Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you ever wondered why people dont "get" wrestling....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

Stopped reading that one very quickly. I never care to read the opinions of those who don't actually follow wrestling, as they will jump on the stereotypes very quickly.

Also, do journalists think it's a sly dig to call wrestling a "sport", in the quotation marks? It seems to be in every one of these type of articles. Goway and write about the economy ye *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭cactus86

ya i got as far as "warping the minds of the youth" .... i just finished reading it cos i knew i was gonna post it here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

that was stupid couldnt read all of it just ridicoulus article

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

Read half of the 1st page and closed it.

A Wrestlers death = Journalists who never watch it over-reacting to it. Did yer man who it mention the Weelness Policy by any chance??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

I can't read it. It'll just anger me too much. I don't care to hear the narrow-minded, ignorant views of people who have no business covering wrestling.

Who the F-CK thinks wrestling is real/a sport? Wrestling was admitted to be a work OVER 15 YEARS AGO by Vince McMahon. Why do you think he rebranded it as Sports-Entertainment?

Anyway, f-ck it, I'm gonna get too angry over it! See ya lads after TLC :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭DinnyBatman

Dunno why ye are all upset. Pretty much everything in the article is correct. It may not be nice to read it, but that doesn't make it any less true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Actually agree with the poster above. The overall point of the article was that wrestling is a pretty scummy industry, in which wrestler deaths are prevalent. Surely no one on here could deny that?

flahavaj wrote: »
    Actually agree with the poster above. The overall point of the article was that wrestling is a pretty scummy industry, in which wrestler deaths are prevalent. Surely no one on here could deny that?

I can't deny the life of a wrestler is awful and that wrestling is a scummy industry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

I'm not denyin that at all Flah boy, its that whoever wrote it thinks a degree from ucd ot wherever entitles you to have an opinion on wrestling, and it doesnt, no matter how well respected a journo you are. Maybe this lad does watch it, I dunno, but the majority dont and that'd piss ya off.

Gerard.C wrote: »
    I'm not denyin that at all Flah boy, its that whoever wrote it thinks a degree from ucd ot wherever entitles you to have an opinion on wrestling, and it doesnt, no matter how well respected a journo you are. Maybe this lad does watch it, I dunno, but the majority dont and that'd piss ya off.

I most cases alright the way wrestling is reported in the media is fairly cringe-worthy. This lad wasn't very far wrong in anything he said though in fairness to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭michael.etc...

I kinda agree with the point of the article- but that said, i would prefer to have this stuff brought to light amongst the non-wrestling media by someone who doesn't display such obvious dislike of the industry. Same problem with Matthew Randazzo.

Some of the points are valid but lets have a read at these little nuggets of wisom:

"currently warping the minds of innocents"

"storylines that border on the pornographic."

"but the WWE, well, its only inconvenience was having to replace a scheduled show with a ratings-grabbing Benoit tribute programme."

Has this lad bothered to watch the PG rated WWE these days??

Ratings grabbing Benoit tribute?? That was aired before any of the details about what happened surfaced.

He talks about steroids as if its only in wrestling, nowhere else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Article was spot on. I don't know what article you guys are reading. WWE has no-talent hacks on steroids like John Cena as champion, instead of talented wrestlers. So wrestlers believe that they have to get big to make it, and are encouraged to get big. This ultimately leads to their death. People dieing young is directly linked to the world of pro-wrestling, and if you don't think so - you have your head in the sand.

im not going against his point about drugs in wrestling, we all know that it has to stop. It's his complete lack of knowledge & obvious dislike of the product that anooys me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭Paulegend

in fairness has anyone actually read it???

i just did. and first of all the guy is totally biased against wrestling and sounds like he is trying to get out of buying his kid wrestling toys or a ticket to wrestlemania..................... but
    sickenly he does have alot of really good points he mentions that in the last decade over 11 or 12 household name wrestlers have died in the last decade all because of heartfailur or other drug(steroid) related problems. most of what he is saying is alot of sh#t so take it with a pinch of salt but he is right about that. he is also right that the only reason that bra and panty matches dont happen anymore and guys arent cut anymore is because of linda going for the senat. thats the reason its pg now. he claims that the mcmahons never had a problem with their top stars taking roids or painkillers to get bigger and stronger. they never had a problem with guys cutting their heads in the ring with razor blades until linda was going for government.
    he does mention that both wwe and tna have their own welness programmes but sounds like he doesnt know much about the programes(imo wwe's is alot stricter) but he does say that the fact results of tests are never made public and there is no independent testing.
    he does say alot about it shouldnt be a sport but he should insult our intelligence we know what wrestling is.

