Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Freshers...Hows it going?

• 23-11-2009 5:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭

Hey,

Im currently in 6th year and thinking about going to NUI Galway doing IT (Or 'Computer science and IT' is its now known ;) ) And have a few questions for the freshers about how theyre finding galway after their first few months.

What accomodation are you in? To anyone in Corrib..is it really the prison/kip that i've often heard people call it or is it 'Where memories are made' ? :p Also..Any info on Gort na Coiribe? Many first years stay there?

To anyone doing IT..how are you finding it so far? Is it easy or hard..Boring or interesting ?

Whats Galway like to live? I was in galway for the Open day and Volvo race and thought it was nice..And one of the first thing I noticed was the low number of skangers :D:D

What are the people in galway like? I'll Possibly be going to galway not knowing anyone .. How easy is it to get on with people there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Foxx92

Im in a similar position to ciano, doing the LC thinking of doing IT in NUIG. Was going to start a thread about it but never got round to it. Will be interested in the replys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭english4490

hey i'm a first yr Corporate Law student!! nuig and galway are class! i'm very happy i came here! yep there is hardly any knacks around! galway is such a nice city too!
    Nuig is fairly handy for making friends, but we have barely done anything with clubs/societies and anyone i know who is taking part in them are having a great time!!

I'm living in corrib and tbh when i saw it for the first time and went into them at the open day i was ready to cancel my booking and get back my deposit! i'm so glad i didnt! ive made some of the best friends in corrib, and from what i can gather its a fairly general feeling here! the houses are grand... the kitchen in tiny! but you make do, its first year! you'd be surprised how quickly you will adapt and start making the place feel as home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭ciano1

What part off tipp are ya from English ?

ciano1 wrote: »
    What part off tipp are ya from English ?
    west tipp! about 15 min from the lovely tipp town!

Ah right...Im from Clonmel
    The only downside i can think of about going to NUIG is that its some effort to get to Galway from here!

bus to limerick and from there you can take the bus up in just over 2 hours, or the train, which is opening in a few weeks so that'd be ready by the time you get here! you'l get use to travelling and staying up the edd weeks! i know a few from cork that manage going up and down most weekends!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

i know a few from cork that manage going up and down most weekends!

Did that in first year. Used to use the journey to catch up on sleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Claypigeon

Words of wisdom - avoid Corrib like the plague, get a nice house for much less and choose who you live with and when you're bothered "partying" (that's drinking Bavaria and setting off fire alarms for fun around here btw). The management are rubbish, you're the luckiest person alive if you get settled in Corrib with no problems as their idea of conflict resolution is being afraid to blame anyone for anything, ever.

i can see where you are coming from with that, corrib does have a terrible reputation and it is fairly deserving to be honest. but i will say our block has never been to thrashed or parties all the time! but then again we reckon we are VERY lucky, all the people in our building get on extremely well and there had been no hassle at all. we have generally become best friends in the space of a few weeks! but saying that i've talked to other people in corrib this year and they are having different experiences! its all about luck i guess!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Claypigeon

i can see where you are coming from with that, corrib does have a terrible reputation and it is fairly deserving to be honest. but i will say our block has never been to thrashed or parties all the time! but then again we reckon we are VERY lucky, all the people in our building get on extremely well and there had been no hassle at all. we have generally become best friends in the space of a few weeks! but saying that i've talked to other people in corrib this year and they are having different experiences! its all about luck i guess!

Yeh obviously some people get off lucky and end up with a good living arrangement and enjoying the atmosphere but tbh to anybody moving to Galway next year for Uni don't bother taking the chance imo, it isn't worth it for the sake of your own enjoyment of college life and 100% not worth it for the stupid amount they charge for the terrible standard of the buildings and the brutally bad customer service at reception.

I can't speak for any of the other student villages like gCort or any of the others but I imagine they're way, way better from what I've heard; I'm qualified to know how crap Corrib is when you're living with immature slobs and I wouldn't wish it on anybody who had the alternative of somewhere nicer at the beginning of September.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Migerty

Hi, I'm living in Corrib and new nobody and nowhere in Galway before moving up. I gotta say it's been unreal for making friends and I've got sound housemates. On the other hand it is a **** hole, the first few weeks u gotta go with the flow (sleep deprivation to the max) but then it dies down and is alright. Overall if u know even 1 other person comin up I'd say get rent a house but Corrib isnt the end of the world if it comes to it u can definitely enjoy it + it's mega convenient for uni.

On the IT- I do a few lectures with IT students and they're all interesting enough and the computer facilities in NUIG are pretty reasonable.

