Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking for an argument

• 18-12-2009 9:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭

Hello all, I'm looking for a good argument. I have narrowed it down to the following:

1. Digital is better than analogue.
    2. Mac is better than PC.
    3. Cheap mic pre amps are the same as expensive ones.
    4. Your mother was a hamster.

Any more suggestions welcome. My budget is €2.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Opposite day?

- Drav!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

Plugins are better than hardware .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

madtheory wrote: »
    Hello all, I'm looking for a good argument. I have narrowed it down to the following:

Any more suggestions welcome. My budget is €2.

I don't rate Hamsters at all. They're just glorified mice really. Granted, you might pick one up 2nd hand for €2, but why bother? I'd save for the next 10 years, then you'd have enough money to get something really worthwhile... maybe a 25ft Nile Crocodile... ya know, something to give your mixes that extra bite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭pistonsvox

behringer mixers are better made than midas's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭kfoltman

5. Transistors are better than tubes
    6. All Shure (or Neumann, Sennheiser, pick one) mikes are cheap sh*te
    7. Fixed point sounds much better than single precision floating point because it uses more bits per sample.
    8. 192kHz is a scam
    9. 24-bit is a scam
    10. Never ever {record anything DI | use EQ before compression | ...} because that's not pro
    11. Vinyl has better fidelity than CD, you just need a really good gear
    12. Analogue 4-track recorders give fatter sound when compared to DAWs
    13. Old music vs new music
    14. ITB vs OTB
    15. All cables are the same vs all cables are very different
    16. It's €0.02 not €2

kfoltman wrote: »
    5. Transistors are better than tubes
    6. All Shure (or Neumann, Sennheiser, pick one) mikes are cheap sh*te
    7. Fixed point sounds much better than single precision floating point because it uses more bits per sample.
    8. 192kHz is a scam
    9. 24-bit is a scam
    10. Never ever {record anything DI | use EQ before compression | ...} because that's not pro
    11. Vinyl has better fidelity than CD, you just need a really good gear
    12. Analogue 4-track recorders give fatter sound when compared to DAWs
    13. Old music vs new music
    14. ITB vs OTB
    15. All cables are the same vs all cables are very different
    16. It's €0.02 not €2

Jaysus - I'd hate to be a young lad getting into this business nowadays.
    You'd have no idea of which way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭madtheory

ZV Yoda wrote: »
    I don't rate Hamsters at all. They're just glorified mice really. Granted, you might pick one up 2nd hand for €2, but why bother? I'd save for the next 10 years, then you'd have enough money to get something really worthwhile... maybe a 25ft Nile Crocodile... ya know, something to give your mixes that extra bite.
    That's not an argument.

Yes it is.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,380 ✭✭✭fitz

You're an argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭tweeky

1. Analog and Digital are both good when you know what you are doing.
    2. Expensive mic amps are generally better than cheap ones, the one exception is when a cheap one records a great song... then it just doesn't matter!
    3. DI or mic, whatever works.
    4. They don't sell guitar tuners west of the pale and if they do they don't sell the right batteries.
    5. Bulmers tastes better from the bottle.
    6. Guinness tastes better in front of an analogue fire.

tweeky wrote: »
    2. Expensive mic amps are generally better than cheap ones,

If I might add a caveat - only if you're in a position to hear a difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭dav nagle

PC's are better and more stable than mac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

The Stones were better than The Beatles

old gregg wrote: »

We that's daft .... a copy cat bad blues band with a non-rhythymic drummer better than the inventors of Pop ? I think not ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭iamhunted

analogue computers are way better than digital ones

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    We that's daft .... a copy cat bad blues band with a non-rhythymic drummer better than the inventors of Pop ? I think not ...
    now back the truck up there ... inventors of Pop? more like an Oasis cover band :D

tbh, it took me many years as an avid Stones fan to finally concede that I could dislike the Beatles and agree that as songwriters, they were the better of the two. These days I'd not cross the road to see the Stones and stopped buying their output many years ago.

now back the truck up there ... inventors of Pop? more like an Oasis cover band :D

tbh, it took me many years as an avid Stones fan to finally concede that I could dislike the Beatles and agree that as songwriters, they were the better of the two. These days I'd not cross the road to see the Stones and stopped buying their output many years ago.

