Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why is David McWilliams on The Panel???

• 26-11-2009 3:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭

Was at the recording of the panel last night and I went in and came out scratching my head wondering why David McWilliams was chosen to present this show....

He was awful! Though, tbh, we knew he would be.

We booed as he was introduced.

At one stage he thought he was being funny by calling Neil Delamare and Andrew Maxwell c**ts. The audience seemed shocked by the few gasps I heard. He interupted Neil Delamare at one stage and said something along the lines of 'Right, maybe it's time to shut the f*ck up'....

He was incredibily irritating and destroyed the flow of jokes. He patronizied the guests by explaining jokes to them...

Why the fook was this red head numpty chosen is my question!!!

He's lost all respect. He insults a female presenter in his book. He disrespects our Minister for Finance... Down with McWilliams!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Ald wrote: »
    Was at the recording of the panel last night and I went in and came out scratching my head wondering why David McWilliams was chosen to present this show....

He was awful! Though, tbh, we knew he would be.

At one stage he thought he was being funny by calling Neil Delamare and Andrew Maxwell *****. The audience seemed shocked by the few gasps I heard. He interupted Neil Delamare at one stage and said something along the lines of 'Right, maybe it's time to shut the **** up'....

He was incredibily irritating and destroyed the flow of jokes. He patronizied the guests by explaining jokes to them...

Why the fook was this red head numpty chosen is my question!!!

He's lost all respect. He insults a female presenter in his book. He disrespects our Minister for Finance... Down with McWilliams!!!
    Why is this not in the TV forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,106 ✭✭✭✭L1011

He's not very good at this, thats true; but surely disrespecting an incompetent isn't a bad thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭damoz

At one stage he thought he was being funny by calling Neil Delamare and Andrew Maxwell *****.

Funny?

Now that is appalling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Well, that's going to set him up for a great gig, anways!
    He insults a female presenter in his book.

That was a bit strange, I'll give you that
    He disrespects our Minister for Finance...

Our Minister for Finance hasn't earned any respect, so I'm with McWilliams on that one!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,969 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

damoz wrote: »
    Funny?

Now that is appalling.

Well they are!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Why did you go to a recording of a show and boo the presenter? And you give out about McWilliams not having respect.

I can see how people would watch a show and give out about it. But if you hate him as a presenter so much that you're going to boo the guy then why on earth waste your evening going to a recording of the show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Because RTE have a new Mandate of employing as many useless unfunny Twats as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

He is on the show cos RTE almost certainly believe that as the show is now on RTE 1 it needs and RTE 1 type fronting it, as they seek to get an older demographic to watch it with the kids!

(ps if they are thinking like that they are quite barking as its "appeal" *cough* is compromised in both directions by having McWilliams on board)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭stevedublin

McW needs the money, theres a recession on y'know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Who is Dave McWilliams? and I'm guessing the panel is some sort of effort by RTE at comedy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭Ald

I can see how people would watch a show and give out about it. But if you hate him as a presenter so much that you're going to boo the guy then why on earth waste your evening going to a recording of the show?

I went because I got tickets. Last minute me and da lads decided to boo cause he's a fookin numpty and proved himself to be through the recording... I think there's place for booing if it's not just for the sake of booing... I think he's retarded on that show!

Two great guests actually. Darryn Lyons and our own Donal McIntyre. So, I was happy for that!

Even Darryn Lyons commented when McW asked a question: "What's with this; you're all serious and these lads are being funny?!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Moved from After Hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭ben bedlam

When the job of finding a full-time host of the show got underway, should not the very first prerequisite of the host's abilities be that they at least have had some background in comedy? McWilliams is a talented and capable economist, but having him front a topical satire show is simply crazy. I used to love the Panel, but since last series with the rotating hosts it has turned to pure shyte. While it will never return to the Dara days, in fairness, Colin Murphy did a good job as host. McWilliams is a dire host- unlike Dara or Murphy hosting, McWilliams simply introduces a story, lets Maxwell and co. discuss, and then moves on. He has zero input into anything or any comedic wit. I get the feeling too that the Panel is a real clique- its the same tired faces, week after week. Also, why the hell is Dermot Whelan on the show so much? He is not at all funny, and his jokes are like something you would hear in a secondary school. Please RTE, cancel this utter tripe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

The panel was bad enough with the rotating presenter system but it's gone down the drain altogether now with that idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

I was at the recording last night as well and to be honest haven't watched the show on telly in the last couple of years because it has steadily been going downhill...
    Last night was hilarious (mostly because of Maxwell and Delamare), but because it's on RTÉ One now, the producers will end up editing out the funny stuff and it's gonna be crap. I recommend to anyone to head to the live shows, because it's nothing like what actually ends up going out on air. Delamare even said that he wanted the Panel back on RTÉ Two.
    McWilliams was dreadful, and it was great to see Maxwell, Delamare and Coppinger continuosly ripping the piss out of him, but that was all he was good for.
    Also Eleanor Tiernan (cousin of Tommy's apparently) was making her panel debut as token woman and she annoyed me more than McWilliams did - hopefully she never gets brought back again. Was hoping Aoibhinn Ni Shuilleabhain was there - at least she's easy on the eyes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Two great guests actually. Darryn Lyons and our own Donal McIntyre. So, I was happy for that!

Donal McIntyre complete arsehole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Yeah, I had the exact same experience a few weeks ago. Went to the recording and had a great time, but watched the show on the Thursday and it was very poor. Terrible decision to move it to RTE1, anything vaguely offensive is cut out now.

