Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards-Stars (End of Year Awards)

• 15-12-2009 2:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭

As it is the end of the year, how about some awards for the people who contribute to this forum. Well not actual awards but recognition. Last year we had one award which was for the most annoying poster, this was awarded to Flukey. The award categories for this year are below, please fill in your nominees, I am not going to bother with polls. Voting open until the end of December with the winners announced for the new year. If you want to add a category then let me know, I was thinking of best mod but it would be an easy win for me :p

Best Poster:

Most Annoying Poster:

Most Biased Poster:

Most likely to be banned in 2010:

Services to GAA:

Best Newcomer:

Media moment of the year:

Funniest Moment of the year:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Best Poster: Daysha

Most Annoying Poster: Lemlin (welcome back :rolleyes: )

Most Biased Poster: Homerjay

Most likely to be banned in 2010: Orizio

Services to GAA: Blackbelt :D

Best Newcomer: Bayviewclose

Media moment of the year: Wicklow defeating Down

Funniest Moment of the year: Orizio playing up Kerry in the Munster Semi Final and all the Kerry fans getting pissed off.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Best Poster: Cruiserweight for his trojan amount of work moderating and in the pools as well

Most Annoying Poster: None, I love you all :pac:

Most Biased Poster: Probably me!

Most likely to be banned in 2010: Orizio no contest :P

Services to GAA: Blackbelt

Best Newcomer: Soccymonster

Media moment of the year: Brian Cody vs Marty Morrissey :)

Funniest Moment of the year: Dare I say it...
    Daysha wrote: »
    I'll post a picture of myself wearing a Kilkenny jersey if Cummins doesn't get an All Star, he's absolutely nailed the goalies position this year.

Two months later...

34142855.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Those bastard mods wouldn't dare ban me*, I'd crush their ie boards careers before they get anywhere near the copious amounts of coke and hookers... :D

*I will now proceed to insult anyone and everywhere that further posts in this thread to prove this very point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Orizio wrote: »
    Those bastard mods wouldn't dare ban me*, I'd crush their ie boards careers before they get anywhere near the copious amounts of coke and hookers... :D

*I will now proceed to insult anyone and everywhere that further posts in this thread to prove this very point.

Banned please read the charter regarding abusing other users and arguing on thread with mods ......

...... actually crap ban over turned it is still 2009, I can wait ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Best Poster: Daysha!

Most Annoying Poster: Kurtza (oh, the memories :rolleyes:)

Most Biased Poster: Can I vote for myself? :o

Most likely to be banned in 2010: Orizio.

Services to GAA: blackbelt

Best Newcomer: deise_girl (:D)

Media moment of the year: Brian Cody and Marty Morrisey for definite :pac:

Funniest Moment of the year: ha, when Daysha promised to stick up a photo of himself in the KK jersey after the all-stars and didn't give us a real one.

Edit: aannnnddd.. also, I wanna give cruiser an award as well since he mods this place very well!
    Best Mod : Cruiserweight (sorry to the rest of ye! :P)

I suppose that I had better get my votes in

Best Poster: Daysha

Most Annoying Poster: Flukey (I don't want him to lose his crown)

Most Biased Poster: Blackbelt :p I think that most people can become a little biased when it comes to their teams.

Most likely to be banned in 2010: Orizio.

Services to GAA: Blackbelt, we have plenty of posters who play but Blackbelt gives up his time to be a referee.

Best Newcomer: soccymonster

Media moment of the year: Brian Cody and Marty Morrisey

Funniest Moment of the year: Orizio's anti Cork/cute whore posts did become a little tiresome after a while, but they became funny again when new posters came along and thought that he was serious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

I'm not mentioned:(

I guess I'll have to be an uber-troll for next years awards:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

/smashey's finger hovers over ban siteban button. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Yes so tempting hahaha.:D

I'm not mentioned:(

I guess I'll have to be an uber-troll for next years awards:p

Would it make you feel better if I say that I considered you for most annoying poster :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Would it make you feel better if I say that I considered you for most annoying poster :p

So if I lambast Wexford all of next year I'll win my prize or else a month long ban;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭deisedude

Best Poster: Orizio, well informed and remarkably a Corkman who isn't biased!:D

Most Annoying Poster: Cant remember who it was but i do remember some Kilkenny poster accusing me and Daysha being the same person. Quite annoying at the time

Most Biased Poster: None of the regular posters are too bad. I'd give it to any of the posters that pop up once in a blue moon to gloat after their team wins

Most likely to be banned in 2010: Deise girl or Soccymonster will probably get banned for talking about X-factor in a GAA thread!:p

Services to GAA: Grenache

Best Newcomer: Deise Tom

Media moment of the year: All the strikes and player power controversy

Funniest Moment of the year: Dayshas foot in mouth moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Most Annoying Poster: Flukey (I don't want him to lose his crown)

I didn't deserve it last year and I don't even deserve a nomination for it this year. :p

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Best Poster: Im goi ng to say JamieK and Deisedude coz they dont have nominations and because of their amazing contributions :p

Most Annoying Poster: I dont know... Theres not really a standout person.

