Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show 11/12/2009

• 11-12-2009 3:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭

A number of the celebrity guests who will join host Ryan Tubridy on 'The Late Late Show' tonight have been confirmed.
    Canadian singer Michael Bublé will be chatting to Ryan about his new album 'Crazy Love' and performing on the show, ahead of his much-anticipated duet on 'The X Factor' this weekend.
    Legendary singer Yusuf Islam (aka Cat Stevens) is also due to appear on the show, to talk about the criticisms he received after walking off stage during his concert at the O2 in November, in order to allow for a performance from his forthcoming West End musical.
    The renowned singer is also due to perform live on tonight's show.

Television presenter Hector O'Heochagáin is also due to drop in for a chat.

I'll watch for Michael Bublé - he is hot :D:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Jersey Girl

Jesus, not Hector again. Wonder what he is selling or pluging this time? Is is just me or does anyone else think Hector is a right pain in the hole?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

JP Liz wrote: »
    Legendary singer Yusuf Islam (aka Cat Stevens) is also due to appear on the show, to talk about the criticisms he received after walking off stage during his concert at the O2 in November

"Play Peace train, you c**t"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭The Prophet

Never mind some recent concert hoo-ha, I hope Turdity has the integrity to strongly pull Yusuf Islam up on his despicable religiously zealous view on Salman Rushdie. Ask him to rescind and apologise for his comments (which were not 'dry humour', as Islam dishonestly suggests) on Rushdie's fatwa. Yusuf Islam is a prevaricating snake, hiding behind his soft-spoken folk singer facade.

But I guess that pressing such a tough question is only reserved for the first episode of the host's first season in charge (i.e. the Cowen interview), when Ryan wanted to make a good robust first impression. Now that's long over, he can play all interviews at a mostly "softball" level.

How quickly the public forget what position this 'gentle' old viper aligned himself with at the end of the 1980s. I suppose everything is forgiven... once a middle-aged audience can nostalgically relive some of Cat Stevens' 70s pop hits, eh?

Peace Train, my arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Well it says that he is on "to talk about the criticisms he received after walking off stage during his concert at the O2". So he will have to raise some uncomfortable questions for the Catman. I cant imagine him raising any issues over his religious beliefs though. It's not really the show for it.

I cant imagine him raising any issues over his religious beliefs though. It's not really the show for it.

I don't see why not Jonathan. TLLS has always had a mixture of lighter and heavier interview pieces. Celebrities with majorly controversial pasts have been spotlighted on said controversies before. Yusuf Islam should be no exception to that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭jackthekipper

mikom wrote: »
    "Play Peace train, you c**t"

Or, "what do you think of Salman Rushdie you c***"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Epicurus

Looking forward to seeing Michael Buble. Always a joy to listen to. Loved his Late Late show appearance in 2007; hopefully will be even better tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭andrew90

Jesus, not Hector again. Wonder what he is selling or pluging this time? Is is just me or does anyone else think Hector is a right pain in the hole?
    Hector was a show with Tommy Tiernan over the Christmas, probably plugging that, agree with ya about Hector, used to find him o.k when he first came on tv, a bit to much now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Cat Stevens.

Up.

Own.

Arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭el diablo

Yes, I can't stand that ginger tw*t. He gives me the irrits, big time. :rolleyes:

Orange pilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭philboy

God Yusef Islam is sooooo boring!!!

Sycophant Turdity helpfully setting up the religious apologist spiel there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭JohnnyChimpo

I cant imagine him raising any issues over his religious beliefs though. It's not really the show for it.

He had no problem riding Richard Dawkins about his religious belliefs (or lack thereof), when he was on to promote a book that had nothing to do with religion :rolleyes:

Exactly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Johnny Giles

Tommy won't be on anyway. He's in Letterkenny tonight doing a gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭gerkeo

Did Cat stevens just generalise all irish people as being alcolholics when describing the booers at the concert:

tubbers quoted stevens blog after the concert saying that alcohol was to blame.
    "Ye have a reputation for that type of thing" stevens replied to tubbers.

Strange branding an entire group of people on the actions of a few...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

Yusuf/Cat would have had a tougher "interview" in Gitmo, I think:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

This is brutal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

This is brutal.

Yes, yes it is

This is brutal.
    what does this Hector chap actually do (besides speaking Irish)? Why is he on the LLS? He's a totally pointless human being... :confused:

Orange pilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭casio4

Hector is funny tonight sometimes he can be annoying but he's good tonight:D

casio4 wrote: »
    Hector is funny tonight sometimes he can be annoying but he's good tonight:D

He used to be funny...but the novelty's worn off now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The producer did a sweep of the RTE canteen again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

"150 million to save the banks",

Ha, I wish

el diablo wrote: »
    what does this Hector chap actually do (besides speaking Irish)? Why is he on the LLS? He's a totally pointless human being... :confused:

TV/radio presenter :rolleyes:

A few years ago he presented a travel programme on TG4 that wasn't bad. It was quite popular. Since then, I couldn't tell you what he's been doing. He seems to be branching into comedy now or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭jd

His brother Freddie and himself use to hog bombjack at the back of the buttery beside the jacks,, I remember that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Another abysmal string of guests. I'll pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Damn, Buble just walked into a Hen Night up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

He had a program where he reported from state executions all over the world. It was called "Hanging With Hector"

/runs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,546 ✭✭✭Enii

Wow he really worked the audience!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

Jesus those women are like dogs in heat after Buble
    There is a blonde wan in the audience that looked like she was about to grab his leg and start humping him....

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

A LLS guest working the crowd during a song? First time I've seen that...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Not my style of music but he has a great voice.

See Tubs trained him in on going into the audience!

Who goes to the Late Late Show for their hen night. That's a bit sad. :)

Orange pilled.

Like dogs in heat!

Who goes to the Late Late Show for their hen night.

Women

Michael Buble - "I pop myself in I pop myself out"

Isn't this guy a queer? Didn't a girl ignore him because she thought he sounded gay?

Most pointless post ever?

Anyway, have to say...it's the first time I've seen him interviewed...I'm impressed so far!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭shreksaurus

Micheal Buble is great. Was never a fan of him until recently. I love him. And his music. He is hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭mbarosin

What did the teddy bear say?

W.B. Yeats wrote: »
    Jesus those women are like dogs in heat after Buble
    There is a blonde wan in the audience that looked like she was about to grab his leg and start humping him....

Imagine a guy doing that to Kylie or someone :)

Their would be murdah ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭cc

sounds like he's had a few beverages?

Michael Buble - "I pop myself in I pop myself out"

Isn't this guy a queer? Didn't a girl ignore him because she thought he sounded gay?

Wow that is shocking news, heard earlier today that George Michael is gay and Stevie Wonder is blind....couldn't believe it!

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Imagine a guy Tubridy doing that to Kylie or someone :)

Their would be murdah ..

FIxed that for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

This dude is high.

murpho999 wrote: »
    Wow that is shocking news, heard earlier today that George Michael is gay and Stevie Wonder is blind....couldn't believe it!

So he is gay then? I thought everyone thought he was but he isn't but judging by your seemingly sarcastic reply he must swing that way. ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,546 ✭✭✭Enii

Tubs sounded like such an anglophile "what a strange joke" about the Queen Mother..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

He is hot.
    QFT. I'll have me some Buble

So he is gay then? I thought everyone thought he was but he isn't but judging by your seemingly sarcastic reply he must swing that way. ?

I don't know if he is or not, and to be honest I don't care. Doesn't really matter nowadays to most people.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

I never had an opinion on him till now, he's a good interviewee, he's quite funny too..:D