Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

JP McManus Pro Am

• 07-12-2009 6:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭

Recieved our caps today and was wondering if many from the boards are heading to Adare in July, and if anyone was there in 05, how the tournament is formatted, how big the crowds generally are etc?any info would be appreciated.

Confirmed players so far:

Padraig Harrington
    Rory McIlroy
    Lee Westwood
    Tiger Woods
    Paul Casey
    Trevor Immelman
    Ian Poulter

Not too often you get to see talent like that play in this country, bar the Irish Open and Ryder Cups.

By the way, there's a free competition on the website to win tickets if anyone fancies it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 supermac

Recieved our caps today and was wondering if many from the boards are heading to Adare in July, and if anyone was there in 05, how the tournament is formatted, how big the crowds generally are etc?any info would be appreciated.

Padraig Harrington
    Rory McIlroy
    Lee Westwood
    Tiger Woods
    Paul Casey
    Trevor Immelman
    Ian Poulter

Not too often you get to see talent like that play in this country, bar the Irish Open and Ryder Cups.

By the way, there's a free competition on the website to win tickets if anyone fancies it.
    yes I was there in 2005, great show, very laid back, TOM LEHMAN, acting the mick, typical american, other than that ab. fine, worth a visit.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭Tom Ghostwood

I was at the one in Ballyclough in 2000. It was deadly. I watched Robert Allenby win in USA on Sky (shell houston open?) then saw him play the next morning in Limerick. Mental!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭tom francy

is it hard to get tickets ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭BiffoGooner

tom francy wrote: »
    is it hard to get tickets ?

They actually send you caps that act as your ticket in.They're not hard to get, but they're 50 quid a go, gets you in both days.And they've been on sale a long time now, I can't imagine there's all that many left.But we are in a recession so you never know.You can get them on the JP McManus Pro Am website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

They actually send you caps that act as your ticket in.They're not hard to get, but they're 50 quid a go, gets you in both days.And they've been on sale a long time now, I can't imagine there's all that many left.But we are in a recession so you never know.You can get them on the JP McManus Pro Am website.

I got sent a free one months ago and didn't really get what it was all about. I just thought it was an ugly hat which i'd never wear. Promptly threw the thing in the bin :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

You can play Adare up till the end of January (I think) for €80 and get 2 day pass for the Pro-Am included. I was there both days in 05 and as the lads said it's fairly laid back. Nice to see some of the club golfers teeing it up with with the big boys!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,015 ✭✭✭Zardoz

denisoc16 wrote: »
    Nice to see some of the club golfers teeing it up with with the big boys!!
    Yes albeit off different tee boxes though.
    Would be nice to play off the same tee as the pro,give a good indication of their length.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I got sent a free one months ago and didn't really get what it was all about. I just thought it was an ugly hat which i'd never wear. Promptly threw the thing in the bin :o

Thats a pretty dumb thing to do. The cap system has been in place for the last two tournaments if not more.

Thanks for the replies lads, it sounds like good craic.

I wonder if Tiger will play at it.If things get much messier for him he mightn't play at all next year.

Padraig Harrington
    Rory McIlroy
    Lee Westwood
    Tiger Woods
    Paul Casey
    Trevor Immelman
    Ian Poulter

Shame.

Thanks for the replies lads, it sounds like good craic.

I wonder if Tiger will play at it.If things get much messier for him he mightn't play at all next year.

I'd say this is one commitment he'll definitely fulfill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Ordered a few tickets on the website there last night, but got no confirmation e-mail...
    How long should I expect to wait on delivery before I get worried,anyone know?
    TIA

staker wrote: »
    Ordered a few tickets on the website there last night, but got no confirmation e-mail...
    How long should I expect to wait on delivery before I get worried,anyone know?
    TIA

I got a confirmation email straight away after I'd ordered them.It was just to confirm that they were ordered though, I didn't get one to say when they'd be dispatched.Took 3 days to come so if they're not there by the end of the week ya should contact them maybe.

Aidric wrote: »
    Thats a pretty dumb thing to do. The cap system has been in place for the last two tournaments if not more.

No doubt, but to be fair, the thing is for charity so actually buying a ticket wouldn't exactly be the end of the world if i did decide to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Nemesis

I went to the Ryder cup but found the crowds so large I didn't get to see a lot of golf and never was close enough to enjoy it fully.

I brought my kids to the European club 2 years ago and we all had a great time watching the golf from a very very close distance.

We were walking beside the golfers (keeping respectfull distance away of course)

Harrington gave his glove to my Son and got it signed as well as his hat but he reckons the hat David Higgins gave him and signed was even better.

