Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Whip Wrestling on Joe Duffy now

• 08-12-2009 2:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭

Hi Folks,

Haven't posted here in a long while but just heard the "Ballymun Bruiser" talking on Joe Duffy at the mo regarding an "incident" with a young fella in the crowd.

Thought y'all might be interested!

Gilly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭TheCandystripes

Gillie wrote: »
    Hi Folks,

Haven't posted here in a long while but just heard the "Ballymun Bruiser" talking on Joe Duffy at the mo regarding an "incident" with a young fella in the crowd.

Thought y'all might be interested!

Gilly

oh dear. i love that bruiser guy. if i ever established a pan european promotion id sign him :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Please god let him not have ben in character.

From what I read in the Irish promotions sticky, Bruiser was just being a heel, and there was an horrific over reaction? Anyone care to elaborate?

What was the outcome from the show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

On the contrary, I think the bruiser in character on Joe Duffy would be brilliant. Picture the reaction in the studio as he whips out a can of dutch...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Statement released on our Facebook fan page:
    Ger Leggett (aka Ragin' Rick) here.

This afternoon, there was a topic covered on RTE Radio 1 show, Liveline, where a caller complained about the behaviour of Kevin Metcalfe (aka Ballymun Bruiser) during his entrance for his match against AMT host, Sean Coffey (aka Angry Andy) on Friday night in Verona Football Club. Verona was rented by Irish Whip Wrestling to host the show and took no further part in its organisation or events.

Bruiser and I both appeared on Liveline to discuss this. As many of you will know, I was hosting the show on Friday and we at AMT were filming it for a YouTube documentary on the match which is going to be released later this week.

In the incident in question, Bruiser grabbed a mask a child had brought with him to the show out of his hand and threw it back in his lap. He also shouted at the child, among other fans, as a way of establishing himself as the 'heel' (bad guy).

When a fan (Larry; who called Liveline) attempted to get into the ring and confront Bruiser about the incident, Angry Andy promptly went over to shake the child's hand and attempt to cheer him up.

Unfortunately, this child began crying as a result of this and left the show with his father shortly afterwards. Promoter, Simon Rochford, compensated both the child and his father with refunds of their tickets and free merchandise as a result.

To re-iterate my points made earlier on Liveline, I believe that this was an unfortunate incident where the child wasn't aware to expect this kind of behaviour at a pro-wrestling show. Evidently the father was also unaware. I witnessed them leaving and was devastated that a child had felt that way at a pro-wrestling event that one mother remarked to me during the show "was the best E50 she'd spent in a long-time".

Kevin has been a long-time friend of mine and, speaking to him after the event, I know he was also devastated about the incident. He was playing a 'heel' and all of his actions were in line with his character. This kind of behaviour has been ongoing in wrestling for years and entertained millions of people worldwide.

To point to a recent mainstream example: in the 1990's documentary, 'Expoed! Pro Wrestling's Greatest Secrets', it cites a long-term tradition of heels ripping up signs brought to events by fans. This is similar to Bruiser's actions: with the difference that Bruiser did not damage any personal belongings of the child in question.

I can completely understand how Larry would have taken his actions this way was he not familiar with professional wrestling. However, to answer a couple of points raised by him during the call that he did not let us address:

Was this behaviour acceptable?

Of course not. In any rational context, a grown man yelling at a child he doesn't know is appalling behaviour.

However, within the context of the professional wrestling show in question, it is expected that heels interact with fans. And their job is to get a negative reaction, so that consequently the babyface can get a positive reaction and right the wrongs of the heels behaviour.

Why didn't Bruiser confront Larry or an adult in this manner?

Professional wrestling, much like pantomime, is predominantly aimed at children. The job is not to get a reaction from the parents but the children. While I feel it is corageous of Larry to say that Bruiser would not have gotten in the ring if Bruiser had confronted him, I also think that this displays a lack of knowledge on his part about pro-wrestling's target audience.

I feel that it is sad that Larry clearly wishes to harm the career of Ballymun Bruiser by encouraging a boycott until he is removed from future events.

Considering Bruiser has worked with charities like Crumlin's Children's Hospital and I have personally gone around primary schools with him (such as St Francis Xavier's in Blanchardstown) giving lectures discouraging children from trying the stunts they see on TV at home, it would be poor judgement by Larry to judge the man Kevin Metcalfe based on the character Ballymun Bruiser and try to damage any potential bookings he may receive in the future.

The footage will be online soon for all to make up their minds and those who are familiar with professional wrestling will hopefully agree that there was no particular malice or threat intended by Bruiser. His actions were in character and it is sad that the child was obviously unprepared for such happenings at a pro-wrestling show and reacted as he did.

