Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

looking at other peoples advice slips at the atm

• 26-11-2009 6:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭

so, you're at an ATM and the chap in front of you has taken his money but has left his advice slip in the machine ...

what do you do, take it out and throw it away ?
    do you have a look to see how much cash they have and see there balance ?
    or do you check if anyone is watching you first, then have a look !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Throw it away, seriously if you are looking at somebodys advice slip you need a bit more going on in your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

I stuff it in my pocket and use the information to help me steal there identity

Throw it in the bin without looking at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭Asmodean

Never had the chance to look at a slip left in a machine. I think it's hillarious though when the person you're waiting to get off the ATM storm away in a huff and you see the 'Insufficient funds' message on the screen. It happens a lot in college surprisingly enough and it gets me every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

I'd tell him he forgot his slip. If I was an incredibly slow walker, and took 30 minutes to get to the ATM in which time he'd be gone, I'd dump it. Who cares if I see his balance? I don't know 'em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Throw it away, couldn't give a toss what his balance is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Asmodean wrote: »
    Never had the chance to look at a slip left in a machine. I think it's hillarious though when the person you're waiting to get off the ATM storm away in a huff and you see the 'Insufficient funds' message on the screen. It happens a lot in college surprisingly enough and it gets me every time.

You wouldnt always have money in your account when in college.
    My friend you are either
    a: Not living the college lifestyle of putting all money towards drinking and partying and eating beans.
    b: Waaaaay to well off.

I wouldnt find that funny at all, especially having been at that point during my student days.

If someone leaves a slip like that in the machine I throw it in the bin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

kippy wrote: »
    You always have money in your account when in college.
    My friend you are either
    a: Not living the college lifestyle of putting all money towards drinking and partying and eating beans.

I wouldnt find that funny at all, especially having been at that point during my student days.

Or he just keeps track of his finances and doesn't assume he's got more money in his bank account than he actually does have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Why do you care how much money the bloke in front of you has? Jealousy if he has more than you? Arrogance if he has less?

Who gives a fuck tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

I always notice it by accident, never see who's it was though. People always tend to leave it on top of the ATM's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭LD 50

I sometimes look, just to be inquisitive. Then I throw it away and forget about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

I don't take receipts so it can stay where the fook it is.

On another note i met an American fella who goes to ATM's looking for big money withdrawals. When he finds one he leaves his phone number on it. His friends swore that this has worked for him with picking up girls looking for rich men. I didn't believe it when he first told me as it sounds like it's from a film. But then his mates said it had worked. Imagine that happening over here.

Or he just keeps track of his finances and doesn't assume he's got more money in his bank account than he actually does have.

You've obviously never lived the student lifestyle either.
    Keeping track of your finances is tough when you cant remember what happened the night before, which could have involved a trip to the ATM

You missed out.

u always have money in your account when in college.
    My friend you are either

Well off?! I wish!
    I guess I'm actually one of the few people who actually goes to college to learn. :) Better leave it at that because this could veer slightly off topic. lol

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Whoever the bastard is they have more than me so I just point it out to them and steal their wallet while distracted. Then I spit on the pictures of his family. Then I give it back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I'll never forget this one. It was 1st April about four years ago and I was at an ATM on Grafton Street behind this big fat guy. He got his money and then took his advice slip and stood there looking at it. Next thing I know he crumples it up, throws it on the ground in disgust and storms off.

I was really curious so I picked up the paper, uncrumpled it and read it. Here's what the advice slip said:

"Lose some weight fatty"

Oh Bank of Ireland - you were so funny in your day! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I'll never forget this one. It was 1st April about four years ago and I was at an ATM on Grafton Street behind this big fat guy. He was using the machine and I thought, "he's got no need to hide his PIN, nobody could possibly see past him." He got his money and then took his advice slip and stood there looking at it. Next thing I know he crumples it up, throws it on the ground in disgust and storms off.