On travel- I live in cork, get the 4 hour bus twice a week. U get used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭TheCosmicFrog

Well I'm a first-year IT student. Ask me anything you want to know :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭nobbo

Im from Clonmel too. Dont worry the hourney isnt bad, you get used to it and as others said you can catch up on sleep and even do a bit of course reading.

And besides, theres only a few up here from Clonmel and if you need a lift down any day in an emergency you'll get one no hassle, or even get a lift up and down every week.

But what ever you do, dont discount Galway based on its location!

What accomodation are you in? To anyone in Corrib..is it really the prison/kip that i've often heard people call it or is it 'Where memories are made' ? :p Also..Any info on Gort na Coiribe? Many first years stay there?

Alright, do not listen to the people who speak badly of Corrib! Heres a list of pros and cons from a first year currently living in Corrib,

Pros: Closest accom to college, fun place to live, great place to make friends(Ive made my best college friends here!), and most importantly has everything you need in a campus accomodation!

Cons: Less luxurious than other accomodations, party central for first 2 weeks(I see this as a pro but others so far have said its bad so i put it here!). Thats all i can think of but i could be slightly biased since i love living here!

Since your from Clonmel too, you may be like I was knowing absolutely nobody before I came. But if you live in corrib you will make good friends, guaranteed! After a week you'll feel like your at home because you'll be so comfortable with the friends you made!

nobbo wrote: »
    Alright, do not listen to the people who speak badly of Corrib! Heres a list of pros and cons from a first year currently living in Corrib,

Pros: Closest accom to college, fun place to live, great place to make friends(Ive made my best college friends here!), and most importantly has everything you need in a campus accomodation!

Cons: Less luxurious than other accomodations, party central for first 2 weeks(I see this as a pro but others so far have said its bad so i put it here!). Thats all i can think of but i could be slightly biased since i love living here!

Since your from Clonmel too, you may be like I was knowing absolutely nobody before I came. But if you live in corrib you will make good friends, guaranteed! After a week you'll feel like your at home because you'll be so comfortable with the friends you made!

+1 on that!

Well I'm a first-year IT student. Ask me anything you want to know :)

How are you liking it so far? What kind of stuff are ye studying atm ?
    But what ever you do, dont discount Galway based on its location!

Oh dont worry...I dont plan on ;) And with the new Limerick-Galway rail line opening soon im sure it will cut at least an hour off the journey :D

Pros: Closest accom to college

I noticed that when I was up for the open day....Kinda got lost wandering around and wandered into some place with lots of different coloured buildings and a playground...It was then I realised I had stumbled into corrib!

Shur what else do ya want in first year other than somewhere to plonk your arse for the night!

The fact that its party central can only be a pro!! :D

The only Cons I can really think of about Corrib are the Price and the fact that you could end up sharing with some fúckin retard!!

Any comments on Corribs 'Famous' Security ??:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭daniel91

Claypigeon wrote: »
    Yeh obviously some people get off lucky and end up with a good living arrangement and enjoying the atmosphere but tbh to anybody moving to Galway next year for Uni don't bother taking the chance imo, it isn't worth it for the sake of your own enjoyment of college life and 100% not worth it for the stupid amount they charge for the terrible standard of the buildings and the brutally bad customer service at reception.

I can't speak for any of the other student villages like gCort or any of the others but I imagine they're way, way better from what I've heard; I'm qualified to know how crap Corrib is when you're living with immature slobs and I wouldn't wish it on anybody who had the alternative of somewhere nicer at the beginning of September.

jesus, i would blame me not being in somewhere like corrib the reason im not enjoying college life fully, kinda feel like im missing out on the social scene...maybe it's just me but.....

Any comments on Corribs 'Famous' Security ??:p

Ah theyre sound out really! Like if ya bother to get to know em they are dead on with ya, dunno what Id do without Cliff trying to bring people back!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭whadabouchasir

Shur what else do ya want in first year other than somewhere to plonk your arse for the night!

The fact that its party central can only be a pro!! :D
    You could do what most people do and stay somewhere else but go to corrib for the parties then you get the best of both worlds. Don't worry about not making friends you'll make plenty of freinds no matter where you stay.

How are you liking it so far? What kind of stuff are ye studying atm ?

Ah it's grand. The only bitch is the maths. I did pass for the LC and I'm doing pass in here too, but the jump-up is mighty... I can't see myself passing the xmas maths exam on the 3rd if I'm completely honest.