We at AMT are firm believers in 'right to reply' and, if Larry wishes to give his further two cents on the matter, he can feel free to publically post here or email me personally at pwleggo@gmail.com.

We would also like to thank all those at Liveline who allowed us to give a balanced argument of the incident in question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭EoinHeffernan

Having just listened to this, it just re-affirms my point that Liveline is nothing more than an open forum for idiots.
    I mean, boycot Iww until Bruiser is removed? Jesus Christ, idiot. It's f'n wrestling.

So it looks like this wasn't a work... shame, would have been epic publicity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭dolittle

was listening today
    in all fairness by the sound of larry, who phoned in, it wouldnt take much to offend him
    ballymun should be applauded for trying to take his character to the highest level he possibly can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭EoinHeffernan

dolittle wrote: »
    was listening today
    in all fairness by the sound of larry, who phoned in, it wouldnt take much to offend him

What baffles me is that this is the 1st time he's ever seen this in wrestling as he referenced that he'd never seen this in the "WWF". I mean come on now.

Kid sounds like a little bender. Take him to ballet next time, Dad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭jeffk

AHH HOLY JAYSUS

That’s all ill say, I was @ the show, Jesus talk about Americana coming to Ireland, is the larry suing bruiser?
    He was acting the heel and that's it, end of story. Plus after Simon dishing out the freebies he’s some cheek to do this on national radio none the less.

My mate was on a seat and brusier jumped on top on him and the chair gave way. I was @ a show in Balbriggan holding bam for a chop; his head went back and whacked my nose.
    Ok were adults but still we didn’t ring JOOOOOEEE DUFFY and have a rant.

I know I’m delighted and think its great crack if I get involved in the show no matter how small it is. Also brusier never even touched the kid, I’m sure he’s seen wwe and knew what to expect from a baddie (heel)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭HorseRadish

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/liveline/

Starts around 31:38 if people missed it earlier

jeffk wrote: »
    AHH HOLY JAYSUS

That’s all ill say, I was @ the show, Jesus talk about Americana coming to Ireland, is the dad suing bruiser?
    He was acting the heel and that's it, end of story. Plus after Simon dishing out the freebies he’s some cheek to do this on national radio none the less.

My mate was on a seat and brusier jumped on top on him and the chair gave way. I was @ a show in Balbriggan holding bam for a chop; his head went back and whacked my nose.
    Ok were adults but still we didn’t ring JOOOOOEEE DUFFY and have a rant.

I know I’m delighted and think its great crack if I get involved in the show no matter how small it is. Also brusier never even touched the kid, I’m sure he’s seen wwe and knew what to expect from a baddie (heel)

If this kid went to footie match and got a smack of the ball or mud of the boots would the dad be on kicking up a stink?

You're right, I think he wanted his 15 minutes more than anything. Effing Joe Duffy - menace to society. Angry Andy should have laid the smackdown.

Id use this on an ad and invite larry to the next time their in blanch.

Iww featuring Ballymun Bruiser so bad he was featured on joe duffy!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Much as I'm tempted to take the p*ss here, this is a ridiculous storm in a teacup.

The country is f*cked financially, there are people in the west of the country trying to rebuild their lives after being devestated by flooding, the Catholic church is crippled by sex abuise allegations, yet people still shink somethimng as stupid as this is worth phoning the national broadcaster about? The only one who comes out of this badly is Joe Duffy for even giving something like this airtime.

F*cks sake like. The fact that Joe Duffy was the first person he turned to to have a good whinge tells us all we need to know about the bauld Larry.

flahavaj wrote: »
    Much as I'm tempted to take the p*ss here, this is a ridiculous storm in a teacup.

The country is f*cked financially, there are people in the west of the country trying to rebuild their lives after being devestated by flooding, the Catholic church is crippled by sex abuise allegations, yet people still shink somethimng as stupid as this is worth phoning the national broadcaster about? The only one who comes out of this badly is Joe Duffy for even giving something like this airtime.

F*cks sake like.

Sure isnt this what joe is all about, tabloid tv for the radio so people like this fella can get their 15 minutes of fame.

Its just like most other call in radio show in this country, like adrian kennedy etc, you wouldnt see matt cooper etc having this on air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

The amount of ****e spouted the week before the UFC event last January leaves me to believe only idiots listen to that ****e on the radio. I wont even bother listening to this on the link provided. I can imagine it.

"Ah jaysus Joe, tis terrible. Making the young lad feel bad. A boycott Joe, a boycott. It's the only way. Sure didn't 10 children die because of this guy last year"

It makes me mad to think that such people live in this society.