I was really curious so I picked up the paper, uncrumpled it and read it. Here's what the advice slip said:

"Lose some weight fatty"

Oh Bank of Ireland - you were so funny in your day! :D

I have to call bollocks on this one, unless I missed the sarcasrtic undertone.

Anyway, I do tend to have a sneaky peek. It helps when trying to organise low level tiger kidnappings.

And by low level I mean I kidnap his garden gnome until he hands over at least 2 roast chicken sandwiches and a pepsi!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

NothingMan wrote: »
    I have to call bollocks on this one, unless I missed the sarcasrtic undertone.

It's as plausible as some of the ATM stories we've had on AH over the past while. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Keeping track of your finances is tough when you cant remember what happened the night before, which could have involved a trip to the ATM

You missed out.

Can you not check your balance before trying to take out money, or are you still too wasted from the night before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    It's as plausible as some of the ATM stories we've had on AH over the past while. ;)
    Heard one today that if you whip the money out as its coming out of the machine it won't be taken out of your balance?

Bring it home and use it as toilet paper later on.

Don't judge me.

WeeBushy wrote: »
    Can you not check your balance before trying to take out money, or are you still too wasted from the night before?

Jaysus,
    The poster was speaking about laughing at students around the college who end up in the situation whereby the bank tells they they have insufficient funds.

I didnt think laughing at this was that smart to be honest. Its pretty sad in my opinion, the people he is laughing about are students.

Students and student life (and I havent been a full time one in ten years or so) generally involves a fair bit of drinking and socialising and not worrying too much about the cash....
    I know I had a lot of fun in my student days, drinking, going out, houseparties etc etc, some of the best craic I ever had......I often had no money in the account, especially just before pay came in from a part time job........and yes, you would somtimes be chancing your arm hoping there was something there (before the days of internet banking)
    Worrying about cash, not making an ass of yourself, having ties and more responsibilities comes after being a student in general, well it did for me, and I enjoyed my time in college, and many many students learn plenty in college and still have a mad social life.

God, AH has gotten really ****ing serious...........

Jaysus,
    The poster was speaking about laughing at students around the college who end up in the situation whereby the bank tells they they have insufficient funds.

I didnt think laughing at this was that smart to be honest. Its pretty sad in my opinion, the people he is laughing about are students.

Students and student life (and I havent been a full time one in ten years or so) generally involves a fair bit of drinking and socialising and not worrying too much about the cash....
    I know I had a lot of fun in my student days, drinking, going out, houseparties etc etc, some of the best craic I ever had......I often had no money in the account, especially just before pay came in from a part time job........and yes, you would somtimes be chancing your arm hoping there was something there (before the days of internet banking)
    Worrying about cash, not making an ass of yourself, having ties and more responsibilities comes after being a student in general, well it did for me, and I enjoyed my time in college, and many many students learn plenty in college and still have a mad social life.

Maybe not even hoping for much money left in it, but that the machine is one of the rare ones that gives out tenners!

Indeed, I often remember being in that situation.
    I do think but not 100% that some gave out £5 notes (the real money)

Jaysus,

Telling someone they missed out on college life because they are good with money/not looking at your balance in the atm before you try and withdraw money just seems idiotic to me, thats all.

AH is all about pointing out what you think is wrong :)

Telling someone they missed out on college life because they are good with money/not looking at your balance in the atm before you try and withdraw money just seems idiotic to me, thats all.

AH is all about pointing out what you think is wrong :)
    Why is it idiotic........Idiotic is laughing at students who get told they have no money to withdraw. Its not even funny.....
    You can be good with money when you have your responsibilities when you HAVE to be good with money.
    Do people actually look at their balance in on the ATM machine before trying to withdraw (nowadays)?

Why is it idiotic........Idiotic is laughing at students who get told they have no money to withdraw. Its not even funny.....
    You can be good with money when you have your responsibilities when you HAVE to be good with money.
    Do people actually look at their balance in on the ATM machine before trying to withdraw (nowadays)?

Absolutely I do, especially if I think my bank balance is low.

