Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IMRA season 2010

• 10-12-2009 8:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭

Here's a new thread to replace our 2009 one. Its a place for discussing hillrunning, races, training, equipment, shoes, banter: so long as it goes up and down, and makes you mucky, this is the place for it! I'll put in a few links for new runners who might be curious about hill running, feel free to post more relevant info below so that we can direct newcomers to the first page of this thread throughout 2010.

What is hill running? Irish Mountain Running Association for all the information you need about races, dates, maps, carpooling, results, etc.

Do I need special gear? In general, the only specific gear you need is hill running shoes, which will provide extra traction for the different terrain. Most hill shoes have less cushioning and support than road shoes, and are more durable. Some good shoes are discussed here, here, here and where to buy them

Other gear you may need, depending on the difficulty of the race, may be waterproof clothing, map and compass, mobile phone.

How do I enter? IMRA membership is €10 per calendar year, and then €7 per race. You can register your details, (gender, age grouping, club affiliation), before each race, once that is done, you are in the system, and will be included in the results (with lots of neat graphs and charts so you can track your progress throughout the years races, and that of your rivals!).

Do I have to be in a club? No, you may leave the club section blank if you wish. There is also an inter-county rivalry, so you can enter your county (of birth or residence, especially if that contributes to a bigger geographical spread than Dublin and Wicklow!). However, the inter-club rivalry is a big part of the races, and gives runners down the field a chance to "score". If you are not a member of another running club, you can put down "Boards AC", and be a part of the Boards team who run the IMRA races. (You do not need to join the official Boards AC team to run IMRA races, just frequent this forum, turn up and run, although you must join them if you want to run for Boards AC in AAI-run events).

Besides the above, carpooling helps to lessen parking problems in often remote locations, turning up early (+1hour) before the race start helps with registration queues, and most of all volunteering often helps keeps prices down and organization efficient. Through these pages, we have ran a couple of very well received map-reading course's, with more planned in 2010. The ever-popular Wicklow Way Relay had its first team comprised of Boards runners, and we are aiming for at least two teams this coming year. We had a great time talking about, and running in, IMRA races in 2009, thanks to everyone, from all clubs and none, who helped make it such a huge thread! Onwards and upwards in 2010!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

A few of us in the Wicklow area were thinking about getting together for a bit of a hill run over Christmas and I was proposing a jog around the Annacurra race route for 2010. The date that appears to suit most is the 29th December. The time wasn't mentioned but lets suggest 1pm?

The vague plan is to run the hill and call back to the local for a few post run bevvies. ALL WELCOME whether you're Wicklow based or not. Directions can be found on the imra site under events and Annacurra race. Or PM me.

Regards,

Mick (ask Slogger)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

A few of us in the Wicklow area were thinking about getting together for a bit of a hill run over Christmas and I was proposing a jog around the Annacurra race route for 2010. The date that appears to suit most is the 29th December. The time wasn't mentioned but lets suggest 1pm?

The vague plan is to run the hill and call back to the local for a few post run bevvies. ALL WELCOME whether you're Wicklow based or not. Directions can be found on the imra site under events and Annacurra race. Or PM me.

Regards,

Mick (ask Slogger)

Slogger Jogger doesn't have the decency to post a proper link with directions to this run.

However, he does have very deep pockets, and will surely buy the first round post-run. The more the merrier:)

Just bumping this up again for anyone thats in the vicinity on Tuesday at 1pm that wants a c. 10k trail run at easy pace. If the weather takes a turn for the worst we may have to reconsider but for the moment its on.

Results of todays race in:-
    Charles Barrington Sugarloaf race
    2 Boardsies in the results.

Just bumping this up again for anyone thats in the vicinity on Tuesday at 1pm that wants a c. 10k trail run at easy pace. If the weather takes a turn for the worst we may have to reconsider but for the moment its on.

Fair play to SJ on his new and improved course for the Annacurra route. There's a fair bit more climbing involved, less straight trail, all round more interesting, and will make for a more exciting race. The new downhill is off-trail and could make for a lot of fun come race day. Roll on February!
    Indeed, he did in fact buy the first round...

Nice profile... We should be able to run it a bit quicker without the ice dancing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

Results of todays race in:-
    Charles Barrington Sugarloaf race
    2 Boardsies in the results.

We couldn't make it three? Tsk, tsk. Where was dapope? Marooned in Cavan?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Dunebuggy

Looking forward to the IMRA season ahead , starting with Howth on the 10th, hope ye all had a great xmass and wishing ye a great year of racing ahead in 2010.

Its going to be a busy one :-)

Happy New Year!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭earlyevening

Happy New Year guys!

Wont make the first winter IMRA race but will be at all of them from then on hopefully. In India for the last while - will do a few miles on the beach later probably. (Haven't run in a month).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Hey all,
    I assume that the race on Sat in Howth will be going ahead despite the weather?
    Nothing on the site to suggest it won't be at the moment anyway.

