Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Walked by DCC office on the quay, 20 people only striking

• 24-11-2009 9:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭

Now surely there is more than 20 people working in that office and surely more than 20 people voted to go on strike.

So my question is why arent all the staff out there walking, its a strike and not a day off or a shopping day which it seems its more becoming.

The People striking should be up there walking back and forward for the hours they work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭BC

They are picketing in shifts.
    No-one is doing a full day, they're working in 3 or 4 hour shifts.

Also bear in mind that not everyone who works there will be in the union.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Yes i know not everyone in there is in a union, and i feel sorry for those people.

But unless they do shift work of 4 hours per day, they should be outside the office for the full hours they worked.

Strike is not ment to be easy.

Also if they are doing shifts and say do 4x4 hours of shifts thats only 80 staff, would of thought there is over 200 in that office at least??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

i think your not allowed a mass picket by law (my OH was looking at the rota for her place
    this from the ASTI website

"
    • The number of ASTI members on a picket at any one school entrance should be a maximum of six; this is because larger numbers would constitute a mass picket, which is illegal under the provisions of the Industrial Relations Acts.

"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭whatnext

Yes i know not everyone in there is in a union, and i feel sorry for those people.

But unless they do shift work of 4 hours per day, they should be outside the office for the full hours they worked.

Also if they are doing shifts and say do 4x4 hours of shifts thats only 80 staff, would of thought there is over 200 in that office at least??

These people have shopping to do. Get off their case. :mad:

I wonder will the pubs be busy from about 3pm?:rolleyes:

Pleeeeaaaasssseeeeee Rain:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

I saw about 7 people outside Cork Airport this morning.

Looks like a bad day to be out on the picket lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

I wonder will David Begg's fine coat get ruined in the rain or does he have a wardrobe of similar ones paid by union subscriptions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Why? A lot of work protection and statutes comes straight from the EU, unions haven't exactly shown their worthiness of late..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I wonder if any PS posters here will be posting instead of been on the picket lines :D

Not sure if the law is max of six people as was around 30 outside the emmigration office on the quays.

3 outside the barracks museum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭douglashyde

Please PLEASE pllleeease let it rain

I dont care about the weather, dont support the strike, but at least if going to strike do it properly.

Please PLEASE pllleeease let it rain

Your prayer has been answered. http://www.met.ie/latest/rainfall_radar.asp
    forecast wrote:
    Windy and cloudy for much or all of the day, with rain at times. Some heavy outbreaks in places, especially this afternoon and this evening - but some drier spells too for most parts, particular during the morning or the middle of the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

Its well known that strikers all have been given coats impervious to rain. These coats are manufactured in Thailand from the trimmings of beards of Union Leaders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭neil_purdy

Now surely there is more than 20 people working in that office and surely more than 20 people voted to go on strike.

So my question is why arent all the staff out there walking, its a strike and not a day off or a shopping day which it seems its more becoming.

The People striking should be up there walking back and forward for the hours they work.

"oh dont cut our pay, we are going on strike"

*looks outside*

"actually we might just stay in today!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

gurramok wrote: »
    I wonder if any PS posters here will be posting instead of been on the picket lines :D
    mobile boards ftw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Archytas

There are 3 floors of public sector workers in the building I work in.... There were 38 people outside. Even if there are three shifts of four hours, that is an embarrassingly small number. I've seen more than that together having a smoke!

On the upside - I got in to work in 20 mins. It was the first time I wasnt late this month! I'll get to go home on time tonight!

Anybody else notice the world is still turning? Without the PS help.

Some what more effeciently too, I also made it int work in about 20 mins.

Got in half an hour early

Absurdum wrote: »
    mobile boards ftw!

But they cannot afford mobile internet access with their low pay :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

We're not getting paid so we'll do what we want with our own time.

whatnext wrote: »
    I wonder will the pubs be busy from about 3pm?:rolleyes:

Biggest public service piss up in years I'd say. Can't wait.

Pleeeeaaaasssseeeeee Rain:D

Errr, raingear.

It does rain in Ireland you know.

Don't forget yours when you're queueing outside the dole office to sign on.;)

dresden8 wrote: »

Says it all really.

I wont picket cos im not getting paid for it.

I hope your familly, friends and peers are proud of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

BC wrote: »
    They are picketing in shifts.
    No-one is doing a full day

No change there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Biggest public service piss up in years I'd say. Can't wait.

Ah but remember, this is the PS. Piss up, brewery, and all that.