Well the course is split up into several subjects for first-year: Mathematics, Computing Systems, Programming, Algorithms, Fundamentals of Electronic Engineering, Physics and Next-Generation Technologies (itself split up into Digital Media, Energy and Environmental Informatics and Biomedical Informatics).

Ehhh, at the moment?

Mathematics: Hell if I know...
    Computing Systems: Sequential components
    Programming: Functions
    Algorithms: Searching algorithms
    Elec. Eng.: Numbering systems and digital logic
    Digital Media: JavaScript
    E&E Informatics: E&EI technologies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Munsterforever

Galway is a great city, it has everything within a reasonable walking distance (except terryland which is a pain in the ass to walk to if you live in Corrib.. I think anyway!)

The University is great, its got great lecturers, good facility, and an overall good and friendly vibe.

Corrib Village is a ***thole at best, the accommodation is poor, the facilities are poor (you can pay extra to have a dishwasher and your own bathroom if that makes it any better for you). And the management are a spineless pain in the ass. Its noisy and has alot of arseholes.. that said it is full of nice people too!

However, Corrib is GREAT for meeting other first years and making friends. It's great craic and there are always parties going on. They are about to finish putting down 2 new astro-turf pitches too!

So really if partying and meeting people is your thing (and it should be in first year) then go to Corrib (and make sure you book early). If you enjoy sleep and comfort then go to Gort/Cuirt Na Corribe, although you might wanna get a bicycle to cycle into town and uni with, although its not that far away.. you will notice the distance when it starts raining. :P

EDIT: Also forgot to mention that the Internet in Corrib is alot better now then at the start of the year (it still grinds to a crawl in the evenings though).

Hmmm....Mixed opinions on corrib I see

Anybody here staying in other student accomodations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

Hmmm....Mixed opinions on corrib I see

Anybody here staying in other student accomodations?

I stay in Centrepoint. Its fantastic accommodation but its kinda far out if you're walking to clollege. I can advie you not to stay in amhra house. Its got a great location but its a pure dive. and th landlord is a c.u.n.t. Downright. I'v been to gort na coiribe a few times and its lovely!! can be boring tho I hear. Know a few girls in Cuirt aswell, they're second years who were there too for first year and said they'll go back next year too. Dun na coiribe isn't actual student accommodation but students do live there, it seems very nice. Dunaras is far enough away too like centrepoint but they operate a shuttle bus to and from the college. That's all I can tell ya!!!:D

Oh and I'm also in IT, its deadly!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭christina_x

im a first year and living in amhra house.
    its a savage location, honestly! Round the corner from lidl, omniplex, eyre square, tkmax, an off licence, super,ax, eddie rockets, an atm ect.. and you dont need a taxi home!
    only bad thing i will say about it is its not great for meeting people in first year. i found it alot harder than most to make friends because its not easy to mix with people in there

my friend is living in menlo and loves it! It has the same layout as corrib (the U shaped thingys so people mix easier) but its not party central ALL the time, you can have a night in/get some work done. Im defo getting menlo next year, it sounds savage, and so good for making friends!
    so that is the place i would reccomend, although if you are going to college with people from home and are living with them, then do get amhra, most of my nights out have been last minute jobs because we get ready in a hurry and step out the door and were there, no taxis :)

Centrepoint: Savage accomodation, nicer than my own house and has digital TV, two large leather couches, a dishwasher, washing machine and full-size fridge. Everyone out there seems to know each other as well, so it's deadly for meeting people. It has a massive courtyard running from one end to the other that is brilliant for socialising. The main problem is that it's a 25-30 minute walk to the college, which is no fun in the rain. I *believe* there's a bus though, but you'll have to pay.

Amhra House: Best location of any student accomodation. Right next to Eyre Square and a 5 minute walk to the college. Rooms are small, living room is small with a small TV and uncomfortable couch. It has a modern kitchen but the place isn't well kept. Landlord is a c*nt as mentioned above. My friend had no hot water or internet for a month and the landlord ignored her calls, texts and answering machine messages. It broke my heart. Also, nobody seems to know anyone there. It's a bit lonely.

Centrepoint: Savage accomodation, nicer than my own house and has digital TV, two large leather couches, a dishwasher, washing machine and full-size fridge. Everyone out there seems to know each other as well, so it's deadly for meeting people. It has a massive courtyard running from one end to the other that is brilliant for socialising. The main problem is that it's a 25-30 minute walk to the college, which is no fun in the rain. I *believe* there's a bus though, but you'll have to pay.

