Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin V The Rest

• 06-12-2009 1:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭

Sorry for starting another knee jerk thread but, i saw someone suggesting that After Hours is the Dublin thread, and many times I've seen threads in the Soccer Forum boil down to Dublin discussions with the rest of us not being able to associate with some of the places and things that are being talked about, eg copperface jacks, and Eddies takeaway or whatever its called. I want to see the breakdown of users of After Hours by location.

Where Are You From 140 votes

Dublin
    0%
    Rest Of Ireland
    37%
    CloverCiaranCChucky the tree[Deleted User]Seiferblondie83monkeyfudgemlocHolstentribulusFrank SpencerTar.AldarionphilologosbeanybMad_MaxVoodu ChildtolosencblublobluSofaspudGBX 53 votes
    UK
    60%
    DocKintarō HattoricournioniomahaidefbBig EarsGurgleseanybikerWillymuncherOtaconDinnermikemacDayshadogg_r_69biko5starpoolTestTransmission[Deleted User]woodzyxRonMexico 85 votes
    Rest of World
    1%
    indoughdocdolittle 2 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭brianrcarney

Rest Of Ireland
    ha sorry 1st reply dublin = 100% :D

UK
    Apart from the airport and connections in Busaras, I've been in Dublin maybe 5 times in the last 4 years..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

UK
    I'm a bogger and proud of it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

UK
    Im almost as far away from Dublin as i could possibly be :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Rest Of Ireland
    From what i've been told, most places outside of Dublin don't have the internet yet, so the results will be a little biased.

Best to conduct the poll via some sort of cow or sheep-based technology.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

UK
    Bogger and happy with it.:D
    I've been to Dublin thrice in the past 12/13 months, once for Toys 4 Big Boys, once to the airport and once to a match in Tallaght.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Rest Of Ireland
    From what i've been told, most places outside of Dublin don't have the internet yet, so the results will be a little biased.

Best to conduct the poll via some sort of cow or sheep-based technology.
    Best use cows, the sheep are always a bit "occupied" down in the sticks :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

curry-muff wrote: »
    I want to see the breakdown of users of After Hours by location.

Because you're going to get accuracy with four options, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Rest Of Ireland
    Abigayle wrote: »
    AH accuracy = Accuracy of a blind man firing a crossbow

UK

Well initially I just was going looking see the ratio of Dubs:Rest of Ireland, so Yup!

Okay, well he whole thing is flawed to begin with. You've chosen two forums and assume every Dub shares the same view as those you've disagreed with / not gotten on with.

I was born in Dublin, but I can't stand it. You might think 'fair enough thats just you then', but I'm sure it's not. Your title alone is pretty obvious of how you feel, and thats unfortunate. You should stop paying any heed to the people who are pissing you off tbh. So I won't be voting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

UK
    I couldnt read most of this thread as im in the west and we just got in dial up last week.

/sarcasm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Be advised that this is a public poll: other users can see the choice(s) you selected.
    Poll Options Where Are You From

• Dublin/UK
    • Rest Of Ireland AKA Gods country
    • UK/Dublin
    • Rest of World

UK
    Okay, well he whole thing is flawed to begin with. You've chosen two forums and assume every Dub shares the same view as those you've disagreed with / not gotten on with.

I was born in Dublin, but I can't stand it. You might think 'fair enough thats just you then', but I'm sure it's not. Your title alone is pretty obvious of how you feel, and thats unfortunate. You should stop paying any heed to the people who are pissing you off tbh. So I won't be voting.

I didnt say anywhere that I disagreed with anyone from Dublin, don't know where you got that from :confused: Most of my favourite posters on AH and Soccer are from Dublin, i was just wondering how many people there are on AH compared to the rest of Ireland. Sorry if it looked in any way different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Shouldent the thread title be changed to 'were are you located ' and not from ?

If somebody from Cork lives in Dublin or somebody from Dublin lives in London then they live there ,not from there .They might not like living there and as Abigayle said , may not wish to be seen in the vote /poll as giving approval to the place for different reasons ?

just a thought .

UK
    Latchy wrote: »
    Shouldent the thread title be changed to 'were are you located ' and not from ?

If somebody from Cork lives in Dublin or somebody from Dublin lives in London then they live there ,not from there .They might not like living there and as Abigayle said , may not wish to be seen in the vote /poll as giving approval to the place for different reasons ?

just a thought .

But its the same vice versa, people may origionally be from one place and could be living in another for college, work, etc and prefer to say where they are origionally from as a lot of them may just live in one place and travel home at weekends maybe. Id prefer to see where people count themselves as being from whether they count it as their birthplace or where they have moved to.

I didnt say anywhere that I disagreed with anyone from Dublin, don't know where you got that from :confused:
    It was a cross between your poll options and your OP.
    Most of my favourite posters on AH and Soccer are from Dublin, i was just wondering how many people there are on AH compared to the rest of Ireland. Sorry if it looked in any way different.