Finally got it going thanks to not having real player and rte using real audio.

Fair play to kevo, clearly stating what goes on and explains the inner workings of wrestling.
    I thought this was the da of the kid, its some fella at the show who wont let kevo and ger speak and says only for his foot was in a cast he have gotten into the ring and took on kevo.

Its almost comical what larry is saying, must see will the video go up on the RTE website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭dolittle

Rojomcdojo wrote: »

a bender...i havent heard that in years....brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭slicus ricus

The Joe Duffy show serves no purpose other than promote ignorance. It gives a platform to idiots like this to be taken seriously for spouting out utter sh*te that if they said in their local pub they would get laughed at for. I haven't actually heard the clip and, quite frankly, i'm not sure I want to! The UFC segment Duffy had on a few months ago was nothing short of farcical and if it's anything like that, listening to it would p*ss me off rightly!

Just interested to know, from anyone who was at the show, was this Larry guy a complete nutter or what? Threatening to jump into the ring only for the fact that he had a cast on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

The Joe Duffy show serves no purpose other than promote ignorance. It gives a platform to idiots like this to be taken seriously for spouting out utter sh*te that if they said in their local pub they would get laughed at for. I haven't actually heard the clip and, quite frankly, i'm not sure I want to! The UFC segment Duffy had on a few months ago was nothing short of farcical and if it's anything like that, listening to it would p*ss me off rightly!

Just interested to know, from anyone who was at the show, was this Larry guy a complete nutter or what? Threatening to jump into the ring only for the fact that he had a cast on!

Probably got his arm broken for being a complete tosser in the first place. You'd think the bauld Lar would've learnt his lesson.:pac:

I was there but ive gotten so used to people/kids standing up and just at the ring apron i take no notice.

Its a shame we haven't got basketball hall seating(bleacher seats)like America has for most indie shows(donnycarney has some), then it would be set up and easier to keep people away from the ring.

Even still as this proves what chance has IWW etc got when the people meant to keep their own kids in there seats are threatening to jump in and have a go at a wrestler.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭Paulegend

i cant wait to see the child crying on youtube:D they should show IWW on rte even late at night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭The Cannibal

I'd be delighted with the publicity if I were Bruiser or IwW. Even though it was in an ignorant, negative context. I'm sure there were some listening that went "There's wrestling in Ireland?" and if they follow it up they'll be familiar with the Bruiser. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭Y2J_MUFC

Woooo, free publicity for IwW!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Who won the match/fight whatever its called!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

jeffk wrote: »

Even still as this proves what chance has IWW etc got when the people meant to keep their own kids in there seats are threatening to jump in and have a go at a wrestler.

Perhaps they might even try get guardrails as a result of this.

This fella sounds like the worst sort of compo chaser.

gimmick wrote: »
    Perhaps they might even try get guardrails as a result of this.

This fella sounds like the worst sort of compo chaser.

Well they could but if its like say the ROH ones etc they could cost a lot, also we dont know if halls will allow them to he erected.

I wonder if any of his sons are on here or know of this forum seen as he said they where into wrestling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

how in the name of jaysus can you goto a wrestling show and not actually know what a heel role is, I mean come on, just begggars belief, last iww show I was it same thing happened but at least the kid knew thats what the heel does

Ive never seen such a petty excuse to ring into a national broadcaster in my life, big scary wrestler tears up sign cause well thats his JOB to generate heat

Honestly weve turned into a nation of carebears FFS

Shin

shinzon wrote: »
    how in the name of jaysus can you goto a wrestling show and not actually know what a heel role is, I mean come on, just begggars belief, last iww show I was it same thing happened but at least the kid knew thats what the heel does

Ive never seen such a petty excuse to ring into a national broadcaster in my life, big scary wrestler tears up sign cause well thats his JOB to generate heat

Honestly weve turned into a nation of carebears FFS

Shin

Even when bruiser tried to explain this, larry was to far up on his high horse to let bruiser say it.
    Typical i know i haven't a strong argument but maybe if i shout him down i wont look like a thick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

I'm glad to hear that the world hasn't gone mad. Bruiser is amazing (even if he only has one move (belly to back suplex) :D) Fantastic gimmick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,723 ✭✭✭✭Penn

There was even an article about it in the Irish Mirror today, under the headline "Wrestler told to stop making children cry" or something like that. Bloody hell. He took a mask from a kid, threw it back at him and shouted a bit. At a wrestling show.

