Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Incredible 70min review of Phantom Menace

• 18-12-2009 12:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭

I know, I know - you probably don't need 70 mins to be convinced this movie was terrible, but wow, this is an amazingly well-delivered, edited and professional critique of the failings of this movie and just how wide of the mark Lucas was. At least give Part 1/7 your ten minutes and see if you wanna go from there but it's pretty much definitive IMO. Link below

http://www.slashfilm.com/2009/12/17/watch-this-70-minute-video-review-of-star-wars-the-phantom-menace/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Why does he talk like Dustin Hoffman in Rain Man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I'm sure it is a great critique, but in the time it takes to watch the review you could have watched the film. Bit pointless IMO.

Galvasean wrote: »
    I'm sure it is a great critique, but in the time it takes to watch the review you could have watched the film. Bit pointless IMO.

i thought the same, I'm now on the 3rd part, its ****ing hilarious in places, well worth a watch, and so accurate as to why TPM sucks, we all know why it does, but this really points how how stupid the plot is in places

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

krudler wrote: »
    i thought the same, I'm now on the 3rd part, its ****ing hilarious in places, well worth a watch, and so accurate as to why TPM sucks, we all know why it does, but this really points how how stupid the plot is in places

I love when it cuts between people describing the character of Han Solo without mentioning his job or appearence and then they can't do the same for Qui-Gonn :D

Ha yeah, "he....has a beard?"
    "stoic..."
    "beard?"

or the queen: "shes just....normal"

this is brilliant:D

The actions of the characters make absolutely no sense, and his pisstaking of the crappy dialogue is hilarious "a communications disruption can mean only one thing...invasion!"

"or it could mean you didnt pay your ****ing phone bill!"

krudler wrote: »
    Ha yeah, "he....has a beard?"
    "stoic..."
    "beard?"

or the queen: "shes just....normal"

this is brilliant:D

The actions of the characters make absolutely no sense, and his pisstaking of the crappy dialogue is hilarious "a communications disruption can mean only one thing...invasion!"

"or it could mean you didnt pay your ****ing phone bill!"

Hah and it actually absolutely zero sense why they would stow away on two different ships at the start

The bit about how crap the battle droids are including footage of Lucas himself saying the exact same thing is utterly brilliant, actually he doesnt sound like Rain Main, he sounds like Buffalo Bill from Silence of the Lambs lol

Lol this just keeps getting funnier, "the clumsy idiot, a slow moving droid, a vunerable attractive girl and a drunk go wandering around the dangerous city" cut to footage of Lucas and Spielberg going "its gonna be great!"

"welcome to Coruscant, home of the mid air collision"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Shoota

Im half way through part three, absolutely brilliant :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Shoota

Okay the bit about the running fast is absolutely priceless!!:P

Favourite part had to be the "what the hell room is this in the palace?!" bit. Also really shocked at that footage of the first screening with Lucas etc being met really really badly, hadn't seen that before I don't think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

The new movies just suck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭uncleoswald

But its more entertaining then the film. You could say TPM is a bit pointless.

Based on the feedback in this thread I might give it a look.

Okay, I'll admit it I just watched part 1 and it's very entertaining. Will watch the rest later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

This is so much better than the actual movie its about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Brilliant. Just watched the first part. Definitely gonna watch the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Simian!

Best bit was Lucas saying 'I may have gone too far in some places'. No SHÍT, the understatement of the century! Some very interesting points in it but also a lot of 'dribble'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭fluke

Yer man went on a bit I found myself coming back to see what he would have to say in the next segment and so forth!

Obviously he didn't need to go on to prove it was crap, but I'm glad he did...his comparison to the lightsabre battle scenes was pretty insightful, and overall he made me appreciate the old trilogy all the more*

Surprised he didn't mention Darth Maul as a character - menacing looking but a vapid character and only has a couple of lines in the film.

Lucas is an ideas man...he was lucky with A New Hope but he never should've directed the prequels. That being said there has never been a good prequel has there?

I hope this guy critiques Episodes II & III

* I actually haven't watched the old ones in some time, can dvd's of them be bought minus the special edition inserts?

fluke wrote: »
    * I actually haven't watched the old ones in some time, can dvd's of them be bought minus the special edition inserts?

Not that I'm aware of :( There were laserdisc (yes, laserdisc!) rips going around before the official DVD's were released which didn't include all the new rubbish.

Favourite part had to be the "what the hell room is this in the palace?!" bit. Also really shocked at that footage of the first screening with Lucas etc being met really really badly, hadn't seen that before I don't think

Its on the Episode 1 dvd, "the beginning" documentary, which is the one and only reason i bought the dvd, i think i've watched the movie twice since it came out

fluke wrote: »

Yes, there are two disk editions with the original cuts and the special ones.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

that was absolutely ****ing fantastic

I might watch it again in a little bit

hilarious stuff altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

Yeah watched this earlier today and might watch it again. It's so true and shows what a retard George Lucas is along with the fact that everyone around him is a total pussy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

wow awesome monotone drawl - I'm so going to sit through the whole 70 minutes, thx for link

So I just made it to the end there. Legendary stuff. Can't believe that a 70 minute film review could actually be entertaining. Weird.
    Yes, there are two disk editions with the original cuts and the special ones.