The race is on Sunday 10th in Howth - The race is still going ahead - there isnt as much snow/ice in Howth as there is in other places.

However it is going to be bloody cold out there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Do you have to be an IMRA member to race? I only intend to do the 1 (or 2) Howth races this year, unfortunately my location doesn't permit more than this.

You need to be a member and you can register on the day. On the webiste there is also a membership form available for download. It would be good to have this with you filled out on the day.

IMRA membership is €10 per calendar year, and then €7 per race after that.

Great Value !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

How tough is this race? Suitable for a first imra race?

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    How tough is this race? Suitable for a first imra race?

Not a very tough course, not too long, or too steep- very good intro course to hill running. It will take you up and over the summit of Howth, with a great view (and a killer crosswind if last year is repeated). Trail shoes to cope with the muckier bits if you have them, if not, there will be plenty of others running in road shoes.

First race of the year, so everyone is filling out registration forms, leading to queues, as Dunebuggy says, download the form and bring it with you to save time. Fill in Boards AC for the club part if you want to run with Boards for IMRA in the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Cheers donot. Thanks for that. Will make a decision on it by end of week.

Just getting back after break in december so bit sluggish!

Lots of good info on the first race of the season from the RD on the IMRA forum http://imra.ie/forum/topic/id/1990/ and this relevant section (FAQ) for newbies. http://www.imra.ie/beginners/

christeb wrote: »
    Do you have to be an IMRA member to race? I only intend to do the 1 (or 2) Howth races this year, unfortunately my location doesn't permit more than this.

Theres a race in Louth too christeb - thats nearly northside! Some of the Dublin mountain runs are but a short drive on the M50 too :rolleyes:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Hey lads. Where's the Fairy Chase race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

beertons wrote: »
    Hey lads. Where's the Fairy Chase race?

Beertons,

I believe that this race starts at Ticknock. It's to commemorate the 30th Anniversary of IMRA's first race.

Please keep an eye on the imra site later in the week for potential updates on the Howth race. The roads up and around the GAA are quite icy so access and parking might be an issue, even if the trails are themselves okay.

The weather doesn't look to improve until the end of next week. Won't be sorry to see the back of the ICE so that we can get back running

Howth race has been postponed.

Mother nature rules unfortunately :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭paulocon

Theres a race in Louth too christeb - thats nearly northside! Some of the Dublin mountain runs are but a short drive on the M50 too :rolleyes:

Louth! By a process of clever deduction, I assume the Cooleys! Any idea what the route is?

Black mountain, if memory serves...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭paulocon

Black mountain, if memory serves...

good stuff. might give that one a go - about the only place I have only hope of getting some practice in prior to a race!

Howth race has been postponed.

am quietly delighted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭guapos

Very disapointed about Sunday was really looking forward to it but what can you do.

Does anyone know if you can get a bus from the city centre to the registration for the Ticknock race?

Thanks.

I'm sure you can, but if you get a luas to Sandyford you could perhaps get a do-gooder to pick you up from there. If you post on the imra forum closer to the time there would be passing traffic heading to the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

The Dublin Bus website claims the 114 goes to Ticknock, but don't be fooled, to the best of my knowledge, it's a purely fictional service (It's not exactly the kind of road you would drive a double decker up anyway). Best to get a bus to Lamb Doyle's pub, probably a few people carpooling from there.

guapos wrote: »

Does anyone know if you can get a bus from the city centre to the registration for the Ticknock race?

Thanks.

48A will take you to Ballinteer, to within half a mile of registration at Taylor's Three Rock Pub- get off around Superquinn, go to the black gate entrance of Marlay Park, don't enter, turn left along road about 500m to Taylor's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭guapos

Thanks for the replies. Id forgotten about Sunday bus service so hopefully the luas and a kind imra runner will get me there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭Enduro

Or you could cycle to the race. Thats what I did last year (for every race I did)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Nialloooo

im in wexford and really want to try trail/mountion running this season, is there any races i should take part in as a pure beginner to hill running (i have run marathons and several halfs and 10k's etc but all road races )?? or just pick one in the low numbers in the grading system and do it??

Hope to meet some of you in the year to come
    Nialloooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭jlang

Nialloooo wrote: »
    im in wexford and really want to try trail/mountion running this season, is there any races i should take part in as a pure beginner to hill running (i have run marathons and several halfs and 10k's etc but all road races )?? or just pick one in the low numbers in the grading system and do it??

Nialloooo
    The grading is on a relative scale but apart from avoiding the longest races to ease yourself in, I'd say you have plenty of running under your belt to be able to turn up at any IMRA race.

