Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you have weird sayings/'catchphrases'

• 14-12-2009 7:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭

I could swear I started a thread like this before, but I've just had a search to check and can't find it. Maybe I had the good sense not to.

Anyway, lots of people seem to have their own 'catchphrases' (for want of a better word).

One teacher at our school is famed for his overzealous use of the word 'folks'. "Right folks, now folks, to start folks, we'll..."
    It's spawned a facebook group which apparently he knows about

Another teacher, a Nigerian bloke, calls everyone mate and uses the phrase "We're home and dry"

The most irritating is a head of year. He uses the phrase "Sort of what I like to call" ALL the time. It drives everyone mental
    "We're going on a trip to sort of what I like to call.. France"
    "Isn't that what everyone calls it?

As anyone here who's got me on facebook can attest to, my catchphrase is most definitely "People are cunts" because I'm a miserable prick

So do you have sayings that are unique to you, or that people would recognise as being 'you'?

I've given up hope on every starting a decent thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

brummytom wrote: »
    my catchphrase is most definitely "People are cunts"

Feeling very simpatico with you now Tom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

You going Emo on us Tom?

Next he'll be wandering around AH with his dyed black flock of seagulls hair cut, pack of Death cigarettes and appearing in all sorts of funny pics across d'interweb to disrespect the emotionally challenged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

I go through phases with most things. Most recently I'd gotten into the habit of saying "Yes" and "No" as Gaeilge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I probably over use the word "Folks" when i'm in work, i'm terrible with the names of customers that i should know, so pure habit is "hello folks, thanks folks, see ya later folks" etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Blow me.

It works for any occassion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I'm still using the phrase "yore ma" to end any and all arguments. There is just no argument that cannot be stopped or lost by it's use.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

That'll do pig.... that'll do.

Whenever someone asks me to do something, I say "Ah I will in me fat white hole"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭MelissaLahive

Courting. I think I'm turning into my mam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

If someone is caught doing something I always say ..

They were caught by the 'Snaz Hoops™'

No idea why :)

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Subtle as a brick/shark/mongoose/golf club to the face

Depends on the mood

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I tend to say "mutt" a lot lately, "shup you, ya mutt", "fcukin' mutt", "she's a mutt altogether".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

As anyone here who's got me on facebook can attest to, my catchphrase is most definitely "People are cunts" because I'm a miserable prick

Add me!! Id very much like that popping up on my page everyday!!

Im more of a sound effects girl myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Oh, I was ordering a Chinese Meal the other night and at the end she read it all back to confirm and I said ..

"That's the one .. " :confused:

Felt like a right twat then, couldn't take it back, so just pretended that it was an appropriate thing to say and said ..

"Yup, that's the one .. order there, thank you." :o .. :)

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Also, instead of saying "hello", or "hey", I tend to say "howdy" more often than not.... Weird habit I've gotten into

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Redpunto

"arse biscuits" comes in handy through the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

as does Spunk Bubbles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

If you don;t change that attitude, when you eventually get laid, it'll be some wanky emo child who'll ask you to cut her mid coitus.

As for me; I keep saying "ah sure" and "no worries" and "I've great time for him/her"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

"I will in me arse!"

Really need to train myself out of that one ... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Add me!! Id very much like that popping up on my page everyday!!

Im more of a sound effects girl myself

I actually have added you; for a number of reasons... your location, the bit in bold, and the fact you're a wimminz.
    You're welcome :pac:
    You going Emo on us Tom?

Next he'll be wandering around AH with his dyed black flock of seagulls hair cut, pack of Death cigarettes and appearing in all sorts of funny pics across d'interweb to disrespect the emotionally challenged

Eurgh.. No I'm not an emo.
    I'm not depressed/suicidal, just grumpy and pissed off. Big difference

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

I have a habit of adding Iago after saying the word patience.

Haven't met many folks who know where is comes from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

"Good morning good people, and good morning 'insert name here' " when greeting a group.

Slidey wrote: »
    I have a habit of adding Iago after saying the word patience.

Haven't met many folks who know where is comes from
    Aladdin!

Aladdin!

Move closer, closer... *ugh* too close

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Catchphrases are things I liken to plate spinning and knife throwing.

Just utterly lame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

I have a range of colourful ones for when I'm stressed/angry etc.

However,these have been supplanted by 'Ah Poo!:mad:', due to the presence of a 4 year old daughter in the house.

Im gettin' to quite like it now....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I said "jeepers" on msn the other day, no idea where that one came from! :confused:

My usual 'catchphrases' are, "You nerd!", "You geek!" and calling people weird lil names like twinkle toes, cuddle bunny, hot stuff etc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭daca88

i usually make guns with my hands and make a firing noise and fire them when i get something right....thats pretty messed up ha ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

A guy I work with uses the word literally about 20 times in a sentence never once correctly.