Most Biased Poster: Probably me coz not only am I biased with Waterford, Galway too :o

Most likely to be banned in 2010: I think Grenache coz he goes off topic in half his posts here :P *awaits a comment on this resluting in him going off topic again* Lol!

Services to GAA: Blackbelt :)

Best Newcomer: Soccymonster of course :D

Media moment of the year: I loved in the Dublin Limerick 1/4 final when the ball went over the sideline and the camera man caught it. He was completely delighted with himself, waving it around :pac:

Funniest Moment of the year: Me saying "Cummins wont get an all star" and having Daysha say <you can read the quote above> and then he posts that picture and "Daysha" isnt even spelt right :P

Half these wont even be allowed will they? I chose 2 people for one, none for another, then myself.. Oh well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Great thread.

Most annoying poster. There are loads of fair weather posters not due back till April

Most Biased. None really

Most likely to be banned in 2010. A few get a bit hot but with people like me winding them up I think Orizo. I visualise Orizo every time there is a good spat on here, the passion as he takes a Kango hammer to the keyboard, roaring the "Boys of Kilmichael" as he hammers a reply. I hasten to add I really enjoy most of Orizo's postd

Media moment of the year. The gob****es in the press who tipped Dublin to go all the way and win Sam.

Funniest moment of the year for me have been some of the threads here.

I am delighted I stumbled accross G.A.A thread. I think its a great forum well ran and fairly mod'd by the mod's. Have met only 3 people from here so I hope I get to meeet another few in 2010.

Hope ye all have a lovely Christmas and a happy and peaceful 2010.
    Atha Cliath abú

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Gingy

deise_girl wrote: »
    Best Poster: Im goi ng to say JamieK and Deisedude coz they dont have nominations and because of their amazing contributions :p

Most Biased Poster: Probably me coz not only am I biased with Waterford, Galway too :o

Most likely to be banned in 2010: I think Grenache coz he goes off topic in half his posts here :P *awaits a comment on this resluting in him going off topic again* Lol!

Media moment of the year: I loved in the Dublin Limerick 1/4 final when the ball went over the sideline and the camera man caught it. He was completely delighted with himself, waving it around :pac:

Funniest Moment of the year: Me saying "Cummins wont get an all star" and having Daysha say <you can read the quote above> and then he posts that picture and "Daysha" isnt even spelt right :P

Half these wont even be allowed will they? I chose 2 people for one, none for another, then myself.. Oh well :)

That was pretty funny, I was chatting to him one day and he said he was laughing so much because he had his earphones in and Tony Considine said something like, 'It's about time he became useful for something, being the ballboy suits him'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

except for best poster award, (not sure, perhaps premierstone IMO), most of the others would surely go to newbies who sign up, post a few and then leave or are banned.

i would find it hard to pick the servicees to gaa award, but would give it to one of the mods...they do a great job....

funniest moment - the darran o sullivan interview by darragh o shea and Star?

my moment of the year (personal) - final whistle on all ireland final day...i nearly cried, first time in my life..such a huge way to end the year for kerry after the rollercoaster ride that came before that.

deisedude wrote: »
    Most Annoying Poster: Cant remember who it was but i do remember some Kilkenny poster accusing me and Daysha being the same person. Quite annoying at the time

Lol! I don't remember reading that at all, what ever would have given him that idea. :confused:

*waits for next poster to tell me to stop having a conversation with myself*

Lol! I don't remember reading that at all, what ever would have given him that idea. :confused:

*waits for next poster to tell me to stop having a conversation with myself*

I think it was after the AI final. You had disagreed with one of his posts and i disagreed with a different post of his. He then claimed we were probably the same person even though a quick glance through our profiles would make it pretty obvious we werent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

I havnt been a proper regular in 2009 but for the record here is my nominations.

Best Poster: Cruiserweight. Always the voice of reason and very impartial on his opinions. Mods this forum the way modding is meant to be done.

