Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neighbourliness

• 14-12-2009 12:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭

Just after reading this post here on the boiling milk thread. I was wondering if you would help your neighbours out with some milk or the use of the microwave if they bothered to knock? Or would you think it would be very odd and hide behind the curtain untill they went away?

Do you even know your neighbours? I know the ones either side of us and talk to them whenever I see them. However there are new ones (living there about 3 years) further down the road who are fairly unfriendly. Haven't said hello even once, not for lack of trying on my part. At this stage if they came knocking, I don't think I would piss on their cornflakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

You know what they always say: Neighbours should be there for one another, that's when good neighbours become good friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I'm living in my apt since March and know most of my neighbours. If they needed a hand doing something i'd have no problem giving one. I'm lucky that they're all young and sound.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

All my neighbours ever do for me is complain to the management company about the noise.
    If they ask for milk they'll be getting goats cheese yogurt with pubes in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn!

I had a neighbour ask for milk for her baby(moneys).

Strange thing is she didn't live next door and lies badly.
    I can spot a rehearsed speech and confidence con a mile off.

Asked her to wait 15min let me have a quick shower and id take her to Dunnes and we could get her milk.

After my shower she never came back.:(

All my other neighbours are nice the ones that live there anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭maddogcollins

I would have no problem helping a neighbour, after all "I know where you live" can always come into play. Cant see a reason not to help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

You know what they always say: Neighbours should be there for one another, that's when good neighbours become good friends.
    I never said that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Oh, who are the people in your neighborhood In your neighborhood
    In your neighborhood.
    Oh, who are the people in your neighborhood, The people that you meet each day.
    Oh, the crack dealer is a person in your neighborhood, In your neighborhood, in your neighborhood.
    The crack dealer is a person in your neighborhood, A person that you meet when your walkin' down the street each day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

I'd happily do anything like that for a neighbour, but knowing Ireland, they'd be too terrified of the weird social shyness that's endemic in the country to actually come round and ask for a teabag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I just moved into a new apartment building last week.

I have every intention to befriend my neighbors... have chatted to a good few already.

It helps that for some reason despite only being there since last Thursday I'm the only person who seems to know the codes for the security gate... I'm forever having to help people in and out of the place... hmm... maybe they aren't even my neighbours and I'm just letting burglars in and out.

(I discovered a trick to opening the gate yesterday without even typing in a code... maybe I'll keep that one to myself. ha.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I'd happily do anything like that for a neighbour, but knowing Ireland, they'd be too terrified of the weird social shyness that's endemic in the country to actually come round and ask for a teabag.

You could always wait until they've passed out...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

I just moved into a new apartment building last week.

I have every intention to befriend my neighbors... have chatted to a good few already.

It helps that for some reason despite only being there since last Thursday I'm the only person who seems to know the codes for the security gate... I'm forever having to help people in and out of the place... hmm... maybe they aren't even my neighbours and I'm just letting burglars in and out.

(I discovered a trick to opening the gate yesterday without even typing in a code... maybe I'll keep that one to myself. ha.)

Open sesame?:p

Yeah on one side Id help out neighbours they have been helpful in the past I would take in their packages etc
    But the neighbours on the other side of me meh they could starve for all I care they are very inconsiderate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

ARRRGGHH! Thanks F Man, I now have that song stuck in my head. In Australia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Orlaithc9

We bought a house last year and had a very nice welcome by both our neighbours on each side. We have continued to keep on a friendly level, often ask our neighbour to pop into our house if we were away for the weekend or on holiday..we have even went out to dinner as a foursome too. On the other side, we have long chats when we meet eachother in the drive as we have babies of very similar age..its great to be able to knock next door for a drop of calpol if I have run out and visa versa.
    I like it this way and will continue to make a special efford to stay on good terms with my neighbours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Well I grew up in the flats in Ballymun, there was a really tight community there and everyone knew each other.

Indeed, and this isn't an old romantic spoof, many people left their doors ajar and neighbours could call in and out with just a yell at the door to let you know they were going in.

These days I live in a modern estate, I hardly know my neighbours (and its not for the want of trying).

In the last 10 years or so when people were too busy making money and didn't create the time to care for our neighbour's needs.

Luckily I've a lovely couple living next door to me, they grew up in the courts in Darndale and have no axe to grind with the world.

I've said it before, and I'll repeat myself.

This recession will (IMO) be the kick up the hole that a lot of young people needed, suddenly people realize that their sh*t does in fact smell!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭!_Brian_!