Also, the body language between McWilliams and the panelists is dreadful - they all seem to hate him. I was at a recording a few years ago when Dara O'Briain presented it and there is no was no comparison. Time to call it a day, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Why would McWilliams even want to be doing the show anyway? The man is an economist for god sake. With all his book releases, and now this, I'd be inclined to take him less serious as an economist somehow. How did someone in RTE honestly think he'd be a good choice for this sort of thing? Is he supposed to funny or something? I hear Brendan O'Connor is after getting a chat show now with Lucy Kennedy. Oh dear god no..Is he supposed to funny too? I must be missing something. I do think Tubridy is doing a good job on The Late Late though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

<Ollie> wrote: »
    Why would McWilliams even want to be doing the show anyway?

The only reason that I can come up with is that he is not funny. Perhaps they thought he would have the dry wit of Angus Deyton and the presenters of HIGNFY, fine we now know all the jokes were written but at least they can just read them, without be extravagant.

Really the presenter of these types of shows should just be there to set up the jokes and let the others bounce of the topics. But then the others need to control themselves sometime I just think they are shouting for no apparent reason.

Which reminds me QI is on tonight at 9:30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Its sad to see the demise of the The Panel. There was a time when I hated to miss it. Dara, Maxwell, Murphy and Delamere used to gel very well. It was mainly down to Dara it seems.

McWilliams is an abomination. You can tell someones had a word with him about his over the top fake laugh AT EACH AN EVERY JOKE. Now he seems to just present the topic and let the panelists at it. They should just can it. Its had its day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭manufan16

yeah i used to love this show, not so much anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

manufan16 wrote: »
    yeah i used to love this show, not so much anymore

watchin it right now? The new girl is pretty awful. And McWilliams is just lost. The new guy isn't too bad though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭The Express

I was at the recording last night as well and to be honest haven't watched the show on telly in the last couple of years because it has steadily been going downhill...
    Last night was hilarious (mostly because of Maxwell and Delamare), but because it's on RTÉ One now, the producers will end up editing out the funny stuff and it's gonna be crap. I recommend to anyone to head to the live shows, because it's nothing like what actually ends up going out on air. Delamare even said that he wanted the Panel back on RTÉ Two.
    McWilliams was dreadful, and it was great to see Maxwell, Delamare and Coppinger continuosly ripping the piss out of him, but that was all he was good for.
    Also Eleanor Tiernan (cousin of Tommy's apparently) was making her panel debut as token woman and she annoyed me more than McWilliams did - hopefully she never gets brought back again. Was hoping Aoibhinn Ni Shuilleabhain was there - at least she's easy on the eyes...

Saw Eleanor Tiernan in Galway a few weeks ago. Ah, jaysus give it up now will ya.

Died a death in the black box.

You're about as funny as being stuck in a prison cell with Jason byrne on crystal meth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭CliffHuxtabel

someone kill andrew maxwell now....lighthouse keeper gag is dying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭johnathan woss

At one stage he thought he was being funny by calling Neil Delamare and Andrew Maxwell c**ts. ...... He interupted Neil Delamare at one stage and said something along the lines of 'Right, maybe it's time to shut the f*ck up'....

What's the problem ?

They are c**ts and Delamare really really should shut the f*ck up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭elshambo

He is probably under contract

they have nothing for him to do

they needed a presenter for the show

they couldnt really afford another contract (find anyone who would do it)

so 1+1 = who is in the canteen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 snosae

:(good enough show in its day and McWilliams is just a bloke in the wrong place if you ask me - he's a ****ing economist, they tend not to be comic performers. You wouldn't ask Tommy Tiernan to do your books, would you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Used to be a very good show back when it was on Monday nights on RTE 2. Dara was a great host for it, and it was actually very funny and a must see for me each week.

Last years guest host thing just didn't work. And the move to RTE 1 also seems to have changed it.

This year i watched the 1st 2 shows with McWilliams presenting, and i don't even think i got 1 laugh out of it.
    The Panel as we knew it is well finished, and this season will ensure it ends completely.

Kinda sad to see it end up like this after being so good for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Glad I didn't watch this now. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 IrishInCalgary

McWilliams is brilliant as an economic commentator but was dire as the host of the panel. It was just a wrong fit. Square peg, triangular hole. What was he thinking taking that job? Maybe it was economics ....ba...boom:D
    The panel is so unfunny anyway. Its ''hide behind the cushion car crash tv' esp that Colin Murphy.....how does he get away with calling himself a comedian? .....at least Delamere and Maxwell say the odd funny thing...its rare but it sometimes happens. But Murphy is like your weird uncle who thinks he is hilarious and everyone else just thinks he's a knob.
    And while Im still ranting and raving... what the heck is Craig Doyle at?
    Another weird presenting choice. Ive never seen a presenter go full tilt at wrecking his own career. That dude had it all. He was on course to be one of the UKs biggest presenters and then he jams the career into reverse at high speed and chooses to do the Panel and that terrible Z list show he does on Saturday nights. As Cee Lo sings "I think you're crazy!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

The panel is so unfunny anyway.

It was cancelled a year ago.

what the heck is Craig Doyle at? ... he jams the career into reverse at high speed and chooses to do the Panel and that terrible Z list show he does on Saturday nights.

His terrible Saturday Night Show was at least two years ago.
    He has had two dreadful Talk Shows since then.

Are you from the Past?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

And clear. Still time to breath life into this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,570 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

2½ year old thread. Locked.