Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neighbours Surround Sound

• 08-12-2009 11:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭

Not sure exactly where to post this thread but right now the "weird" neighbours have their surround sound on its like this every night usually from around 10-30 to about 1-30/2-30 :mad:
    The house is shaken to its foundations the is no room in the house you cant hear it and has woken up an 8 and 4 year old and now cant get them settled back to sleep with school in the morning arraaagggh (8 year old is already starting to suffer in school because of this):mad:

Any suggestions anyone on what to do
    Ive rang the gaurds they are powerless
    Im sitting here powerless myself and really want to go and knock/kick at there door and give them a piece of my mind but as I said they are a weird family akin to the Burbs and I would actually be scared to knock (I seriously think they are doing this deliberately) and they should understand there is kids here they have a grandaughter in the same class as the 4 year old
    The ignorant mindless bastards:mad:

(If this is in the wrong thread please feel free to move it to the apporiate place)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Burn their house down, easy.

If your house is burnt down too, even better - you definitely won't hear any noise from next-door then.

It's win-win tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Call the Gardai. They are very helpful. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

*gets matches and petrol*

Seriously I really feel like doing that this minute :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Call the Gardai. They are very helpful. :)

I did and they were very understanding but they said they were powerless because it was in their own private home :mad:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Save that petrol. Might be worth its weight in gold by this time tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

I'm having noise bother myself with my housemate. This is the FOURTH night this week where I've had to leave my bedroom utterly disturbed by the ''OMG OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOH oooooooooooooooooh Uh OMG... '' etc.. coming from their bedroom!

Fcuking taking the biscuit at this stage. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,144 ✭✭✭✭kippy

This really is the wrong forum for a topic as serious as this, all you'll get will generally be answers that your four year old would make a better attempt at giving.

Have you approached your neighbors and asked them to turn it down? If so and nothing has happened have you contacted their landlord if they are renting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,582 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

It's a civil matter, and the Gardai are essentially powerless when it comes to domestic noise pollution

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

MizzLolly wrote: »
    I'm having noise bother myself with my housemate. This is the FOURTH night this week where I've had to leave my bedroom utterly disturbed by the ''OMG OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOH oooooooooooooooooh Uh OMG... '' etc.. coming from their bedroom!

Next thing you'll be telling us is that you went and joined them..... ;)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,618 Mod ✭✭✭✭dory

How can the gardai be powerless? The amount of times I've heard of them knocking on doors in private homes when there's a mad party in full swing. How is this different?

BluesBerry wrote: »
    I did and they were very understanding but they said they were powerless because it was in their own private home :mad:
    It is their problem if they are disturbing the peace.

You should post thie on the Emergency service forum.

stepbar wrote: »
    Next thing you'll be telling us is that you went and joined them..... ;)

No. It's gone beyond funny. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

Grow a pair and go to the door and ask them to turn it down, they mightn't even realise how loud it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,582 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

dory wrote: »
    How can the gardai be powerless? The amount of times I've heard of them knocking on doors in private homes when there's a mad party in full swing. How is this different?

If the owner of the home doesn't allow entry to the Gardai and politely tells them to mind their own business then there isn't anything the Gardai can do about it.

Most people sh!t themselves when the Gardai knock on their door and turn down the volume/kick people out.

Do they actually say "OMG"? That'd be hilarious.

strongr wrote: »
    Grow a pair and go to the door and ask them to turn it down, they mightn't even realise how loud it is.

I would if i had someone to come along with me but like i said I would be scared to approach them alone especially this time of night you hear horror stories all the time about neighbours and yes im a wimp :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Clare_Guy

why can't you just call in to them and politely tell them that their surround sound system can be heard clearly through the walls? I've had experience of this kind of thing with neighbours before and most of the time they didn't even realise that they were causing a disturbance.
    Why was your first reaction to call the gardai? They're your neighbours, try talking to them first, grow a pair ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

It's a civil matter, and the Gardai are essentially powerless when it comes to domestic noise pollution

Constant loud noise at unsocial hours could constitute harassment which is illegal.

I had a neighbour who used to do similar. The music isn't so loud when the fuses disappear from their fuse box (assuming it's on the side/front of the house).

<----walks away whistling with a halo above his head.

I would if i had someone to come along with me but like i said I would be scared to approach them alone especially this time of night you hear horror stories all the time about neighbours and yes im a wimp :(

What horror stories? You've kids, is this the example you want to set for them? Living in fear of your neighbours in your own house coz you don't have the stones to talk to them?!!

yeah ''OMG HRDR HRDR OMG!''

but no not really :)

Constant loud noise at unsocial hours could constitute harassment which is illegal.

I had a neighbour who used to do similar. The music isn't so loud when the fuses disappear from their fuse box (assuming it's on the side/front of the house).