Why do you think students shouldn't be good with money? What's wrong with students being good with money :confused:

Absolutely I do, especially if I think my bank balance is low.

Why do you think students shouldn't be good with money? What's wrong with students being good with money :confused:

I never said they shouldnt be good with money.......fair play if they are. But it a part of student life not to be good with money or not to have money in your account from time to time, laughing at them for this is pretty poor form.......
    You'll be long enough in the ground with no money worries.

I never said they shouldnt be good with money.......fair play if they are. But it a part of student life not to be good with money or not to have money in your account from time to time, laughing at them for this is pretty poor form.......
    You'll be long enough in the ground with no money worries.

Did you not say this:

You missed out.

Sounds like you think those who are good with their money missed out on college life to me...

I never commented one way or the other on the laughing at those with no money btw.

Did you not say this:

Sounds like you think those who are good with their money missed out on college life to me...

I never commented one way or the other on the laughing at those with no money btw.
    Well, they missed out on one aspect of student life, being broke. Probably a bit harsh to say they missed out on college life as being broke is only one aspect.
    I probably was a tad harsh but being broke in college, to me was a large part of my memories of college, and if I heard some pr1k have a laugh behind me as the bank told me I had no funds, I would not be too happy. Would u?

You didnt comment, but my responses have been in reply to the people who did, this is a side.

Well, they missed out on one aspect of student life, being broke. Probably a bit harsh to say they missed out on college life as being broke is only one aspect.
    I probably was a tad harsh but being broke in college, to me was a large part of my memories of college, and if I heard some pr1k have a laugh behind me as the bank told me I had no funds, I would not be too happy. Would u?

You didnt comment, but my responses have been in reply to the people who did, this is a side.

I wouldn't call having money in college as missing out on anything... I'd say it's a major positive tbh.

For me it was part of the experience. I am not saying it was good all the time, but it was part of the experience and reminds me of good times to be honest.
    You'd have to be in that position to understand.

I havent been in that position since, and if I am to be again I would be in serious trouble.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

I've never got that insufficient funds on my account and as a student i was out 5 nights a week. I don't think i missed out on anything. Was far from rich but wasn't broke.

For me it was part of the experience. I am not saying it was good all the time, but it was part of the experience and reminds me of good times to be honest.
    You'd have to be in that position to understand.

I havent been in that position since, and if I am to be again I would be in serious trouble.....

I have been in that position. Very glad it was just the once as well. Reminds me of nothing but hassle and missing out on something I wanted to do.

But hey, each to their own I guess.

Idiotic is laughing at students who get told they have no money to withdraw

Hey who are you calling idiotic?! Just because I don't squander all my money on drink. I think you took it out of context I wouldn't actually laugh out loud at someone because I'm not a prick.

Asmodean wrote: »
    Hey who are you calling idiotic?! Just because I don't squander all my money on drink. I think you took it out of context I wouldn't actually laugh out loud at someone because I'm not a prick.

Sorry, I reread your post. You said you found it hilarious, nothing about laughing out loud, fair enough.

Finding someone hilarious who spends all their money on drink is not that smart either.....lets be honest about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭CliffHuxtabel

Advice slips are rather bland, uninteresting documents.

I rarely bother to look at my own ones before I push them into the silver letter box

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Straight away put it in the bin provided. I wouldn't want anyone doing it to me, nor could I care less about someone elses transactions / balance. Actually, I'd go so far as to say, its pretty fucking sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

Not living the college lifestyle of putting all money towards drinking and partying and eating beans.

YOU MAD WHOOOOORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You're so mad, living the "college lifestyle". Jasus, mad whore you are.

Ignore them completly, they just remind to press the no button if asked for an advice slip.

Bob_Harris wrote: »
    YOU MAD WHOOOOORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You're so mad, living the "college lifestyle". Jasus, mad whore you are.

Well I was pretty mad back then alright, thats the way I treated it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

Don't act like pricks. The average college goer has money in their account every week and many a time they would find themselves insufficient of funds for booze/food so they would have to go a few days without going out or eating properly/at all.

