Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever have to dial 999?

• 28-11-2009 3:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭

Just curious, have any of you had to use this number? I've never once dialed it. I've never been in a such an urgent situation that would require me ringing emergency services.

No, I put out the fire myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Only once or twice, nothing major.. dickheads smashing up our fence was the last one.

Once, trying to set it is a speed-dial on the phone by accident (was about 8).. they asked to speak to mom and dad. I hung up. Picked the reciever up again and they were still on the line!!
    Had to disconnect the phone :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Once or twice in work mostly. Attempted robberies, dodgy looking bastards hanging about, the usual. Couple of times to get an ambulance for family members:(, never pleasant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

Once. I was getting beat up by 6 fellas so i whipped out my phone and called 999. An ambulance came and gave me a shot of adrenaline. And then i kicked the fúck out of the 6 fellas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Yes, for a road accident I came across.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

yup once when my dad just collapsed.

it's one of the most nerve wracking calls you ever have to make, and i have great admiration for the operators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

A few times a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

just the once

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

A few times, once from a CIE bus when I saw a horse loose on he main Limerick to Shannon dual carriageway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Once for a road accident, I remember thinking they were really fast, I had to help the Ambulance man get the guy out of the van and I knew him, he was really bad but made a recovery, it wasn't very nice. Peculiar thing though, he was killed in a car accident two years to the day later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

Just once, and not with fantastic reason really tbh - Paddy's day, girlfriend got punched in the face, and a few other friends got kicks off a travelling group having left the pub. No real reason - as far as I know it started with a "what the **** are you looking at?" from one of their often-thinking group members.

Anyway, me being full of beer and not the brightest spark in the bulb, I walked up and punched one of them straight in the face. Following this very sobering experience, I promptly ran for my life. Belted it off and rang 112, as I didn't have the local station's number. Explained what happened and they forwarded me straight to the local gardaí. In hindsight had I have run in the opposite direction for around 3 minutes, I would've been right outside the station - which made me feel a bit at ease, since by this logic the gardaí would arrive to apprehend said group within 3 minutes.

45 minutes later they arrived and took a statement. I had gotton an additional few boxes to the face myself at this point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭jape

NO BUT ONCE I DIALLEDED 666 AND THEN SOME UPSIDE DOWN POLICE MEN CAME TO MY HOUSE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭KatCookie

How do they know where to go anyways? like if you live in a really rural area?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

I've had to ring them twice, both occasions in the early morning, thanks to scumbag joyriders abandoning the stolen car on the ****in dual carriageway. Kill yourselves lads by all means, but don't put my life at risk because of your stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭Simply Red

Just the once, after someone had an accident in work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I worked in a petrol station in Jobstown and called the Gardai many a time, but generally called the Tallaght station directly.

Was in my living room one night and I heard a creak of a door, went into the hall and there was a guy standing there, he was trying to steal my moped. He ran when he seen me but he had my helmet and I (stupidly) chased after him. Gave up the chase when he dropped my helmet and kept running. Realised a few days later 2 Witnness tickets were missing! ARGH!

I have been in way too many situations when the gardai had to be called but generally someone else made the actual call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

jape wrote: »
    NO BUT ONCE I DIALLEDED 666 AND THEN SOME UPSIDE DOWN POLICE MEN CAME TO MY HOUSE

I did that and the four horseman of the apocalypse showed up. There was no fire to start with, but there sure was one when they left.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

i did because somthing happened to my dad. but it took them nearly an hour and a half to find the house wtf!"!!!
    it was a load of ****e....get a bloody sat nav for an ambulance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭monellia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Yes, a couple of times, but not for fire, ambulance or gardai. Both times were for Mountain Rescue, not for me I might add, but for people I've come across who were injured, once here in Ireland and once very recently over in the Lake District in England. Very professional, and they're all volunteers too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Rylan

Once for a road accident, I remember thinking they were really fast, I had to help the Ambulance man get the guy out of the van and I knew him, he was really bad but made a recovery, it wasn't very nice. Peculiar thing though, he was killed in a car accident two years to the day later.

Final destination style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

jape wrote: »

THATS REALLY FUNNY BUT WHY ARE WE SHOUTING??:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭itac

Several times, a few times from work(restaurant) with people collapsing and having fits and the like. Think the weirdest one was after I witnessed a shooting once, and my second thought after "WTF just happened?!!" was "dial 999".
    Rang for an ambulance, yer man got taken away to the hospital by others on the scene, and I was still kinda in shock, so rang 999 again asking them to "cancel that ambulance I just ordered...":rolleyes:
    needless to say the operator hadn't a clue what I was on about, so that was a bit of a random chat...!