Says it all really.

I wont picket cos im not getting paid for it.

I hope your familly, friends and peers are proud of you.

I will picket, when I am rostered.

Not that it's any of your business.

My family, friends and peers don't believe in taking it up the ass without at least saying "excuse me, what are you doing?".

If you're not on strike how come you're on boards during the day.

Back to work you.

tunney wrote: »
    Ah but remember, this is the PS. Piss up, brewery, and all that.

Us smart people go to pubs for piss-ups.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Archytas wrote: »
    There are 3 floors of public sector workers in the building I work in.... There were 38 people outside. Even if there are three shifts of four hours, that is an embarrassingly small number. I've seen more than that together having a smoke!

On the upside - I got in to work in 20 mins. It was the first time I wasnt late this month! I'll get to go home on time tonight!
    Anybody else notice the world is still turning? Without the PS help.

Some what more effeciently too, I also made it int work in about 20 mins.

Got in half an hour early

I have to say i was amazed how quite the traffic was today and just how few people were around

couple of factors i suppose, no children in schools and parents staying at home to mind them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

But then what is the point of going on strike, the reason for the strike is to demonstrate against the impending pay-cuts, if no one shows up or a very small amount, it doesn't make for a very good demonstration. So to me it just looks like the PS wanted a day off work.

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

Sure isnt every day not a piss up for the PS, i mean they dont do any work any day really?

I will picket, when I am rostered.

Not that it's any of your business.

My family, friends and peers don't believe in taking it up the ass without at least saying "excuse me, what are you doing?".

If you're not on strike how come you're on boards during the day.

Back to work you.

I've eff all to do cos all you lot have taken the day off. Waiting on information from civil servants for the past week. Was due last thursday but got an email saying it would be delayed because of the strike today.

Can anyone figure that one out for me?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭erictheviking

:(:( Why does it bother you so much? They are on their own time...
    PS posters could respond with 'I wonder will private sector workers be posting on here instead of working'....:rolleyes: oh wait! None of the whingers have jobs...Their all students:p

But then what is the point of going on strike, the reason for the strike is to demonstrate against the impending pay-cuts, if no one shows up or a very small amount, it doesn't make for a very good demonstration. So to me it just looks like the PS wanted a day off work.

Pickets are a very small part of the whole thing, as are one day strikes to be honest, they're just a marker.

As a lot of posters gleefully proclaim the public sector going out for a day is no big deal. The ship of state will founder on.

Go out for a week or a month and watch ministers try to answer question in the dail on their own, it wouldn't be an edifying sight.

I've eff all to do cos all you lot have taken the day off. Waiting on information from civil servants for the past week. Was due last thursday but got an email saying it would be delayed because of the strike today.

Can anyone figure that one out for me?:rolleyes:

So what you're saying is that without the public service you cannot function, indeed, you do not have a function.

I thought all you private sector types were shown the door if you had nothing to do.

I won't tell Michael O'Leary if you don't.

Edit: Hang on, you've been doing nothing since Thursday? That's too much.

Michael, are you out there? Sort this lazy fecker out!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭erictheviking

Sure isnt every day not a piss up for the PS, i mean they dont do any work any day really?
    This sums it all up! Baseless insults and childish remarks....got the day off school have you?:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Highlander

just heard on the radio, 4 and half mile tailbacks into Newry from the South, coincedence or are all the strikers doing their Xmas shopping

Highlander wrote: »
    just heard on the radio, 4 and half mile tailbacks into Newry from the South, coincedence or are all the strikers doing their Xmas shopping

B. I'd say.

So what you're saying is that without the public service you cannot function, indeed, you do not have a function.

I thought all you private sector types were shown the door if you had nothing to do.

I won't tell Michael O'Leary if you don't.

Look, I dont want to get into my job or the contract I am working on, but the delay in information that I require from a team of 6 people civil servants, (a yes or no answer) will result in a delay action against my public sector client for breach of contract. its in the contract that they drew up.

And yes every day I come into work could be my last. I didn't need reminding of that fact, its stating me in the face.

M O'L is a hero of mine - love the guy

Edit: just saw your edit was workinf away until last night on my project, now at deadlock. But looks like Ive got a new one in, God Bless the Arabs - and specifically their money:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭RMDrive

Sure why wouldn't the strikers make the most of their day? The withdrawal of services is the main "weapon". The picketing is only to try to prevent people from crossing the picket line (and suppose for optics as well). They are not getting paid for the day so fair play to them if they have a nice day with their families or if they get their Christmas shopping done.