I am a victim of many **** food weeks (ie. eating the extremely old beans in the corner of the cupboards or eating out of date sausages/bread/ham etc.)

Don't act like pricks. The average college goer has money in their account every week and many a time they would find themselves insufficient of funds for booze/food so they would have to go a few days without going out or eating properly/at all.

I am a victim of many **** food weeks (ie. eating the extremely old beans in the corner of the cupboards or eating out of date sausages/bread/ham etc.)

Really? The first thing I do every month is put aside money for food. I would never let myself not have enough money for food. That's a bit retarded if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭dazzday

Something I refuse to do since the time I was behind a student about the same age as me (early-mid twenties) who left his advice slip in the machine... took a quick glance as I threw it in the bin.

€87,000.

I left as the machine was only giving out fiftys instead on the single €20 note I had left in my account...

Really? The first thing I do every month is put aside money for food. I would never let myself not have enough money for food. That's a bit retarded if you ask me.

But when it comes down to it what's more important as a student, food or alcohol....... WRONG, It's alcohol! If you run out of food someone will buy you a bag of chips out of sympathy. Very difficult to get the same person to buy you 6 Bavaria and a bottle of Tesco vodka!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Why don't you write a book eh?

How to materialise money from thin air and condescend people on the internet.

Don't expect college students to buy, they have very little money and many expences, dontcha know.

But when it comes down to it what's more important as a student, food or alcohol....... WRONG, It's alcohol! If you run out of food someone will buy you a bag of chips out of sympathy. Very difficult to get the same person to buy you 6 Bavaria and a bottle of Tesco vodka!

What I do is when I have a bit of money I stock up. At the beginning of the semester myself and two friends went on a road trip up north and I bought enough to last me untill a few weeks ago. Pretty good timing with exams coming up. :) I'll do the same after christmas with the money i get from it. It involves serious will power not to drink it all at once but I managed to restrain myself somehow...

Why don't you write a book eh?

How to materialise money from thin air and condescend people on the internet.

Don't expect college students to buy, they have very little money and many expences, dontcha know.

Wouldn't be bothered writing a book, student apathy and all.

I was merely pointing out that I buy food before alcohol... riches or rags doesn't come into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

Not all atms tell you your balance, only if the atm belongs to your bank! Ao it has happened to me many a time even if i wasnt spening it all on alcohol.
    Are you assuming everybody get a lump sum of money every month? I personally got €40 a week and it was grand for the weekly shop but if anything else had to be bought that week or even a trip to the cinema it was hard to get by on it.
    Wish i got a bunch of "christmas money" but i get/got none.
    So anyway this bank thing happened quite alot for me!
    Yes sometimes it is fun to look at ppl's bank slips as some people (other students) have thousands in their accounts!:eek: nice for them i guess
    Guess it is funny to laugh at people who havent alot of money :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

Davei141 wrote: »
    Throw it away... you need a bit more going on in your life.

Ditto this thread.

adamski8 wrote: »
    Are you assuming everybody get a lump sum of money every month? I personally got €40 a week and it was grand for the weekly shop but if anything else had to be bought that week or even a trip to the cinema it was hard to get by on it.
    Wish i got a bunch of "christmas money" but i get/got none.
    So anyway this bank thing happened quite alot for me!

Fine then, I'd put it away weekly, doesn't make a difference. I get by on €30 a week for my food easily enough. Anyway, this is my last post on the topic, as others have pointed out it looks like I'm pontificating on how to look after your money. That's not what I'm trying to do and apologies for coming across that way. I was just trying to say that running out of money because of alcohol is both stupid and avoidable.
    adamski8 wrote: »
    Yes sometimes it is fun to look at ppl's bank slips as some people (other students) have thousands in their accounts!:eek: nice for them i guess
    Guess it is funny to laugh at people who havent alot of money :rolleyes:

People keep including this in reponses to my posts. I never said I laughed at people with no money.