Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Muzzles and the restricted breeds act

• 09-12-2009 10:01pm
    Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭

My girlfriend and I are seriously considering rescuing an older dog, and have our hearts set on a Staffy. My mother in law recently rescued one (she lives over in the UK) and she's the most charming, gentle dog either of us have ever met. From everything I've read, this is typical of the breed! :D

We've done our reading, and realise that any dog of this breed, would need to be muzzled in public, but both of us have an issue with those big, bulky plastic muzzles! I'm sure it causes people to be more cautious of your dog, but anyway. Would a nylon halti-type collar suffice for the muzzle requirement?

Many thanks for any help, we want to know what to expect, and what's required of us, before we make any big decisions! :p

• Registered Users Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

As far as I am aware, a halti is accepted as a muzzle. Thats what I use anyway and have never been questioned.

They are a fabulous dog. good choice and well done for considering a rescue. There is a user on here who does great work with bull breeds, she also rehomes. I would suggest going through a rescue as opposed to a pound so that you know the dog you would be getting has been assessed by someone who knows what they are doing.

(just waiting now for the usual comments made when it comes to threads about these dogs)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

I own a rottie and have never muzzled him, ever.

I use the dogmatic headcollar as its much better than the normal halti so yes i would use that instead of those horrible muzzles.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Top Dog

We've done our reading, and realise that any dog of this breed, would need to be muzzled in public, but both of us have an issue with those big, bulky plastic muzzles! I'm sure it causes people to be more cautious of your dog, but anyway. Would a nylon halti-type collar suffice for the muzzle requirement?

Many thanks for any help, we want to know what to expect, and what's required of us, before we make any big decisions! :p
    I see you're based in Cork. I've asked a couple of the dog wardens in the area about the use of Halti's/Dogmatic/etc as a substitute for the horrific looking basket muzzles - and both of them said that they'd have no issue at all with them being used. Once the dog was under effective control then work away with the halti or whichever you prefer. :)

Just note that they could deny all knowledge of having said this, but that was their opinion when I approached them with a Rottie wearing a halti ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭FunkyMissMonkey

We've actually spotted a beautiful staffy on the DiD site today. :rolleyes: So we'd be definitely going through a rescue where possible.

Great to hear that the halti or similar is going to be enough to satisfy the requirements though, I was dreading having to use a full plastic muzzle!

I don't want to stir up any anti-bull breed issues. :D I've known a fair number of bull breeds and other so-called dangerous and restricted breeds, both here and back home in the UK, and all of them have been big softies. The only dog I've ever been scared of was my aunt's spaniel, but I was about 5 back then, and it jumped up at me and knocked me flat over! :D

Top Dog wrote: »
    I see you're based in Cork. I've asked a couple of the dog wardens in the area about the use of Halti's/Dogmatic/etc as a substitute for the horrific looking basket muzzles - and both of them said that they'd have no issue at all with them being used. Once the dog was under effective control then work away with the halti or whichever you prefer. :)

Just note that they could deny all knowledge of having said this, but that was their opinion when I approached them with a Rottie wearing a halti ;)

Good news, thanks for that! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Good luck OP :D keep us updated on your progress with the adoption. And post pics when you get your dog!

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭cianer

Am I right in saying that the muzzle law is only enforceable by gardai and not the wardens?
    I was told that although the dog wardens can tell you that you should have one on your dog they can't do anything about it, only a guard can. Something to do with the type of law it is. Most guards don't seem to care as long as the dog (any dog breed) isn't a public hazard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭steamjetjoe

andreac wrote: »
    I own a rottie and have never muzzled him, ever.

I use the dogmatic headcollar as its much better than the normal halti so yes i would use that instead of those horrible muzzles.

Is it possible for a dog to back out of this collar, Or is it secured in such a way tht the dog could not shake, roll or jump himself loose.

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭DBCyc

cianer wrote: »
    Most guards don't seem to care as long as the dog (any dog breed) isn't a public hazard

I think that you are right there. The Gardaí seem to use common sense in enforcing this law.

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭kildara

Is it possible for a dog to back out of this collar, Or is it secured in such a way tht the dog could not shake, roll or jump himself loose.
    They can't back out of it. Even if they do, you have the other end of the lead (it should be used with a training lead) secured to their collar so that will hold him/her.

Good luck OP :D keep us updated on your progress with the adoption. And post pics when you get your dog!

We've cleared it with our landlord. We've spoken to the cats and got their, if not approval, well, they'll cope I'm sure! :D We've made enquiries with DiD regarding a dog we're interested in, just waiting to hear about cat suitability, and then home check.