Are the Stones playing across the road from you? - Cool ... Tell Mick I said 'Hi' .

Then again Paul, today is Keith's birthday so I'll probably take out the old signed Exile vinyl and bang on Happy just for old times sake. As for Jagger, bah.

Keef is still alive ? Are you sure .....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

thank you argument over. bye bye...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Bluebirdstudios

Nobody uses beat detective in PT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭judas101

yes
    yes
    no
    no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

feckin 23 posts and NOBODY mentions clocking???????

For Shame!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭tweeky

Nobody uses beat detective in PT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oh yes they do,
    Oh no they don't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭dav nagle

Everybody who posts on boards are legitmate owners of all their software.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Rockshamrover

Westlife are better than Take That.

Da 'Zone are better than both ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭woodsdenis

Joe for no 1

woodsdenis wrote: »
    Joe for no 1

I think the lil tyke might have just made it !

Jeez, I was only joking...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Rockshamrover

Jeez, I was only joking...

That's what Adolph Hitler said.

Godwined in 31th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

Looks like!

That's the end of the thread so. Strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

Yngwie Malmsteen is better guitar player than Jimi hendrix,jimmy page and jeff beck were all sloppy players and didn't have a clue what they were at.

Polish girls are much fitter and sounder than Irish girls.

Mr Tayto is far nicer than walkers .

Nobody drinks guiness here.

Right! Stop that! It's silly...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭krd

Point of order and historical facts
    BumbleB wrote: »
    Yngwie Malmsteen is better guitar player than Jimi hendrix,jimmy page and jeff beck were all sloppy players and didn't have a clue what they were at.

Yngwie is the dictionary definition of Muso (Dictionary def of Muso- see dick)
    Polish girls are much fitter and sounder than Irish girls.

I wouldn't disagree with you. But it's a bit like saying Welsh birds are more attractive than Belgian girls - you're starting off on a low base - We're not even talking carling cup here.
    Mr Tayto is far nicer than walkers .

Mr. Tayto invented the flavoured crisp - historical fact - Without the Irish contribution there would be no cheese and onion - buffalo flavoured or salt and vingear crisps - There was a time when the only technology the Irish had was the potato, and we were the masters of that the tuber - it was all we had - The Brits only contribution was the prawn cocktail flavoured crisp - Because, let's face it - they're fags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

to bloody right they where. Good man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

Pepsi v's coke

brown bread or white

ipod v's walkman

big speakers v's little speakers

mac sucks my b*lls
    no my mother is not a hamster.

As for the argument which is better: Analog or digital

I think the best sounding album of the decade was The White Stripes's Elephant - recorded at toe rag

All though my interest in music and music production is purely as a hobbyist (and not a very good one) - I have a theory - that the visual distract of computer production takes away from the production process - Analog recording being a pure Shaolin monk art - which must be learned by a grasshopper at the foot of a blind master (a blind master being the ultimate sound engineer, as they have virtually no visual distractions). The analog art had many, many, magical tricks.

I think digital makes it too easy - so cookie cutter jobs keep being repeated, instead of great recordings

krd wrote: »
    that the visual distract of computer production takes away from the production process
    It is a factor, but probably not THE factor.
    Analog recording being a pure Shaolin monk art
    Yes. Or maybe being good enough musician (and/or producer) to be fit for analog recording is a pure Shaolin monk art.

If the engineer can't proceed with turd as an input, there's less risk of ending up with polished turd. You can splice an analog tape in a few places to repair an "almost-there" kind of take, but you won't do it when practically every note needs to be spliced.