Most Annoying Poster: Flukey Again. Mainly for this the day after number 37 for Kerry
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055477961&page=42
    Talking about trolling! (IMO of course)

Runner-up
    Any poster on boards with 1-10 previous posts that comes here and starts threads such as Where is the best place to buy hurleys, helmets, footballs, sliotars etc etc etc etc etc.
    Funnily enough they usually come up with the best apparent solution to their question themselves. Altenatively another new to boards poster comes up with a brainwave idea.

Most Biased Poster: Blackbelt. If I ever decide to buy colour tinted glasses I will try ones of a navy and blue variety. They seem to be quiet comfortable.

Most likely to be banned in 2010:
    Me for the above nomination

Services to GAA:

Not nominating a poster for this instead I am going with Marc O Se
    Just read this
    http://www.independent.ie/national-n...t-1980582.html
    Says a lot about the man that no drama was made of this. Must have been a tramatic experience a few days before an All-Ireland final.
    If this had been Tadgh he would have probably written a book about the incident alone.

Best Newcomer:
    Havn't been regular enough in 2009 to fairly nominate for this

Media moment of the year:
    Marty V Coady

Funniest Moment of the year:
    First Place
    Munster Football Final
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kxC9iOYx0qk
    'Nice piece of fielding by Alan O Connor and a good hand off to the linesman as well'
    Second Place
    Conor Mortimer goal celeberation and Michael Jackson as gaelige tribute.
    Personally
    See
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055697634
    :D:D:D

Idea for another award Thread of the Year
    Donal Og Cusack 'Im gay'
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055713618
    Over 400 posts over about 2 weeks and viewed nearly 35,000 times. Blood boiled, homophobia reached new heights and some great one liner jokes were posted.
    Right up there with the Galvin thread of 2008 IMO

Roll on 2010
    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

I usually only come on here every now and again for Limerick football analysis so Im gonna be a bit biased towards Grenache and Soccymonster. :)

Moment of the year for me is a toss up between the Marty/Cody interview and the stewards trying to keep everyone off the pitch at the end of the Hurling final with the shot to 'Plan B',that was just classic GAA!

My fav newbie is Soccymonster and Grenache for Best poster!

Deise_girl, i laughed out loud at a few of your award yokes.. I'm guessing you know why? ;) :pac:

Most likely to be banned in 2010: Deise girl or Soccymonster will probably get banned for talking about X-factor in a GAA thread!:p

Ah really??? Cruiser likes me too much, he wouldn't do that? ;):D.
    Not sure for the other mods though :P.

Deise_girl, i laughed out loud at a few of your award yokes.. I'm guessing you know why? ;) :pac:

Yeh and I know which your talking about in particluar, but thats not for now/here! :o:pac:

Tbf apart from my sig I didnt speak much of the X Factor, and I know a certain poster here posted on the real X-F thread!! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭JamieK

It has been ridiculously long since I've posted on here *hangs head in shame* :o:o

Thanks btw deisegirl even if I do think myself I am entirely undeserving of a nomination even!! :o

Best Poster: Has to go to either Daysha or premierstone methinks...purely for unbiased analysis of matches and for a completely educated take on many GAA matters...being up for the banter about certain matches also helped! *cough munster final Daysha* ;)

Most Annoying Poster: paulie22315 ...surprised nobody has mentioned him yet...at least I dont think so anyway...especially shocked soccy and deisegirl didn't nominate him as he was the sexist guy after the All Ireland that came on solely to gloat and kept on insisting we not listen to either of the two girls as they wouldn't understand or something to the effect! :mad:

Most Biased Poster: sarcastic bias if possible then definately Orizio :p *prepares to be banned from UCC forum* :D

Most likely to be banned in 2010: could be anyone really...a patron from some county that goes on a horrendous losing streak that attempts to offload their frustration here maybe :p

Services to GAA: cruiserweight...some serious modding dude! (not forgetting other mods either btw)

Best Newcomer: well seeing as I am a late enough newcomer I would not be entirely sure who else is a newcomer lol! But it would have to be either soccy/deisegirl ...I would suggest a fight to the death for this title :D

Media moment of the year: Can't remember what newspaper I read it in but the morning after the Tipp v Limerick match some journalist started his piece by saying "Prince Noel to dethrone "King" Henry" :D:D:D ...loved it so much I now have a Tipp shirt with that bannered across the chest! :p

Funniest Moment of the year: Either Callinan or Canning's soccer-like celebrations after their goals against Clare and Kilkenny respectively! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

That could be arranged. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Best Poster: Cruiserweight