but it did make me think. wrestling is sports entertainment. in every sport there is testing. but there are also proper bans.

rey rey was caught not too long ago. he was aloud to choose who he lost the title to then was off for a month and came back to another title run.

if someone is caught in soccer or rugby they are banned for a year.

wrestlers in tna are just given a talking to.

wrestlers in wwe get a month off. second offence is 3 months(i think) and then termination(contract not life:D)

can you think of 1 wrestler that has never ever taken drugs for wrestling reasons. pain killers or body builders??? and are you sure they never have??

alot of wrestlers are dying because of it and im not talking about lesser known indie wrestlers. i mean high profile guys here. if this happened in soccer, rugby, ufc, boxing.................... what do you think would happen???????

i love wrestling but i think this is a genuine concern and lets not be immature about it. what do you guys honestly believe??? and please no childish crap

cactus86 wrote: »
    Some of the points are valid but lets have a read at these little nuggets of wisom:

"currently warping the minds of innocents"

"storylines that border on the pornographic."

"but the WWE, well, its only inconvenience was having to replace a scheduled show with a ratings-grabbing Benoit tribute programme."

Has this lad bothered to watch the PG rated WWE these days??

Ratings grabbing Benoit tribute?? That was aired before any of the details about what happened surfaced.

He talks about steroids as if its only in wrestling, nowhere else

in fairness he had a good point about that too. the only reason its pg is lindas election campaign

dlofnep wrote: »
    WWE has no-talent hacks on steroids like John Cena as champion, instead of talented wrestlers. So wrestlers believe that they have to get big to make it, and are encouraged to get big. This ultimately leads to their death. People dieing young is directly linked to the world of pro-wrestling, and if you don't think so - you have your head in the sand.

Rick Rude, Davey Boy Smith, Curt Hennig, Chris Benoit, Eddie Guererro, and a whole bunch of others? WWE have always had Main Event stars on steroids- being talented has proven to not necessarily be the key to reaching the top (just ask Funaki), however, being on steroids doesn't make you a no-talented hack.

I think the article irritates people, because while the idea behind it is right, and it's a valid, important discussion, undermining the entire business, and the fan-base, by saying stuff like "warping the minds of the youth" is somewhat unfair and insulting.

Article was spot on. I don't know what article you guys are reading. WWE has no-talent hacks on steroids like John Cena as champion, instead of talented wrestlers. So wrestlers believe that they have to get big to make it, and are encouraged to get big. This ultimately leads to their death. People dieing young is directly linked to the world of pro-wrestling, and if you don't think so - you have your head in the sand.

I must have my head in the sand because I don't agree with what you're saying

You do know that John Cena has never taken drugs in his life. Actually, many wrestlers haven't taken drugs. The WWE set up a wellness test policy to catch drug-takers. If you get caught, you're suspended without pay.

that would be one of the reasons its gone pg, another & in my opinion a stronger one was due to all the publicity that wrestling recieved after the Benoit situation & that the demograph that they were appealing to during the attitude era were tuning out, hence the reason for trying to attract more kids to the product

I must have my head in the sand because I don't agree with what you're saying

You do know that John Cena has never taken drugs in his life. Actually, many wrestlers haven't taken drugs. The WWE set up a wellness test policy to catch drug-takers. If you get caught, you're suspended without pay.

didnt cena once get caught out and say he did? if you look at cena no way in hell he never took them.

as for the wellness policy you get suspended for a month its ridiculous. any other sport you face a posible life time ban

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

You do know that John Cena has never taken drugs in his life.

Me hole he hasn't. You don't get that big without juicing. He was a bodybuilder long before a wrestler. The Wellness policy doesn't prove anything. Anyone can beat a test if the cycle at the right time.

