Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Track is Back

• 23-11-2009 4:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭

Ok well as cross country is over now( I only ran one xc race) my attention switchs to Indoors, with a few road races just for a sharpener.

Over the few months training has gone very up and down! With college and work training has suffered aswel with dealing with illness and injurys I have joined up with one of my clubs coachs as a effort to try get back the consistancy into my training. Im going to try update this as much as possible so that I can keep motivated on them days you just arent bothered. I feel tho that the winters trainin went better then I have ever done and I still feel like I have a good base to work on coming upto track. Its all about just getting the head down over the next 2months and try hit some indoor pbs so that when it comes to outdoors ill be rolling.

Anyways my first week was last week and it went a lil lke this:

Week 1,
    Day 1
    40mins easy

Day 2
    10min warm up, 4mins hard and 2mins easy x 7, 10mins coll down

Day 3
    50mins easy

Day 4
    40mins easy

Day 5
    Rest

Day 6
    10mins warm up, 5x1000m*(goal time 3.30) with 3mins recovery + 4x150m strides,10min cool down.

I had to pull out after 3 after I hurt my left calf, I was running 3.30,3.26,3.24

Day 7
    Rested the Calf, feels good to go tho

So week 1 wasnt as I hoped, but I thought the session tuesday felt really good. Under this new coach he doesnt want to kill me so we are working on building slowly and as the weeks go on the sessions will get harder and faster. Saturdays session was a bit of a disapointment because I was feeling really good... It was a strange injury it came out of nowhere but im going to get it checked out this wednesday, I need a rub down anyway just to freshen my legs up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭DJS

Week 2,
    Day 1
    50mins steady(very windy)

I got new flat yesturday and had to run in them to test them out, I was feeling very good and was just ticking away nicely till I headed back home and the wind picked up and made an easy 50min run alot harder then it was ment to be. Calf was fine which was a great feeling. Ill do some sort of session tomorow I dont know what it is yet but will update tomorow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

DJS wrote: »
    Ok well as cross country is over now( I only ran one xc race) my attention switchs to Indoors, with a few road races just for a sharpener.

Over the few months training has gone very up and down! With college and work training has suffered aswel with dealing with illness and injurys I have joined up with one of my clubs coachs as a effort to try get back the consistancy into my training. Im going to try update this as much as possible so that I can keep motivated on them days you just arent bothered. I feel tho that the winters trainin went better then I have ever done and I still feel like I have a good base to work on coming upto track. Its all about just getting the head down over the next 2months and try hit some indoor pbs so that when it comes to outdoors ill be rolling.

Anyways my first week was last week and it went a lil lke this:

Great to be looking forward to track already in this weather. What are the indoor PBs that you are looking to hit?

Yeah I know Im not much of a cross country runner. It was good to get back racing xc but I think its time to really focus on track.

Indoors pbs are 2.07 and 2.45(AAI games 1k)
    I ran 2.05 and 4.24, and 4.42 in the summer for 800,1500 and the mile so the plan is to re-write the pbs indoors and go close to my outdoor times as possible. But thats easier said then done :cool:

Week 2,
    Day 2

15mins warm up, drills, strecthing, strides
    5x1200m goal time 4mins with 3min recovery
    Times: 3.56,3.57,3.59,4.00,4.02
    20mins cool down

Well I have to say im am very pleased with this session. Altough the times arent to shout from the rooftops considering the conditions im confident the times would have been quick for sure. It was a really cold night, wind was at me for what seemed like the hole way and i was working on my own with my training partner trying to hold on. I came away from the session delighted, I think my training is back on track I just need to keep the consistancy in my training. I really worked hard tonight and I am looking forward to the next session. Hopefully I can get in a full weeks training and get the ball rolling.

My next race will be the Jingle bells 5k road race on the 5th of december. I got my PB there last year and will want to re-write my 5k pb at my second try this winter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 1500mrunner

Good session man!! weather was very bad over this way!! Must have made the session even harder!! Ill be watching this with log hopefully we'll get a race together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Speedy44

I'm interested in looking at your sessions as they are similar to what we are doing with our coach. Did 8 X 1K 2 wks ago in 3.36 aver with 90sec rec. Missed last weeks session cause of floods but have managed to get a couple of 5ml/tempo runs in each wk, aver 6:45.
    Still getting back after the marathon but will be looking at sub 2:10 800m & sub 4:30 1500m in the summer. Plan on doing a lot of mileage after the new year, 70-80 until April then I will drop off a bit and concentrate on sharpening work.

