Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RunKildare Half Marathon

• 02-12-2009 1:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭

Kildare half marathon 9th may.
    Its starting at the curragh race course and finishing in kildare town square.It goes through the flatlands of kildare,so plenty of pb's expected.Theres a picnic at the end and music and busses bact to the start.It will be accuratly measured by the AAI,and full permit granted.
    Registration opens this saturday at www.kildaremarathon.ie.

Iv spoken to the mods about putting this up,ill be a volenteer at this event,it is a commercial event and there is a portion of the proceeds going to charity.There is also a prize for the first boardsie over the line,providing ur not the first person over the line:D

Rate this race based on, Scenery, PB potential, Atmosphere, Value, Organisation 3 votes

5 stars (excellent)
    0%
    4 stars (good)
    66%
    William72Oisin11178 2 votes
    3 stars (average)
    33%
    Ra1ph 1 vote
    2 stars (poor)
    0%
    1 star (terrible)
    0%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

ultraman1 wrote: »
    Its starting at the curragh race course and finishing in kildare town square.It goes through the flatlands of kildare,so plenty of pb's expected.Theres a picnic at the end and music and busses bact to the start.It will be accuratly measured by the AAI,and full permit granted.

Iv spoken to the mods about putting this up,ill be a volenteer at this event,it is a commercial event and there is a portion of the proceeds going to charity.There is also a prize for the first boardsie over the line,providing ur not the first person over the line:D

Great a flat half not too far from where i live :). That could be my half mara sorted for next year thanks :) .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

Hmm, could be a good race but it will depend on registration fee. Anything over €40 and I'm not interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

40£

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

hmmmm that'd be a nice training run for Edinburgh :pac:

40£
    ok. now I'm interested :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

it will be perfect for me for Cork and is local as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Not doing it unless you take euros :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

The way things are going you might save money paying in £ in a few months :)

I believe the plural is Euro;):D

open 4 registration now

Hmm, could be a good race but it will depend on registration fee. Anything over €40 and I'm not interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Sub430

€45 for the half :(
    €45 for the full if you register now :) (€15 saving).

45 for the half does seem expensive ?

sorry lads my mistake its 45euro:( to enter but on the good side it doesnt go up for later entrys,entry is open up until 2 weeks b4 start day and there is a facility to swap numbers(thats my P.R career over).so if its suits yout enter go ahead if not,maybe the next one

sorry lads my mistake its 45euro:(
    Nope, not doing it. €40 is my limit on how much I'll pay for a race and even at €40 I think it's expensive. Expensive entry fees are my bug bear especially when the full marathon is the same price.

I'll use my €40 for the Rotterdam marathon and run 13.1 miles around the Phoenix Park that day for free!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

It's still cheap compared to other races of that distance in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭runnerboy

heard something about this race a month ago but as far as i know its on the curragh plains ie, cross country. curragh is flat and the course would be dry that time of the year but still won't be asfast as runnng on the road.

runnerboy wrote: »
    heard something about this race a month ago but as far as i know its on the curragh plains ie, cross country. curragh is flat and the course would be dry that time of the year but still won't be asfast as runnng on the road.
    it starts at the curragh race course and its definetly not a cross country..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭connie_c

got an email about this today, /http://www.kildaremarathon.ie/

I have no connection to them or anything, just thought it might interest people here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Jaysus, before you know it every county in Ireland will have it's own marathon. I like the website.

The old charity nugget is in there again (unless I am mistaking), no mention of a donation to the charities from your registration fee but feel free to support one if these 3 nominated charities. Eh no, if I want to run for charity I'll decide who I do it for, but by all means donate a sizable % of my entry fee to said charities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭baza1976

it's a half marathon in 2010 with full to be added in 2011.

Just a week after the Limerick Marathon!!!

