Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Machine Head playing Dublin

• 24-11-2009 9:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭

MH playin the Olympia Feb 28th
    Linky!

Tickets on General sale Friday @ €33

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,847 ✭✭✭s8n

Truly great news

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Seen them twice. I just dont feel them in any way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭LD 50

AWESOME!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,576 ✭✭✭lord lucan

F**k!! I'm so there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

flynn claims the '93 SFX show supporting slayer is their favourite. as it was their first abroad i guess - i remember them having to get off their bus pulled up beside the queue and being mobbed for their scribble; i done a stagedive during spirit in black at the chorus.. only one of the nite i was not touching araya's mike u get kicked offstage by him if you act the mick but machine head were screamo sorta fag metal like pantera something about letting freedom reign w/ a shotgun blast..
    Razor's 'Shotgun Justice' is better

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mdUPozwAaa4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

They were in McDonalds on O Connell street before the gig once when i went to see em years back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭docdolittle

Cool, I might just head to that... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Star Bingo wrote: »
    but machine head were screamo sorta fag metal like pantera something about letting freedom reign w/ a shotgun blast..
    Razor's 'Shotgun Justice' is better

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mdUPozwAaa4

Ahem....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

what the hell is that guy talking about. Pantera? Machine Head? Screamo fag metal? How DARE you use those words in the same sentence with a negative!!

Machine head rock. Period.

But I dont like their nu-metal albums like "supercharger", just their first album and the last one the blackening.

Will have to go to that gig anyway. Horns \m/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

the blackening was f*cking awesome. Should be hitting this up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

they are touring with hatebreed, all shall perish and bleeding through for this. hopefully hatebreed will come across the pond as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 fritzbrilly

oh cant wait for this, hope i can get tickets, itsww a very small place for them should be in the o2. and hatebreed too now thats a bloody show.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭ride-the-spiral

they are touring with hatebreed, all shall perish and bleeding through for this. hopefully hatebreed will come across the pond as well.

All Shall Perish :eek:

Definitely going to this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭bigbadcon

best news ever!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 fritzbrilly

mcd says tickets go on sale thursday at 9 o clock
    ticketmaster says its fri at 9 o clock..............anyone know any more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Micil

I was at the '93 gig, excellent. I remember Rob talking with a few of us outside and he asked some guy not to touch his beard, which the guy then proceeded to touch.
    Excellent show as I remember.
    Mike

METAL MODULE on dcufm.com

Just got tickets there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭NIBBS

the presale links were on the Machine Head website this morning, picked up tickets then......delighted......
    think this will sell well and fast....great line up, great venue.....they will crush the Olympia

NIBBS wrote: »
    the presale links were on the Machine Head website this morning, picked up tickets then......delighted......
    think this will sell well and fast....great line up, great venue.....they will crush the Olympia

Same here,no early morning panic attacks on ticketmaster for me!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭bigbadcon

Got me some shiny tickets there \m/ :D \m/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Just noticed the thread, have my tickets. Can't wait :D

Missed them last time, saw them on Halloween night 2003. Can't believe it was over 6 years ago :eek:

Can't wait for a new album. Hope they have a song or two ready to debut on the tour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭QOTSA90

Whats the story with the tickets? Im too late amn't I :/

QOTSA90 wrote: »
    Whats the story with the tickets? Im too late amn't I :/
    No, they are still available on ticketmaster. Mine arrived today :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭QOTSA90

grand, it doesnt say on ticketmaster, will it be 18s?

I'd say so. minors to be accompanied by an adult, the usual story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

Still pondering on this one, Money is seriously tight. Argh.

Patricide wrote: »
    Still pondering on this one, Money is seriously tight. Argh.

I know the feeling - but I just said feck it.......going to get to as many gigs as possible next year, already have tickets to 5 gigs and still wanna hit Marduk and Suffocation..............don't know where the cash will come from in the end

anything else gets announced this side of Chrimbo that I'd be really interested and I'll have to skip it.......so hopefully Rammstein doesn't happen now....

I know the feeling - but I just said feck it.......going to get to as many gigs as possible next year, already have tickets to 5 gigs and still wanna hit Marduk and Suffocation..............don't know where the cash will come from in the end

anything else gets announced this side of Chrimbo that I'd be really interested and I'll have to skip it.......so hopefully Rammstein doesn't happen now....
    take back what you said, rammstein should happen, over most gigs especially machine head. I mean machine head have had 2 and a half cracking albums(burn my eyes, through ashes of empires and half of the blackening) but rammstein only released there first dodgey album this year. And for a dodgey album its still ****ing good!