For me, the thread title alone was a bit of an issue to begin with. But we'll leave it there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Rest Of Ireland
    Dublin votes count twice because Dublin matters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

UK
    stovelid wrote: »
    Dublin votes count twice because Dublin matters.

and hear we gooooooooooooooooooooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Rest Of Ireland
    AH accuracy = Accuracy of a blind man firing a crossbow
    Very VERY accurate, almost always gonna hit the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

Rest Of Ireland
    I really dont see why we all should be so different,

i mean really, just because im from dublin and someone else is from Kerry their gonna be any different ? (no skanger/culchie jokes please, this is serious)

come on people, get real !

Also to our international/UK visitors, Welcome to Boards.ie, even though you were probably here longer than me :D

UK
    Very VERY accurate, almost always gonna hit the ground.

Thats optimistic, theres always the chance he shoots with the crossbow the wrong way round :D

Rest Of Ireland
    Thats optimistic, theres always the chance he shoots with the crossbow the wrong way round :D
    In which case he'll hit his chest, then fall forward and hit the ground ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

robbie_998 wrote: »
    I really dont see why we all should be so different,

i mean really, just because im from dublin and someone else is from Kerry their gonna be any different ? (no skanger/culchie jokes please, this is serious)

come on people, get real !
    I think it might be more to do with the diversity of people on boards as much as what county or city they are from / located in although as we have already seen in the thread , it's open to interpretation, hence my other post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Rest Of Ireland
    donmeister wrote: »
    and hear we gooooooooooooooooooooo

Actually it may be the late hour, but that was meant to be light-hearted, but, on reflection, reads like one of those South Dublin* cunts you get posting on boards.

I resized your font too. I hurts my head.

*as a state of mind, not all people from South Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Rest Of Ireland
    **** yeah, Dublin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Rest Of Ireland
    My internet box is strapped to the back of a cow, Daisy, who has a tendency to wander off every now & again. Apparently,shouting, "stay in the middle of the field" has no relevance to her life.

Oh Daisy, such a cad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

My internet box is strapped to the back of a cow, Daisy, who has a tendency to wander off every now & again. Apparently,shouting, "stay in the middle of the field" has no relevance to her life.

Oh Daisy, such a cad.
    Yeah but she probably speaks Moo rather than English. That's where you're going wrong.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Rest Of Ireland
    Dublin, hurrah, I'm too drunk to think of anything witty really

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

UK
    Kilkenny FTW (especially when it comes to Hurling) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Rest Of Ireland
    I was born in Dublin but now reside in Meath.

Where's the option for "Don't want to be classed as either?"

Rest Of Ireland
    Dublin, hurrah, I'm too drunk to think of anything witty really

"Yore ma" is acceptable I think now that we've established where you're from.

UK
    That_Guy wrote: »
    I was born in Dublin but now reside in Meath.

Where's the option for "Don't want to be classed as either?"

Its the don't vote option :pac:

Rest Of Ireland
    Its the don't vote option :pac:

Did you perform at the comedy gig tonight too? Jaysus I'd say you got feckin' heckled. ;)

Rest Of Ireland
    "Yore ma" is acceptable I think now that we've established where you're from.
    "Yore ma" is done way too much, I need something different

Rest Of Ireland
    "Yore ma" is done way too much, I need something different
    Try his sister ;)

Rest Of Ireland
    Try his sister ;)

if he doesn't have a sister then your screwed :pac:

Rest Of Ireland
    I think you'll find it'll be the other way round :pac:

Rest Of Ireland
    Try his sister ;)

I'll ask her.

Rest Of Ireland
    I'll ask her.
    Robbie, y'hear that, I'm in!!!!!

Rest Of Ireland

Any hole is a goal :cool:

Rest Of Ireland

She's a bit worried though. You're a Tallaght head and she's just cautious that you'll steal her purse along with her virginity.

Rest Of Ireland

ah sure i think everybody's in ;):pac::pac::pac:

Rest Of Ireland
    She's a bit worried though. You're a Tallaght head and she's just cautious that you'll steal her purse along with her virginity.
    Aheh, Citywest my good man :cool:

Rest Of Ireland
    ah sure i think everybody's in ;):pac::pac::pac:
    Bagsy tradesman's entrance :P

Rest Of Ireland
    Bagsy tradesman's entrance :P

why ? are you some kind of plumber ? :pac::pac::pac:

Rest Of Ireland
    Aheh, Citywest my good man :cool:

Citywest? Rumour has it ye can't get it up over that side.

Eastside baby!!! We can still jerk our gherkin. :)

Rest Of Ireland
    why ? are you some kind of plumber ? :pac::pac::pac:
    Well I'll certainly service 'er pipes son!

Rest Of Ireland
    Citywest? Rumour has it ye can't get it up over that side.

Eastside baby!!! We can still jerk our gherkin. :)
    Ask yo're ma :cool:

Then yo're sister :cool:

Then yo're girlfriend :cool:

Then I'm done and cant get it up for the rest of the night :(

Rest Of Ireland
    Well I'll certainly service 'er pipes son!

ok, just be careful, thats a very old central heating system and its hard to find parts these days :pac::D