Most Annoying Poster: Nobody, you are all fine

Most Biased Poster: Dunno

Most likely to be banned in 2010: Some noob

Services to GAA: Smashey

Best Newcomer: All of you

Media moment of the year: Me on TV during the Galway - Mayo match

Funniest Moment of the year: The "Micheal Jackson" t-shirt a certain Mayo man had :pac:

Merry Christmas everybody and a Happy New Year

Flukey wrote: »
    I didn't deserve it last year and I don't even deserve a nomination for it this year. :p

The posters here disagree ;) For anybody so far that thinks I am soft or harsh as a moderator, I will ban you all to prove a point :p

JamieK wrote: »

Most Annoying Poster: paulie22315 ...surprised nobody has mentioned him yet...at least I dont think so anyway...especially shocked soccy and deisegirl didn't nominate him as he was the sexist guy after the All Ireland that came on solely to gloat and kept on insisting we not listen to either of the two girls as they wouldn't understand or something to the effect! :mad:

Best Newcomer: well seeing as I am a late enough newcomer I would not be entirely sure who else is a newcomer lol! But it would have to be either soccy/deisegirl ...I would suggest a fight to the death for this title :D

Oh yeah, that paulie one.. although I have to say I did have an unhealthy internet relationship with Kurtza.

And dude, I'd win in that fight. Ya know, I'm older, support the better county etc etc. :pac:

The posters here disagree ;) For anybody so far that thinks I am soft or harsh as a moderator, I will ban you all to prove a point :p

It wasn't amongst the initial questions asked, but even before I saw the above post I was thinking of nominating Cruiserweight as the fairest moderator here. As to the other nominations, I'll try and answer a few of them. I am a bit out of touch as due to other commitments and other places I've been spending my online time, I haven't been around as much in the past few months, which is in itself a reason that I couldn't be in the running for most annoying poster. Anyway:

Best Poster: Deise

Most Annoying Poster: Any of a range of our sunshine posters whose names we forget.

Most Biased Poster: As above.

Most likely to be banned in 2010: Too many to choose from. :)

Services to GAA: Blackbelt (Even though, unlike the majority of people here, I've seen some of the bad refereeing decisions he's made on the field of play :) )

Best Newcomer: I'll join the popular support for Soccymonster.

Media moment of the year: The demise of Kerry predictions and the Kerry v Dublin hoopla.

Funniest Moment of the year: A guy some of us heard shouting from the crowd in Parnell Park at a club game. I forget the specifics, but he was funny. If I remember I'll come back and edit. Blackbelt was with us, so he might remember.

Oh yeah, that paulie one.. although I have to say I did have an unhealthy internet relationship with Kurtza.

And dude, I'd win in that fight. Ya know, I'm older, support the better county etc etc. :pac:
    Yeh right! Bring it soccy :P
    And what you saying about the better county, atleast mine has a manager and a team:P

Flukey wrote: »

Best Poster: Deise

Dude, so many deise's! Is it Daysha, deise_girl, deisetom or even deisedude! :P
    Yeh right! Bring it soccy :P
    And what you saying about the better county, atleast mine has a manager and a team:P

Hey, don't play that card girl! And FYI, I was talking about the football in particular :D.

Too little love for Keane2097, always been one of the best posters in this forum imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

JamieK wrote: »

Cant agree more. That Paulie was very annoying. Headstrong and Rude. Like it was his way or no way.

Well you have Deise59 of old and Daysha of this year. The talk of the Flukey and Deise59 love-in is before your time, but let me tell you that there was good craic between us in 2008. :) Originally there was just Deise59, whereas now we are heading towards having 59 Deises or whatever spelling you want. :) The smallest county in Munster can certainly churn them out. :)

:(

Sorry man, didnt mean it that way xD

Edit: Actually, I've found another favourite moment of mine this year on Boards :pac:.
    davestar wrote: »
    *video for ciaran carey point*

there you go mr.soccymonster
    thank you.. Im not very good with youtube.. This might suprise you but im a girl not a mr. :P
    Browney7 wrote: »
    +1. The greatest match winner ever scored. On another note...Wimminz on the GAA forum:eek::eek:. My god soccy I had no idea such is the masculinity of your posts:P

Awww how lovely! Laughed so hard when I read these guys posts.. I didnt even realise like! Please don't say that other people thought I was a lad too??! :o

Sorry man, didnt mean it that way xD

Haha, I wasn't the only one that noticed that then! I'll have you know DD is a great poster, especially in the Waterford thread (not that I'd expect you to venture around those shores :P)

Also he lives or lived in Cincinnatti which is win in itself.