Amhra House: Best location of any student accomodation. Right next to Eyre Square and a 5 minute walk to the college. Rooms are small, living room is small with a small TV and uncomfortable couch. It has a modern kitchen but the place isn't well kept. Landlord is a c*nt as mentioned above. My friend had no hot water or internet for a month and the landlord ignored her calls, texts and answering machine messages. It broke my heart. Also, nobody seems to know anyone there. It's a bit lonely.

hmm.. centrepoint sounds great... where abouts is it? could be taken into consideration for next year...

oh no.. i find the couch comfortable! Iv slept there many nights when iv had people crash (they got my bed.. God but im generous:P)
    Landlord is a tube.. i cant work the heating.. it comes on at 5 every morning, and i cant get it on in the evenings, and the internet only works in the twin rooms. but if you have a o2 internet thingy its grand!
    your friend should tell him that she wants her deposit back and is moving out as she needs hot water.. its rediculous, and she was promised internet, she can take him up for false advertising (just to scare the **** outa him ;) )
    but yeah il agree.. amhra is lonely

My tiny knowledge of galway city tells me that amhra is near sleepzone? :P Nice location

So from reading threads im thinking about 3 places in galway (That's if I bother to start srudying for the LC soon ;) )

Corrib : Seems hit and miss.. Seems to be good if you get in with non retarded roomates and can be the best craic...Great for meeting people and mostly full of first years, Good location near the college but a total rip off for what you get!

Gort na corirbe : Seems not too far from the college but apparently not a huge amount of first years stay there...Rooms seem waay better than corrib

Centrepoint : Ages away from the college in the middle of an industrial Park! Rooms seem deadly and by far the best value!!

They're the impressions im getting from this forum anyway !!

Whats the story with rag week in NUIG from now on? I hears it was just being renamed to 'college week' or something like that because of the trouble last year. . . Is it any different or is it rag week in disguise ?

My tiny knowledge of galway city tells me that amhra is near sleepzone? :P Nice location

Whats the story with rag week in NUIG from now on? I hears it was just being renamed to 'college week' or something like that because of the trouble last year. . . Is it any different or is it rag week in disguise ?

Yep amhra house is the yellow apartments with the black balconies just above sleepzone!

Ehh...spose we can only find out about Rag week! But i cant imagine that a change in name is gonna stop the week long piss up that students enjoy every year :) its well earned ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 yesno123

Considerin doing IT in NUIG but I'll only be 17 for all my first yeat just wondering is there many others that go that early? Also how difficult is it to get into pubs and that around Galway?(I don't look old either so I'll probably end up taking a year out or something)

Thanks and sorry for kinda hijacking the thread

yesno123 wrote: »
    Considerin doing IT in NUIG but I'll only be 17 for all my first yeat just wondering is there many others that go that early? Also how difficult is it to get into pubs and that around Galway?(I don't look old either so I'll probably end up taking a year out or something)

im 17 and in NUIG atm..only thing is i look 19ish when i dress up.
    hate to say it but youd be better off taking a year out, most are are 18/19, youl socialise and mix better if your able to go out clubbing with people from your course

im 17 and in NUIG atm..only thing is i look 19ish when i dress up.
    hate to say it but youd be better off taking a year out, most are are 18/19, youl socialise and mix better if your able to go out clubbing with people from your course

Yeah I had always planned to repeat or work for a year just that friends are going this year but I have friends going college next year but not sure where they are going yet. And eh just how strict are they on i.d's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭leverarch12

I knew loads of people who were only 17 in first year and getting in places was really no problem! theres no point in taking a whole year out just because theres a small chance you mightnt get into a club! Most the socialising in first year is done at house partys people didnt even always go to clubs! But you will really have to live in corrib!

I'm doing IT and was 17 up until three days ago - you'll be grand. I look older so I always got into clubs and pubs without ID.

happy birthday!:)
    :O you never got ID'd?! Im always ID'd! Well.. i got into cuba twice without ID but i think they were just tryna cram people in:P see the guy said he doesnt look older.. when i first started college i had no ID and i know how horrible it is to be in corrib drinking with people gettin on savage and then they say "you coming out? go on you have to" and you cant:P then everybody scampers off to town.. its **** enough like :/
    iv got an ID now though, but it would have been really useful then!

So most ye sayin it'll be handy enuf to get with Id.. I will be gettin a good fake Id in the next few months and gettin my passport done and they'll both have the same date on it so shud I get in most places with them?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Nuggles

Seriously? You're considering taking a year out JUST because you're 17? What nonsense. Go to college if you want to go to college. Don't put it off because you fear a bouncer won't let you in. If they don't let you in, all you'll have to do is try some place else. It's not the end of the world.