Sweet. Didn't know that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

just watched the first part in work, gonna save the rest of it for when i go home, this is brilliant!

even in the first part alone, his inability to say the word "protagonist" had me in stitches.. and the "in the end, they usually get the girl at the end, like the icing on the cake" and there's a shot of willy wonka hugging charlie, i was in knots!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

Yer man is class. Just watched the reviews of Star Trek Generations and First Contact and they hit the nail on the head too.

Awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

Reminds me of that other movie reviewer vern.
    Guys a bit weird but totally correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

I didn't think I could stomach 70 minutes of giving out but this was fantastic. Watched it in one go. Hilarious! Some great points with some obvious and subtle humour, brilliant.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

can someone link to the other video reviews he's done? i don't see them anywhere on that page

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭Flash86

can someone link to the other video reviews he's done? i don't see them anywhere on that page

http://www.youtube.com/user/RedLetterMedia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Very good, would definitely watched more reviews of his. I particularly liked the scene when he showed the reaction to the first screening of the Phantom Menace :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

I don't remember any of the old star wars films and I actually liked all three of the new prequels. They weren't the greatest films I've seen but I was entertained.

EDIT: I was eleven when I first saw the Phantom menace so maybe I wouldn't like it if I watched it now.

The part where he tries to explain qui gons bet with watto is one of the funniest things I've ever seen

ive just watched his star trek reviews, they're genius too

http://www.youtube.com/user/RedLetterMedia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Nicely bridges the two as well :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Just watched the first part... Pretty amusing

His voice kind of grates though... Sounds like he's either just had a stroke, or is doing his best rain man impression

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭uncleoswald

tman wrote: »
    Just watched the first part... Pretty amusing

His voice kind of grates though... Sounds like he's either just had a stroke, or is doing his best rain man impression

I'm pretty sure he is doing Buffalo Bill from The Silence of the Lambs, hence the very dark humour. In some of the Star Trek reviews another voice is used so it could be his real one. For Star Trek nerds everywhere these are recommended, never really cared for the TNG movies but he really hits home just how sh*t they are. Loved the bit about Picard only having to press two buttons on the comm to get to the lyrics of Gilbert & Sullivan's H.M.S. Pinafore.

On some threads around these parts such nitpicking of sci-fi films would be dismissed as anal retentiveness but he uses the minute details to paint an overall picture of the laziness and incompetence of the filmmakers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Simian!

Loved the bit about Picard only having to press two buttons on the comm to get to the lyrics of Gilbert & Sullivan's H.M.S. Pinafore.

The Star Trek Insurrection review is the nest one, some of the stuff he points out is really clever and he makes an absolute mockery of some of the storylines.

http://www.youtube.com/user/RedLetterMedia#p/u/2/qlV3bsafkq0

"A 300-year old woman wants to access Picard's manual steering column". Genius.

oh hell f**king yes

awesomeness :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭Richard Noggin

Why talk for 70 minutes when one word would suffice with that film ? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

You know what he lost me at "my son hung himself in the bathroom at a gas station" about 10 seconds in

i don't need to waste my time listening to this bad taste offensive ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

You know what he lost me at "my son hung himself in the bathroom at a gas station" about 10 seconds in

i don't need to waste my time listening to this bad taste offensive ****e

Wow you're easily offended, you're better off for not having watching the rest you wouldn't like it!
    The women locked in the basement was great! The camera sort of just panning across her ignoring her in the background
    I love the whole persona he's been developing since the Star Trek reviews where he'd let slip
    about killing his wife and there'd be an intentionally bad edit, which he does a lot to great effect
    It's nice to have a little comedy behind him tearing these films to shreds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

I've watched the whole thing and its a great review :D. I'm in shock though from that clip of Lucas from probably the 70s where he talks about how special effects are a tool and needs a proper story behind them. What happened to him since then? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭fluke

JohnK wrote: »
    I've watched the whole thing and its a great review :D. I'm in shock though from that clip of Lucas from probably the 70s where he talks about how special effects are a tool and needs a proper story behind them. What happened to him since then?:(

He became a tool.

the attack of the clones review is going to be released saturday at 8pm central time.. it was posted yesterday so not sure if it's an april fools day joke or not.. looking forward to it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭keefg

I'd rather watch this review than endure the agony of EP1 again.

The guy narrating it is hysterical :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

keefg wrote: »
    I'd rather watch this review than endure the agony of EP1 again.

The guy narrating it is hysterical :pac:

That's it, if I ever feel like watching the trilogy I would watch this review instead of Phantom Menace and then continue on. But this has also ruined my apologist attitude to Eps 2 & 3. My nephews always have the films on when I visit and I keep seeing the same scenes and I just cringe. I tried to jusitfy in my head Hayden Christensen's acting but it really is diabolical.

Luckily my nephews lost my copy of Phantom Menace.:D

Clones review is here!

gonna watch this tonight when I get in from work!