Come on lads. Grab your torches and pitchforks! Let's go hunt this guy down!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I was listening to the show yesterday and the caller was clearly trying to get a rise out of the Ballymun Brawler. I have to commend the Brawler for keeping calm and his dignity when "Larry" told him he wouldn't have reached the ring had he screamed at him. Pathetic behaviour from this bloke.

The kid seems like a complete novice too when it comes to wrestling, his only experience is probably from watching good ol' Cena. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Lone Kimono

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    I was listening to the show yesterday and the caller was clearly trying to get a rise out of the Ballymun Brawler. I have to commend the Brawler for keeping calm and his dignity when "Larry" told him he wouldn't have reached the ring had he screamed at him. Pathetic behaviour from this bloke.

The kid seems like a complete novice too when it comes to wrestling, his only experience is probably from watching good ol' Cena. :pac:

Maybe its a all a work between everyone involved to get some publicity. ;):p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭Paulegend

i think IWW should get a spot on tv and go live on jan 4th at 12 midnight our time and take the challenge to TNA and WWE:D

That's the plan, brother.

I mean...I have no idea what you're talking about...

So I think the consensus here is that

- It probably wasn't a work, though it would be ace if it had been (admit it Leggo, you lads are wishing you'd thought of it!).
    - The kid was probably a bit over-sensitive to cry, but he's a kid ffs. That may have been his first wrestling show and, besides, it added authenticity.
    - Larry is either a nutter or an attention-seeking sap who probably deserves a kick up the cnt.
    - Larry and Joe should face off against the Bruiser and Barton in a TLC match. The eyes of the nation are on you, Simon Rochford. Make it happen.

I did think of it. But my 'Blanch Massacre' idea didn't go over too well. Damnit...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭TheCandystripes

actually iww should be on one of the channels.

damnit indeed. You guys missed the chance to get some serious heat. Now you can only get it back by putting Joe or, better yet, Larry, through a table.

Hit him again, medium-sized brown!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,492 ✭✭✭EdK

geeky wrote: »
    So I think the consensus here is that

- It probably wasn't a work, though it would be ace if it had been (admit it Leggo, you lads are wishing you'd thought of it!).
    - The kid was probably a bit over-sensitive to cry, but he's a kid ffs. That may have been his first wrestling show and, besides, it added authenticity.
    - Larry is either a nutter or an attention-seeking sap who probably deserves a kick up the cnt.
    - Larry and Joe should face off against the Bruiser and Barton in a TLC match. The eyes of the nation are on you, Simon Rochford. Make it happen.

Is this Leno vs Hogan all over again haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭SASR

Christ in a latte.

I haven't seen IwW or Bruiser in a good while, so I don't really know how they're doing now, but if I was Bruiser, I'd be glad knowing I did my job right in that I got some genuine heat.

This Larry chap sounds like a right bell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Lone Kimono

I love the way Larry mentions WWF and not seeing that sort of thing there, if I remember correctly during the attitude era you had Shawn Michaels gyrating on and sticking the Canadian flag up his nose in front of the Canadian fans. I wonder what Larry would have thought of that. While you wouldn't see that in the WWE now something tells me Larry is not a big wrestling fan.

That being said I'm happy to hear that IWW gave the father and child a refund plus free merchandise because its not in their best interests to make kids cry. They acted in the best way possible here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

This post wins the thread.

IWW should do a worked version of this at their next show where "Harry" ends up getting mauled.

Also, it makes a refreshing difference to see the professionalism of IWW applauded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭SASR

IWW should do a worked version of this at their next show where "Harry" ends up getting mauled.
    YES.

They genuinely should - use an unbooked trainee or something as a plant in the crowd, have him run into the ring and subsequently get creased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭grudgebringer

HeHe, thanks from me on that.

He should be brought to the next Tinkerbell recital maybe instead of IWW, I went to see these guys a few years back in Verona and they were Class, total low budget but great entertainment, me and my son thouroughly enjoyed the show ... keep up the good work IWW :cool:

EdK wrote: »
    Is this Leno vs Hogan all over again haha

Yep. It's a proven draw so long as they don't have Joe Duffy win the title Arquette style.

Deadly serious here - can you just imagine the hype this would get?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Jimmy McMurtry

Sorry that video just ruined it for me!thought the whole thing was hilarious & a nice bit of publicity up until now!seems there just trying keep the thing going by giving us a bad version of Gift Grub:(

It was just a piss-take of the whole situation mate, relax.

There's no need to let a joke (whether you liked it or not) 'ruin' anything for you. Bit of an overreaction, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Jimmy McMurtry

Ah trust me im not going mad or going "boycott" your show just didnt like the latest video!sure its only one mans opinion!