Week 2,
    Day 3
    45mins steady

Today was just a recovery run from the session last night. I have to admit my legs havent went that fast for awhile and were really hurting but nothing a run wouldnt slove. I was very lazy and pushed this run till the latest I think I could have but it worked out well as after about 15mins into the run I was joined by Brian Connolly, I might have ropped him into a session at the weekend. The more the merrier!! But yeah the pace was grand, felt goood.. I think cutting my milege back will only help me stay fresh so I can run hard on the session days which I think is only a good thing. So bye bye 80min runs during the week... and hellp 45min runs :)

Tomoro Iv a nice fartlek session of 4mins on and 2mins easy so im looking forward to that as last weeks one was kind of hit and miss cause I wasnt sure how hard to push it with it being my first session back from illness.

P.S Speedy44, glad to see a marathoner looking forward to the track. 8x1k is a good session off 90, Im not much of a big fan on short recoverys but im getting there lol

Week 2,
    Day 4

10min jog down to tymon
    4mins on and 2mins off x 7 = 42mins running in tymon
    10min jog home

Ok this was a really tough session. Last week I did this session with my usual training partner and I was pushing it but today I was on my own and the wind got the better of me. Legs were tired after tuesdays session but after about 15mins of running in tymon they started to wake up. I dont mind the 4mins running hard its the 2mins easy that I find the hardest! Its a really good session and something I know I will be working on over the coming months I like it because its not about the distance its just about time and that suits me grand because of the weather my distances can change. All and all it was a good workout nothing out of this world but just building it up.

I Will have a rest day tomorow(thank god) and then saturday sees me doing a session of 400s so that will be interesting. Till then.. You stay classy San Diego!!

Week 2,
    Day 5

Rest
    I think this rest day was badly in need. Legs felt very heavy in yesterdays session, I have to keep the legs as fresh as possible know that ill be doing shorter faster stuff. Rest days are just as important to me know as session days. Tomorow ill attempt a 400m interval session, the plan for the session is 8-10x400m in 70-75 seconds with 2mins recovery I think. This could change depending on the weather. Not sure if ill have any company for this session but its pretty straight forward. Im hoping that once i get a few of these sessions under my belt ill bring these down to something more respectfull like 66-68 but iv got time on my side so not worried yet just get the legs used to that sort of pace first.

P.S If anyone is interested in joining me for a session or a run everyone is welcome. I live out in Tallaght but would be open to move around for sessions. The tallaght track is a fantastic place to do sessions. Anyways ill report back with thoughts of the session tomorow! Im off to start christmas shopping :(

I'd be up for a session like that, if you feel like a trip to Galway that is !
    I'm off now for 8-10mls, would prefer to do a set of 400's though. Did 3 x 1k, 2mls @ 6.10 pace, then another 3 x by 1k, k's aver 3:35, took a 90 sec rec. So far so good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭TheRoomWrecker

I really despise xc too, muck, hills and the odd rivers has never been my forte,

sure track is where the Glamor is;):cool:.....(maybe not nenagh on a cold winters morning)

I look forward to your progress over the season as im in a simular training cycle,

ps where are you doing your 400s? Ive a session of 400s to do tomorrow too, on my tod in santry

Week 2,
    Day 6

Planned session:
    15mins warm up
    8x400m in 70-75 with 90seconds reovery
    15mins cool down
    Times: 69,70,70,71,70,72,70,70

Well todays session went really well. I was joined by fitzington and he really helped me today by keeping the pressure on me when I was tiring.
    The first one we were both shocked at how easy 69s felt and it just underlines how strong we have after getting after winter training. We then settled into a rythm and were feeling really good. The idea of this session is that in the coming weeks we will add more reps and less recovery and then bring the times down to under 70s. So im sure there is alot of room for improvement.
    Everything was feeling great till the last 2 when my damn calf started to cramp up again like last week.. It seems that its getting stronger as this was a much harder session then last week. I almost stopped but I knew I could run threw it and im delighted that I did..