Compared with a road race, pacing against your watch is almost useless unless you know the course really well as the terrain will dictate what you can do and where. Take it handy at the start because running with the leaders can be deceptively easy from the off until you realise they will keep that pace up to the top of the hill. And the dirty secret of mountain running is that when the uphill gets steep it can be more effective to walk than run.

Hi Nialloo,

Last year a trail series of 3 races was held in the Wexford area. It was on hills like Askamore and it was fairly popular so I'd reckon it could happen again.

imra race on 6th February in Annacurra which isn't a long drive from Wexford.

Some other weekend races wouldn't be out of range either e.g. the Wicklow way trail race.

And some time in the summer there'll be the Mount Leinster race which is in your neck of the woods.

Annacurra was a great race last year, rem we taught that was alot of snow on top. . . It was nothing compared to what we will have tomorrow.

Hope the weather holds up for Enduros Cycle to Annacurra :-)

Lots of snow on Annacurra trails now (and this was yesterday's picture before the fresh snow)

4256901007_30d047c7d4_b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Raighne

Nialloooo wrote: »

Nialloooo

HI Niall,

Jane and Graham Porter started the Wexford Open Trail Series last year which is just what you want, the confirmed dates for this year are:

28th March Little Sliabh Bhui

25th April Kilbrannish South

9th May Gibbet Hill

The dates are also now up on the IMRA website with race descriptions: http://www.imra.ie/leagues/view/id/38/year/2010/

I also suggest contacting Slaney Olympic running club as Jane and Graham and other hill runners are active members of that club and will be able to sort you out.

'Fraid the Howth race won't happen this weekend either. Roll on Ticknock on 24th.

The Wicklow Way Ultra is to be "rounded up" to 50k. Seems like a great idea right now: wonder will I still think so 44k+ into the race:eek:

yes you will definitely be prolonging the pain, but on the positive side it sounds like we will have a boards team again this year :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

The Wicklow Way Ultra is to be "rounded up" to 50k. Seems like a great idea right now: wonder will I still think so 44k+ into the race:eek:
    Is the trail race increasing in distance too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

In the proud tradition of webhappy IMRA you can go on the forum and lobby for anything you want. Myself and the bould Rene have so far replied asking for the 22.4km race to stay the same but you easily ask for it to go to exactly a half marathon Distance or increase to 25km or whatever. The poor long suffering committee and race co-ordinator crew will take all imput on board.

The nice folk at Taylors will open a room for us to register in from 9.45am on till 10.30am on da button and it would be great if folk came back there after the race and bought a pint or a sambo or whatever..

The ticknock race is finishable by anyone who has been racing on the roads and is still reasonably fit after the xmas excesses.

cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭Enduro

Just to point out that
    The nice folk at Taylors will open a room for us to register in from 9.45am on till 10.30am on da button and it would be great if folk came back there after the race and bought a pint or a sambo or whatever..

refers to the ticknock race next week, and not the Wicklow Trail/Ultra.
    In the proud tradition of webhappy IMRA you can go on the forum and lobby for anything you want. Myself and the bould Rene have so far replied asking for the 22.4km race to stay the same but you easily ask for it to go to exactly a half marathon Distance or increase to 25km or whatever. The poor long suffering committee and race co-ordinator crew will take all imput on board.

I'll echo that (being the webmaster, and on the committee etc). I'll also see any comments posted here, as will one or two other committee members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

More Ticknock info (ie this coming Sunday 11am race)

REGISTRATION

At registration on Sunday, everyone will have to pay the 2010 registration fee and race fee:

The annual registration fee is €10 and race fee is €7 (Total of €17).

For OAPs, students and unemployed the annual registration fee is €5 and race fee is €4 (Total of €9).

The membership form can be downloaded from the IMRA homepage http://www.imra.ie/ad-hoc/MembershipForm2010.pdf

There is always a queue at the first race each year, so it will help if you could arrive early with your registration form completed and have the exact money with you.

REGISTRATION CUT-OFF

Taylor's 3 rock have kindly offered to open up a room for registration which will open at 9.40am.
    The registration queue closes at 10:30am sharp on Sunday to allow volunteers to complete registration data inputting before the race. The start of the race is NOT at registration.

If this is your first time to attend an IMRA race, please refer to our Beginners section which answers many questions: http://www.imra.ie/beginners/

IMPORTANT NOTICE CAR PARKING AT TICKNOCK

All IMRA race related cars must park inside the grounds of Ticknock forest and NOT on the road outside. This is a safety concern for residents further up the road.
    All IMRA race related cars should endeavour to carpool and arrive full of eager runners.

More information to follow..

Can we get a boards team for this race? Won't be able to run myself, but will be watching from the sidelines. Who's up for it?

I will be there .. does anyone know how the trail is currently - Have we snow ICE, MUD or has it recovered slightly ....

I'm running in Inis Meain this weekend so cant make it unfortunately.