Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you have that one person you can turn to no matter what?

• 25-11-2009 3:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭

Do you have that one person who you can turn to no matter what in hour of despair,who would take you in if you found yourself penniless or you could hand your kids over to if you were sick or dying.
    Everyone is meant to have one.
    Seriously i don't :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I have quite a few, maybe 5-6. I know a guy in Athlone who could mind your kids for you if you have no one. He might even pay for them if you're penniless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Jim Corr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭ride-the-spiral

The internet will always be here for me... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Ya goold old Mr. Jack Daniels, has all the solutions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭shqipshume

Kiera wrote: »
    I have quite a few, maybe 5-6. I know a guy in Athlone who could mind your kids for you if you have no one. He might even pay for them if you're penniless

So you can turn to them in everything and know that they would take you on and have you in their home penniless.

Hardly penniless now am i when on computer :rolleyes:

Just curious because in my whole life i have friends yes and family but not ever anyone i could turn to no matter what.Just the usual things,but if in life or death situation.Not a single person comes to mind i could call.

gavredking wrote: »

Damn around Christmas there will be alot of that this year me thinks :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Jesus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭Kradock

The Mammy , she has more money than Jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

shqipshume wrote: »

O RLY?

Unlucky.

O RLY?

Unlucky.

yeah i got used to it.
    Just wanted to see when people think of it do they have someone they can count on no matter what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭LD 50

There's people I probably could call to help me out. But I prob wouldn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Says who ?

LD 50 wrote: »
    There's people I probably could call to help me out. But I prob wouldn't.

Why is that? None of us like to do that,but would they make you feel like you are putting them out after?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

gavredking wrote: »

I hate to be the bringer of bad news but he... died, some time ago now. I'll leave you to grieve, why don't you have a drink to calm yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Elba101

Then it must be you?

So you can turn to them in everything and know that they would take you on and have you in their home penniless.

Just curious because in my whole life i have friends yes and family but not ever anyone i could turn to no matter what.Just the usual things,but if in life or death situation.Not a single person comes to mind i could call.
    Yup turn to them for anything and have done.

Do you have a partner? Parents? Not even one mate? :(

Says who ?

Question with a question:pac: Well do you or dont you?

Yup turn to them for anything and have done.

Do you have a partner? Parents? Not even one mate? :(

Thats really nice :)

Any people i have in my life are only there so long as i don't lean on them.Money you could ask for from them.But emotional support or life or death situation nope.I was homeless for about three months,no fault of my own and was at Christmas, and funnily enough not a single member of my family would let me stay with them.
    I saw the true colours of my mates then to.

Elba101 wrote: »
    Then it must be you?

No i dont think so and i am not mean or rude, Everyone leans on me for everything,Tell me their problems cry on my shoulder,put them up in my house when needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

After hours really isn't what it used to be..

Yeah the happiness went out with recession as you are not gone drinking :D:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

My Mam, 3 of my sisters who would be in a position to help me, but I know the other 3 would too. At least 8 friends who would do anything if I genuinely needed them, even if I don't see them too often anymore.

I know that's a lot and I also have tonnes more family and friends who I could turn to but the above are the ones I would go to first.

And I fully appreciate how lucky I am to have family and friends I can count on and know that I would never end up completely fecked no matter what happened.

And on a more manly note urgh, beer, Megan Fox...

Any people i have in my life are only there so long as i don't lean on them.Money you could ask for from them.But emotional support or life or death situation nope.I was homeless for about three months,no fault of my own and was at Christmas, and funnily enough not a single member of my family would let me stay with them.
    :eek: Thats awful!

Were you bold to them in the past?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

So basically, you're living in the park and you want a Boardsie to put a roof over your head?:confused:

I'll just check on our waifs and strays allowance and get back to you.

:eek: Thats awful!

Were you bold to them in the past?

Nope never.

I guess wanted to see there is still people who are genuine out there and who take care of their family and friends.Seen as Christmas is coming i am feeling a bit nostalgic.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    So basically, you're living in the park and you want a Boardsie to put a roof over your head?:confused:

I'll just check on our waifs and strays allowance and get back to you.

Whats a waif :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Whats a waif :confused:
    Kate Moss?

Nope never.

I guess wanted to see there is still people who are genuine out there and who take care of their family and friends.Seen as Christmas is coming i am feeling a bit nostalgic.

I was thinking this was a spirit of Xmas thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Question with a question:pac: Well do you or dont you?