I've been living in my apartment building for 4 years. there's only 5 flats here but i dont know any of the neighbours, never even really see em. If they came knocking tho i would help them out if i could

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

id say my neighbours find us annoying but are still friendly (late parties and I'm a drummer who drums very frequenty)

Just the other day I came home pissed and somehow dropped my passport on the street outside my house, one of my neighbours was kind enough to find it, knock on the front door and return it the next morning :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

A problem that came with the property bubble is that people bought homes they'd no intention of staying in (intended to sell for a huge profit a few of years later) so didn't bother 'settling in' as such, incl. getting to know their neighbours.

It wasn't helped by a lot of the developments being marketed as 'starter homes' either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

I've no neighbours at the moment (I'm living in a spookily empty apartmnet block,in my third of the building I'm the only occupant) but wherever I've lived before I always make the effort to be friendly at least.
    My last neighbour of 2 years was an elderly lady and I was always giving her a hand lifting stuff up the steep stairs and we were always buzzing each other to get back in after forgetting keys.
    I bumped into her one time on the stairs,a couple of months after moving in, and asked her were the volume levels of my music any bother and she says no she couldn't hear a thing,so I thought that's grand,she can't hear nothing so I'll have a go hitting my stand-up punching bag (which I didn't want to use for fear of disturbing her).I'm tapping away lightly for about a half hour when I hear a knock on the door and thinking it's her I go to answer it and there's standing 3 guards wanting to know if everything is alright in the apartment.The oul doll was upstairs hearing banging noises and thought I was getting battered by somebody downstairs.:p
    She called in next day and gave me a magnum of champagne to say sorry. Bless her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

wudangclan wrote: »
    The oul doll was upstairs hearing banging noises and thought I was getting battered by somebody downstairs.:p
    She called in next day and gave me a magnum of champagne to say sorry. Bless her.

What a lovely old woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Get on fine with them, and would obviously help them in any way I could. I think you should always make an effort to help your neighbours and vice-versa. Just depends on who they are. You may just be unfortunate enough to live beside idiots. There are some utter twats on my estate, has to be said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭TheScribbler

WindSock wrote: »
    Just after reading this post here on the boiling milk thread. I was wondering if you would help your neighbours out with some milk or the use of the microwave if they bothered to knock? Or would you think it would be very odd and hide behind the curtain untill they went away?

Do you even know your neighbours? I know the ones either side of us and talk to them whenever I see them. However there are new ones (living there about 3 years) further down the road who are fairly unfriendly. Haven't said hello even once, not for lack of trying on my part. At this stage if they came knocking, I don't think I would piss on their cornflakes.
    I can relate to your comments. I have lived in my house for 23 years and I know the neighbour either side of me but no one else in the street. We held a party about two years ago and invited everyone around us but no one came (other than immediate neighbours).

My wife gets very upset about this and when a new family moved in across the street she went to introduce herself and was told by the occupant that they had '...come to live here in the anticipation of keeping ourselves to ourselves.' She didn't speak to them again.

On an earlier occasion the postman had tried to deliver a package but we were out and he left a note to say that the package was left at a house over the street. That was okay. So about seven o'clock I took myself over the road and rang the bell. A voice from inside the house shouted 'who is it?' When I explained the lady shouted that they were busy having dinner and asked me to come back in the morning. She didn't even answer the door!!!

I sent my wife over the following day. 'Did you get the package?' I enquired. 'What a cow,' was her response. The woman gave her a lecture about how the postman should have returned the package to the depot and that he had no right to thrust responsibility on other people.

Almost all the houses in our street are unoccupied during the day with adults and work and kids at school. It is weird. Is this what modern neighbourliness is all about? I'm thinking of moving to the country.

I think our estate displays both extremes. Most people om the street say hello and are friendly, but then some of the selfish stuff (for example, around dumping and communal bins) absolutely beggars belief and would never have happened between neighbours where (council estate) I was brought up.

I think a lot of newer estates are full of people who intended buying and selling within a short time-period and never intended making friends, although I can't see how that excuses being an ignorant twat ether.

Also, our estate, like a lot of newer developments is a mixture of apartments and houses, no front gardens; a lot of on-street parking and very little communal space. As a result there is atomization and less space for neighbours to interact. In my childhood, you had people out in their gardens all summer, mowing lawns, chatting and watching their kids. There seemed to be so much more communal interaction with your neighbours than I see in my own estate now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭TheScribbler

stovelid wrote: »
    I think our estate displays both extremes. Most people om the street say hello and are friendly, but then some of the selfish stuff (for example, around dumping and communal bins) absolutely beggars belief and would never have happened between neighbours where (council estate) I was brought up.