Patricide wrote: »
    take back what you said, rammstein should happen, over most gigs especially machine head. I mean machine head have had 2 and a half cracking albums(burn my eyes, through ashes of empires and half of the blackening) but rammstein only released there first dodgey album this year. And for a dodgey album its still ****ing good!

no I won't take it back :P

look I'm sure you know from my tone that if the Rammstein gig happens I'll sell the other kidney and sort myself out with a ticket..........it's just gettin very expensive and the year doesn't even start for a month.......

really lookin forward to seeing Machine Head in a headlining slot again though.....should be cool......and to have a good support list is such a pleasant surprise....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 293 ✭✭Cathy666

Can't wait for this one. Should be good!

no I won't take it back :P

look I'm sure you know from my tone that if the Rammstein gig happens I'll sell the other kidney and sort myself out with a ticket..........it's just gettin very expensive and the year doesn't even start for a month.......

really lookin forward to seeing Machine Head in a headlining slot again though.....should be cool......and to have a good support list is such a pleasant surprise....
    Who is supporting btw?

LD 50 wrote: »
    Who is supporting btw?

Hatebreed, Bleeding Through and All Shall Perish.

http://www.machinehead1.com/news.html

Haven't heard anything from the latter two, must look them up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 fin-slipknot

This will be my 1st ever concert.
    Im 18 and dont have I.D...will i even need 1 (got tix anyway)?
    Bleeding through, All shall perish and Hatebreed are all supporting, will the supporting play 1st or will it be mixed?
    it starts at 7.30... any clue or any general knowledge at what time it will be over at?
    Roughly, how long would machine head be playing?
    And finally, what would the usual setlist be for Machine Head?
    Thanks.

This will be my 1st ever concert.
    Im 18 and dont have I.D...will i even need 1 (got tix anyway)?
    I believe minors have to be accompanied by adults so yeah, it's probably a good idea to have one. Do you not have a passport?
    Bleeding through, All shall perish and Hatebreed are all supporting, will the supporting play 1st or will it be mixed?
    Yes, they'll be playing first. Not sure about the order but I'd imagine Hatebreed will be the last support to play before Machine Head.
    it starts at 7.30... any clue or any general knowledge at what time it will be over at?
    I'm not sure, is it the doors at 7.30 or the gig starting at 7.30? I'd imagine the gig would be over at 11.00-11.30, thereabouts.
    Roughly, how long would machine head be playing?
    Around an hour and a half would be about the norm I think.
    And finally, what would the usual setlist be for Machine Head?
    Thanks.
    They haven't started this tour yet so you can't really say, but once they start it (in January I think) you should check their message board to see what songs they've been playing, that'll give you a pretty accurate indication.

Thanks for the help man. and yea, have passport, didn't even think about that:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Whiplash

this gig will be EPIC!!

Curious... is it hard to get infront of people to get as close as possible to the band/action during the performance? I have a headache thinking that the night would be a buzzkill getting pushed back etc. And their would be not much room to proper headbang without been at the very front. And yes i booked ground floor tix :confused:

It all depends how determined you are. If you're really desperate to get to the front your best bet is to turn up early. If you can't get in early it's still possible to get to the front,or first 2/3 rows. Just make your way through the crowd,be nice about it,no elbows out or pushing people around and you can usually make good progress.

There's plenty of room on the floor to headbang,you make your own space.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Lads, that first ever gig with Slayer was in 1994 and TBH I was disappointed with Machine Head that night as their sound was shocking!

But every other time they've been back here they've been superb, can't wait for this gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭cedomination

If you show up early enough you'll get a pit pass so you'll be right at the front section. It's great as there's pletny of space there and if you don't have to worry about losing your place if you need to go get drinks or go to the toilet.

I wouldn't have imagined there'd be pit passes at the Olympia. I've only been there for a seated gig (comedy) but it didn't look any bigger than The Ambassador, which had no passes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,665 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

dcr22B wrote: »
    Lads, that first ever gig with Slayer was in 1994 and TBH I was disappointed with Machine Head that night as their sound was shocking!

But every other time they've been back here they've been superb, can't wait for this gig.

The sound for support bands is nearly always *****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭cedomination

I wouldn't have imagined there'd be pit passes at the Olympia. I've only been there for a seated gig (comedy) but it didn't look any bigger than The Ambassador, which had no passes.

I was there for NOFX earlier this year and it had a pit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Whiplash wrote: »
    this gig will be EPIC!!

This gig will annilate all other gigs before it. RRARRRRRRRR!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭The Frayed Ends

All standing tickets are gone :(
    Damn my poverty :mad:

Whats the circle like? Ive never been to the Olympia
    Not sure what il do. Going to machine head and sitting down isnt right

doors open @ 7.30
    what time do you think would be the best to show up to get best possible space and maybe have a drink or 2 to loosing up :P

All standing tickets are gone :(
    Damn my poverty :mad:

Whats the circle like? Ive never been to the Olympia
    Not sure what il do. Going to machine head and sitting down isnt right
    o well, that settles it for me, no machine head! booerns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,642 ✭✭✭✭wolfmoon87

Going to this gig mainly to see Bleeding Through.
    They kick ass!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,152 ✭✭✭Passenger

All standing tickets are gone

They're not. There are still standing tickets available. Just bought mine this evening in Sound Cellar in Dublin. Maybe just the ticketmaster site is sold out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭The Frayed Ends

Passenger wrote: »
    They're not. There are still standing tickets available. Just bought mine this evening in Sound Cellar in Dublin. Maybe just the ticketmaster site is sold out.

:eek: I have to go check that tomorrow :D