Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man lives for a year without money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I wouldn't do it voluntarily but if he's happy that way, fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭whadabouchasir

Pepole can survive without money?Great we can stop paying social welfare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I bet he dosen't wash himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Jenroche

Just goes to show it CAN be done....not that I'd want to but respect to that man!

Jen ;->

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

How did he use the freecycle website without money? Did he find a "free" wireless laptop and get access toa free hotspot somewhere?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Where did the caravan come from then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Does he dig his crops with his bare hands, I wonder?

Re: phone. I assume if he ever has a heart-attack, he's mastered the art of telepathically contacting emergency services.

stovelid wrote: »

Re: phone. I assume if he ever has a heart-attack, he's mastered the art of telepathically contacting emergency services.
    You realise 999 is free?

Shit, busted.

I can't even ninja-edit it now 'cos you quoted me. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

112/999 calls are free - you don't even need a SIM to make the call

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

He still has to buy the seeds for food surely, it's not completely free.

Reminds me of the Good Life. It would be interesting to try and be self-sufficent for one month or something and see how much you save.

There's an idea for a RTE show, that might have some value!

JohnCleary wrote: »
    112/999 calls are free - you don't even need a SIM to make the call

Aye, let's swiftly move on. *cough* :o

Hey everyone, look at stovelid!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

beertons wrote: »

He's the fella who left Britain with the intention of walking to India getting alms from people along the route to sustain him. He turned back in France because the people didn't understand him. :)

http://www.guardian.co.uk/environment/2008/mar/01/ethicalliving.travelandtransport

http://news.sky.com/skynews/Home/Sky-News-Archive/Article/20080641307470

Dionysus wrote: »
    He's the fella who left Britain with the intention of walking to India getting alms from people along the route to sustain him. He turned back in France because the people didn't understand him. :)

http://www.guardian.co.uk/environment/2008/mar/01/ethicalliving.travelandtransport

http://news.sky.com/skynews/Home/Sky-News-Archive/Article/20080641307470
    What a dope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Where did the caravan come from then?

More than likely it was a donation from the travellers. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Saruman wrote: »
    How did he use the freecycle website without money? Did he find a "free" wireless laptop and get access toa free hotspot somewhere?

Exactly, he's a fraud. I wonder who trims his nice little beard and shaves his head for him, obviously not with an electric clippers http://homensmodernos.files.wordpress.com/2009/11/mark-boyle-outside-his-ca-001.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭AssaultedPeanut

To all the people saying "where did he get X from", I'm fairly sure he had a caravan, a phone and a laptop (which he very well could have cycled to somewhere with free WiFi) prior to doing this for a year.
    No where does it state that he was shoved out in to a forest naked and left to fend for himself for a year, the point was simply not to spend money for the year.

Fair fcuks to him, I couldn't do it myself

Edit: also didn't it say he uses solar power for electiricty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭stick-dan

To all the people saying "where did he get X from", I'm fairly sure he had a caravan, a phone and a laptop (which he very well could have cycled to somewhere with free WiFi) prior to doing this for a year.
    No where does it state that he was shoved out in to a forest naked and left to fend for himself for a year, the point was simply not to spend money for the year.

Fair fcuks to him, I couldn't do it myself

Edit: also didn't it say he uses solar power for electiricty

So then in fairness living without money can't be done because he prob had to buy the caravan, solar panels, showers, laptop, etc before he decided to do this. FRAUD!

stick-dan wrote: »
    So then in fairness living without money can't be done because he prob had to buy the caravan, solar panels, showers, laptop, etc before he decided to do this. FRAUD!

It was to live for a year without spending money during that year, that's all!
    Not live for a year without spending money or using any of the possessions you already own. Of course he'd have to make some preparations for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

It was to live for a year without spending money during that year, that's all!
    Not live for a year without spending money or using any of the possessions you already own. Of course he'd have to make some preparations for it.
    Then what's the point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Mad_Max

phasers wrote: »
    Then what's the point?

To go a year without spending money. That part was obvious no? :rolleyes:

Mad_Max wrote: »

Thank you, I really thought I was going insane for a minute there

But why bother if you can just buy a ton of crap beforehand?

I'm going to go a year without spending money in 2010.*

*Anyone help me do a years worth of shopping? Must be done by the 31st Dec.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Mad_Max

phasers wrote: »
    But why bother if you can just buy a ton of crap beforehand?

Do you think you could buy a years supply of everything now and then go 2010 without spending a penny??

Love to see you try.