Haha, I wasn't the only one that noticed that then! I'll have you know DD is a great poster, especially in the Waterford thread (not that I'd expect you to venture around those shores :P)

Cinci- what? :confused:
    Apologies again deisedude. I really didn't mean to sound so harsh :o.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Best Poster: Deise Girl for being one of the very few female posters here. We could use a few more!

Most Annoying Poster: Didnt find anyone particularly annoying this year. Only people who annoy me are the trolls but they never stick around long enough to remember their names.

Most Biased Poster: No idea. Were all obviously biased but none stand out

Most likely to be banned in 2010: blackbelt for insider moderator trading.

Services to GAA: blackbelt again. Does alot for the forum and for the game as a ref.

Best Newcomer: Dont pay enough attention to know who is knew and who isnt!

Media moment of the year: Has to be the Cody interview. He was very overly defensive before the direct question was asked, he should have waited till doubts were mentioned about the penalty then gone mad ;)

Funniest Moment of the year: Well, funny yet horrible. Realising at half time in the Dublin v Kerry game that there were more people watching the match on the TV by the bar in Hill 16 than there were in the terrace. Most were too embarrassed to go back out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Awww how lovely! Laughed so hard when I read these guys posts.. I didnt even realise like! Please don't say that other people thought I was a lad too??! :o

As I said at the time soccy your posts don't reek of femininity but I was only pulling the piss really. :p

Nalced_irl wrote: »
    Best Poster: Deise Girl for being one of the very few female posters here. We could use a few more!
    Thanks but there is no way I should even be considered for a nomination. There are way more deserving of it than me! I wouldnt know half what others know!
    But thank you all the same :)

Oh and also when I saw all the "deise" being mentioned I was really waiting for the witty comment about 'inbreeding', but peeps here are to nice :D

As I said at the time soccy your posts don't reek of femininity but I was only pulling the piss really. :p

No, you weren't. You thought I was a guy, just admit it :P.
    Thanks but there is no way I should even be considered for a nomination. There are way more deserving of it than me! I wouldnt know half what others know!
    But thank you all the same :)

deise_girl, shut up! you are a great poster :D.

Edit: I'll stop going off topic now before i get in trouble, sorry! :P

Lies. 'Hysterical' would only begin to describe Soccy's posts...

I really don't know whether to take that as a compliment or an insult tbh..

Thanks Daysha, i'm blushing now!:p
    Cinci- what? :confused:
    Apologies again deisedude. I really didn't mean to sound so harsh :o.

Cincinnati is in Ohio in the U.S of A. I'm doing an exchange program there but currently back on these shores for turkey!:D No bother soccy i was only joking!:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

So are the results in yet? When are the awards being dished out?
    SoccyMonster and Genache maybe Limercks only hope for a trophy this year :)

panda100 wrote: »
    So are the results in yet? When are the awards being dished out?
    SoccyMonster and Genache maybe Limercks only hope for a trophy this year :)

I will post up the results later when I tot them up

Some of the awards were straight forward, but some were close with only a small number of votes. So here are the results

Best Poster: Daysha, a lot of names were mentioned points to the quality of the posters on this forum IMO

Most Annoying Poster: Flukey and paulie22315 were mentioned specifically, but the general consensus is that the blow in's who like to troll are the most annoying. Trust me they don't last long around here

Most Biased Poster: Blackbelt

Most likely to be banned in 2010: Orizio

Services to GAA: Blackbelt

Best Newcomer: Soccymonster

Media moment of the year: Cody vs Morrissey

Funniest Moment of the year: Daysha losing arguement over goalkeeping all star and wimping out of posting a proper picture of himself in a Kilkenny jersey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

ah sh*te, i was just about to vote and all.....

well here's mine, not that they're worth anything now.. :(

Best Poster: Can't decide between premierstone and daysha

Most Annoying Poster: Flukey!! - but also entertaining!

Most Biased Poster: Flukey, most definitely!

Most likely to be banned in 2010: soccymonster or deisegirl :D

Services to GAA: Blackbelt/cruiserweight

Best Newcomer: Homerjay - if he's a newcomer!

Media moment of the year: What else but Cody v Morrissey

Funniest Moment of the year: Any of Orizio's posts playing down Cork.

dancer_bowing_md_wht.gif

Would've preferred a win over Kilkenny instead, but I'll take this one as a nice consolation :p

Thanks to Cruiser for setting this up btw, top-notch work from our Wexford overlord once again :)