Entry has been lowered to a once off fee of €38 until january 31st...............(moaning does get results)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Entry has been lowered to a once off fee of €38 until january 31st...............(moaning does get results)
    That's still twice the price of Waterford this weekend! And I assume Waterford has to close more roads, etc? I don't usually comment about prices too much as I believe in the open market but hopefully with the amount of events increasing exponentially we will see a decrease in some of the higher prices!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Hi. I entered for two of us during the week when the price was €45. Can I take it that only €38 each will be deducted from my credit card ? Looking forward to it !

anyone who has already entered has been sent an email and will be refunded by cheque...

belcarra wrote: »
    And I assume Waterford has to close more roads,

belcarra wrote: »
    hopefully with the amount of events increasing exponentially we will see a decrease in some of the higher prices!

you just have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

you just have.
    Hi UM,

Don't get me wrong - fair play for the organisers/you in cutting the cost on this race.
    Regarding the road closures I figured because Waterford is a city as well as rural event there will be a larger issue with traffic rather than Kildare which appears to be on rural roads with a motorway available to divert traffic away. This may well prove to be a false assumption.
    My point was intended to be more a general comment rather than aimed at this race in particular...I know GFW has just gone available again and is still ridiculously expensive yet with a plan for more participants this year!
    I meant my comment more as a positive pointer towards future competition between events. I probably shouldn't sully your thread here so i will leave it at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

threads merged by request :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭911sc

Sub430 wrote: »
    €45 for the half :(
    €45 for the full if you register now :) (€15 saving).

The marathon is only in 2011:rolleyes:

Basically twice the price of waterford yesterday. Id like to do this but theres a recession on. If Tesco sold something for €20 that was €40 euro in Dunnes I'd go to Tesco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 gilly74

tried to download the register form but the link is not working any other of getting the form

just tried it,works 4 me

connie_c wrote: »
    Basically twice the price of waterford yesterday. Id like to do this but theres a recession on. If Tesco sold something for €20 that was €40 euro in Dunnes I'd go to Tesco.

Yes but if i had to spend the 20 euro on diesel going to Tesco then i'd go to Dunnes.

Location means a lot and Kildare is 10 mins away for me and Waterford is 90 mins..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭asimonov

Yes but if i had to spend the 20 euro on diesel going to Tesco then i'd go to Dunnes.

Location means a lot and Kildare is 10 mins away for me and Waterford is 90 mins..........

i've signed up; its a good location and the timing is good. so works for me.

asimonov wrote: »
    i've signed up; its a good location and the timing is good. so works for me.

Thats how i'm looking at it. Its 4 weeks before Cork and will suit me down to the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 gilly74

just tried it,works 4 me
    works now

Fair point but I think that if no one goes into dunnes and tells them that tesco are doing it at half the price and they should cop on that prices wont drop....and to stretch the analogy tesco have a reputation of selling a good product at that price where as they don't yet.

Having said all that Ill probably end up doing this after all. Its local to me too and some of my friends might be doing it.

Still annoying though.

connie_c wrote: »
    .... tesco have a reputation of selling a good product at that price where as they don't yet.
    to answer ur analogywe(as in the race director not me) does have a reputation of organising a well run event ,donadea 10k being 1..

Good to know. I ran the donadea 10k and it was excellent. That does make me feel better about shelling out the cash. Donadea was also a bit too expensive and If it wasnt for a local charity I would have thought twice. In fact I did think twice but did it anyway. €28 I think it was for the 10k.

Anyway Ive accepted a challange from a friend to have a bit of a personal race over the kildare half marathon. Our current personal bests are within 2 secs. They are modest times (1.42 each) but it should be fun.

just a gentle reminder that registration is only 38€ until 31st jan,if anybody is plannin on doin this.....

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Hey man. I don't have a credit card. How else can I pay?

dowm load a registration form and post....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

just a gentle reminder that registration is only 38€ until 31st jan,if anybody is plannin on doin this.....

They mustnt be getting the numbers they were expecting. €38 FOR A HALF is a special price. I wouldnt dream of making companies/people that exploit runners rich at all so i will be voting with my feet and i wont be there.