<----walks away whistling with a halo above his head.

why are people bringing up gardai and criminal acts?!! The OP hasn't even spoken to his neighbours about this! He's just assuming they're weird and dangerous coz of all the ''horror stories''!

yeah ''OMG HRDR HRDR OMG!''

but no not really :)

"LOLZORS I came!"
    If you got that on video it'd get a million youtube hits within hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,681 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

if the gards won't sort it could you talk to your local representative or something get them to do something about it

Clare_Guy wrote: »
    why can't you just call in to them and politely tell them that their surround sound system can be heard clearly through the walls? I've had experience of this kind of thing with neighbours before and most of the time they didn't even realise that they were causing a disturbance.
    Why was your first reaction to call the gardai? They're your neighbours, try talking to them first, grow a pair ffs!

I had called the gardai to get advice on the best way to handle the situation with these neighbours are not very approachable and when the gardai said they were powerless to do anything
    Dont get me wrong Im not a kill joy Id tolerate it on weekends but everynight weekdays everynight of the week and of course they know its loud its a timber framed house you can hear everything its gone beyond a joke
    Ive heard other peoples surround sound in other houses and nothing compares to this they have this up to the max some nights you can hear from the end of the street
    wed night movies on rte seem to be there favorite too

I had called the gardai to get advice on the best way to handle the situation with these neighbours are not very approachable and when the gardai said they were powerless to do anything
    Dont get me wrong Im not a kill joy Id tolerate it on weekends but everynight weekdays everynight of the week and of course they know its loud its a timber framed house you can hear everything its gone beyond a joke
    Ive heard other peoples surround sound in other houses and nothing compares to this they have this up to the max some nights you can hear from the end of the street
    wed night movies on rte seem to be there favorite too

Still doesn't explain why you can't just call in (or ring them) and politely talk to them?!! They might not realise they're disturbing you, i know it's obviously that it's loud but if you don't let them know that it's causing you a problem, it's almost like an invitation for them to continue. You need to nip this in the bud.
    Also, if you do speak to them and they react aggressively, you've a reason then to get the gardai involved...

if the gards won't sort it could you talk to your local representative
    And Sinn Fein at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

I'm not sure how loud it is but it may be unintentional. Especially if they are relatively new houses as you could hear your neighbors rice crispies snap crackle and pop through the walls.

I usually watch a movie or some tv shows late at night till about 2 and i try keep it as low as possible. Enough so i can hear it. But when i go downstairs i can hear it through the floor as if i have it pumping. So if they have it at a regular volume i'm sure it might be louder. Just knock during the day or evening when they aren't watching anything. Might be a bit more understanding if you don't interrupt them as some people can be spiteful pricks. I mean just man up and do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

"Hello Gardaí, how can we help you"

"My neighbours are running a brothel"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

Seems like the general consensus is to grow a pair.

I would concur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

why are people bringing up gardai and criminal acts?!! The OP hasn't even spoken to his neighbours about this! He's just assuming they're weird and dangerous coz of all the ''horror stories''!

You have way too much faith in people. If the neighbours were decent people they wouldn't be blaring the music in the first place. They would respect their neighbours.

In short....he shouldn't have to ask them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭docdolittle

God if my neighbors done that to me, I'd destroy them with all my speakers/amps at about 7 in the morning to give them a nice wake up call! :D about... 800+ watts just in my bedroom ;)

Of course I'd go in and ask them first... and I've had drug dealers and the scum of the earth as neighbors!! (The joys of living in Clondalkin) It's still easier just asking them to turn it down a bit nicely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

You're quick on the smartarse replies lately. Good job.

You have way too much faith in people. If the neighbours were decent people they wouldn't be blaring the music in the first place. They would respect their neighbours.

In short....he shouldn't have to ask them.

In a perfect world everyone would be conscientious, responsible and aware of how their actions affect their surroundings.

This is not a perfect world and people are wrapped up in their own little worlds.

The OP has a problem, he needs to solve it, the first step in the solution is letting the neighbours know there is a problem. The first reaction was to call the gardai. The next move was to go on boards (AH no less!) and hope someone here could offer a solution. The OP wants someone else to deal with this problem for them.

OP needs to be an adult and speak to their neighbours...

In a perfect world everyone would be conscientious, responsible and aware of how their actions affect their surroundings.

This is not a perfect world and people are wrapped up in their own little worlds.

The OP has a problem, she needs to solve it, the first step in the solution is letting the neighbours know there is a problem. The first reaction was to call the gardai. The next move was to go on boards (AH no less!) and hope someone here could offer a solution. The OP wants someone else to deal with this problem for them.

OP needs to be an adult and speak to her neighbours...

I will speak to them tomorrow just Im really not a confronting sort of person I just wanted to know what others would do
    I just didn't want to go and start a feud want to handle this carefully
    Ill let you know what happens

I will speak to them tomorrow just Im really not a confronting sort of person I just wanted to know what others would do
    I just didn't want to go and start a feud want to handle this carefully
    Ill let you know what happens

It doesn't have to be a confrontation, simply go and speak to them. Think about what you want to say to them. If you're nervous about it and are worried you'll mess it up, then write it down so it's clear and practice in front of a mirror before you do it.

Good luck... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭docdolittle

It doesn't have to be a confrontation, simply go and speak to them. Think about what you want to say to them. If you're nervous about it and are worried you'll mess it up, then write it down so it's clear and practice in front of a mirror before you do it.