I think a lot of newer estates are full of people who intended buying and selling within a short time-period and never intended making friends, although I can't see how that excuses being an ignorant twat ether.

Also, our estate, like a lot of newer developments is a mixture of apartments and houses, no front gardens; a lot of on-street parking and very little communal space. As a result there is atomization and less space for neighbours to interact. In my childhood, you had people out in their gardens all summer, mowing lawns, chatting and watching their kids. There seemed to be so much more communal interaction with your neighbours than I see in my own estate now.
    #
    Nowadays the assumption appear to be don't talk to neighbours in case they may be pedophiles or whatever. My grandfather who was a countryman once told me that he found living among towns people to be a lonely existence

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

i know my neighbours on each side and a few others to say hello to.

one set of neighbours are brilliant. they have my alarm code and spare key to the house.

we invite each other in to house parties etc. the only issue i have with them is that her sister insists on parking across my driveway but sure you cant have everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I get on really, really with my neighbours to my left. We have each others keys, we know each others alarm code.

Whenever we go on holidays we take care of their cat, and they do the same for our pets. We're always doing things for each other, letting builders in, deliveries etc etc. I'd do anything to help them.

To my right, we're friendly to each other but never chat or anything like that. They are quite old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,596 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

I don't really know any of my neighbours, but I did offer a hand to one in my previous address.

I was walking out the door to work when she approached me in the hallway, in a panic. I'm living in Germany, and she was from Africa, so there was no common language.

Anyway, she led me down to the basement, where I was greeted with her washing machine, lying face down in the middle of the floor in a pool of water. I lifted it back into place, and tried to connect it all, but one of the tubes had been damaged in the fall. Had a rummage for some superglue in my apartment, but the nozzle was glued shut, so I had to burst the side open.

So, I was late for work, my feet were soaked, and my hands were covered in superglue. Ah, neighbours. :)

I don't really know any of my neighbours, but I did offer a hand to one in my previous address.

I changed a tyre for a woman (who lives across the road from me) who was bringing her young kids to school.

What kinda ground my gears was that a few cars in front of me (coming from our estate) drove right past (they had to pause to circle her car so there was a slight tailback) and didn't stop to help. It was pretty clear that she was from our (pretty small) estate and that she was struggling with the wheel. It was pouring rain in fairness, but still...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭enniscorthy

closer each day home and away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I ilive out in the shhhticks so people who are neighbours here tend to have been neighbourse for 40 years at least.

Thats except for the last few years when a few random houses ahve been built inhabited by commuters that no one really seem to know at all

Call around one night and say Hi - I'm Slasher. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I don't know my neighbours at all. All it is is a pleasant hello when passing them on the footpath.

I open my door to nobody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

I would happily see the neighbours from down the street burnt and then eaten by dogs....

The ones directly next door seem ok but are never around and the other side seem ok I suppose, I do help them out though if they ask..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Depends on how hot (And how female) said neighbour is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

My last neighbour was a really cool Syrian dude. Strict muslim, and we'd have 3 hours discussions about religion at all hours in the morning.

But...the neighbour before that was a nightmare.
    He was a paranoid schizophrenic who was convinced I ratted on him to the TV licence inspector. His response was to cut every cable/tube/wire on my motorbike and then attack me from behind, pushing me down a flight of stairs. The gardai were called but it turned out that one of the Guards was best friends with this nutcase. So all I got was a 'Press charges against each other or both of you walk away' as their was no witnesses.

So, I'm a bit cautious about the neighbours now and tend to keep to myself. But I'd help any of them out if they asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,184 ✭✭✭✭listermint

My last neighbour was a really cool Syrian dude. Strict muslim, and we'd have 3 hours discussions about religion at all hours in the morning.

But...the neighbour before that was a nightmare.
    He was a paranoid schizophrenic who was convinced I ratted on him to the TV licence inspector. His response was to cut every cable/tube/wire on my motorbike and then attack me from behind, pushing me down a flight of stairs. The gardai were called but it turned out that one of the Guards was best friends with this nutcase. So all I got was a 'Press charges against each other or both of you walk away' as their was no witnesses.

So, I'm a bit cautious about the neighbours now and tend to keep to myself. But I'd help any of them out if they asked.

So did you tell the TV inspector?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Say hello and talk to most of my neighbours. Its amazing in housing estates how so many try out do the other. We certainly have a few who really think thier shít don't stink and wouldn't walk to the shop in casual clother for fear they'd be spotted! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Kiera wrote: »
    I'm living in my apt since March and know most of my neighbours. If they needed a hand doing something i'd have no problem giving one. I'm lucky that they're all young and sound.