I was thinking of bringing my Son for his birthday down to Limerick but if its crowded and everyone is fenced off a long way from the players (maybe for safety reasons :) ) it might not be so enjoyable if we cant actually see anything due to too many people.

Well, as I thought, Tiger is officially off the list for next year's Pro Am.Can't say I'm too disapointed, rather see Harrington and McIlroy anyday.

3 more players confirmed are Jim Furyk, Ernie Els and Robert Allenby.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

I'd say this is one commitment he'll definitely fulfill.

Hmm ... I think committment is an issue for him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

I got a confirmation email straight away after I'd ordered them.It was just to confirm that they were ordered though, I didn't get one to say when they'd be dispatched.Took 3 days to come so if they're not there by the end of the week ya should contact them maybe.

Even though I got no e-mail, my tickets duly arrived on Thursday:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Nemesis

I entered the online draw and won 2 'Hats'.

Thanks for the info about the draw.

Nemesis wrote: »

No bother, well done! €100 worth of tickets for nothin', not a bad christmas present.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Nice one. Entered the draw myself too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 yeah_ok

Hi is the draw over? If not I shall just buy caps like everyone else!

Anyone know how hard it is to get reasonable accomdation for the days during the event?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭coxy123

I went to the Ryder cup but found the crowds so large I didn't get to see a lot of golf and never was close enough to enjoy it fully.

I brought my kids to the European club 2 years ago and we all had a great time watching the golf from a very very close distance.

We were walking beside the golfers (keeping respectfull distance away of course)

Harrington gave his glove to my Son and got it signed as well as his hat but he reckons the hat David Higgins gave him and signed was even better.

I was thinking of bringing my Son for his birthday down to Limerick but if its crowded and everyone is fenced off a long way from the players (maybe for safety reasons :) ) it might not be so enjoyable if we cant actually see anything due to too many people.

I went to both events in 2000 and '05 and I have to say they were very enjoyable - have my hats ready again for this year. In 2005 I was lucky to have a good vantage point on the 18th and stayed there for most of the day. Crowds are large but the area is not overcrowded - I found at previous events that most people followed the Tiger - obviously this will be different for this year, if reports are to be believed :(.

coxy123 wrote: »
    I went to both events in 2000 and '05 and I have to say they were very enjoyable - have my hats ready again for this year. In 2005 I was lucky to have a good vantage point on the 18th and stayed there for most of the day. Crowds are large but the area is not overcrowded - I found at previous events that most people followed the Tiger - obviously this will be different for this year, if reports are to be believed :(.

That could be a very good thing!There's a good list of players going, so the spectators should be nice and spread out over the course, hopefully giving everyone a chance to get a good look at someone.I have a feeling there'll be a very large crowd following Rory McIlroy though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭gerp

Looking forward to it should be a great 2 days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭Blunder

I was at the last one too and tiger had a massive following as he has done in any event i've been at that he's played in. I would imagine McIlroy and our 3 time major champion will have large followings also. At the end of the day the event will probably have more of the worlds top players in it than some of the tour events around that time so there will be plenty of quality golf to follow. Also the sports & entertainment people who will be partaking in the event should mean that the groups should be spread somebit.

Its a great couple of days though especially if we get the weather we had the last time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭flugel

on a monday and tuesday? ahhhhhhh snap

Just thought I'd update this thead with the latest lineup for the Pro Am since it's only a month away now.It's looking good.Still 'tickets' available I think.

Players

Stuart Appleby, Robert Allenby, Thomas Bjorn, Michael Campbell, Paul Casey, Darren Clarke, Ben Curtis, John Daly, Luke Donald, Ernie Els, Rickie Fowler, Fred Funk, Jim Furyk, Soren Hansen, Padraig Harrington, JB Holmes, Trevor Immelman, Dustin Johnson, Robert Karlsson, Jerry Kelly, Peter Lawrie, Tom Lehman, Shane Lowry, Sandy Lyle, Graeme McDowell, Paul McGinley, Damien McGrane, Rory McIlroy, Gary Murphy, Mark O'Meara, Alexander Noren, Jose Maria Olazabal, Ian Poulter, Justin Rose, Rory Sabbatini, Adam Scott, Henrik Stenson, Jean Van deVelde, Camilo Villegas, Nick Watney, Lee Westwood, Oliver Wilson, Tiger Woods.

Anthony Kim won't be there due to his thumb injury, shame.Angel Cabrera was on the list a few weeks ago but doesn't seem to be now.

