Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bertie Interview on TV3

• 03-12-2009 5:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭

I wonder what kind of deal Ahern and TV3 have done to show this crook on tonight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭glaston

Scumbag Bertie!

I love it. Henceforth he shall only be known as Scumbag Bertie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Is there anything he wouldn't do to get publicity?:confused::mad::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

the clips on tv3 news basically show all the juicy bits,
    in summary:
    -he's a street-fighter
    -politics can be boring
    -he discusses Miriam (first wife) and Celia (first lady) *yawns*
    -somebody was working to do him in, in relation to the Mahon Tribunal
    -he's sorry he promoted M Coughlan and B Lenihan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

There is clearly an agenda to make this guy the next President of the country. 'They are floating the kite' as Dunphy would say and I fear it will work only too well...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Johnny Giles

Me pal Eamon does say that alot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Haha. Great title, wonder how long it will last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭Denalihighway

I mean, FFS, would he ever just f*ck off???

The sad and pathetic thing is that plenty of nimrods around the country will be glued to the box to see "poor aul Bertie, who got pushed out..."

Please, Bertie, f*ck off...very few people care. Not half as much as there care about the Mahon findings anyway, which of course won't touch the Teflon Taoiseach!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

10 minutes was all I could stick.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭bluefinger

Quick synopsis

I love drumcondra. For 5 mins.

I loved my ma, she passed away. 10 mins.

cant wait for the next part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Sandwich

All I know is that everything was great when Bertie was in charge. He left, and the country has gone downhill since. Can't argue with the facts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

Sandwich wrote: »
    All I know is that everything was great when Bertie was in charge. He left, and the country has gone downhill since. Can't argue with the facts.

Or maybe he just knew the country was going down the sh1tter and got out while he could?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

All I know is that everything is great when I drink alcohol. I stop drinking and everything has gone downhill since. Can't argue with the facts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭mallet head

For people old enough to remember the 70s and 80s up the north or being a pensioner on his watch he we be held in high enough esteem.
    His achievements far outweigh his obvious failures for lots of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭drBill

He took on the unions and WON!

(btw being sarcastic here, paraphrasing him)

drBill wrote: »
    He took on the unions and WON!

Taking on taxi men and publicans (smoking ban) would have been unthinkable years ago but that changed as well. As I say by no means perfect but jaysus Bush and Blair were around at the same time so we got off lightly.

Ursula Halligan: Was Charlie Haughey ruthless?
    Bertie: listen, you either liked him or you didn't

very insightful Bertie:rolleyes: and, he slagged Gay Mitchell for being a waffler!

I've seen Halligan before, but am always struck by her style.

Taking on taxi men and publicans (smoking ban) would have been unthinkable years ago but that changed as well. As I say by no means perfect but jaysus Bush and Blair were around at the same time so we got off lightly.
    Bertie was the taxi mans' friend, it was the PD's who took on the taxi men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

There is clearly an agenda to make this guy the next President of the country. 'They are floating the kite' as Dunphy would say and I fear it will work only too well...

I've said it before and I'll say it again. I swear I will take to the streets if Scumbag Bertie runs for president.

People need to open their eyes to this man who managed to run our country towards a recession and jump ship just before it happened.

What a crook. Minister for Finance and he didn't have a bank account. But managed to have a suitcase of money.

Wake up people smell the coffee. Do you want to reward this gangster more?????

imme wrote: »
    Bertie was the taxi mans' friend, it was the PD's who took on the taxi men.

It was on his watch but. Can't blame someone on the bad and give no credit for the good.

Plus I doubt Bobby Molloy would have made such a bold move without full cabinet support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

amdublin wrote: »
    I've said it before and I'll say it again. I swear I will take to the streets if Scumbag Bertie runs for president.

People need to open their eyes to this man who managed to run our country towards a recession and jump ship just before it happened.

What a crook. Minister for Finance and he didn't have a bank account. But managed to have a suitcase of money.

Wake up people smell the coffee. Do you want to reward this gangster more?????

Brilliant !!!! Wait for the apologists to come :D:D

It was on his watch but. Can't blame someone on the bad and give no credit for the good.

Plus I doubt Bobby Molloy would have made such a bold move without full cabinet support.
    yeah but it was done as government policy.
    So is this Bertie's lasting legacy, the deregulation of the taxi industry in Ireland:confused:

imme wrote: »
    yeah but it was done as government policy.
    So is this Bertie's lasting legacy, the deregulation of the taxi industry in Ireland:confused:

I reckon the north will be his legacy but hay lets have a whine like everyone else. I'm almost 50 and have seen many come and go but I reckon history will be very kind to him.
    He's flawed but who isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Ah he is definitely making a play for the presidency but I am sure he is quaking in his boots re the Mahon Tribunal Report.As already said he had no bank a/c as Finance Minister,and we have all followed all the rest of his dealings with Mahon.He squandered huge quantities of money during the Celtic Tiger.He bought off various interest groups to buy elections,pro cyclical fiscal policy around the time of elections.He was a waffler and his consensus style leadership was in fact a sign of weakness.Surely we have seen enough of him on the Late Late Show,he should stick to hanging around with his families celebrity friends.Fair play to the students in NUI Maynooth!How dare he lecture people about talking down the economy while he sits back on his big pension payed for all the workers in the country and the money from his book deal.He was in part responsible as said already the demise of the Celtic Tiger,failing to take the heat out of it

Lightly eh? Reading any newspapers lately?? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭MMD

