Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Want to Dance? The ultimate pick-up line?

• 28-11-2009 3:36pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭

I just love to dance! On occasion I've met a lad I didn't know in a pub or club that seemed to enjoy dancing too.

How many of you love to dance? Have you ever met someone new while dancing that later turned into a meaningful relationship? I have. You?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I am SH1T at dancing, I mean deplorable. But I LOVE it!! Especially in muck and mud at festivals and such.

However, I have never met anyone because of it TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Are ya askin?

This sounds like there is a storey here. :P

I <3 dancing.
    I am also criminally clumsy, so anyone who agrees to dance me is taking their lives in their hands.
    If they are still there post maiming, I think that is a good indication that they like me. LOL.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Are ya askin?
    Does this mean the Rig, whom I've known on boards for years, likes to dance?

Moonbaby wrote: »
    This sounds like there is a storey here. :P

I <3 dancing.
    I am also criminally clumsy, so anyone who agrees to dance me is taking their lives in their hands.
    If they are still there post maiming, I think that is a good indication that they like me. LOL.

We must dance sometime!! Maybe we will both be so clumsy we will be like Ying/Yang perfectly clumsy so it looks class!! :D

Or there will be no surving witnesses, so we can say it was class anyway! :P

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Many lads don't know what they are missing? Some dances allow you to get very close to a girl you've just met.

I'm a faculty brat, and always begged to ride on my Da's coattails when he traveled overseas to give a paper at a scholarly conference. When in my mid-teens I traveled with him to Buenos Aires. Cause I reached my height (5'-10") early, when made-up and dressed-to-kill I looked older.

Anyway, I was out-on-the-town with friends of my Da (but he was fortunately not along!) and this much older and very attractive lad asked me to dance. Whoa! Have you ever tangoed with a lad that knew how? He was all over me on the dance floor, but it was considered OK in that city because it was befitting of that particular dance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭taram

Definitly! The first guy I totally fell for seriously rocked the dance floor, we danced all night, he dipped me, kissed me and I melted :D

I'm in a relationship at the moment and only dance in a platonic way but woah, if I was single!! Something seriously sexy about grooving hip to hip, ears filled with music... love it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Mosh > Dance every time

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

funnily enough the last time it was the girl thought I looked like i wasnt having fun dancing so tried to turn it around ^^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Met my wife at a Northern Soul do. I used to love dancing but I got more into propping up the bar once I hit the mid-30s. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

I can swing dance but I haven't done it in like 6 months... Hope I haven't lost it....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I frickin love dancing!! My moto is "It's no fun if you can't dance". I nearly always have a dance with a guy if he asks me. Just coz I love dancing and it's nice to be asked.

And if a guy can dance - OH MY! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭coolguy

When i was on holidays last month a few ladies asked me to dance with them.
    I danced with them but i didn't manage to chat them up though. They only wanted to dance.
    if a girl asks me to dance i'll dance with her. i c'ant really dance but she can lead and i'll follow her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

Men who can dance = sexy. I absolutely love dancing and it's a nice surprise to meet a guy who's not shy to get up on the dancefloor. Best foreplay ever, imo.

I can swing dance but I haven't done it in like 6 months... Hope I haven't lost it....

Really?! That's so cool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Bikerbhoy

Many lads don't know what they are missing? Some dances allow you to get very close to a girl you've just met.

I'm a faculty brat, and always begged to ride on my Da's coattails when he traveled overseas to give a paper at a scholarly conference. When in my mid-teens I traveled with him to Buenos Aires. Cause I reached my height (5'-10") early, when made-up and dressed-to-kill I looked older.

Anyway, I was out-on-the-town with friends of my Da (but he was fortunately not along!) and this much older and very attractive lad asked me to dance. Whoa! Have you ever tangoed with a lad that knew how? He was all over me on the dance floor, but it was considered OK in that city because it was befitting of that particular dance.

Whey hey lucky you.. wondering was that the same time I was in Buenos Aires,I danced with an Irish Gal once too ........ah GUD TIMES..

shellyboo wrote: »
    Men who can dance = sexy. I absolutely love dancing and it's a nice surprise to meet a guy who's not shy to get up on the dancefloor. Best foreplay ever, imo.