You're naive.

that would be one of the reasons its gone pg, another & in my opinion a stronger one was due to all the publicity that wrestling recieved after the Benoit situation & that the demograph that they were appealing to during the attitude era were tuning out, hence the reason for trying to attract more kids to the product

is noone listening. the reason and ONLY reason that wwe are gone pg is because guys getting cut open and girls getting their kit off in the ring is bad publicity for linda mcmahon running for senat

Paulegend wrote: »
    is noone listening. the reason and ONLY reason that wwe are gone pg is because guys getting cut open and girls getting their kit off in the ring is bad publicity for linda mcmahon running for senat

I agree with you, but the content has been getting toned down bit by bit for quite a while, the Benoit situation & linda running for senate was the final nail in the attitude era coffin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

but it did make me think. wrestling is sports entertainment. in every sport there is testing. but there are also proper bans.
    "Wrestling" is not a sport. Drugs testing and bans were introduced into other sports because they gave athletes a competitive advantage. Sports entertainment is not competitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

john cena is the most over guy on the roster, sells the most merch, creates the most reaction from the live crowd, thats why he is champion, oh and he is far from no-talent, go watch his matches with edge, orton, michaels, umaga, lashley etc, he is no bret hart or chris benoit technical wise but you can put him in there for an hour and be sure of a decent match, try that with ultimate warrior lol

if it were all about being the biggest then why isn't rob terry champion in wwe, he is far bigger than cena??

I agree with you, but the content has been getting toned down bit by bit for quite a while, the Benoit situation & linda running for senate was the final nail in the attitude era coffin

i think they seen it coming for awhile though. alot of pressure was being put on back in the early 90's after hogan said he used. thats all fair enough though. but the welness policy is a joke. its the only job where you can take drugs get caught and keep your job

didnt cena once get caught out and say he did? if you look at cena no way in hell he never took them.

as for the wellness policy you get suspended for a month its ridiculous. any other sport you face a posible life time ban

I don't think so. People just can't accept that he's clean. It's just the genetics he has.

It's a joke that they get a month ban if caught.
    Me hole he hasn't. You don't get that big without juicing. He was a bodybuilder long before a wrestler. The Wellness policy doesn't prove anything. Anyone can beat a test if the cycle at the right time.

You're naive.

I'm not gonna get into an argument with ya about this

If you've iTunes, search for WrestleCast podcasts and listen to Cena's interview. It's free so listen to it.

pro wrestlings not a sport or even close to a sport, if tom cruise starting taking steriods should he face a life ban from movies??

can you think of 1 wrestler that has never ever taken drugs for wrestling reasons. pain killers or body builders??? and are you sure they never have??

CM Punk.

"Wrestling" is not a sport. Drugs testing and bans were introduced into other sports because they gave athletes a competitive advantage. Sports entertainment is not competitive.

but its not just about performance enhancers. mutu(played for chelsea in football) caught for cocain and was benned for 18 months, fired by his club and sued for 30 odd million by his former employer. yes i agree wrestling is not a sport but i would however call it athletisism and put it in a category with weightlifting, strongman comps and other similar type sports. cecause while the outcome of matches may be determined the winner is mostly going to be the bigger guy(mostly not always). the bigger guys will always be favoured by the boss. so in a way it is competitive.

tna's welness policy is non existant. wwe's is very minimal and only there to show they do something. come on its been in place for 3 years. guys are still getting caught on first offences. meaning they where never tested before, got tested at the right time before or they are new users. simple as. it should be no tolerance

I don't think so. People just can't accept that he's clean. It's just the genetics he has.

whether cena takes roids or not is irrelevant imo, steriods have very little to do with wrestlers deaths, every bodybuilder past and present including the likes of arnie, lou ferrigno, lee Haney, doran yates and todays stars such as Ronnie Coleman and jay culter are/were dosed up to their eyes in steriods and yet NONE of them are dead and most are still in great shape today

its not roids killing these guys, its their lifestyle, their pain pills, their booze, their cocaine, their heroin etc

but its not just about performance enhancers. mutu(played for chelsea in football) caught for cocain and was benned for 18 months, fired by his club and sued for 30 odd million by his former employer. yes i agree wrestling is not a sport but i would however call it athletisism and put it in a category with weightlifting, strongman comps and other similar type sports. cecause while the outcome of matches may be determined the winner is mostly going to be the bigger guy(mostly not always). the bigger guys will always be favoured by the boss. so in a way it is competitive.

I agree with some of the points you've been making- but this idea that wrestling can be compared to competitive sports is ridiculous. It's nothing like weight-lifting, strongman comps, or anything else precisely because it's a co-operative, scripted performance.
    The issue with drugs in wrestling has nothing whatsoever to do with drugs being performance enhancers- it simply doesn't matter, because they aren't competing in the ring. Drugs are a problem entirely because of the health implications. It's also part of a bigger picture to do with whether or not WWE/TNA workers are actual employees, or independent contractors, and the age-old argument that there needs to be mandatory holiday time, benefits, and sick pay.