Heh Heh Heh. that gave me a chuckle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Usually alot of my neighbours help out if someone needs something, they know it'll be repaid somehow if they are in need too. I like that feeling of neighbourhood spirit that seemed to die in the last 10 years when people had money...now they are f**ked and have no choice:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

I live in a townland with about 11 house and the area was really close until the last few years,I think it was mostly us youngins that kept te neighbourhood spirit alive,and now most of us that were kids are now 18+,with only 2 or 3 people younger.Still fairly closer neighbour hood though but allot of nagging has developed recently..mostly over dogs,One house got a dog which every other dog seems to hate so it keeps getting attacked and now we have to keep our dogs in while that runt runs around!...there are two other dogs in another house that are also fiarly bad,there always on the T road barking and running infront of cars((Terriers))...omg thye never shut up,they try to attack other dogs but they just yarp and run around.

my dog just humps people :p((Well used to lol))

But yeah the closest estate of seen in towns are the one thats are in like Culdesacs((Or however you spell it))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭Skinfull

I've let my neighbours in to use the phone, to wait for a locksmith, to borrow milk/sugar/eggs and I have no problem with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

I have a neighbour whom when egged (on halloween) like some houses in our neighbourhood decided she was being held to her own home, put up gates and railings and got high tech security camera's and has since upgraded the gate to only be opened by a blipper. Loop the loop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

listermint wrote: »
    So did you tell the TV inspector?

Kinda.

We shared a hallway and the mail for several of the apartments was going missing. We notified An Post. Then this guy turns up in an An Post van with an An Post ID and starts asking about who lives in which apartment. I gave him the name of each resident. Then he tells me he is the TV License inspector. I let him see that I had no TV in my apartment and he went to the other apartments but got no answer. I latter find out that the nutcase was listening in on the conversation.

So I accidentally informed the TV License Inspector.

Thing is...I'm pretty sure it was the nutcase that was stealing everyones mail to snoop on them. So he got what was coming to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I have never even set eyes on my neighbours so if they called over wanting to use my microwave, I'd think they were a bit odd! If I knew them, of course I'd help!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Where I'm from in Cork is in the middle of nowhere and everyone knows everyone including their business, it's annoying to feck! Everywhere I've lived in Dublin I've never known my neighbours, never had friendly neighbours really, they just kept to themselves which is fair enough I suppose. Where we are now is a small apartment complex so everyone knows everyone else to at least say hello to, there's a few elderly people living on their own and I know them all now at this stage. We often call in to say hello to a few of them and vice versa, they're lovely so it's nice to finally have neighbours in Dublin that actually speak! Would help them out if they asked no bother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

IvySlayer wrote: »
    I get on really, really with my neighbours to my left. We have each others keys, we know each others alarm code.
    To my right, we're friendly to each other but never chat or anything like that. They are quite old.
    Same as here .I have an older neighbour, a widow and I set her alarm and put her lights on when she's abroad which is about 3 times a year .Also if she is out visting family /friends and not home by a certain time , I set her alarm and put her lights on for her .This takes a great worry from her shoulders knowing sombodys keeping an eye on her home and the joke between us is that I am in her house as much as she is .The family on the other side are quite ,pleasent ,friendly and good neighbours to .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Bought house actually where I grew up, so would know a good few of my neighbours. Could call any time if needed anything or just for a chat.

Latchy wrote: »
    Same as here .I have an older neighbour, a widow and I set her alarm and put her lights on when she's abroad which is about 3 times a year .Also if she is out visting family /friends and not home by a certain time , I set her alarm and put her lights on for her .This takes a great worry from her shoulders knowing sombodys keeping an eye on her home and the joke between us is that I am in her house as much as she is .

Good man The Latch. If she has no other family, you could be quids-in on the will. I like your style. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

My neighbours are sound, they really helped me out when I moved in to my house and was struggling to get the place fixed up.. hung lights, helped me paint and so on. I'd return the favor if they ever need me to

it's a good feeling to have people living beside you who you can turn to if needs be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

These days I live in a modern estate, I hardly know my neighbours (and its not for the want of trying).
    Same here - but to be fair, people keep moving on. It's not really a place people choose to settle in. And I don't think that means nobody would help out if a person needed it. My car battery was dead one day and a couple of guys nearby were more than happy to jump-start the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

stovelid wrote: »
    Good man The Latch. If she has no other family, you could be quids-in on the will. I like your style. ;)
    More a case of simple respect and trust but I take your point .:pac: