Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christmas Day

• 24-11-2009 5:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

Hey just wondering does anyone know what date Christmas day is on in the college this year? Heard a rumour that it's wed 2nd dec but am not sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭homolumo

true plus it looks as if there will be another strike the day after...happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭tbaymusicman

Its wednesday the 2nd folk pretty positive :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Clano

Its wednesday the 2nd folk pretty positive :D:D

Thats affirmative Batman:D

Ohh i like that i hope it sticks haha :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Deise-Girl..xx

oh im so excited now!cant wait till wednesday!!!:D

Domes not open til 11 this year! Bastids!!! thats a half hours drinkin! ha
    And you have to have your witcard to get in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭LETS BE AVN IT

Clano wrote: »
    Domes not open til 11 this year! Bastids!!! thats a half hours drinkin! ha
    And you have to have your witcard to get in
    Thats crazy 11 o clock is way to early for drinking! You can understand about the whole wit card issue as it is a student bar at the end of the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Thats crazy 11 o clock is way to early for drinking! You can understand about the whole wit card issue as it is a student bar at the end of the day!
    Dome is an awfully long way to go out though. Last year was absolutely chaotic out there with it taking 20 minutes to get served and by time I had got back to our table, half the drink had found its way onto peoples clothes! Bad Bob's was just as bad.

I'd heartily recommend the Barrack St pub crawl though, turning left at Mayors Walk to fit in Mordants and The Tap Room before heading down Patrick Street into town where you can get some lovely food in The Gingerman. By time you're finished that (assuming you didn't start at 10:30 on the dot), Ruby's, Harveys and Escape should be opening.

Or you can sit in and watch the Big Lebowski, pouring White Russians at the mention of the word "Dude".

How mad will it be for the stewards ???

How mad will it be for my lecturer at 3 15 when my whole class come in for our exam in bits!! haha

Thats mental how some people would get drunk before going to an exam , more then likely spending their parents money , some people take things for granted.

Nah its my own money thanks.
    And its only a multiple choice exam worth 5% of overall mark. This is my last Xmas day so im not missing out on the festivites:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

come up to lisduggan yer more than welcome just bring your own cans!!:L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭shapez

No mention of the 31 arrests from last night? :D

shapez wrote: »
    No mention of the 31 arrests from last night? :D
    crazy behaviour yesterday! there was a Q to get in the dome around the corner by 11 o clock , people were drinking in this Q and were clearly drunk on arrival , then in the bathroom students were pissing in the sink ,OMG it was sicking , guards were called by midday and i saw numerous people being thrown out! i left by 2.00 coudnt take anymore of it! As for the entairtainment the dj played a cd on repeat for 2 hours and then a one man band , come on the students union could of done more , they were charging 3e to get in like! the security and staff were great doh under the circumstances , 31 arrests i was glad to see the cops have a clamp down on this , i feel sorry for the people living in those housing estates!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 gordo666

ah yes, the 31 arrests that have been on the radio and on the rte website all day.... that is fairly disgraceful, to be honest

but further reports are claiming that only 1 of those arrests was actually a WIT student, and the rest were apparently down visiting from other colleges, so if that's true it shows that WIT students aren't as bad as they are being made to appear

gordo666 wrote: »
    ah yes, the 31 arrests that have been on the radio and on the rte website all day.... that is fairly disgraceful, to be honest

but further reports are claiming that only 1 of those arrests was actually a WIT student, and the rest were apparently down visiting from other colleges, so if that's true it shows that WIT students aren't as bad as they are being made to appear
    i hope thats true , its awfull to think people come down with an attitude to be arseholes ! its hard to understand why these people act like this.

Yeah and this number is apparantly down alot from previous years.
    I am a student but i am also a local lad and i was drinking in the dome yesterday and i went into town after. I didnt cause any trouble nor see much. I have to say i know one preson being arrested is one person too many but i have to say if all the students in waterford were barred or boycotted the pubs and clubs of waterford the general public wouldnt be too slow to go back on WLR cribben about how the pubs and clubs are closing down. I know there behaviour cannot be condoned but i would also like to look at it from the other point of view of how much money was and is generated by students.
    I would probably be one of the first to condem students coming down wrecking the place as i am a very proud waterford man but i would hope that people see it from the other side aswel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

I'd say thats bullsh1t, WIT has a very large amount of scumbag students and we all know that

I agree. And specifics won't matter to the rest of the country. It was a "WIT Christmas Day". Doesn't matter where the students came from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭EoinHeffernan

ly be one of the first to condem students coming down wrecking the place as i am a very proud waterford man but i would hope that people see it from the other side aswel

Face facts, at least 70-80% of those out were students of the WIT, end of story.

While it would be convenient to blame those from out of town, this simply is'int the case. Of course you will always have a few from outside the environs to visit friends for a session etc. etc. but in no way will that account for the mayhem last night.

Face facts, at least 70-80% of those out were students of the WIT, end of story.

While it would be convenient to blame those from out of town, this simply is'int the case. Of course you will always have a few from outside the environs to visit friends for a session etc. etc. but in no way will that account for the mayhem last night.

Can someone give an outline of exactly what kind of mayhem went on? Are we talking drunk & disorderly offenses, fights etc. I did hear of a couple who were caught having sex in the front lawn of a house in Lismore Park at 12.30 in the afternoon. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 duffrystar

The cops were over sensitive arrresting people 4 nothin
    der was a lot of people drunk but i didn see trouble... just think of the amount of money that a day like that generates for all of the pubs clubs takeaways and taxi companys.

Only for the students in waterford there would be a lot more people in the city without jobs... fact!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 lockie83

duffrystar wrote: »
    der was a lot of people drunk but i didn see trouble... just think of the amount of money that a day like that generates for all of the pubs clubs takeaways and taxi companys.

Only for the students in waterford there would be a lot more people in the city without jobs... fact!!!!!!!!

Yes like the Guards, lol, only messing.

I have to agree the students do contribute alot to the local economy and they shouldn't be all painted with the same brush as 95% of them are harmless people who just want to have a good time.

No i meant WIT students from out of town

duffrystar wrote: »

Yes that's all well and good contributing to the local economy etc. Do you have to disgrace yourself and act like a complete hooligan in the process?

Don't get me wrong, I'm all for people having fun, enjoying themselves, etc. But you can certainly do it without having to bother, hurt or disrupt others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭alpha2zulu

On WLR this morning there was a huge amount of anger of the breaking of a holy statue near the Cork Road McDonalds on Wednesday night. Its just gives all of us a bad name. Cathay from the WITSU had a short statement read out on air them but in fairness to her the events of Wednesday really leave her in a no win situation with regards to the PR handling of the aftermath.
    Don't get me wrong, I'm all for people having fun, enjoying themselves, etc. But you can certainly do it without having to bother, hurt or disrupt others.

Exactly.
    A post on this subject on the City forum by a oxegen bouncer summed it all up pretty well.

I was working in Oxygen night club last night and in fifteen years of doing door work, It was one of the worst nights that I've ever worked, I wouldn't say people causing trouble was 50/50 as there's an awful lot of nice students out there but there was some amount of scum bags out last night, I saw so many incidents where people just walking past people and bumping into them and getting smacked in the head and then all hell breaks loose, it was happening all night long, They really gave the majority students a bad name.
    The amount of them that had no respect for property, others, bouncers and more so gardai was unbelieveable.....
    I think there was a full moon last night as well so that would play a part in the madness. don't laugh I'm serious....Along with drinking all day as well of course...

I know its been mentioned at several times that the college has no part in the event, but what exactly is the nature of the relationship between Campus services who run the Dome and the college authorities? Given how in WIT there is pretty much a closed shop in terms of accomadation, catering and secretarial services on campus surely the directors of WIT etc must have some influence over campus services if they were so seriously concerned about Xmas day.

EDIT: Looks like Lismore park residents have (understandably) gone nuclear.....its on Liveline right now.

alpha2zulu wrote: »
    I know its been mentioned at several times that the college has no part in the event, but what exactly is the nature of the relationship between Campus services who run the Dome and the college authorities? Given how in WIT there is pretty much a closed shop in terms of accomadation, catering and secretarial services on campus surely the directors of WIT etc must have some influence over campus services if they were so seriously concerned about Xmas day.

What you'll find might happen as it did a few years back, the Dome could be closed for RAG week. Not that it makes a blind bit of difference as Bad Bobs is about 400 yards away. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

It's on Liveline now..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭John-Holmes

First time I ever heard of this up here in Tyrone. Some crying hoors on the radio.
    I'm going down next year :D

What was the general discussion about?

