Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motivation

• 24-11-2009 4:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭

Where do you find it? and what can effect it?

For me now it's the crappy weather and lack of money for a gym that's effecting it so much so that I have none.

I'm not looking for advice, I'm only wondering how other people are doing with their motivation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,734 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Orla K wrote: »
    Where do you find it? and what can effect it?

For me now it's the crappy weather and lack of money for a gym that's effecting it so much so that I have none.

I'm not looking for advice, I'm only wondering how other people are doing with their motivation

I started going to the gym in May. 4 times a week. Then I didn't go from mid-June to mid-July. Started back then. Only went maybe twice a week in September. Didn't go at all in October and the beginning of November and only started back 2 weeks ago.

While a lot of the times I missed were due to work and other factors, some of the time, I just couldn't be arsed, for lack of a better term.

Thing is though, back in May, I set myself a target for weight loss. 6 stone in 12 months. Which means in order for me to meet that target, I only really have 5/6 months left, and still 4.5 stone to go. Thats my motivation. Set a goal for yourself, and tell someone. I told a friend of mine my goal, so now I have to achieve that goal.

So the time I've been taking off from the gym has left me behind schedule with a lot of catching up to do. But even if I didn't fully achieve that goal and only lost 5 stone, its still a great weight loss, and I'd still be proud of myself. But I'm still aiming for 6 stone before the end of May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭serenacat

i look at pictures of body inspiration such as beyonce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Someone posted a brilliant video here a good while ago - last year sometime - it was a collage of Olympic clips with music... really made the hairs on the back of ur neck stand up and made ye get up off the couch and hit the gym/pavement/pitch!

Anyone got the vid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭serenacat

i find biggest loser so motivating because if that obese women can run around and kill herself like that what excuse do i have!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭O.P.H

I believe is it far better to realy on habit that motivation. Motivation comes and goes and you cant depend on it.

To get into the right habits I think it takes in the region of 4 to 6 weeks of doing the hard work to get to the place where good training and diet are just standard procedure for you and something you dont even think about anymore. Those 4 to 6 weeks you just have to push through the crap days and be consistent and you will get there and when your there the hard work aint so hard anymore, its just habit. I find it more difficult to not train and easy to avoid the crappy food when I'm like this.

When I need to remind myself why I'm doin the tough weights session or sickening cardio session, I remind myself that unless you are at your physical best or at least working towards it, every aspect of your life will not be at its best either because your body is your vehicle for life . Good training and good diet are the basic foundational procedures you just have to do and you have no choice in the matter if you want to be the best you can be.

This is the most ubber gay thing I have ever writtin, but fact, for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

O.P.H wrote: »
    I believe is it far better to realy on habit that motivation. Motivation comes and goes and you cant depend on it.

To get into the right habits I think it takes in the region of 4 to 6 weeks of doing the hard work to get to the place where good training and diet are just standard procedure for you and something you dont even think about anymore. Those 4 to 6 weeks you just have to push through the crap days and be consistent and you will get there and when your there the hard work aint so hard anymore, its just habit. I find it more difficult to not train and easy to avoid the crappy food when I'm like this.

When I need to remind myself why I'm doin the tough weights session or sickening cardio session, I remind myself that unless you are at your physical best or at least working towards it, every aspect of your life will not be at its best either because your body is your vehicle for life . Good training and good diet are the basic foundational procedures you just have to do and you have no choice in the matter if you want to be the best you can be.

This is the most ubber gay thing I have ever writtin, but fact, for me anyway.

But you do need that bit of motivation to do it in the first place and motivation for the time before the habit kicks in.

Orla K wrote: »
    But you do need that bit of motivation to do it in the first place and motivation for the time before the habit kicks in.

No ya don't, the only thing ya need to do is go and put the work in, simple as. No amount of analysing, motavational quotes or rocky songs are gonna help ya. If there was some magic way of getting motivated that made hard work seem easier we'd all know about it. Hard work give results, easy ways dont and the start is hard but it does get easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

O.P.H wrote: »
    No ya don't, the only thing ya need to do is go and put the work in, simple as. No amount of analysing, motavational quotes or rocky songs are gonna help ya. If there was some magic way of getting motivated that made hard work seem easier we'd all know about it. Hard work give results, easy ways dont and the start is hard but it does get easier.

When I think of motivation I don't think of quotes or songs. I think motivation would be a realisation that you have to do something (not so much want or should) The simplest way to describe it is, if you see a picture of yourself and reality dawns on you that you have gotten really unhealthy looking, you then feel you have to do something about it and get healthy again. Before you saw the picture you might have had it in your mind that you're not as healthy and that you should do something but it hasn't yet dawned on you that you need to do it.

I'm not argueing with the hard work element but the motivation comes before the hard work and maybe on those lazy days where you just want to curl up beside a warm fire rather than go jogging in the rain.

Well somethin I do that works for me is whenever I start gettin negative thoughts like "can I really be arsed trainin tonight" or "I'd like a big dirty Snackbox" or "think I might just sleep in ta f**k", whenever I feel anythin like this comin on I automatically just stop thinkin bout it and forget about it. Make it your busniess to never allow yourself ever to dwell for one second on anythin you think is negative and then you just end up forgetin bout it and get on with doin whatever it is your doin. So when you are sittin at home and you know you have a training session penciled in for that evening, there will be a point when you start thinkin, "feck it", the minute that starts just stop yourself right there. This works really well for me, never fails cause your mind is the start point for all laziness. So dont mind being positive, just never be negative. My head hurts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

I've been messing around with my weight for years. Back in 2004 I lost 3.5 stone in 6 months. I was doing well and for some reason slacked off and it's all crept back on since then. Last year I started weight watchers and lost 22 lbs I think and sure enough, same thing happened again.

Since then I've been dilly dallying about the whole thing. I kept putting it off with complete bull**** excuses like "Oh I'll start on Monday" or "I'm doing x or y soon, no point starting before then".

Then occasionally I look at myself in the mirror and get depressed at how I look. Then I think back to all the times I started something and didn't follow it through and I think to myself "If only once I'd stuck at it, I'd be sorted now and I'd be thin". So sometimes I try to think like that.

I also try and scare myself into losing weight by thinking about all the health problems it can cause. Imagine you give yourself diabetes for life when you could easily have avoided it by getting your weight down. I'm not saying you are overweight, but I'm just giving an example of the type of motivation I try to use.

I also try and picture how I will look when I'm at my target weight with my super sexy ripped body. I try to picture myself in really nice clothes. I really try and picture the reactions I will get from people who haven't seen me since I was fat (I started out at 251 lbs/18 stone) and this is my 3rd week and I've lost about half a stone.

I think of some famous person on TV with a physique I want and I try to picture my head on their body as such. I think about all the hot girls who will be standing in a puddle because my physique is so good :D

I just use so much stuff to try and keep myself motivated. It doesn't always work but I just keep thinking about this and that.

With regards going to the gym, or going and doing some sort of exercise, the worst thing you can do is to sit and think about whether you want to go or not. As 9 times out of 10, you will talk yourself out of it. The best thing you can do is not think about it, just do it. It should be like a reaction, it doesn't even enter your brain whether you will do it or not, you just do.

It takes a while and the start is hardest, but once you get over that hump, thats the toughest bit. You will always be the unfittest and heaviest at the start, and once you get past that, you will just end up feeling better.

Why sit around the house all depressed that your clothes don't fit, you've no energy, you feel blue. You can do some exercises in the house that only cost you some time. A set of dumbbells are cheap and you won't end up looking like some freak bodybuilder. I reckon even for the price of 2 months membership of a gym, you could buy yourself an indoor bike. If you are, buy a decent one. I got one from Argos and the seat was so hard it was torture.