Celebrities

Paul O'Connell, Michael Douglas, Michael Flatley, Peter Gallagher, Hugh Grant, Samuel L. Jackson, AP McCoy, Kyle Mac Lachlan, Martin O'Neill, Aidan Quinn, Niall Quinn, Harry Redknapp, Jamie Redknapp, Westlife..

Tiger, Hugh Grant and Michael Douglas.It's like a meeting of Adulterers Anonymous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭MiniGolf

Tiger, Hugh Grant and Michael Douglas.It's like a meeting of Adulterers Anonymous.

LOL! :D:D:D

Michael Campbell
    The amateurs must be licking their lips at that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭curly from cork

what a line up really looking forward to it.:)

Aye, poor fecker.How do you lose it that badly?

As for the lineup, anyone got an opinion on who'd be good to follow?Who's the best craic, nicest swinger etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Campbell seems to work in 5 year cycles with the biggest peaks and troughs imaginable. His driver has always been his nemesis but apparantly the rest of his game is in decent shape.

Personally I'd like to see him back, much like Duval who has shown glimmers of the old magic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭In_tuition

Aye, poor fecker.How do you lose it that badly?

As for the lineup, anyone got an opinion on who'd be good to follow?Who's the best craic, nicest swinger etc

I know who not to follow. Darren Clarke automatically stands out.

Rickie Fowler is a good option.

In_tuition wrote: »
    I know who not to follow. Darren Clarke automatically stands out.

Rickie Fowler is a good option.

Any particular reason not to follow Darren?

And yeah, Fowler would be fairly interesting to watch I'd imagine.Might need some sunglasses for him though.

Any particular reason not to follow Darren

Erm because he's the biggest *&^$£"! on the European Tour is a start.

He's poison so stay as far away as possible.

Is that so?Haven't heard anything like that about him before.There's better players on show so I doubt I'll see much of him anyway.Ernie, Rory and Fowler would be ideal.

An insufferable currant if ever there was one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

That's funny, I don't have any personal against him but I know more than oe person who have nothing but contempt for him, and quite rightly from what they've told me.

Is that so?Haven't heard anything like that about him before.There's better players on show so I doubt I'll see much of him anyway.Ernie, Rory and Fowler would be ideal.

There's a few out there who you wouldn't think.

You think Tiger Woods has done wrong. There is a Worldwide figure whose actions should of created mayhem within the European Tour recently. Somehow though himself and his manager wriggled their way out.

Harrington is a fantastic guy, he really is.

Be here all night sharing stories about people who you imagine are spot on but really aren't.

Anyway enjoy the event.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

easy on the personal stuff pls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,954 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Is there anyway of buying a 1 day ticket (cap) or do you have to get a two day pass for 50 euro ?

As far as I know it's the two day hat only unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

for anyone who saw his 8 iron to a foot to the first playoff hole in portmarnock back in 2003 or his f**king US Open win....the guy is a legend. He's going through a bad patch like alot of golfers (bit extended), but I have nothing but the fondest admiration for the guy. when it goes down the stretch, he proved he had the game and I would be delighted to see him come back -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

looks as good as any tournement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭Anakin.S

I'm looking forward to it there are 8 (All couples) of us heading down from Belfast. It will be great to watch people play golf how its ment to be played.

We are currently looking at places to stay, is Shannon far from Adare?

Woods definitely in. Lock up your daughters... wives... grannies... in fact, you'd maybe best do a Fritzl.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/golf/2010/0609/woodst.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

Anakin.S wrote: »
    I'm looking forward to it there are 8 (All couples) of us heading down from Belfast. It will be great to watch people play golf how its ment to be played.

We are currently looking at places to stay, is Shannon far from Adare?

Shannon is not ideal, Limerick for accommodation would be better and easier to get to Adare from somewhere like this:
    http://www.clarionhotellimerick.com/
    http://limerickhotels.jurysinns.com/

Check travel routes with this link:
    http://www.aaireland.ie/routes_beta/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭Anakin.S

L.O.F.T wrote: »
    Shannon is not ideal, Limerick for accommodation would be better and easier to get to Adare from somewhere like this:
    http://www.clarionhotellimerick.com/
    http://limerickhotels.jurysinns.com/

Check travel routes with this link:
    http://www.aaireland.ie/routes_beta/

Thanks for the info,

for anyone who saw his 8 iron to a foot to the first playoff hole in portmarnock back in 2003 or his f**king US Open win....the guy is a legend. He's going through a bad patch like alot of golfers (bit extended), but I have nothing but the fondest admiration for the guy. when it goes down the stretch, he proved he had the game and I would be delighted to see him come back -
    It's definitely extended and he hasn't shown any hint of finding form. Nobody is questioning his past glory.