Tomorow we will attempt a 70min run. Till next time latersss!

ps where are you doing your 400s? Ive a session of 400s to do tomorrow too, on my tod in santry

Hey man... We do all our sessions in Tallaght there is a track there and we do fartlek in tymon park. Would you be interested in doing a session?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭TheRoomWrecker

Hey man... We do all our sessions in Tallaght there is a track there and we do fartlek in tymon park. Would you be interested in doing a session?

yeah i might try and link up in some sessions with you's if they match my program,
    the problem is im based on the northside,

Week 2,
    Day 7

70mins(9-10miles)
    Was having a really bad day and decided to just go for a run to ease the mind. My calf is not right at all.. But ran through it. Im getting it checked wednesday, hopefully its not too bad..

All and all a good, very good week. Nothing to stressfull but its good to be back running well again. The weather these past few weeks has been nothing but balic out so thye main aim has to be to stay warm and not get sick. Next saturday ill race the Jingle bells 5k, should be a good indicator on were I am. I wont be easing down as a such. Ill attempt a session on tuesday depending on how the calf is, then fartlek on thursday, ill swap my 400 session with the race and long run sunday.

My first race on a track will prob be the xmas day mile at our club. It always does be some good banter to see everyone on xmas. Hopefully this year we can register some good times going into the new year.

Anyways till then,

Week 3,
    Day 1 & 2
    Rest/injured

Day 3
    20mins, massage,20mins

Day 4
    40mins steady
    (ment to do fartlek but my achilles was very sore so just ran)

Well this week has been hampered by my left calf and right achillies, both were really sore during my session on saturday. So after my run sundat I was told to take a few days off by both physio and coach. So I jogged down to the physio and got a massage, the problem is I need needle therapy but that will mean 4days off my feet as a result and with work I wont have a chance till after xmas. So ill just have to look after it till then. Unfortunalty I have to pull out of the jingle bells 5k at the weekend. Im just going to do a session with will benefit me more then a havent been doing anythin close to 5k training.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭thirstywork

hope the calf problems clear up bro.

Week 4,
    Day 1

45mins steay run(7-7.5miles)

Ok after getting over th calf problem and having to go easy on it for a few days it seems to be cleared but wont really know till I run hard on it. Hopefully tomorow ill find out how better the calf is when I test it out in a session. Not sure what we will be doing but I think it might be 5 or 6 1ks so we shall see how they go soon. The weather lately has been brutal and its very hard to get yourself motivated to go run in the wind rain and cold when ur busy with work,college,xmas shopping but thankfully I have tuesday and thursday off work so I can get in a good weeks running.

Got my ticket for euro cross, cant belive I had to pay €22 for ONE TICKET bloody hell. If anyone has a spare ticket for less then 20euro im your man cause im not paying 44euro for me and my girlfriend to watch a xc race!! No way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Week 4,
    Day 1

45mins steay run(7-7.5miles)

Ok after getting over th calf problem and having to go easy on it for a few days it seems to be cleared but wont really know till I run hard on it. Hopefully tomorow ill find out how better the calf is when I test it out in a session. Not sure what we will be doing but I think it might be 5 or 6 1ks so we shall see how they go soon. The weather lately has been brutal and its very hard to get yourself motivated to go run in the wind rain and cold when ur busy with work,college,xmas shopping but thankfully I have tuesday and thursday off work so I can get in a good weeks running.

Got my ticket for euro cross, cant belive I had to pay €22 for ONE TICKET bloody hell. If anyone has a spare ticket for less then 20euro im your man cause im not paying 44euro for me and my girlfriend to watch a xc race!! No way
    Though you were in a club? tickets should only be €10 for you .

I am in a club, nobody has said anythin to me in my club about tickets! I went up to ticket master in the square and he only had two different tickets adult at €20 and uder 16 and €10 so I was like the girlfriend is going solo, I wasnt paying that to go to santry. But if anyone has a spare ticket id for sure buy it off them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

I am in a club, nobody has said anythin to me in my club about tickets! I went up to ticket master in the square and he only had two different tickets adult at €20 and uder 16 and €10 so I was like the girlfriend is going solo, I wasnt paying that to go to santry. But if anyone has a spare ticket id for sure buy it off them

€10 ends today

http://www.ticketmaster.co.uk/event/1800429DCA2B509F?did=club

Week 4,
    Day 2
    Session

15mins warm up, Stretches,Drills,Strides
    5x1000m, 2.30mins recovery, goal time 3.20
    2x150
    15mins warm down, streches

