<Offer genuine rebuttal>

RAR!!!! SINN FEIN!!!!!

<Roll eyes>

RAR??

dlofnep wrote: »

RAR RAR SINN FEIN!!!

<Insert something sensible>

BUT RAR RAR, GERRY IRA SINN FEIN PRODS!!

<Offer genuine rebuttal>

RAR!!!! SINN FEIN!!!!!

<Roll eyes>

RAR??

There's a lot of Ra in that post.

Shot a catholic girl in the back of the head as she was in a stolen car.

My gawd poor girl going around in a stolen car minding her own business......:rolleyes:

Can you just confirm - if the IRA shot protestants in the head (who were passengers in stolen cars) you would also approve ? Or is this a selective thing with you ?

dlofnep wrote: »

The usual on all sides will get their digs in.

O he seemed interested enough to be able to compare here to Bulgaria at one stage.....

I did :confused:

sorry.

was he the lead singer or something? what has he got to do with the Miami Showband, or are you getting your "Facts" from an phoblacht again?

Page 160 if you are interested in a bit more than Shinner propaganda
    Travers was unable to give a description of this Englishman, save that he was about normal height. He thought he had fair hair but couldn’t be sure. He was shown a photograph of English Army Captain Robert Nairac, but did not believe him to have been the man at the scene.

I don't what this has got to do with the British Army though, other than the shinners trying to come up with excuses for treating murderers like heroes, again. lets hope they don't treat peados the same way.

Can you just confirm - if the IRA shot protestants in the head (who were passengers in stolen cars) you would also approve ? Or is this a selective thing with you ?

To answer your question no I dont approve of terrorists shooting anyone (bar possibly themselves) regardless of irrelevent factors such as religion (or lack of)

Although if the person was shot while in the act of allowing themselves to be carried in a stolen vehicle I probably wouldnt be getting very upset about it.

To answer your question no I dont approve of terrorists shooting anyone (bar possibly themselves) regardless of irrelevent factors such as religion (or lack of)

Hmmm - So you think the british army should execute any teenager in northern Ireland who is a passenger in a stolen car yep ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Hmmm - So you think the british army should execute any teenager in northern Ireland who is a passenger in a stolen car yep ?

Since when did the British army need a reason to shoot a teenager?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

So you wouldn't hand over your brother if he was a sex offender would you?

Bluto 63 is safe anyway.

seriously though...that would be a really awkward situation.Fair play to Gerry Adams,that is one of the only goof things I can say about the lad...Mostly because I don't have a clue about politics:D

I heard someone say political gain.Do you reckon is it political gain though.It could be that he is using his status in the media to get a message across to his brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

So, if you were 10 years only in 1989, would you be able to make such accusations against Gerry Adams's brother over child sex abuse and think you wouldn't get into serious trouble?

Hmmm - So you think the british British army should execute any teenager in northern Notherrn Ireland who is a passenger in a stolen car yep ?

If other means of stopping the vehicle are not feasable under the circumstances then why not ?

Do you think the Irish army should be allowed to shoot bank robbers ?

If other means of stopping the vehicle are not feasable under the circumstances then why not ?

Do you think the Irish army should be allowed to shoot bank robbers ?

Well there is a difference between an armed robber and a teenager who takes a lift in a car which is stolen isn't there ? So you would support rolling this new policy out to england and Scotland, Wales etc ?

Well there is a difference between an armed robber and a teenager who takes a lift in a car which is stolen isn't there ?

None of any significance
    So you would support rolling this new policy out to england England, Scotland, Wales etc ?

Why not and lets add the Republic of Ireland while were at it.