M O'L is a hero of mine - love the guy

At least you'll have his autograph on your P.45, unless he's contracted that out to China, of course.

:(:( Why does it bother you so much? They are on their own time...
    PS posters could respond with 'I wonder will private sector workers be posting on here instead of working'....:rolleyes: oh wait! None of the whingers have jobs...Their all students:p

I could be on a holiday, i could be unemployed, i could be a student, or I could be damn efficient at my job to work and post at the same time :D

However the focus is on the striker today, not the non-PS who post and what they get up to.

Strange that Newry is backlogged on a Tuesday morning, a rather rare occurrence.

At least you'll have his autograph on your P.45, unless he's contracted that out to China, of course.

how dare you.

I wouldnt wish a P45 on anyone - even you.

If you have any shred of dignity or understanding of what is going on the the world you will withdraw that remark and appologise

As I have already stated it is something I am staring in the face everyday

Strange that Newry is backlogged on a Tuesday morning, a rather rare occurrence.

No, it's not strange. It's probably strikers going shopping.

Yes to Lisbon, Yes to Europe!!!!!

You concieted little bollix, how dare you.

I wouldnt wish a P45 on anyone - even you.

If you have any shred of dignity or understanding of what is going on the the world you will withdraw that remark and appologise

As I have already stated it is something I am staring in the face everyday

Every day public sector workers are facing calls to be turfed out on their arses, especially in this forum and especially from Michael O'Bleedin' Leary.

Welcome to my world.

No, it's not strange. It's probably strikers going shopping.

Yes to Lisbon, Yes to Europe!!!!!

You're probably taking the biscuit but shouldn't the unions be anti-Europe considering they are pushing for the cuts that affects their members?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Every day public sector workers are facing calls to be turfed out on their arses, especially in this forum and especially from Michael O'Bleedin' Leary.

Welcome to my world.

As opposed to the 500 people who got turfed in my company. Or the 300 who got turfed in my flatmates. Or my other flatmate who got turfed.

Reality leaves a real bitter taste.

You're probably taking the biscuit but shouldn't the unions be anti-Europe considering they are pushing for the cuts that affects their members?

Anti-European institutions doesn't mean anti-Europe.

Anyway, they're our long lost brothers up the north, even the unionists.

Embrace them I say!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭gerry28

Welcome to my world.

Agree 100% - every day for tha last 6 months on this forum people have been calling for Public Sector workers to lose their jobs, get their pay slashed by up to 40 or 50%, called dossers, wasters and lots lots more.

We have bills just like everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

Obviously not everyone in the public sector is a waster/dosser. No more than everyone in the private sector are perfect over-achievers making millions.

The first point is that our taxes are paying your wages, and we're getting our own wages cut. Plain and simple, the majority of the private sector have taken pay cuts, so now it's time the public sector did too.

The second point is that for all you give out about how people want your job cut, you are not currently in a position where your job is under threat.

The third point is that you can strike all you like, but the Public sector is
    currently costing the country way more than it can afford. We no longer have the money to pay your wage bill.Therefore you HAVE to accept that you have to take a wage cut. I agree there needs to be some sort of scale, with far more money taken from those with higher salaries, but it's got to happen.

The fourth point is that everyone has bills and the cost of living in this country is high. However it's high relative to our wages - which are also high.So wages drop - cost of living drops, for the simple reason that people can't afford goods anymore. The adjustment period hurts like hell, and things right themselves.

The fifth point is that, as I said you're not all wasters and dossers. However we ALL know that there is a large proportion of the PS which is overburdened with admin and middle management that is just not necessary. There are also work practices that are totally inefficient. It seriously needs to be streamlined and part of that will have to be job cuts.

If the public service was a private company it would have gone bankrupt some time early this year. We can't keep going the way we are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭bridgitt

Archytas wrote: »

There are huge tailbacks going in to Derry, Newry, Enniskillen etc - thats where a lot of them are today. Paying the taxes to support public servants in another jurisdiction.
    If they think the Irish public service is so bad they should leave it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

bridgitt wrote: »
    There are huge tailbacks going in to Derry, Newry, Enniskillen etc - thats where a lot of them are today. Paying the taxes to support public servants in another jurisdiction.
    If they think the Irish public service is so bad they should leave it.

I just heard this on Newstalk, the suggestion is being made that the same people who are striking for better pay today have decided to take the day as a shopping day and support jobs up the north...