AdMMM wrote: »
    What was the general discussion about?

Just residents stating the obvious really about the trouble that was caused and some CIT locals describing a similar scene in Cork.

However in typical Joe Duffy fashion, the 2 students they brought on air did the college no favours. The first girl talked about how there was only 1 person in one of her lectures and 3 in another on wednesday, negateing to mention a lot of subjects have pretty much come to an end of lectures because of the exams....

The 2nd guy was a masters student, who was saying all classes were cancelled wednesday and thursday...Like do these people not realise what damage this nonsense talk on national airwaves is doing to the reputation of the college when employers and parents thinking about sending their kids here listen to it.Duffy was stirring it all up in his usual manner.

Don't get me wrong, I wasn't trying to make excuses for the mayhem or those involved with my previous post, and as a local I was disgusted to see the state of town that night... but I just don't think it would be fair to say all those arrested were WIT students when they weren't

With regards to the damage caused, I've heard that apparently Bad Bobs got pretty messy and one or two TVs were broken in there (not certain if that's actually true but have heard it from a few people that were in there) and there was the usual vandalism, mirrors, windows and wipers being broken off cars, and plenty of broken bottles and glasses all over town.... really have to pity the poor City Council workers that were cleaning up Thursday morning really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭FrankieMul

Having worked as entertainments officer for the students union for a year i know 1st hand that the union have no say in the running of xmas day! It is a complete traditional event that while the dome is busy it only takes about a 1000 students it goes on in most pubs around town and home drinking is the main place of choice to drink!

The union worked very hard as they do most years to raise alcohol awareness and try to police the event in the estates! And while i think it is terrible what happened the college and the union have acted as responsible as they can and the blame is solely on the students who got arrested and caused damage! The locals always seem to forget that the largest group of studenst are from waterford itself. And that students and the main driving force of the local economy in Waterford.

The relationship between the college and campus services is a business agreement and they have no say in how they conduct their commercial activities on campus and they are independent of the college entirely and work from the contacts. Even if the Dome closed for the day Bad Bobs, Masons and Harveys would just expand their operations on the day.

PS Billy McCarthy seems to view this as his own personal day of glory in villifying the college and the union and should give up being the Joe Duffy wannabe

Even if the Dome closed for the day Bad Bobs, Masons and Harveys would just expand their operations on the day.

I guess my point was if the Dome was not involved, anything that goes on is off-campus so it would be easier for WIT to wash their hands of it.

The relationship between the college and campus services is a business agreement and they have no say in how they conduct their commercial activities on campus and they are independent of the college entirely and work from the contacts.

But surely if your main landlord makes it clear in no uncertain terms that they dont approve of the event, surely campus services would have to listen.

PS Billy McCarthy seems to view this as his own personal day of glory in villifying the college and the union

Thats true, but in some sense hes just playing up to his base, his target demographic is certainly not twentysomethings. If his listeners of more 'mature' age are totally outraged, its in his interest to play up to this and pour more fuel on the fire.It is a commercial operation after all. WLR handed the younger market over to Beat in 2003.

No but have ya have to look at it this way campus services control everything on campus that has a commercial aspect to it and have exclusive right from the doctor to wit style to manor village they are integral to the college and their profits are larger than the endowment WIT receive. I thought this year was actually quiter except the Gardai cracked down more. Bad about the statue in the grotto on the cork rd though!

what happened to the statue?!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭imported_guy

FrankieMul wrote: »
    Having worked as entertainments officer for the students union for a year i know 1st hand that the union have no say in the running of xmas day!
    34ss8ow.jpg

stop speaking rubbish mate, the facebook page was full off advertising who's playing what at what time in the dome, (the WITSU page is the one im talking about), its the same in UCC, theres a thread in the UCC forum that UCC SU is advertising nights out (incl cheap alcohol) which is banned on the premisis but they do it any way, WITSU president and co arent exactly angels they claim to be....

edit quote from the FB page advertising dome events, i see WITSU has started backpedaling since shizzle just got real
    Witsu Waterford ***WIT Christmas Week!We need your help on Tues & Weds.This year our chosen charity is the BELARUSSIAN ORPHANAGE PROJECT.We need your help doing bucket collections throughout the day & also to come along & sing a few Carols for the craic in the Atrium on Weds morning before the madness begins!!...Live music in the Dome..., with Decky Downey-12pm, Revolver-2pm & DJ Sangers-4pm onwards!!HO HO HO!!:-)***

stop speaking rubbish mate, the facebook page was full off advertising who's playing what at what time in the dome, (the WITSU page is the one im talking about), WITSU president and co arent exactly angels they claim to be....