Oh, I love when quotes fit somewhere

dancing is a vertical expression of a horizontal desire

I like dancing as I said, I'm just crap at it......may take a class sometime:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Libertewhite

Oh, I love when quotes fit somewhere

dancing is a vertical expression of a horizontal desire

I like dancing as I said, I'm just crap at it......may take a class sometime:)

Might do myself. I look like a prat on the dance floor:D

Bikerbhoy wrote: »
    Whey hey lucky you.. wondering was that the same time I was in Buenos Aires,I danced with an Irish Gal once too ........ah GUD TIMES..
    Ha! Well, he was tall, handsome, very fit, quite a bit older than me then (late 20's), had a heavy Spanish accent, and "Oh!" had some moves on the dance floor... Whoa!:cool:

Darn dont think that was me to be honest....could stretch to tall fit and maybe handsome but as for dancing....I ll have to leave it there Im afraid..LOL..Whoa.!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Isn't it a long established fact that Irish men can't dance though? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I've never been with someone more than that one night from dancing...i love it myself and would be the first of all my mates to get up onto the dancefloor:D

I want to try out a class in something next year other than club dancing, like salsa!:)

beks101 wrote: »

I think you could be right there unless..... ur name is..... Mick Flatley.

But ...... I would like to take this oppertunity to thank all the girls who did try over the years. to help me move in a more gracefull manner.... BUT....... failed miserably..THANK YOU.:rolleyes:...... I did try believe me

Bikerbhoy wrote: »
    I think you could be right there unless..... ur name is..... Mick Flatley.

But ...... I would like to take this oppertunity to thank all the girls who did try over the years. to help me move in a more gracefull manner.... BUT....... failed miserably..THANK YOU.:rolleyes:...... I did try believe me

He's a Yank.

I have a buddy he was in Lord of the Dance for a long time. He is a class Irish dancer, never seen him club dance though! :D

He's a Yank.

I have a buddy he was in Lord of the Dance for a long time. He is a class Irish dancer, never seen him club dance though! :D

Jaysus I didnt know that ..ah well sure amint I a fella...... ok what about Graham Norton in Father Ted.... member the caravan scene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭rafared

I hate dancing, waste of energy. I love music and can play several instruments as well as sing but I hate dancing. My wife loves to dance so on the odd ocasion we are out where dancing is possible I end up giving in and dancing with her even though I dont enjoy it at all.
    I enjoy watching good dancers giving it socks though funnily just thave no interest in doing it myself. I cringe when I see some fellas trying to dance when they cant do it.....seeing them outa time with the music and all:rolleyes:

beks101 wrote: »

The older generation are great dancers.

I want to try out a class in something next year other than club dancing, like salsa!:)

OUH I wanna learn Swing. If I can find proper lessons, and potential dancing partners with hardy shins. ~fingers crossed~

shellyboo wrote: »
    Really?! That's so cool!
    If I can still do it, it is! I was decent enough....
    OUH I wanna learn Swing. If I can find proper lessons, and potential dancing partners with hardy shins. ~fingers crossed~

I already told you where to get proper lessons! And ya don't need to bring a partner to swing, ya get paired off with loadsa different people every class.

Oh really! :)
    Because the last time I tried to learn, the only person who would dance with me (Because I was crap). Was this fella who wanted to spread the word of jesus. :o

Haha, I accept no responsibility for jesus freaks.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

Oh really! :)
    Because the last time I tried to learn, the only person who would dance with me (Because I was crap). Was this fella who wanted to spread the word of jesus. :o

I think I danced with you at TLL beers? and I don't care about Jesus so that wasn't me.

You cheating on me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Replace "hardy shins" with no sense of co-ordination and i think it'll be a perfect match for ya:p
    Haha, I accept no responsibility for jesus freaks.....
    Nobody does...:)

The older generation are great dancers.
    This speaks for my Da. He can dance the socks off ye!

The knickers too I would assume given you are here to post!! :D