Kudos to the operators though, they're good at calming you down enough to get the essential details (in my experiences anyways..)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I've had cause to make use of emergence services many, many times but not necessarilly by dialing 999.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭copperfacegaz

Yes all the time .... but im just ringing into work ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I did that and the four horseman of the apocalypse showed up. There was no fire to start with, but there sure was one when they left.:eek:

Speaking of horsemen, do mounted Gardai ever get prosecuted for their horses crapping on pedestrian walkways in the city? :confused:

Biggins wrote: »
    I've had cause to make use of emergence services many, many times but not necessarilly by dialing 999.

Perhaps you should give up cooking.:eek:

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Perhaps you should give up cooking.:eek:

LOL True. Smoke signals. :D

Speaking of horsemen, do mounted Gardai ever get prosecuted for their horses crapping on pedestrian walkways in the city? :confused:

Perhaps you should start another horse-sh1t thread and find out.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,606 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Once when a load of scumbags were trying to smash in my front/side door after a fight between them and my mates in the front garden. A police van came about 20 minutes later. Bit late lads!

Three times for an ambulance. Once was for an illness I have, second was when I dislocted my knee cap, most recent was when I broke my leg in two at a concert. (Okay so the last two were dialed by someone else on my behalf!)

I've been rushed to the hospital in an ambulance three times.

****!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Mate told me he was listening to Joe Duffy during the week (so it must be true!) and there was this story of an auld wan who was trapped in her house but couldn't contact the guards because she was dialling 999 instead of 112.... would have thought that 999 would diert to the Emergency Services even if it wasn't the number...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭jape

jd007 wrote: »
    THATS REALLY FUNNY BUT WHY ARE WE SHOUTING??:confused:

IT ADDS TO THE FUNNY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

Once as a child.

I wanted to be on Micheal Buerkes TV show, and wondered what I had to do to get on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭LaLucy

When ex boyfriend physically attacked me :(. Wasn't good but it's in the past. The police were scum to me and totally took away my trust in them. They never even caught my ex! Still fear I'll meet him again one day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Once when i got really really high and thought i was going to die.
    And the other day i was walking to college and there was a car crash right beside me i had to ring for the garda n stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

what would a pedestrian be doing that close to the horse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭blubloblu

Degag wrote: »
    Mate told me he was listening to Joe Duffy during the week (so it must be true!) and there was this story of an auld wan who was trapped in her house but couldn't contact the guards because she was dialling 999 instead of 112.... would have thought that 999 would diert to the Emergency Services even if it wasn't the number...
    Yeah, that's not true. If anything, afaik, 112 technically redirects you to 999.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭LD 50

Nope. Luckily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

As far as I know, 112 is European and 999 is international. I myself have never had to call 999/112, in a few instances I should've but someone else did it.

Curiosity is killing me although I shouldn't look a gift horse in the mouth...

- is jumpguy getting a prize for thanking everyone! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Degag wrote: »

Dialed 911 myself by mistake but the number went through as a emergency call. Was connected to the garda though. I would say the 'auld wan' had the phone upside down and was dialing 666. I've dialled 999 myself 2 times this year. About 8 or 9 times over the last 3 years.

Curiosity is killing me although I shouldn't look a gift horse in the mouth...

- is jumpguy getting a prize for thanking everyone! :D

LOL and here: http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=63240321#post63240321

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

Tellox wrote: »
    Just once, and not with fantastic reason really tbh - Paddy's day, girlfriend got punched in the face, and a few other friends got kicks off a travelling group having left the pub. No real reason - as far as I know it started with a "what the **** are you looking at?" from one of their often-thinking group members.

Anyway, me being full of beer and not the brightest spark in the bulb, I walked up and punched one of them straight in the face. Following this very sobering experience, I promptly ran for my life. Belted it off and rang 112, as I didn't have the local station's number. Explained what happened and they forwarded me straight to the local gardaí. In hindsight had I have run in the opposite direction for around 3 minutes, I would've been right outside the station - which made me feel a bit at ease, since by this logic the gardaí would arrive to apprehend said group within 3 minutes.

45 minutes later they arrived and took a statement. I had gotton an additional few boxes to the face myself at this point.

Let me wager a wild guess and say this was in Swords?

and he's still at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭jenny2hat

Once for a friend who passed out.
    Yeah, why all the thanks jumpguy? :)

Bet he doesn't reply, but thanks this...lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Haven't phoned them as I'm deaf but put me down for a thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I was taken off in an ambulance once, had chest pains after a 25 mile hike. Paramedic was an arsehole too. One of the leaders of the youth club was a nurse and the paramedic went mad at him for walking me out to the hall.

Keep it up Jumpguy, the morale around here has slipped lately and you're cheering everyone up with your possitive attitude and sexy thanking skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

Yeah I had to call 999 once when some drunken psycho was trying to break into my apartment. The Guards went to Naas.....I live in Maynooth. They did eventually turn up about three hours later though.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭H1tmonlii

There was a fire drill in our school. Some tit rang the fire brigade. He got in some ****