Maybe a year out would be good for you though, because from the sounds of it, you're not mature enough for it yet.

Nuggles wrote: »
    Seriously? You're considering taking a year out JUST because you're 17? What nonsense. Go to college if you want to go to college. Don't put it off because you fear a bouncer won't let you in. If they don't let you in, all you'll have to do is try some place else. It's not the end of the world.

Maybe a year out would be good for you though, because from the sounds of it, you're not mature enough for it yet.

Well like it's just that there's only 5 or 6 of us friends that are going and they'll all be 18 and ad it is I'm sick of always being the younger one and having problems if you get me.

If I learned anything from being a first-year, it's that you'll gain a LOT more friends from your course, societies, clubs, etc. many of whom will be 17 as well.

I know when you're in secondary school you think you'll be hanging around with your friends all the time in college, but in reality you'll gain plenty more (such as reap-a-rat, aido179 and cyberbemon above in my case!).

If you want, check out my first entry to my blog titled "Aaron... in student form", where I talk about the changes from secondary school to college: http://aaronhastings.typepad.com :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

So most ye sayin it'll be handy enuf to get with Id.. I will be gettin a good fake Id in the next few months and gettin my passport done and they'll both have the same date on it so shud I get in most places with them?!

Just to focus on this: If I were you I wouldn't touch a passport at all, you can get in some serious shít for messing about with one of those.

It simply couldn't be worth it.

If I learned anything from being a first-year, it's that you'll gain a LOT more friends from your course, societies, clubs, etc. many of whom will be 17 as well.

I know when you're in secondary school you think you'll be hanging around with your friends all the time in college, but in reality you'll gain plenty more (such as reap-a-rat, aido179 and cyberbemon above in my case!).
    The Cosmic Frog is spot on with what he says, from my town there were over twenty LCs coming to Galway, but I can see those at the weekend if I want, or meet up with them during the week if I feel like it, when I'm in college and I'm going out its mainly with the new people I've met since September, be they people from my class or just other folks I've become friends with through meeting them at house parties, which, in my experience are definitely the best part of going out... the nightclubs can be quite messy and unless you've got a good income you won't be drinking in pubs very often tbh!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

In Corrib at the moment and I would recommend it for anyone going into first year. It's very handy to get to know people and to find your way around. Its very handy to for those wet days, so you cna easily go home and get changed. Ill be glad to see the back of it though at the end of the year but TBH it isnt THAT bad at all. Gort na Coirbe is much nicer and your much closer to Tesco and Dunnes so I'll think I'll be heading there next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

cook malojan!

When would be the best time to book accomodation ?
    I hear Gort books up very fast but what about corrib?

Im still torn between Corrib, Gort and Centrepoint :p

When would be the best time to book accomodation ?
    I hear Gort books up very fast but what about corrib?

Im still torn between Corrib, Gort and Centrepoint :p

hmm.. i booked in like march last year, but that was only my friend pressurising me to, in the end theyr was no need!
    i no a girl who boooked her room in corrib after the leavin results!
    just keep an eye on the place your looking for, and if your worried theyrs not many rooms left, emaill them and check!
    but i suppose it doesnt really matter when you book it, youl get your deposit back (minus €100 for most places) if you dont get the points for your course anyways, so you wont loose that much, and youl be garaunteed a room where you wanna live!

Anybody here go to NUIG with knowing anybody in Galway ?
    Chances are I wont. Would Corrib be a good option in that case?

I now know to avoid amhra house thanks to reap-a-rat's thread in praise of the place:p

I was in that exact position. Well knew one but we never really talked and havnt seen him since I got to NUIG. I think I know which school your in and if you look at the Irish times feeder school thing only 2 from our school went to NUIG last year, I was one of them.

The reason why I advocate Corrib so much is because of the amount of friends you'll make and it will make an already hard job(moving to college) much much easier. As Ive said already on other threads, Ive made friends in Corrib that I dont think Ill be without after college. If you dont know anybody or that many, Corrib is the best place for you to go to make friends IMO.

The most important thing about first-year is making friends. Friends will help you even when times are bad (and by times, that includes accomodation!). Go for the place where you'll make the most friends.

YAY, glad ya listened;)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭cailin_donn

cool... thats loads of help, im personally stuck between cuirt and corrib... thinkin of leaning towards corrib though, for first year anyway!

and ciano, im in tipp aswel, im up north tipp in nenagh and i know that a special bus goes around the south and brings students to galway sunday night and comes back on friday evening.

yep! My friend gets that bus, Cavanaghs i think he said!