Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ANPR Systems

• 08-12-2009 4:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11

hey anyone know if anpr systems can record speed. and can they do it from a slipway.

Seen what I can only presume is an unmarked garda car on a slipway with its hazards on. It was the new model focus. Car tore past me on the outside lane. The garda car didnt move so i was wondering does it record speed? If so can it do it from a slipway?

And if so how does it differentiate the speed between maybe 5 or 6 cars passing it on the motorway? As in who was doing what speed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Yes it can detect speed.

From www.garda.ie

Automatic Number Plate Recognition

An Garda Síochána is in the process of fitting Automatic Number Plate Recognition (ANPR) systems to Garda Traffic Corps vehicles. This system is used in patrol cars by many police forces worldwide. Systems can scan number plates at around one per second on cars travelling up to 160 kilometres per hour.

ANPR systems also include a speed detection capability. This allows for the measuring of the speed of a vehicle travelling in front of a patrol vehicle. The video camera records on-the-scene evidence of speeding, and offences such as dangerous driving, crossing continuous white lines and breaking red lights.

One of the main benefits of the system is that the plate recognition can run in the background while Gardaí are measuring speed or attending to other issues as demands dictate.

All vehicles fitted with ANPR camera systems will be able to identify vehicles as being stolen, untaxed, suspect, cited as connected with terrorist suspects, crime groups, drug trafficking, people trafficking and/or persistent offending.

The systems therefore make a significant contribution to the fight against serious and organised criminal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Imprezaman

donvito99 wrote: »
    Yes it can detect speed.

From www.garda.ie

Automatic Number Plate Recognition

An Garda Síochána is in the process of fitting Automatic Number Plate Recognition (ANPR) systems to Garda Traffic Corps vehicles. This system is used in patrol cars by many police forces worldwide. Systems can scan number plates at around one per second on cars travelling up to 160 kilometres per hour.

ANPR systems also include a speed detection capability. This allows for the measuring of the speed of a vehicle travelling in front of a patrol vehicle. The video camera records on-the-scene evidence of speeding, and offences such as dangerous driving, crossing continuous white lines and breaking red lights.

The systems therefore make a significant contribution to the fight against serious and organised criminal

Wow can they not catch you if your doing over 100mph so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Actually, as far as I know, ANPR can record speed, but only if it is in a car travelling behind another car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭CR 7

Imprezaman wrote: »

Yeah, they won't be able to read your number plate at that speed, so you won't get done for the other offences listed. However if that happens, motor tax out of date is the least of your worries. :)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,234 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

hey anyone know if anpr systems can record speed. and can they do it from a slipway.

Seen what I can only presume is an unmarked garda car on a slipway with its hazards on. It was the new model focus. Car tore past me on the outside lane. The garda car didnt move so i was wondering does it record speed? If so can it do it from a slipway?

And if so how does it differentiate the speed between maybe 5 or 6 cars passing it on the motorway? As in who was doing what speed?
    ANPR is just Automatic Number Plate Recognition and is designed to capture number plates. This is in use in many places including car parks, toll bridges, etc.
    However, knowing that you are talking about the technology being used within garda vehicles, what happens after the number is captured is down to what other technologies are in the car!
    It doesn't say that it is limited to cars @ 160km/h - it says that it can scan one car travelling at that speed each second. It possibly takes a bit longer to scan each car should it be travelling faster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 jasonpbmw

so can it not tell if a car is insured or not??

Apparently it can with most (Irish registered) cars!

its just that it will cause a load of people who drive on 3rd party extension to be stopped in the wrong

Many 3rd party extensions require the other car to be insured already!

im with quinn and the other car doesnt need to be insured as my own insurance covers me, and other insurances that are the same are axa and hibernian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

ANPR cars are calibrated vehicles. They can record the speed of a vehicle and if needed can give average speed over a certain distance.

ANPR vehicles cannot do static speed detections. Thats left to the lazer gun.

ANPR cars are calibrated vehicles. They can record the speed of a vehicle and if needed can give average speed over a certain distance.

ANPR vehicles cannot do static speed detections. Thats left to the lazer gun.

So if the garda car is parked it cant do a speed detection. Does that mean they were out to catch the no insurance/no tax guys as opposed to speeders?

Iv also noticed ye dont have the 3rd aerial on your unmarked cars anymore. They look exactly like any other car. Only way you would notice would be if you were right behind the unmarked car

Near about bloody time. Always thought that was stupid.

yeah but there all D reg, you'd know an unmarked car a mile off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kwalshe

jasonpbmw wrote: »
    yeah but there all D reg, you'd know an unmarked car a mile off
    they are not all d regs, there is some unmarked on county regs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

While on the subject of ANPR in Ireland....