That does change things a bit, I heard myself and was led to believe from the WITSU media releases that they have zero to do with Xmas day but obviously thats not the case. Having felt some sympathy for the position of the WITSU initially in all this, now it just seems that the usual fog over student union matters has rolled in again.

Heres the quote I saw on http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/1203/waterford.html
    WIT and the WIT Students' Union have said they had no role in organising the day's events.

What a nonsense.

Weds morning before the madness begins!!...

Looks like mystic Meg was employed by WITSU at some point.;)

alpha2zulu wrote: »
    That does change things a bit, I heard myself and was led to believe from the WITSU media releases that they have zero to do with Xmas day but obviously thats not the case. Having felt some sympathy for the position of the WITSU initially in all this, now it just seems that the usual fog over student union matters has rolled in again.

Heres the quote I saw on http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/1203/waterford.html

Looks like mystic Meg was employed by WITSU at some point.;)

its actully the same FB status right now they havent changed it still wish i could take a SS, but im on a macbook running windows and dont know the shortcut, yes mac owner got owned :P haha

http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#/witsu?v=wall&ref=mf heres their page though, someone post a SS for people not on facebook :)

Lads above me :eek::eek:you are way off the mark with the thinking that the student union have anything to do with organizing it because they don't!!!!obviously they promote the event but noting was mentioned of the 5grand raised for charity or the fact me and several other student were acting as stewards from 10 in the morning until past 3 the following morning!!

crazy behaviour yesterday! there was a Q to get in the dome around the corner by 11 o clock , people were drinking in this Q and were clearly drunk on arrival , then in the bathroom students were pissing in the sink ,OMG it was sicking , guards were called by midday and i saw numerous people being thrown out! i left by 2.00 coudnt take anymore of it! As for the entairtainment the dj played a cd on repeat for 2 hours and then a one man band , come on the students union could of done more , they were charging 3e to get in like! the security and staff were great doh under the circumstances , 31 arrests i was glad to see the cops have a clamp down on this , i feel sorry for the people living in those housing estates!

5 people were thrown out over the day,1 was arrested but wasn't charged!there was a 4piece band!!the student union charged 2 euro in and where did that go??To a Belorussian charity!!31 arrests who was it do you think requested the 20 extra police on that day??the student union!!I thought Cathy went out of her way and so did all the rest within the union to have the day run smoothly after 6 o clock it was no longer on college property and still the student union had people myself included patrolling templers hall,lismore park and river walk till the early morning and no credit for it we really tried our best people:(:(:(

Only 5 thrown out ! God i saw at least 3 thrown out by 12.30 presumed it would of been alot more over the course of the day! Did not know it was the 2e charge was going to charity , fair play to the SU for that !And also well done for patrolling the streets till the early hours , there has been no one talking about this! Next year there needs to be a bigger guards presence on browns road , templers hall shutting down every house party with guards n site from midday and river walk having security on entrance checking for resitents!

Sorry now WITSU are a body elected by the students! If every student is going to partake in this event they are abviously going to make them aware of what is going on! It is not a charge on the door it is a donation how can they charge for a bar they dont own or rent. WITSU have always acted morally well compared with other unions and should not be blamed! Students should take responsibility for their actions!

Only 5 thrown out ! God i saw at least 3 thrown out by 12.30 presumed it would of been alot more over the course of the day! Did not know it was the 2e charge was going to charity , fair play to the SU for that !And also well done for patrolling the streets till the early hours , there has been no one talking about this! Next year there needs to be a bigger guards presence on browns road , templers hall shutting down every house party with guards n site from midday and river walk having security on entrance checking for resitents!

river walk was actually the only place we weren't called to this year or ballytruckle for that matter :D no there was the same 2 fellas who kept somehow getting back in and thrown out again was extremely annoying but a lil entertaining as they were just being thrown out for drunkenness not for fighting or anything!!myself and the asbo officer were stood outside the dome for the whole day making sure people weren't drinking in public on campus (ie. outside the dome and carpark) now most student unions would not do that as well you know the aggro of taking someones drink is high :o:o well worth the abuse do ha