It's a joke that they get a month ban if caught.

I'm not gonna get into an argument with ya about this

If you've iTunes, search for WrestleCast podcasts and listen to Cena's interview. It's free so listen to it.

what???????????????????????? so they should what? be ok to take drugs?
    most stupid thing ive ever heard
    rossie1977 wrote: »
    pro wrestlings not a sport or even close to a sport, if tom cruise starting taking steriods should he face a life ban from movies??

again are you people being for real?? seriously your 32 for crying out loud??? you must actually have grown up opinions
    CM Punk.

yea ah i wont touch that one:D ill just say i wouldnt be so sure he has always been so clean. im sure he is now and even in most of his wrestling career but really dont think its always been the case. just an opinion.

as for the other posters up there come on?????????????????

they shopuld be aloud to take drugs?????

maybe your the minds that where warped. at least some people here can talk about grown up stuff

yea ah i wont touch that one:D ill just say i wouldnt be so sure he has always been so clean. im sure he is now and even in most of his wrestling career but really dont think its always been the case. just an opinion.

Obviously I can't definitively prove it but I'd say with 100% confidence he's always been clean. I've followed his career since his days on the indies and its pretty much commonly accepted that he's clean as a whistle. Doesn't even drink or take painkillers even when suffering a legitimate concussion. Its one of the reasons he was pushed by WWE.

again are you people being for real?? seriously your 32 for crying out loud??? you must actually have grown up opinions

i am not the one comparing the mutu case with pro-wrestling and calling for pro-wrestlers to get a life ban if caught using steriods

What an over-reaction

To me, It's a joke it's a month. It should 3 months for strike 1, 6 months to a year for strike 2 and termination for strike 3. Neither that or call the Police if a wrestler is caught and let them go to court/jail.

Please don't assume that it's the "most stupid thing you ever heard". Don't just over-react to it

as for the other posters up there come on?????????????????

they shopuld be aloud to take drugs?????

maybe your the minds that where warped. at least some people here can talk about grown up stuff

CM Punk has always been clean.

BTW- you've called out for "grown up opinions", yet completely ignored my post, and childlishly insulted those who disagree with yours. Nice.

You compltely misunderstood D2D's point as well.

rossie1977 wrote: »
    i am not the one comparing the mutu case with pro-wrestling and calling for pro-wrestlers to get a life ban if caught using steriods

ok the guys train hard all week. use wieghts cardio and so on. they then compete(albeit scripted) in a ring on front of an audience where they jump from ropes ladders titantrones and so on. they have to be athletic. is that fair enough? so im going to use the word athelete

these atheletes(if anyone knows how to spell could ya help me out:D) train all week. if they take drugs how is all that jumping running and making their heart pump faster and faster without them noticing.............. how is that not affecting their hearts??? how is that not a cause???

so yes i am saying that there should be more strict bans imposed. not sauing life bans because i dont agree with life bans in any athletic events(not sport:D)

ok the guys train hard all week. use wieghts cardio and so on. they then compete(albeit scripted) in a ring on front of an audience where they jump from ropes ladders titantrones and so on. they have to be athletic. is that fair enough? so im going to use the word athelete

these atheletes(if anyone knows how to spell could ya help me out:D) train all week. if they take drugs how is all that jumping running and making their heart pump faster and faster without them noticing.............. how is that not affecting their hearts??? how is that not a cause???

so yes i am saying that there should be more strict bans imposed. not sauing life bans because i dont agree with life bans in any athletic events(not sport:D)

So you agree totally agree with Dare 2 Defy yet totally rubished his point which was exactly the same as yours?

My advice to you would be to take a deep breath and unclench before you post next time. Have a little think about what you want to say before you blurt out the first thing that comes into your head.

but they don't have to do that, i think this is where most of the young guys coming through today are getting it wrong; hulk hogan was champion for 6 years doing a eye poke, punch, big boot, slam and leg-drop every night. kevin nashs offense has always been limited, stings, lugers, warriors (all guys that reached the top of their profession. you don't get over in pro-wrestling by flipping and stage diving off cages (thats for czw), you get over by being charismatic, by connecting with the crowd, by having great psychology, watch cena and rvd at ONS and how he works the crowd that night, its brilliant, a simple look has the crowd baying for his blood

What an over-reaction

To me, It's a joke it's a month. It should 3 months for strike 1, 6 months to a year for strike 2 and termination for strike 3. Neither that or call the Police if a wrestler is caught and let them go to court/jail.