Times:
    3.20, 3.16, 3.16, 3.15, 3.14

Ok this was a really good session, windy aswel. But I had my training partner Fitzington pulling me along and we swaped the lead every rep. It felt easier just sitting behind him but when I noticed the pace dropping I just took over pace dutys and in the middle part of the reps I was really working well. I felt like 3.20s were too slow but wasnt sure how I would hold up. I feel like im in shape for something fast, the winters training is really standing to me. I felt well within myself, I think these could be faster if I was training with someone who was better then me but for now The A team are doing fine, Both of us are working well under the new coach so things are going grand so far. I tested out the calf with a few 150s aswel just to keep the freshness in my legs, I was hitting low 19s for these aswel. I eased down on my second one and kinda of twisted my ankle so I had planned on 4x150s at the end but i cut it short at 2.

Anyways regarding the euro tickets, When I went down to my club my coach asked me if I wanted tickets at 10euro so I have 2tickets so everything is grand. Thanks anyway shels4ever

Week 4,
    Day 3

45min easy run

After last nights session the legs were pretty tight but not as tight as they have been in the past few weeks, the main thing is that the calf is great not a hint of pain. I was joined on the run with Pete and Fitzington and it was so much better having people to run with as I Have had to run on my own for the past few weeks. Anyways im glad to get that over with and now I look forward to my next session tomorow and hopefully I can get a good week in this week..

Ok sorry for the wait for my next log, Since xmas day I havent ran much. I hurt my calf badly doing the xmas mile! But I got it sorted last week and here is how my trainin has been going :

Week 1
    Day 1
    Got my calf needled-couldnt walk

Day 2
    Went for a walk down to the track

Day 3
    20min easy run in the snow around the track, and gym

Day 4
    30min easy run with the lads around the track, Circuits

Day 5
    Rest day

Day 6
    45mins easy

Day 7
    45mins easy

I feel like getting my fitness back wont take as long as before, My winters training has been really standing to me. Im racing the AAI games next sunday, not hoping for something out of this world but the way things are going its the only way ill get any good fast work.
    Next week ill get back into full training and just train straight threw this race. Ill use it to get fit but I still feel like I can run faster then last years race, I bombed it and ran 2.54 or something but 2years before that I ran 2.45 so I think I can go close to that now.. Sure we will wait and see

Ok so after going from not being able to walk to feeling like old self last week had its ups and downs.
    This week I was going to jump into the deep end and get a good weeks training in before this weekends 1k. Im feeling good and looking forward to the next few weeks training as its getting upped every week.

Week 2,
    Day 1
    60mins steady with the lads

Day 2
    10mins warm up, stretches, Drills and 4x80m strides
    Planned Session:
    2x3x600m with 200m jog recovery, 4mins between sets.
    Goal time: 1.45
    Actual Spilts: 1.48, 1.49, 1.50, 1.50, 1.52
    I pulled out of the last one so only did 5, The weather was too bad and every muscle in my body felt like it wasnt working. It was too cold to be running hard, the top bend was covered in ice, wind wasnt helping so no point in doing damage. These were not bad when u take in acount the state of the track, so im not too worried.

Day 3
    Am: 35mins
    Pm: 35mins(planned)

Thursday will have me doing some faster 200m off short rest with the weekends race in mind. It will be a good turnout from the group with fitzington and ecoli running with myself in the 1k so should make for an interestign race to say the least. I feel like im getting there and getting back to doing doubles is great, I think I run well enough off high enough milege so doing 50-60 miles a week is what I think i should be hitting at this time of the year. Im confident come outdoors ill be really rolling. But first thing first I gotta get a good indoors under my belt!

14th of January
    Thursday

15mins warm up, Stretching, Drills and 2x80strides
    10x200m with 200m jog recovery
    Goal Time: 30seconds
    Actual splits: 31,30,31,30,30,28,29,28,29,28
    10mins cool down, Stretching

Good shapener session with Fitzington tonight. We switched the lead after every rep, I was getting quicker times when I was behind him. The last 5 I said id just shake the legs out cause I was feeling too comfortable but saying that the 28/29s didnt feel lightening quick either. My calf was very tight tonight I dont think I have seen the last of this problem! Maybe if I just keep on top of it and get a rub down regulary and stretch more.