Lads above me :eek::eek:you are way off the mark with the thinking that the student union have anything to do with organizing it because they don't!!!!obviously they promote the event but noting was mentioned of the 5grand raised for charity or the fact me and several other student were acting as stewards from 10 in the morning until past 3 the following morning!!

i'd like to see you use that argument in court when your accused of being an accessory to a crime, same applies here, they were involved, directly or indirectly, in these situations bad always overshadows the good, doesnt matter if osama bin laden helped millions of afghans during the russian invasion, he is still a terrorist.
    FrankieMul wrote: »
    Sorry now WITSU are a body elected by the students! If every student is going to partake in this event they are abviously going to make them aware of what is going on! It is not a charge on the door it is a donation how can they charge for a bar they dont own or rent. WITSU have always acted morally well compared with other unions and should not be blamed! Students should take responsibility for their actions!

yeah i'd like to see the figures on how many students actully voted, i for one didnt, because, people always get screwed over in a democracy, doesnt matter who wins the election, no one gets things done, from what i have heard, alot of these things are riged etc etc. so spare that "you voted for them" crap.

There's plenty of ways to criticise the events of the day but, honestly, drawing vague and nonsensical comparisons between the SU Stewards and Osama Bin Laden is not the way to go about it.

My Christmas day was interesting, as ever. We all opted to spend the day in an apartment rather than brave the chaos that unfolded outside. I had a little run-in with security of the complex when they came into the apartment and threw out all non-residents. They refused to let me back in to get my bag which had my laptop and project work on it. It honestly seemed like some security were only out to cause trouble themselves and "teach those ***** a lesson". Obviously I haven't a leg to stand on given I had a few drinks in me so any complaints would only fall on deaf ears.

AdMMM wrote: »
    There's plenty of ways to criticise the events of the day but, honestly, drawing vague and nonsensical comparisons between the SU Stewards and Osama Bin Laden is not the way to go about it.

Agreed, things were bad but it wasent Kabul.:confused:

What irked me is the hypocrisy of WITSU saying in the aftermath that they had no part in promoteing the shenanigans, when obviously advertising the thing on their facebook page is exactly that, and then trying to dodge the point by using the Chernobyl 5k as a smokescreen.
    Next year there needs to be a bigger guards presence on browns road , templers hall shutting down every house party with guards n site from midday and river walk having security on entrance checking for resitents!

Hardly an efficent use of public finances to practically babysit students for the day! How about reminding them that that if ya get any sort of criminal record, your J1 application is down the toilet.Now that would put the fear of God into them!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭KeelanM90

I find it hard to listen to complaints about the students union organising christmas day! The fact is it's a day thats going to happen with or without the SU's and WIT's support! Its easy point fingers at them but really the only people responsible are those who went out and made complete messes of themselves during the day!
    Its unfair to say WITSU were advertising the event on their facebook page when all they were trying to do was get people out doing something constructive. I mentioned to people in my class that it is meant to be a day for charity and they wouldn't hear of it!
    As far as i can see no members of the SU were involved in any of the mess and did nothing but give up a day to try maintain a somewhat decent image on the college!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭sparkling sea

Most of the residents living in the Cork Road and Kingsmeadow estates are elderly and that statue in the Grotto means an awful lot to many of them. I am not religious myself but this was a horrible thing to do

The grotto has been there for over 50 years and the older residents in particular, have put in a major effort over the years to keep it in good condition. They are very upset and rightly so.

I know that some guy from Kilkenny has offered to come down and fix the statue for free but if this does not happen it might be an idea for WIT to cover the cost of the damage.

Even if this chap does fix it for free, I think a donation to the upkeep of the Grotto would go a miss.

With regard to the WITSU, most people aren't really interested in the SU or anything that they have to say, so its mad to think they could stop this happening, dont think anyone would have listened to them.
    Students will have a Christmas Day out whether its offical or not, and if they get in state and cause hassle, they deserve to get arrested and fined. Pubs are not supposed to serve people who are drunk and they can be fined as well.

I wonder will the Dome be fined or Bad Bobs or any of the other pubs.