Good luck... :)
    But if the walls are that thin, they'll hear her before hand anyway :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Go over at 2 in the morning when they are loud and bring the kids in their pajamas. Make sure and rub some onions or vicks under their eyes before you go. Guilt them into stopping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭raptorman

Noise is a disturbance covered by the law of tort. Sure its in their house but its coming into yours. I thought the Guards could do something but maybe not if its a civil issue. You'd have to go to court and get an injuntion preventiong them from causing the disturbance. Then they would be in breach of a court order if they were to continue and the Guards would get involved. Give your solicitor a call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Hells Belle

You could try speaking to them, however I tried that with a cnut like that next door, she was all apologetic but it was the same again 2 nights later.

One Sunday morning after a particularly loud party I got every stereo, alarm clock, tv etc and put them up against the joining wall on full blast and went to my mum's house for a kip.

I got back at 8 that night and the stupid cow was sitting on her front wall crying cause she couldn't sleep in her house and she had work in the morning. she never did it again ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Ticktactoe

Not saying this should be your first port of call but if all else fails:
    http://www.environ.ie/en/Environment/NoisePollution/PublicationsDocuments/FileDownLoad,1319,en.pdf

Dont put up with this. This is your home and your families home and you dont interfer with theirs so do something about it.

/However remember that you will be living beside them for the foreseeable future unless one of you decides to move.....!

Ring Joe Duffy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

Not sure exactly where to post this thread but right now the "weird" neighbours have their surround sound on its like this every night usually from around 10-30 to about 1-30/2-30 :mad:
    The house is shaken to its foundations the is no room in the house you cant hear it and has woken up an 8 and 4 year old and now cant get them settled back to sleep with school in the morning arraaagggh (8 year old is already starting to suffer in school because of this):mad:

Any suggestions anyone on what to do
    Im sitting here powerless myself and really want to go and knock/kick at there door and give them a piece of my mind but as I said they are a weird family akin to the Burbs and I would actually be scared to knock (I seriously think they are doing this deliberately) and they should understand there is kids here they have a grandaughter in the same class as the 4 year old
    The ignorant mindless bastards:mad:

(If this is in the wrong thread please feel free to move it to the apporiate place)

Boards P.I responce
    Hi OP,
    Sorry to hear your trouble.

From personal memory, you can contract your local county coucil and they'll send out an inspector. They sometimes install some recording equipment and ask you to turn it on when the neighbours are noisy.

Although, I'd suggest that you knock on their door and calmly ask them to be mindful of how thin the walls are, even if they're difficult. They might oblige.

Here's some info.
    http://www.environ.ie/en/Environment/NoiseIssuesConsultationPaper/PublicationsDocuments/FileDownLoad,1319,en.pdf

Boards A.H. responce:
    **** on their cat/dog.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

First off you need to tell them the noise is causing a problem. If things dont improve then do the following:

* During unsocial hours at night, turn your stereo on full blast for an hour or 2. Pick a time you know is inconvenient for them.
    * The next day call to their door and apologise for the noise but tell them that if you have any more disturbances from them you will leave your stereo on full blast for a few days while you are away.

Worked for me! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn!

Talk to your neighbour

Tell them after 10 to turn it down and its all good. No need for all the melodrama. It takes 10 minutes to knock on someone's door and be nice about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

You said that they have grand kids. Any chance that they're old and deaf? They may not realise just how load the TV is.

I would definately recomend that you avoid childish retribution and attempt to talk to the neighbour first. If that fails, then and only then, go to the local authority like I suggested above. If that fails. It's a civil matter. Consider talking to your solicitor about getting an injunction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭I_luv_2_ski!

ask them to stop when your in the house...or next time one of them is alone at night lock your bedroom door and put on some really loud porn!!!

as for the noise issue they mightn't realise how loud it is...in my old house they used to come home late at night (bout the same time as me) after a night out and play "eye of the tiger" on karaoke CONSTANTLY...one night i got few up...called in ask asked one of them to come into my room (don't take that the wrong way) when he realise how loud it actually was it did quieten down!! until they had a party and dad kept knocking on the door but they couldn't hear him so he took the spare key (it was a rented house so we had one) and walked in and flicked the switch for the electricity and said if the heard it again he was calling the guards...ends up someone down the road already had and they arrived as dad was walking out...the guards got a drugs haul out of it!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Talk to your neighbour

It takes 10 minutes to knock on someone's door and be nice about it.

It takes you ten minutes to knock on a door? Sure they're hardly hear that if your hand is moving that slowly.

The Gardai can't actually force somebody to turn music down if it's inside their own home. If they're outside doing it or on a balcony they can as it constitutes disturbing the peace. If they're inside then no can do.

What I can't believe is that somebody would call the Gardai before going over and asking your neighbours yourself to turn it down? Just be nice about it and they'll probably be fine.

If they persist though then it's stereo against the wall time with a nice loud Sonic Youth album on repeat at full volume. It really does work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

but you are not allowed to making excessive noise in a built up area after 9pm. The law is on your side

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭ccosgrave

If you're really scared about confrontation in person, why not just give them a ring?