Please don't assume that it's the "most stupid thing you ever heard". Don't just over-react to it

i apologise i thought you meant its a joke that they are banned for a month. as in i thought you meant they shouldnt be banned:D and yes i over react sorry dude
    CM Punk has always been clean.

BTW- you've called out for "grown up opinions", yet completely ignored my post, and childlishly insulted those who disagree with yours. Nice.

You compltely misunderstood D2D's point as well.

yup i believe he has throughout his career never used but i wouldnt bet against him using before he became big on the indie market(not the point though as i agree he is clean)

i didnt ignore your post i mentioned it in my last post.
    what i was saying by comparing bodybuilding etc to wrestling was the athletasism part. i would consider wrestlers as athletes

and my childish insults where for good reason:D people think wrestlers shouldnt get a slap on the wrist for taking DRUGS. i mean come on!!!

So you agree totally agree with Dare 2 Defy yet totally rubished his point which was exactly the same as yours?

My advice to you would be to take a deep breath and unclench before you post next time. Have a little think about what you want to say before you blurt out the first thing that comes into your head.

Thanks Flah for that.

He mis-understood my point. Everyone makes mistakes.

Seriously, WWE and especially TNA need to cop themselves on with their drug-testing policies. If they want to make sure all athletes/wrestlers are clean, enforce stricter penalties (be it huge fines, long suspensions, terminations, contact the Police...).

This isn't a dig at TNA, here : http://www.wrestleview.com/news2009/1259802317.php
    TNA held a surprise drug test at the last set of TV tapings in Orlando, FL reports The Wrestling Observer Newsletter . We're told they had around a 25% failure rate the last time they did drug testing in the company and since no one was told ahead of time this round of testing was taking place then the results could be quite high. No one was punished when testing positive the last time.

no i agree with him now i just thought he meant something else and i apologised. i was replying to someone else at the same time that may have effected my emotions but that dont mean my point aint true. but back to D2D ive read alot of his posts in other threads and he seems to have good opinions. i rarely disagree with him

i apologise i thought you meant its a joke that they are banned for a month. as in i thought you meant they shouldnt be banned:D and yes i over react sorry dude

and my childish insults where for good reason:D people think wrestlers shouldnt get a slap on the wrist for taking DRUGS. i mean come on!!!

Apology accepted but your childish insults weren't for good reasons. I'd say absoloutly no-one thinks that

no i agree with him now i just thought he meant something else and i apologised. i was replying to someone else at the same time that may have effected my emotions but that dont mean my point aint true. but back to D2D ive read alot of his posts in other threads and he seems to have good opinions. i rarely disagree with him

Thanks, I guess...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭smilerf

A very good and accurate articale imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Lone Kimono

smilerf wrote: »
    A very good and accurate articale imo

Except for all the errors and mistakes in it

What errors and mistakes are u referring to??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,734 ✭✭✭✭Penn

smilerf wrote: »
    What errors and mistakes are u referring to??

From the article:
    Benoit's personal doctor was later convicted on 175 counts of illegal prescriptions but the WWE, well, its only inconvenience was having to replace a scheduled show with a ratings-grabbing Benoit tribute programme.

Their only inconvenience? The fact that they replaced Raw with a tribute show to one of their top stars who was well liked and respected, but who later was discovered to have killed his own family, had the brain of an 80 year old Alzheimers patient and whose body was full of steroids... was their only convenience? Hardly. Benoits death changed a lot of things about the whole wrestling industry.
    Almost every male wrestler sports exaggerated thighs, swollen pecs, and distorted biceps. They possess the sort of eye-popping body shapes and grossly-enlarged muscles that are only achievable through many years in the gym and many cycles of performance-enhancing drugs.