I'm a Bertie fan TBH

seligehgit wrote: »
    He was in part responsible as said already the demise of the Celtic Tiger,failing to take the heat out of it

But not in any way responsible for the celtic tiger in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Ursula Halligan is one useless interviewer, Bertie has her around his little finger, it's not really an interview more of lets Bertie talk about how great his life was.(Before he runs for president)

Lightly eh? Reading any newspapers lately?? :eek:

I'm sure all the British and American kids who died in iraq for no reason would say lightly yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

seligehgit wrote: »
    He was in part responsible as said already the demise of the Celtic Tiger,failing to take the heat out of it

what I don't get is why Charlie McCreevy never gets any of the blame, he was just as complicit in creating the bubble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Cecil Mor

I object to the title of this thread, to call Bertie Ahern a scumbag is an awful scurrilous act!!! I know many scumbags and theres not one as crooked as this bottom dwelling swine.

Regarding him beating the unions well that was then but now we're left to deal with the public sector unions and the resulting mess from Social Partnership and Bertie's willingness to throw money left right'n center trying to please everyone and being the great man!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

Yes but some men are more flawed than others. His own claim that he's made again on TV3, that he is just an average guy is simply facetious, simple men don't just become leaders of countries. His attempt to play down Haugheys quote about himself speaks volumes. He has his eye on the presendecy alright. This is just more softening up by him and his advisors and an attempt to further distance himself from the past 2 decades with his "simple man of the people" schtick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,373 ✭✭✭✭walshb

He is the shiftiest character I have ever seen.

Still, he's a damn sight better than the current shower
    of spineless tools...

what I don't get is why Charlie McCreevy never gets any of the blame, he was just as complicit in creating the bubble

We all lost the run of ourselves. Some more than others but nobody put a gun to peoples heads to buy 600 euro handbags and 5 bedroom houses when we had 1 kid.

We're a neutral country. Thankfully, that's something even he couldn't have f*cked up.

To be honest, i was more getting at the 12% unemployment, rampant corruption, piss-take of health system, botched capital projects, FAS, Financial regulation...you get the idea

...sorry, meant to quote Mallet Head's post re Iraq deaths etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭MMD

I'm a Bertie fan TBH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

EKRIUQ wrote: »
    Ursula Halligan is one useless interviewer, Bertie has her around his little finger, it's not really an interview more of lets Bertie talk about how great his life was.(Before he runs for president)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

MMD wrote: »
    I'm a the Bertie fan TBH

Good for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

On an unrelated note..

Ursula Halligan:
    1160660574.jpg

Jessica Fletcher ('Murder She Wrote'):
    97127037_d99bc196ec.jpg?v=0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Good for you.

Bad for the rest of us who see him for what he is :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

For people old enough to remember the 70s and 80s up the north or being a pensioner on his watch he we be held in high enough esteem.
    His achievements far outweigh his obvious failures for lots of people.

The peace process was practically finished when Ahern became Taoiseach, and he was only praised as its architect because he had nothing else to show for his 11 years. And Ireland's state pension remained very low by international standards for his entire reign, a few euros saved with free bus tickets doesn't matter.
    Does it not occur to you that the outcome of a leader's actions may not be felt until years later?
    walshb wrote: »
    He is the shiftiest character I have ever seen.

Still, he's a damn sight better than the current shower
    of spineless tools...
    Spineless tools which he appointed to the cabinet.
    We all lost the run of ourselves. Some more than others but nobody put a gun to peoples heads to buy 600 euro handbags and 5 bedroom houses when we had 1 kid.

Government actions have a heavy influence on consumer behaviour

We're a neutral country. Thankfully, that's something even he couldn't have f*cked up.

To be honest, i was more getting at the 12% unemployment, rampant corruption, piss-take of health system, botched capital projects, FAS, Financial regulation...you get the idea

...sorry, meant to quote Mallet Head's post re Iraq deaths etc

I never voted FF in my life for the record but was trying to bring some balance to the moan fest going on here. It's fox newsesque!. You'd think the guy was a European Pol Pot the way some go on.

basquille wrote: »
    On an unrelated note..

Crap and all as MSW was, at least she never left her man off the hook!

I didn't bother watching this PR stunt earlier, as I had an inkling as to what it would be like, but it sounds like Hannigan was no Jessica Fletcher interested in pointing out the guilty!

994 wrote: »
    The peace process was practically finished when Ahern became Taoiseach, and he was only praised as its architect because he had nothing else to show for his 11 years.

Totally disingenuous. Don't make things up to suit an agenda.

I never voted FF in my life for the record but was trying to bring some balance to the moan fest going on here. It's fox newsesque!. You'd think the guy was a European Pol Pot the way some go on.

At least Pol Pot is dead.

Where's Bertie? Wait.......he's under me bed :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::pac:

Can you take Mary Harney home for the night, PLEASE ???? :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Bertie...The Man With The Golden Envelope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

Country wasnt great when he left though. Hence your facts are wrong.

Its like being on a train that the driver has kicked up to full speed and then split bass over the controls.He then jumps off and leaves it go on ahead...

First turn in the track, train derails and passengers killed.

"But the train was going fine when i left it..."

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Can you take Mary Harney home for the night, PLEASE ???? :D

Jaysus...now I WILL have nightmares!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,988 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Havent seen the programme but if this guy gets president of this country I am leaving. Seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,988 ✭✭✭✭kippy

"everything was great" - was it?
    Is hindsight telling you that everything was great ............ cos thats not what its telling me.............