For tax, does it send a query to a live central database? (ie. Shannon)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

So if the garda car is parked it cant do a speed detection. Does that mean they were out to catch the no insurance/no tax guys as opposed to speeders?

whenever i see a mondeo ill look down to the front bumper to see is there a refector shaped side repeater on either side of it :D

no they download all the info off a database called pulse every morning

kwalshe wrote: »
    they are not all d regs, there is some unmarked on county regs

Yup, not all D reg's, and anyway, a D reg doesn't matter if you're in the greater Dublin area!

And they're not restricted to Mondeos anymore either. Have seen them in a glut of different cars.

One thing I don't know, is ANPR fitted to all Garda cars now, or just Traffic Corp ones?

ANPR is only in a very limited number of garda vehicles

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Seen alot more without the 3 aerials now. Interesting also is the fact that the middle section of the break lights are now glowing red when breaking!

well i suppose in dublin it wouldnt work with the d reg's, but the majority of them are d reg, very very few are other reg, and usually if you see a one its been drivin by a detective and its his own car, as for not all mondeos thats true, they also have lots of toyotas, bmw's subaru's saabs,and opels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

JohnCleary wrote: »
    While on the subject of ANPR in Ireland....

For tax, does it send a query to a live central database? (ie. Shannon)

They initially tried to get real time data from Shannon, but the ANPR computer couldn't handle being put on hold for 30 mins, or told to call back after lunch, or being told that noone was available to take it's call because the office was up in Newry doing Christmas shopping on strike.. ;)

no they download all the info off a database called pulse every morning
    Are you sure about this? So they connect their local database (ie. ANPR system) to PULSE's main DB every morning to refresh data?
    Pkiernan wrote: »
    They initially tried to get real time data from Shannon, but the ANPR computer couldn't handle being put on hold for 30 mins, or told to call back after lunch, or being told that noone was available to take it's call because the office was up in Newry doing Christmas shopping on strike.. ;)
    Yeah this is what I heard (and that the idea failed). Would just like to know what system they're using.

It can't be that feckin hard to query a (correctly written) DB live via something like a 3G connection (lets not get carried away with WiMAX as there's not been a nationwide roll-out... yet) - That way you've up to date info which will cut down in wasted Garda time

ANPR is restricted to Traffic units only.

It is updated every morning using an encripted memory stick from PULSE.

The three ariels are nearly a thing of the past. Unmarked Traffic units only have two for some time. With Tetra the second ariel is only a stub like the old mobile phone handsfree ariels.

No the ANPR will be pinging number plates while the member has the handheld speed gun detecting speed.

ANPR is restricted to Traffic units only.

It is updated every morning using an encripted memory stick from PULSE.

Ah right. At the moment what info does it have? Registered Owner and Tax? What's the refresh rate from the time you tax your car until it's uploaded to PULSE?

JohnCleary wrote: »
    Ah right. At the moment what info does it have? Registered Owner and Tax? What's the refresh rate from the time you tax your car until it's uploaded to PULSE?

Tax/insurance are the main two. It also informed us of certain warnings like stolen vehicles and other warnings that are not for this forum.

If you Tax your car today it will be uploaded by Shannon the following day.

ANPR only returned untaxed vehicles of two months or more giving the allowance most Gardaí will give. Its a condition we asked for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭gofaster_s13

well i suppose in dublin it wouldnt work with the d reg's, but the majority of them are d reg, very very few are other reg, and usually if you see a one its been drivin by a detective and its his own car, as for not all mondeos thats true, they also have lots of toyotas, bmw's subaru's saabs,and opels

Wrong, the majority of the newer traffic corp unmarked cars(and jeeps, seen an unmarked ford ranger crewcab pickup pulling on the Monasterevin bypass) are registered locally, special branch cars are still generally D regs but they don't tend to bother with speeders.

News to me.......

news to me aswell, well its definitly not that way in the southeast area anyway, there all still d reg, even 09 ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭gumpy2

iv also seen an unmarked black toyota landcruiser with a westmeath reg around the monstrevin way

and also a white mitsubishi pajero around naas (dual carriageway)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭tommmy1979

There's a unmarked white berlingo van in cork.. seen it 2 or 3 times now, thought i was seeing things the first time:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭rohatch

Tax/insurance are the main two. It also informed us of certain warnings like stolen vehicles and other warnings that are not for this forum.

If you Tax your car today it will be uploaded by Shannon the following day.

ANPR only returned untaxed vehicles of two months or more giving the allowance most Gardaí will give. Its a condition we asked for.

Thats good to know. We tax the cars yearly online and we mixed the discs up. Only realised when the new discs came in the post. Imagine that .. a full year. No hassle from anpr or checkpoints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

news to me aswell, well its definitly not that way in the southeast area anyway, there all still d reg, even 09 ones
    lads, if you can read the reg....its too late anyway.....your caught at that stage.

If speeding of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

antodeco wrote: »
    Seen alot more without the 3 aerials now. Interesting also is the fact that the middle section of the break lights are now glowing red when breaking!

That's the IR LED's to illuminate in total darkness.

Watch RoadWars or the likes and you'll see the ANPR system regularly. I think nearly every car over there has the system.