Imagine the kildare half is dearer than the london marathon( 32 pound)

Races i will run this year are
    Mallow 10 mile 12 euro
    Ballycotton 15 euro
    Dungarvan 20 euro but best race/grub of the year
    Kilmacthomas 5 mile(probaly 8 euro)
    Dungarvan 10km 10 euro
    Berlin marathon 60 euro
    London Marathon 32 pounds
    Larne haLF 15 pounds
    Lisburn half 15 pounds
    Adidias series 20 each or a deal for the three.

I would rather give my hard earned cash to support clubs.
    So i wont do any race over 25 with exception to a marathon

They mustnt be getting the numbers they were expecting. €38 FOR A HALF is a special price. I wouldnt dream of making companies/people that exploit runners rich
    Vr .how exactly are the these companies exploiting runners ,there are a lot of races to choose from on the calender as shown from your list.no one is forced to enter a race.if someone thinks a race is too expensive or not good value,then there is plenty of others that might appeal to them.And after to speakin to the organisers over xmas the numbers are filling up quite well....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 theFinishLine

They mustnt be getting the numbers they were expecting. €38 FOR A HALF is a special price. I wouldnt dream of making companies/people that exploit runners rich at all so i will be voting with my feet and i wont be there.

Imagine the kildare half is dearer than the london marathon( 32 pound)

Races i will run this year are
    Mallow 10 mile 12 euro
    Ballycotton 15 euro
    Dungarvan 20 euro but best race/grub of the year
    Kilmacthomas 5 mile(probaly 8 euro)
    Dungarvan 10km 10 euro
    Berlin marathon 60 euro
    London Marathon 32 pounds
    Larne haLF 15 pounds
    Lisburn half 15 pounds
    Adidias series 20 each or a deal for the three.

I would rather give my hard earned cash to support clubs.
    So i wont do any race over 25 with exception to a marathon

This debate about costs of races seem to rage on

The London Marathon is a bad comparison - they have a company called "Virgin Airlines" as principal sponsor, then Addidas, Lucozade, Holiday Inn etc. So we are comparing apples and oranges here. The other side of the coin - Ballycotton - what does Ballycotton give for their entry fee - the race - a cotton t-shirt and a whole heap of trouble getting there, getting parking, transportation, etc. The 5 Mile in the addidas series is ridiculous for 20 euro - if you are not in the top 20 or 30 runners - it is the poorest organised event. Having to get to a 5 mile race about 2.5 hours before hand is ridiculous.

As that guy ultraman said - luckily there is choice - from Dublin or from even Limerick - the Curragh is an easy drive - Dublin 50 minutes, Limerick 100 minutes. So I am thinking that the entry for the Kildare Half is not too bad considering I don't have to fill the tank with petrol to get there. Dungarvan from Dublin is about 4 hours (one way) - so the 10Euro fee for entry is forgotten in the price of transportation.

I enter about 40 races a year - that includes marathons in Ireland and abroad - half marathons here and many 5 and 10km races. My logical is - my g/f and I can go out for a meal on a Friday night and pay say 80 euro for the grub. And it can be poor enough fare at that. For 30 euro for a half marathon - you get a whole lot more than just a t-shirt and a medal. You get the opportunity to run an organised half marathon, the whole buzz of the race before the gun goes, and the social aspect after the race. The taste of the dinner wears away in a matter of hours - where as the memories and good vibes from the race can literally last a lifetime.

My only "problem" with the Kildare race is - why call it a marathon this year? I see the organisers intention but a spade is a spade and can never be called a shovel.

to do with the domain name on the tinterweb..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Like the look of this Ultraman, count me in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

I'm a complete beginner, have never run before. I'm 3 weeks into a 16 week programme that will hopefully get me to the finishing line!!

I'd like to get a 10k race in sometime in mid-March just for the experience so the Kildare half marathon isn't my very first race.

Could anyone recommended a suitable race? Preferably not too far from the Kildare area.

Thanks.

5 miler on paddys week end in derrinturn/carbury area.will post details