I mean - years of learning required to be good enough to play songs so that they're "fit for analog studio" have various byproducts that also improve the end result - flexibility with rhythm (vs quantization), good grasp of harmony (vs a song based on 3 chords with identical voicings), intuition about response of future audience, things like that. You can't get the same with freshman (or talentless) musician and engineering tricks. Or, you can, but then it's practically about making the engineer do the musicians' job.

This thread was meant to be a pisstake, now it's being taken seriously...

kfoltman wrote: »
    It is a factor, but probably not THE factor.

Yes. Or maybe being good enough musician (and/or producer) to be fit for analog recording is a pure Shaolin monk art.

If the engineer can't proceed with turd as an input, there's less risk of ending up with polished turd. You can splice an analog tape in a few places to repair an "almost-there" kind of take, but you won't do it when practically every note needs to be spliced.

I mean - years of learning required to be good enough to play songs so that they're "fit for analog studio" have various byproducts that also improve the end result - flexibility with rhythm (vs quantization), good grasp of harmony (vs a song based on 3 chords with identical voicings), intuition about response of future audience, things like that. You can't get the same with freshman (or talentless) musician and engineering tricks. Or, you can, but then it's practically about making the engineer do the musicians' job.

No...

I disagree with you. And though this is very worthy of a much longer debate - I've been imibiding some magical fluids and am in no fit state to debate in a meaningful fashion.

Suffice

I will say - The studio engineer is an artisan... like a potter... a craftsman... an artist in their own right.

A potter has his wheel and his raw materials. And from that, with his craft, he shapes desirable objects.

So,

I will say - there isn't a meaningful and substantial difference between a lump of clay and a turd, apart from the smell. And I would expect any competent potter to spin a desirable bowl from either - 'sorry, man, this clay just doesn't cut it' just should not fly.

I am obvioulsy the only one here with any talent or integrity, the rest of yiz are bozos

so now...

I will say - there isn't a meaningful and substantial difference between a lump of clay and a turd, apart from the smell. And I would expect any competent potter to spin a desirable bowl from either - 'sorry, man, this clay just doesn't cut it' just should not fly.
    /me makes a mental note to double-check any food offered by krd!

studiorat wrote: »
    I am obvioulsy the only one here with any talent or integrity, the rest of yiz are bozos

so now...

Feckin' Students ...

studiorat wrote: »

so now...

I'm not that sure there ever really was or is that much integrity to music.

What passes for integrity?

No overdubs?, No effects?, No session musos?, No click tracks?, No sequencer?

There was rumour years back - that Rod Stewart was having trouble with his vocal chords while he was recording another one of his lack lustre records - so much of the Rod Stewart your hearing on the record is not actually Rod Stewart, it's a sound a like. (I wouldn't say it was the first or last time something like that was done)

I have a recurrent moving image in my head for the last few days. It's really depressing me and zapping my will to live. It's of a guitarist who was in a friends band. One of these guitarist who could play absolutely everything note perfect every time. But absolutely everything he played, he played with an identical level of physical passion - The same kind of passion, a barrista in an O'Brien's sandwich bar gives their delivery - of your chicken and coleslaw roll. They're horrible to watch - and there's a crucial missing dynamic to their playing. Yeah, I'd say you could get the guy in studio and he'd deliver his guitar piece note perfect each time - but it would have the emotional content of a bap.

I know of one multi million selling Irish artist who had a backing vocalist who could imitate him well.

On one particular tune the 'star' just could not get the tune right, singing one note a semitone out all the time.

As this pre-daw they got the doppelganger to drop in all the wrong notes ..... and no-one ever knew ...... including the 'star' !

What passes for integrity?
    Stereo pair through budget preamp and ADC straight to CD. Anything else is cheating and should be outlawed!

See also: real programmers only use "cat >prog.tar.gz".

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    Feckin' Students ...

I prefer the term Academic.
    Feckin' Academics would be more appropriate!

Integrity means no ****e musics.