To be honest I don't even think in the terms of this question. Lets just say I am and I've had to be very self-sufficient. What I think is far more interesting than this question is that you seem to have an idea that you are somehow entitled to have a person you can turn for anything and you seem somewhat put out that you don't. It doesn't work like that.

As a wise friend often says - 'you are going to start running in to trouble the minute you start thinking the world owes you something'

Rob_l wrote: »
    I was thinking this was a spirit of Xmas thread.

It is :(:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

I was homeless for about three months,no fault of my own and was at Christmas, and funnily enough not a single member of my family would let me stay with them.
    Are ye serious? :eek: Jesus they wouldnt be family or friends anymore if that was the case. My Dad would lay down his life for me, ive at least 2 aunts and my granny who would do alot for me and i have at least 6 really good friends who wouldnt see me homeless for that length of time.

Jaysus i think ive just realised how lucky i am :o

To be honest I don't even think in the terms of this question. Lets just say I am and I've had to be very self-sufficient. What I think is far more interesting than this question is that you seem to have an idea that you are somehow entitled to have a person you can turn for anything and you seem somewhat put out that you don't. It doesn't work like that.

As a wise friend often says - 'you are going to start running in to trouble the minute you start thinking the world owes you something'

That's not what i am saying at all,I am saying someone who actually really gives a **** about you as you do them.
    I don't take from no one,just realised i have no one who i can call if i need them for emergency except 999 :rolleyes:

anniehoo wrote: »
    Are ye serious? :eek: Jesus they wouldnt be family or friends anymore if that was the case. My Dad would lay down his life for me, ive at least 2 aunts and my granny who would do alot for me and i have at least 6 really good friends who wouldnt see me homeless for that length of time.

Jaysus i think ive just realised how lucky i am :o

I thought came with family i just never experienced it.

Seriously that makes me so happy to hear that for you :) You made me feel better that family and friend values still around.:)

That's not what i am saying at all,I am saying someone who actually really gives a **** about you as you do them.
    I don't take from no one,just realised i have no one who i can call if i need them for emergency except 999 :rolleyes:

Well when you ask yourself who you gonna call?

did you ever think:
    the Ghostbusters

Rob_l wrote: »
    Well when you ask yourself who you gonna call?

did you ever think:
    the Ghostbusters

I did but they ignored my phone call :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Yeah I've got two or three friends I'd trust with my life.. it's really nice to have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

No probably not but that's more that I can very guarded about these things than anything else.

Lux23 wrote: »
    No probably not but that's more that I can very guarded about these things than anything else.

How come Lux? :(

I think Lux means some people can be too proud to ask for help. Many people might have friends of family who would help them but will never ask for help feeling that it in some way weakens them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

I was about to say no, not really, but I can't imagine my family turning me away in my hour of need. I don't have any really close friends that I could turn to when I'm really down, but I definitely have my sisters, and my mam...
    Sorry to hear about that. Maybe you should get out and try to meet new people?

I dont think its as easy to just go out and get new friends though. Friendships...trustworthy friendships take time and effort. My good friends ive known for no less than a decade, 17 years for my best friend. I find it harder to make new friends as i get older so its just invaluable to me to know i have a group of people i know will be there no matter what!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

Yeah, I'd imagine it does get harder as you get older, but I think the friends would get better. Right now I'm still in secondary school and you can't really say you have any really good friends because the fact is, teenage girls are bitchy :cool: But that's another story ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

yea my mammy and daddy

Tell me about it Emma..nightmare! But as i said as the years go by (jees i sound ancient, im only 30) you learn who your real friends are.I ignore drama queens completely and have dropped 2 people out of my life in the last year for that craic! Acquaintances come and go all the time..but who you can call in a crisis at anytime of the day are the keepers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

No :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

well you won't know if you can depend on them unless you try,they just might surprise you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I don't nah.
    Wouldn't want them either tbh..absolutely hate asking people for anything. Would rather walk 10 miles than ask a friend for a lift even if they were going that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

SV wrote: »
    I don't nah.
    Wouldn't want them either tbh..absolutely hate asking people for anything. Would rather walk 10 miles than ask a friend for a lift even if they were going that way.

That's a bit silly, if a friend knew you were going the same way i'm sure they'd rather you spoke up and let them know rather than walking and them finding out later that you didn't want to ask for a lift.

I don't like asking people for anything either, but I have plumber and electrician friends who I would call for that kind of work, even if it's just a quick favor. And they know if they have any computer/network issues i'll try and help em out too.

My firends are always around for fun, drinking and a dig out when you need them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

Yes I do :)