Anyway all and all this week seems to be a good one for my first back. I still have alot of running to do to get where I want to be but I feel im on the right path.

Roll on this 1000m on sunday!! wish me luck guys :D

RACE REPORT:
    1000m: 2.48

Well today was the AAI games and I was racing the 1000m. Training this week had been solid so I didnt know how to aproach this race. My Pb is 2.45 which when i ran it I thought it was slow but i havent been able to get anywhere near that since I ran it.. Today Id have a good shot at it. After 20mins warm up my calf was still bothering me and it hampered my warm-up as I could do that many strides, The heats where actual a joke, They put a guy who didnt break 3mins in the A race and while the two winners of the B and C race where definatly able to mix it in the A race. Anyways I was in the 3rd heat, We set off pretty hard with a few elbows at the start.. What a return to Indoor running. We opened up in 31 which was grand put I let the leader go because I knew he was well above me in terms of times. I went through 400m in 62/63 but then coming into the 600m I was tripped twice by someone which really pisssed me off as I was starting to pull away from the rest.The 600m split was 1.37 but then I died and really gave up which I shouldnt have, I finished in 3rd and 3seconds off My Pb :(

Its not a great opener but a solid one all the same! Considering that I only was back running monday it was a good solid week. I know with a few more weeks training and racing improve on that.

Anyways its time to relax and ill get in 5miles in the morning and evening! Till next time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 1500mrunner

Good work bro, Hope the calf clears up for you!
    Whens your next race and what is your goals for the rest of the indoors???

18th of january
    Monday

6.5miles(45mins)
    After the race yesterday the legs were really feeling it today. I went for an easy 3miles with fitzington but after 3miles i turned in and had to stretch my calfs, after a few drils and stretchs i headed back out and did another 3miles. Legs felt much better for it afterwards

19th of January
    Tuesday

10mins warm up, Stretching, Drills, Strides
    6x400m iff 90seconds
    10mins coll down, Stretches
    Goal time: 68seconds
    Splits: 68,68,69,67,64,64

So tonights session turned out well. I wasnt expecting to do 400s tonight but im glad cause the wind was very bad so anything more then 400s would have been tough.
    I did the session with a group of runners younger then me but had the training partner Fitzington with me. So for the first 3 I lead them out and was feeling a lil too comfortable so the next three I said I wanted to run faster, I had no watch with me so I didnt get my 200m split but for the last two I started at the back of the bunch and left a gap of 20-30m on the rest and it really made me run faster. Legs felts grand after, they were tight but I can live with that.. Im racing the national relays in the 3x800m and possibly the 3k so wish me luck

6x400m iff 90seconds
    10mins coll down, Stretches
    Goal time: 68seconds
    Splits: 68,68,69,67,64,64

Im racing the national relays in the 3x800m and possibly the 3k so wish me luck[/quote]

Hey DJS,

Good luck with the nationals, your going well. I am following your progress with interest. I am looking to lower my 800m & 1500m times this summer. Right now I am just doing my base work but will hopefully introduce some 400m reps in the next few weeks.

Speedy44 wrote: »
    Hey DJS,

Good luck with the nationals, your going well. I am following your progress with interest. I am looking to lower my 800m & 1500m times this summer. Right now I am just doing my base work but will hopefully introduce some 400m reps in the next few weeks.

Hey Speedy! Thanks for following the blog. Im going ok but hopefully come National Seniors ill be going better
    As for yourself, The base work is crutial for having a good track season. What sort of base work are you doing atm? After indoors ill go back and start doing base work for the outdoors, I really dont like that part of the season im all for faster stuff..

Hey Speedy! Thanks for following the blog. Im going ok but hopefully come National Seniors ill be going better
    As for yourself, The base work is crutial for having a good track season. What sort of base work are you doing atm? After indoors ill go back and start doing base work for the outdoors, I really dont like that part of the season im all for faster stuff..

atm doing stuff like 3 x 15mins @ max hr (170-175). Actually did 2 x 4 x 400m tonite with 30sec/rec, but they were a disaster as a freezin fog decended on the track which made it lethal to run on. This meant times were 86 (fastest) to 1.41 :eek:. Did 2mls @ 10k + 10secs pace in between sets.
    Doing about 60mls/wk atm but that will go up to 70-75 in the nxt few wks.