While its true that a lot of the superstars may have taken steroids in the past, and may even secretly be taking some, to tar them all with the same brush is ridiculous. Many of the most popular superstars look pretty normal. Punk, the Hardys, Edge, Rey Mysterio, Orton, HBK, Swagger, MVP.... Hell, Eddie Guerrero didn't have "grossly-enlarged muscles" or "distorted biceps", and he was one of the most popular wrestlers of his era. These guys work out a lot and watch what they eat. To say that "almost every male wrestler" took performance-enhancing drugs is ridiculous, whether they did or not.
    On Christmas morning, kids will be delightedly hurtling these plastic versions of their heroes (notable for always wearing a grimace) around the replica rings that will also sell by the bucketload. It may be the only present given that celebrates something that is becoming increasingly indefensible even as a slice of light entertainment. Where else are the central characters dying at the rate of one a year?

Central characters? Test was semi-retired wasn't he? Umaga was no longer in the WWE, because he refused to go to rehab. Guerrero had been off steroids for over 2 years, no-one could have seen his death coming. It's not like the WWE plan for one of their "central characters" to die every year.
    The worst part about the whole business is that the death of Umaga barely raised a murmur beyond a few wrestling websites. It was largely ignored by the mainstream media because this is how wrestlers are expected to die these days.

This isn't how wrestlers are "expected to die". What a load of bullsh*t! His death didn't hit the mainstream media probably because he was no longer with the WWE. Same with Test. I do think Eddie's death made mainstream media though, although I can't really remember. Benoit's did but for more obvious reasons. But how they're "expected" to die?
    The message that has been sent by the WWE for the past quarter of a century is a simple one. If you get big enough, by whatever means possible, you too can make it to the highest level and become a television icon. Who doesn't want to end up as an action figure on some kid's bedroom shelf?

It's not about being "big enough". Smaller wrestlers like Mysterio, Jeff Hardy, Punk, Edge, all the ones I named before. They weren't huge. Hell, I see people more muscular in my gym every week. Are they on steroids? I don't know. But probably not. One guy I used to work with was 48, and probably as muscular as Triple H. Wouldn't go near steroids because of his religion. Just worked out a lot, focused, and trained hard. Ate properly too and made sure he got the right nutrients and stuff. You do not have to take steroids to be muscular.

I could do the rest of the article, but I don't have time right now. Just my 2 cents anyway

From the article:

Their only inconvenience? The fact that they replaced Raw with a tribute show to one of their top stars who was well liked and respected, but who later was discovered to have killed his own family, had the brain of an 80 year old Alzheimers patient and whose body was full of steroids... was their only convenience? Hardly. Benoits death changed a lot of things about the whole wrestling industry.

While its true that a lot of the superstars may have taken steroids in the past, and may even secretly be taking some, to tar them all with the same brush is ridiculous. Many of the most popular superstars look pretty normal. Punk, the Hardys, Edge, Rey Mysterio, Orton, HBK, Swagger, MVP.... Hell, Eddie Guerrero didn't have "grossly-enlarged muscles" or "distorted biceps", and he was one of the most popular wrestlers of his era. These guys work out a lot and watch what they eat. To say that "almost every male wrestler" took performance-enhancing drugs is ridiculous, whether they did or not.

Central characters? Test was semi-retired wasn't he? Umaga was no longer in the WWE, because he refused to go to rehab. Guerrero had been off steroids for over 2 years, no-one could have seen his death coming. It's not like the WWE plan for one of their "central characters" to die every year.

This isn't how wrestlers are "expected to die". What a load of bullsh*t! His death didn't hit the mainstream media probably because he was no longer with the WWE. Same with Test. I do think Eddie's death made mainstream media though, although I can't really remember. Benoit's did but for more obvious reasons. But how they're "expected" to die?

It's not about being "big enough". Smaller wrestlers like Mysterio, Jeff Hardy, Punk, Edge, all the ones I named before. They weren't huge. Hell, I see people more muscular in my gym every week. Are they on steroids? I don't know. But probably not. One guy I used to work with was 48, and probably as muscular as Triple H. Wouldn't go near steroids because of his religion. Just worked out a lot, focused, and trained hard. Ate properly too and made sure he got the right nutrients and stuff. You do not have to take steroids the be muscular.

I could do the rest of the article, but I don't have time right now. Just my 2 cents anyway
    I agree with the article imo what he says rings true. I enjoy my wrestling but am neither a mark or a wwe fanboy not saying are but anyway i think it was a good read
    oh about the part where they did a tribute show because its a ratings grabber... yes they wanted tto pay tribute to him but vince is a very shrewd businessman too. only my opinion