Example."when the thing with the thing happened I literally **** myself"

"you did?you **** in your pants?"

"No I didn't ACTUALLY **** myself I LITERALLY **** myself"

F*cking clown shoe that guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Libertewhite

I have a bad habit of saying 'Rawr', 'man' and 'mad/**** buzz'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I have a fierce habit of saying
    Ill kick you in the face

You suck fake kicker.

I have a fierce habit of saying
    Ill kick you in the face
    The copycats can never match the original

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

For an unknown reason I have started saying 'of an evening', for example, "What do you do of a Wednesday evening?' or 'What's on telly of a Sunday?'

It drives my boyfriend nuts, but I honestly don't know where I picked it up, I mean it sounds dead old fashioned. Of an evening, I generally lurk on boards...see there, in every way of life i apply it!

Aggh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Bonkers_xOx

"Aw ye thunder cnut."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Ask. My. Arse.
    :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

When a deadly lookin bird walks past on the street or is on tv when me and my mate are sitting watching it, i'll turn round to him, and without prompting he'll say, "that's none of my business." Catching on in other circles too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

"to beat off". Pronounced bate off

So I say to my teammate in work, "ok it's 12:30 so I'm beating off now for lunch, see ya in an hour"

I see nothing wrong with it, others obviously do!
    I'm going to continue using it now anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭KarmaGarda

When something takes a turn for the better: "We're suckin on the right tit now". Not sure why I started with that one. Possibly my obsession with breasts.

A cousin of mine will always greet you with "How's yer balls".

There's a guy at work who says to everyone first thing each morning "And how are you this fine morning" in a deeeeeeep scottish accent. It got quite annoying after a while.

Whoopsadaisydoodles (surprisingly)

Ballsology

Janey Macaroni

Fúckity fúck

Scrumdiddly

Nick nack paddy whack (I don't like the word knacker)

Dooo iiiiit

oh, and I always say 'up at cock crow' and I always get funny looks for it, specially when I said it to the cute builder guy in work :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭CCCP^

"That'll ding dang do".

"**** it".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 kerchow

Gee Bag, **** stain, shove it up your hole, kick in the hole, knob jockey, **** stick, that'll go down like a cold cup of sick, ye munter, cheese ball.
    There are so many to choose from. Or Go **** right off, don't give a box of flying mickeys....... god what a potty mouth:rolleyes:

kerchow wrote: »
    Gee Bag, **** stain, shove it up your hole, kick in the hole, knob jockey, **** stick, that'll go down like a cold cup of sick, ye munter, cheese ball.
    There are so many to choose from. Or Go **** right off, don't give a box of flying mickeys....... god what a potty mouth:rolleyes:

well don't you sound just lovely :P

When describing a vehicle in poor condition I will often refer to is as a ''Fucking handbag of a yoke.''

Not sure where that one came from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

"fuck you up with a pliers" is my new favourite phrase ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭Takk

Now Ye're Takkin'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭ball

The ultimate in [subject] technology

eg. I was really drunk last night

"I was the ultimate in drunk technology last night"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I say Gravy instead of great or excellent.

For example:

Friend:"pablomakaveli, someone hit Silvio Berlusconi in the face last week"
    Me: "Thats Gravy":D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Most commonly used:

-'Ah Jaysus...'
    -'Fúck sake'
    -'Mother of Christ'
    -'For the love and honour of Jaysus'

And then, one that I used for a while, that I have since dropped, but that may make a re-appearance:

-'As I was saying...' and I mightn't have said anything at all!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭itac

...after reading some of these, I don't feel *as* bad about mine...even thought I hate some of the ones I use!

If someone I don't know that well/I'm in any way nervous around, asks how I am or how's things, I usually reply with...
    ahh...you know...rocknrollnthelike (or just rocknroll....)
    *usually accompanied by a bit a of sigh, a head tilt and/or a thumbs up*:confused:

When I'm going to bed...
    "I'm off to bedfordshire...g'night"
    I know this was definitely in Bridget Jones, but I have no idea why almost 10 years or so after the film, I randomly say it!

After living in Newcastle for a bit, I also tend to reply with
    "neebotha"

if someone thanks me for doing something. Cue some explaining from me as to what it actually means, and why I say it, followed by a puzzled look from them, and no doubt, an inner thought of "why didn't she just say no bother then?!"

I have also been known to use (and still do on a regular basis)
    *coolio
    *ciao for now
    and also lots of yawns when I'm nervous or bored in a situation...!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

I say that "I'm getting a shower" and my friends think it's really odd that I say GET a shower. I don't get it