20th of January
    Wednesday

45mins(6miles)
    Again tonight my leg wasnt right at al and after 3miles I went back, Stretched it and headed out for another 3miles with Alan O brien and Tom fitz who were cooling down after there session. Tomorow I think we will do a light session before the weekends race.. I am definatly doing the 3x800m and the 3k team event.. The 8 will be a walk in the the 3k im looking forward to actually, I have wanted to run a 3k but just never found the race but I guess there is no time like the present. Hopefully ill come away with something from the day
    atm doing stuff like 3 x 15mins @ max hr (170-175). Actually did 2 x 4 x 400m tonite with 30sec/rec, but they were a disaster as a freezin fog decended on the track which made it lethal to run on. This meant times were 86 (fastest) to 1.41 :eek:. Did 2mls @ 10k + 10secs pace in between sets.
    Doing about 60mls/wk atm but that will go up to 70-75 in the nxt few wks.
    Speedy
    Well everybody has there level.. I train with a few younger athletes we all do the same stuff but we all hit different times, Id suggest sticking to one schedule not listening to anyone and make adjustments when needed and come the summer get yourself in some good races

21st of January
    Thursday

45mins easy

22nd of January
    Friday

35mins easy

23rd of January (Race National Relay 3x800m)
    Saturday

10min warm up, Stretches, Drills, Strides
    3x800m relay, My split 2.10-12 approx
    Finished in 4th place with 6.42
    10min cool down
    3k team event (15mins after the 3x800m)
    400m-75seconds, 800m-2.29
    DNF
    25min cool down with Tom fitz, Sean fitz and Martin Conroy

Today was a bit of a let down, we had a very limited team after a few last min drop outs so we sent down the best possible team we could. We knew doing the double would have been very hard but sure enough there was ment to be a 40min gap in between.

The 3x800m team was Sean fitzpartick(4.48-1500m, 10.3x-3k) and Thomas Fitzpatick(1.56-800m, 3.48-1500m, 8.21-3k)and myself. SO we were pretty confident going into into in. Sean started first and ran a solid leg, a much better race then the week before but left us in 5th, with Limerick AC just behind him. I got the batten and hit a 31 first lap. I knew the athlete behind me for Limerick was a good runner but he was 10-15meters behind me. So I settled for the next lap and hit 34s, going through in 65 or so. Then he went by me like I was just standing there and opened a lil gap, I held my form and came back at him and on the last lap pushed away from him knowing Tom had Liam Reale on the last lap and with Raheny within our sights. But tom started off steady, with Liam after 200m going by him as we expected and tom ran strong to pass out Raheny but we ended up in 4th.

After that we headed out for a cool down, as we were coming into the stadium we were told we were up next for the 3k. I was freaking out, I wasnt half ready for a 3k, Still hadnt caught my breath after the 800m. I started anyway with the hopes of breakin 10mins, There was over 24 runners on the start and it was a race from the very start. I got to 1k and my calf was not feeling it so stepped off.. It was disapointing to not come away with anythin but next year for sure im going to inform my club to focus on this race because we a bigger team we could have came away with a few medals for sure.

23rd of January
    Sunday

65mins(9.5miles)

After the race yesterday I was looking forward to getting a good long run in and we joined up with some club mates for our usual Kiltipper run. Ill admit im not really a fan of long runs but this is one of the best ones going. The only downfall is its a bit short. Anyway me and sean headed nice and early with my girlfriend as she cycled beside us. I took it steady
    at the start making sure everyone was still in the group but once we hit the GAA club i picked it up and felt very strong which i was suprised with. Then we got to the top and headed back but I stayed back again to help get the bike over the road works up there. So with her cycling beside me we started pulling everyone back and we really started to move. Nice long run on a sunday morning, there is nothing like it

Next weekend Ill race the Leinster Senior 800m and possibly 1500m with breakin some pbs firmly on my mind. Till then...

25th of January
    Monday

AM: 35mins easy
    PM: 40mins steady

Gym
    3xSquats(30kg)
    3x90seconds of core
    3xBench(40kg)

The morning run was a bit of an effort as I was up very early. The evening run i headed for a run with the lads who were doing there LSR, The pace was a bit to fast for me as this was only a recovery run for me so I turned in early and finished my run on our track. Session tomorow so I have to remind myself when to run hard and when to run easy.
    Im starting to do weights now so this is what ill be doing on mon/wed. Its just a simple program I dont want to lift anythin heavy but this will do me for now.