Having talked about getting a dog for so many years, it's exciting to finally be starting the process! :o

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Having talked about getting a dog for so many years, it's exciting to finally be starting the process! :o
    Congratulations and the very best of luck! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭gypsygirl

cianer wrote: »
    Most guards don't seem to care as long as the dog (any dog breed) isn't a public hazard

Most Guards do use common sense, I recently had a Guarda car pass me by three times while I was walking my German Shepherd and Doberman, obviously observing my dogs, both of my dogs were unmuzzled, they then stopped the car and called me over to admire my dogs and ask if the dogs were licensed, and complimented me on how well behaved both dogs were. I have a rottie pup now too and she's so friendly and playful, shows no signs of needing a muzzle, I take her to dog parks at least twice a week to socialise her and today she was scared by a tiny terrier, Lol. Not all big dogs are aggressive, it depends on how they are raised. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 dublindogcare

great breed to get , lovely dogs.

Not going to go into the restricted breeds debate etc and think its very funny that the gardai called over the rottie and dober to comment on how well behaved they were !

As you know these laws are not enforced until something goes wrong ! - or at least someone says somethings gone wrong! so just be a little cautious of the fact as unfortunitly people do see these breeds out walking and are automatically a little more cautious about them.

with regards to the law; your staff will need to be on lead, with muzzle at all times in public (and with someone over the age of 16).

enjoy , and the best of look in finding the perfect one !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Paul91

your staff will need to be on lead

lead has to be 2m or less also - no extendable leads at 5m then (yes i know i am picky)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,834 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

There is a user on here who does great work with bull breeds, she also rehomes. I would suggest going through a rescue as opposed to a pound so that you know the dog you would be getting has been assessed by someone who knows what they are doing.

(just waiting now for the usual comments made when it comes to threads about these dogs)

http://www.egar.org/ Speak to Sarah. No one has as much expertise & experience with Bull Breeds. You can also PM her here, user name EGAR.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Daisy Stringer

Congratulations on choosing a staffie, they really are a dream dog, I've had 3 rescues myself and I would never consider having another breed ever again.

I would suggest that you meet your prospective dog at least once before making a decision. Insist on seeing them around other dogs (and people). Watch out not only for aggressive/dominant behavior, but also for excessively fearful traits, which may lead to even greater problems later on.

I was pulled by the local dog warden on Monday for walking my staffie (on a short lead) without a muzzle. It was close to my home, so I invited him in. We have a dog licence, ID tag, she is neutered and micro-chipped so all in order except the muzzle. He took our details and told us to expect a letter from our local authority and to get a muzzle. He emphasised that A HALTI IS NOT ACCEPTABLE as it does not prevent a dog from biting.

We visited the vet today to have a muzzle fitted. The staff and customers (with their animals) were highly indignant that such a placid and friendly dog was visiting for this reason. It was difficult to find one that fitted correctly and she was not a bit happy with the restriction. The vet even went so far as to say that the muzzle might end up MAKING her aggressive. We will keep trying, hopefully if she associates it with the walk she might get used to it.

This is my first time in 10 years of walking Staffordshire Bull Terriers that I have been asked to apply a muzzle. My question is this: if we are found again without a muzzle, what is the penalty? Can my dog be taken from me? Can I be arrested??? Any advice would be greatly appreciated as I am finding it very difficult to ascertain the exact legal position.

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭CreedonsDogDayc

This is my first time in 10 years of walking Staffordshire Bull Terriers that I have been asked to apply a muzzle. My question is this: if we are found again without a muzzle, what is the penalty? Can my dog be taken from me? Can I be arrested??? Any advice would be greatly appreciated as I am finding it very difficult to ascertain the exact legal position.

I absolutely despise this like! you have a well behaved, well loved family pet that's fantastically looked after, and now you have to muzzle it!!!!
    My parents have a little jack russell, and she can be nippy when your leaving the house (sometimes trys to pull you back in, doesnt touch skin but could scare a child). In my experience its the little terriers that are much more likely to snap, but now your dog is being muzzled and nothings been done about the real offenders

The laws in this country are ridiculous, and obviously made up by people who know nothing about dogs.

What I hate most about your post is the fact that this dog is obviously a fine example of the breed, and now when people see her approaching with a muzzle on they will make immediate incorrect assumptions straight away!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭lrushe

Rightly or wrongly I absoluately refuse to muzzle my Rottie. I haven't spent years trying to find a reputable breeder and then months of my own blood, sweat and tears not to mention money training and socialising my dog and making her into a good dog citizen just to give into the Rottweiler sterotype and put a muzzle on her. She is better behaved and more obedient than 80% of dogs I see out and about and ironically often the most obedient dogs I do see are on the restricted breed list as owners feel the same as I do and feel like their dogs has to better behaved than other dogs just to be on par with them, its really frustrating! :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭ISDW

My brother lived in Germany for a while and they have a rottie. If I remember rightly, and please correct me if I'm wrong, certain breeds there also have to wear a muzzle etc, but you can get your dog temperament tested and then they don't have to. Max their rottie passed with flying colours, but they would still walk him in a red halti, which showed up against his face as they would get regular abuse for him not being muzzled from members of the public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Lauragoesmad

Did you get a staffie? Pics please! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭lrushe

ISDW wrote: »
    certain breeds there also have to wear a muzzle etc, but you can get your dog temperament tested and then they don't have to.