If he'd bought a year's supply of everything, then there'd be no point. He was self sufficient, for a year, growing food etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

That bloke is Irish. I saw him on a TV show called "its not easy being Green" on BBC2.
    Reason is that I was watching it to see a guy i know who makes Organic Bread on it in Bath in the Uk.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Internet access is free in libraries isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Someone goes without spending money for a year and everyones mad to knock him down. He could have got the caravan for free, the mobile for free, how many people throw away their old mobile phones and would be glad to give it to him. Theres loads of people with old damaged caravans that rather than paying to get rid of them would be glad for someone to take it off their hands.
    Go to a library, free internet, amazing isn't it!
    You don't need an electric shaver to trim a beard, what do you think they did before electricity.

Anyways besides all that the point is he didn't spend any money for a year and it's pretty damn amazing. no need to pick holes in it.

Judging by the comments on here it just goes to show how dependent on our luxuries we have become that some don't even realise that you don't need a laptop or an electric razor or electricity to survive. Why you'd want to go without all these things I don't know but why knock someone who decided he'd like to try it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,813 ✭✭✭✭JPA

That bloke is Irish. I saw him on a TV show called "its not easy being Green" on BBC2.
    Reason is that I was watching it to see a guy i know who makes Organic Bread on it in Bath in the Uk.

Ugh he makes bread in the bath.

Do you think you could buy a years supply of everything now and then go 2010 without spending a penny??

Love to see you try.
    Yeah cos I live next to a lidl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

It said he didn't spend any money in a year. He could have bought the laptop on day -1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I think a summary of his assets on the first day would have put things into more persepctive. Either way though, it's quite an achievement for someone coming from any kind of Irish normality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Good on him! It would be very interesting to see a documentary on how he does it, so we can learn from him in these difficult times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Dragan wrote: »
    It said he didn't spend any money in a year. He could have bought the laptop on day -1.

It proves nothing though, if he continues to live cashless where will his next laptop / shovel / solar panel part etc come from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

When I read that he was a vegan I thought of these gee bags!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

JPA wrote: »
    Ugh he makes bread in the bath.
    Fail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

That's great, maybe he should STFU and do it without seeking media attention.

****ing sap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭Firefox10

He has probably reduced his life span considerably. Whatever you are in to i suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Dragan wrote: »

Why on earth are people assuming he had a laptop? You don't need your own computer or internet connection to access a website. It does help but not neccessary. Use the library.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭_Kooli_

The social welfare here are talking to him now to come up with an advice leaflet they can give to people when they SLASH the dole. :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Why are we giving this fool the time of day? Who cares what the crazy bastard claims he did?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

it say he gets his clothes off a website....who pays the bills...or does he sit infront of people house robbing their wireless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Thucydides

There's an oraganisation in Germany called Gib und Nimm dedicated to it.

I read an article on the same topic in the Times a week or so ago.

The women in the article had managed to go for 13 years without using money on a day to day basis.

Have a read - fasinating stuff! Perhaps a similar group would prove popular in post celtic tiger Ireland?

http://women.timesonline.co.uk/tol/life_and_style/women/article6928744.ece

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭dimejinky99

Saw a family on wifeswap(yes im embarrassed by this) last week and they lived in a caravan, with a coomunity of other(all jesus creepers) and they get all their food from supermarket bins once its been thrown out for cans being dented etc. it didnt really get into how they manage things like power and heat etc. i wouldnt do it but fair play if they can. we all will have too after the big nuke happens in 2012 haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

begger

mink_man wrote: »
    *durty begger

fixed that for ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Aoifums

Did it say somewhere that he lived without electricity? I didn't see that being said. How did he cook if he didn't use electricity?
    Saw a family on wifeswap(yes im embarrassed by this) last week and they lived in a caravan, with a coomunity of other(all jesus creepers) and they get all their food from supermarket bins once its been thrown out for cans being dented etc. it didnt really get into how they manage things like power and heat etc. i wouldnt do it but fair play if they can. we all will have too after the big nuke happens in 2012 haha

Was that the family who hated the government, but still got used the NHS and got their son's dental work (a ton of it) done for free? I only saw half the episode at 3am one time.

Yeah that was the one. I felt soooo bad for their kid. Like always the other family were horrific too (rich, beyond affluent, materialistic wrecthes..extreme tv though). I couldnt make any sense or relate to the caravan community thing though. Sure a simpler life has its charms but they were using the system they claim to hate when it suited them. mad. The family could live for a week on £2. it was scary.