26th of January
    Tuesday

8x300m with 2mins recovery
    Splits:44,45,45,46,46,46,47,46
    Goal time: 45seconds
    10mins cool down

27th of January
    Wednesday

Am: 35mins easy
    Pm: 35mins steady

28th of January
    Thursday

2x4x200m with 200m jog recovery and 600m jog in between sets
    Splits: 28,28,30,29,28,31,30,28
    10mins cool down

This has been a shaky enough week, But i got my two sessions in but the 300m session felt harder then it was ment to. I think the goal time of 45seconds was a bit fast as all I have been running for 200m is 30s. But I need to get faster. The 200m session felt so much easier this time around then last time I did this... I felt very easy sitting in behind but I still was relaxed when it was my turn. Im going to be racing the 800m in the Leinster Seniors. I wasnt sure whether which to run the 800m or 1500m but seeing as im hitting 28s-29s of short rest and feeling good I think the 800m is my better choice. Im hoping to go sub 2.08 which on an outdoor track would be easy but I find Nenagh very hard to run on

26th of January
    Tuesday

8x300m with 2mins recovery
    Splits:44,45,45,46,46,46,47,46
    Goal time: 45seconds
    10mins cool down

27th of January
    Wednesday

Am: 35mins easy
    Pm: 35mins steady

28th of January
    Thursday

2x4x200m with 200m jog recovery and 600m jog in between sets
    Splits: 28,28,30,29,28,31,30,28
    10mins cool down

This has been a shaky enough week, But i got my two sessions in but the 300m session felt harder then it was ment to. I think the goal time of 45seconds was a bit fast as all I have been running for 200m is 30s. But I need to get faster. The 200m session felt so much easier this time around then last time I did this... I felt very easy sitting in behind but I still was relaxed when it was my turn. Im going to be racing the 800m in the Leinster Seniors. I wasnt sure whether which to run the 800m or 1500m but seeing as im hitting 28s-29s of short rest and feeling good I think the 800m is my better choice. Im hoping to go sub 2.08 which on an outdoor track would be easy but I find Nenagh very hard to run on

I'm looking at your sessions with envy, I can't wait to get stuck into sessions like that. I am hoping to do a 2.10-12 this summer but right now I am doing sessions like 5 x 1ml in sub 6 with 90/sec rec, and today I have 3 x 15mins at max HR (170-175) to look foward to, all in an effort to get strong. Probably won't hit the shorter distance's 'til at least late March.
    Keep it up

I'm looking at your sessions with envy, I can't wait to get stuck into sessions like that. I am hoping to do a 2.10-12 this summer but right now I am doing sessions like 5 x 1ml in sub 6 with 90/sec rec, and today I have 3 x 15mins at max HR (170-175) to look foward to, all in an effort to get strong. Probably won't hit the shorter distance's 'til at least late March.
    Keep it up

I know what its like to being doing that, Dont worry after indoors ill start my hole cycle again. The way my training goes is Tuesday sessions are ment to be longer so example the sessions will be:
    3x2k
    4x1mile
    5x1200
    6x1k
    8x800m(We start to bring up the speed)

But tuesday sessions are normally fartlek and Saturday sessions will be 400ms at 70second pace with a long run. So im really not looking forward to finishing Indoors haha But hopefully ill be going into Outdoors with a PB
    The base work has to be done to run fast so keep it up..

31st of January
    Sunday
    RACE

20min warm up, Stretches, Drills, Strides
    800m- 2.11.2(season best) 7th
    20min cool down
    6miles

Monday
    long run
    80mins steady, core work

This was a packed race and after a terrible week of training I wasnt as confident as before going into the last two races but I knew I could run faster then last week. With a large field which included Alan O brien, Conor Healy, Keith Maher and Nelly kelly I was never going to take a medal but I had to run my own race and that I did.. There was 12 in my race in total which ment the start was pretty packed. the first 200m I think I was last. But I didnt panic and tried to pull back the sli cluan athlete which I did and on the last lap I pulled in 3 other runners which I was happy with. But again after the race I didnt feel like had run that fast as I had my breath back by the time I started my cool down. I was happy with how I raced but that was it, Times havent been coming for me yet this Indoor season but the main thing is that im getting back into racing and competing.