Interesting idea, I'd have no problem putting Brook up for something like this, I am fully confident she would passed with flying colours also

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭DBCyc

The laws in this country are ridiculous, and obviously made up by people who know nothing about dogs.
    lrushe wrote: »
    Rightly or wrongly I absoluately refuse to muzzle my Rottie.

I totally agree. The laws have been introduced here as a knee jerk reaction to some unfortunate incidents that were pounced upon by sensationalist journalists.

I refuse to muzzle my staffy too as she would never be a threat to any other dog or person.

However, if she was aggressive, I would have no issue with muzzling her, no matter what breed she is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Daisy Stringer

Thank you all for your support. I am still trying to find out the consequences if I am caught out again without a muzzle after receiving my first warning from the warden. The official letter from our local authority still has not arrived.

If anybody knows what the next step is, I would be grateful if you could post it here or send me a message.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

A breach of any of the provisions of the 1986 Act on summary conviction can result in a fine not exceeding £1000 or possibly to a term of imprisonment not exceeding three months or both, See Section 27 (as amended by section 9 of the 1992 Act).

THAT is what happens if you breach the control of dogs act which also includes the restricted breeds act. Your dog can be seized and destroyed. It has happened before.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

EGAR wrote: »
    A breach of any of the provisions of the 1986 Act on summary conviction can result in a fine not exceeding £1000 or possibly to a term of imprisonment not exceeding three months or both, See Section 27 (as amended by section 9 of the 1992 Act).

THAT is what happens if you breach the control of dogs act which also includes the restricted breeds act. Your dog can be seized and destroyed. It has happened before.
    The dog can only be destroyed if the warden can satisfy a court that it has injured someone or damaged property, which automatically gets it classed as "dangerous" and therefore can be destroyed.

However, yes, the warden can confiscate your dog for an indefinite period "to deteremine if an offence has been committed", and a judge is likely to be less and less lenient with you if you keep presenting at court with the same offence.

That said, I don't muzzle my staffie in public and it's never been an issue. Very occasionally people will notice she's a staffy, but by and large people are only aware of "restricted" breeds when they spot them in public with a muzzle on. Most people who can spot a staffy are aware of how gentle they are. Rottie and GSD owners aren't so lucky because your average idiot knows what those breeds look like. Wearing a muzzle will make other people more afraid of your dog. You can get muzzles which aren't *full* muzzles (i.e. covering the nose), but are about an inch thick. These are more comfortable and won't stop the dog from opening its mouth, but will stop it opening the mouth enough to inflict abite.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

It depends in what area you are, in some it's enforced in others it isnt.

I was involved in 4 cases in the past 10 years in which dogs whom the owners refused to muzzle were seized by Gardai and dogwarden. None of these dogs were aggressive, yet their owners refusal ended in 3 being pts and the 4th ending up here at my rescue. I am involved with BSL, DDA and whatever name you want to give it internationally for well over 2 decades. When it comes to so-called *dangerous* breeds the law is a law unto itself.

Did you get a staffie? Pics please! :)

We did! :D

4407995763_b2696620eb.jpg
    This is Ruby.

4408759612_f997b50fa9.jpg
    and Lillie.

More on topic - we're really struggling to find suitable muzzles for them. As they're still fairly young, the ones designed for staffies (with the fairly narrow bands that go over the top) are far too big. With the smaller sizes however, the top nose band is too deep for their short muzzles, and basically covers their eyes.

Any advice? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭crotalus667

Have you tried the metal ones they look lose and the strap goes over the top of the head and around the side ,

• Registered Users Posts: 298 ✭✭Blogger50

We did! :D

4407995763_b2696620eb.jpg
    This is Ruby.

4408759612_f997b50fa9.jpg
    and Lillie.

More on topic - we're really struggling to find suitable muzzles for them. As they're still fairly young, the ones designed for staffies (with the fairly narrow bands that go over the top) are far too big. With the smaller sizes however, the top nose band is too deep for their short muzzles, and basically covers their eyes.

Any advice? :)

Sorry I cant help with the muzzle question as I'm only a learner myself but just wanted to say they're beautiful :D