Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

We found money!!

• 23-11-2009 2:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭

Right folks. I'm at work here and my girlfriend is just after ringing me saying she was out for a walk and she found quite a substantial amount of cash on the side of the road. I'm not willing to say how much it is, but let's we could have a very merry Christmas indeed.

My girlfriend wants to hand it in to the cops which I think is the right thing. But a little bit of me is saying keep it!

What shall we do? Anyone in this kind of situation before?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭newmills

keep, keep, keep - have a happy fcukin christmas man!!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Unless it's in a wallet or some other means of identifying who it belongs to, then I say keep it..

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Tell the gardai you found a sum of money, do not tell them how much but leave a contact number at the station. That way if none gets in touch in the next few weeks it will a great Christmas!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

Keep half, give half to charity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

€50 to Santa Strike Force will buy my silence ;) unless of course there were ID details with the money.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Tell the gardai you found a sum of money, do not tell them how much but leave a contact number at the station. That way if none gets in touch in the next few weeks it will a great Christmas!!

I'd imagine they'd insist on the OP handing it in incase it's to do with gangs/drugs etc.. a large sum of money found on a roadside? sounds like it may have been thrown from a car or something..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Hard decision. If it was a small amount, say under €100 id say keep it, but if its as large as your making it out to be I would have second thoughts.

When in doubt refer to your magic 8 ball!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭roberteboot

Boxfresh wrote: »
    Right folks. I'm at work here and my girlfriend is just after ringing me saying she was out for a walk and she found quite a substantial amount of cash on the side of the road. I'm not willing to say how much it is, but let's we could have a very merry Christmas indeed.

My girlfriend wants to hand it in to the cops which I think is the right thing. But a little bit of me is saying keep it!

Hand it in to the guards - a friend of mine lost/was robbed of (shes not sure which) a substantial amount of money this morning on her way to work on the Luas. She had money that had been collected for a friends wedding on her and i know if it was lost rather than stolen (she thinks she may have been pickpocted) id like to think someone would hand it in.

At the end of the day you dont know what someone was going to use that money for it could be vital for them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

The thing is it could be some little drug dealers cash or it could be someones badly needed weekly wages. So if it were me I'd print a few flyers and put them on the lamposts beside it, maybe in a newsagents nearest to it too. Also let the cops know too would be my vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Rebel021

Not your money hand it in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭ki

Agree!

In the case of found money if you report it and no one claims it I think you get it, so its win/win.

And think how ever much money it was it probably mean alot more to the owner, than a very good christmas for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

~Theres someones job lost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭CamperMan

I agree with xzanti..

I fonce found a wallet bursting with 100 euro notes, handed it back to the rightful owner and got a nice cash reward :D.

but if it was just a pile of notes with no owners details with it.. happy days, I would have kept it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

newmills wrote: »
    keep, keep, keep - have a happy fcukin christmas man!!

mother ****ing werd

stupid people do stupid things, they won't learn if you give them back the money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Use it to buy some Dvds - I'd start with this one

My mam found £140 about 10 years ago, left it into the Garda station, she got it back a couple of months ago :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

might be drug moneyz

was it under €1000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

it could be someones rent money, or christmas presents for the kids money. id hand it in cause id feel guilty spending it thinking that someone elses christmas could be ruined because I didnt.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

My mam found £140 about 10 years ago, left it into the Garda station, she got it back a couple of months ago :rolleyes:
    Beer on you so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

We? You're GF found it! She'll have a great Christmas ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

What's this we business paleface? Your girlfriend found the money, you weren't even there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Hand it in. At the end of the day the only joy it will bring will be fleeting and karma may find a way of kicking you in the ass to get you back. If is not claimed in a years time your are entitled to get it back after a year and a day in plenty of time for next Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

I remember when I was a student and absolutely skint (I mean lunches or bus travel skint) I found 2 wallets within a week of each other on a Dublin Bus in nearly the same spot on the bus. Both times they had between 30-60€ in them, Could really have done with that at the time but both times I handed it in to the bus driver, when I saw the second wallet I thought someone was pulling the p*** out of me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

If you rely on AH to be your moral compass then I'd say you really have no intention of handing it in =)

If it was me I'd keep a good chunk of it and give the rest to charity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Somnus

If it was me I'd want someone to hand it in. You said yourself that you think it's the right thing to do. So I'd say go with that.

In work on Saturday and guy about 20 handed in a wallet he found outside the shop. There were contact details inside and the guy who lost it was very grateful and gave the guy a few quid as thanks.

Yeah he would have gotten more had he stolen it but it paid off to do the decent thing. If noone claims it then you get to keep it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭bob the bob

I found £500 in notes rolled up in a money bag in Heuston Station about 10 years ago.

Was just getting on the train and saw it on the ground in front of me.

I told the train ticket checking guy, told him to ask people if they had lost money while he was checking tickets.

Never heard back from him, kept the money. Probably not the right thing to do. I lived like a king in college for a few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

If it was me I'd feel guilty for keeping it. If it was in a wallet / purse then try your best to identify the owner.

If you hand it in to the gardai, what's to say they won't just pocket it themselves though!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

Gmol wrote: »
    .. when I saw the second wallet I thought someone was pulling the p*** out of me

pork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Boxfresh

She handed it in to the cops. They give her a receipt for it with all the details on it.
    If it's not claimed in 1 year and 1 day it's hers. I hope no one claims it now then!

Cops were saying that there isn't many people that would have handed it in.

I don't think I could have spent someone elses cash especially coming up to Christmas.

Ah well, must do the lotto this week then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭imstrongerthanu

What planet are you living on?
    How much did the banks get recently from nama?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

pork?
    Potatoes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭imstrongerthanu

She handed it in to the cops. They give her a receipt for it with all the details on it.
    If it's not claimed in 1 year and 1 day it's hers. I hope no one claims it now then!

I don't think I could have spent someone elses cash especially coming up to Christmas.

Holy sh!t you are serious aren't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

For doing a good deed your Christmas is going to be full of hilarious mishaps (Xmas Turkey turns out to be full of rats, Xmas tree falls through window somehow snagging something and tearing the roof off, somebody gets jammed up the chimney requiring quite a lot of firemen and lube.................all while your in-laws came to have Xmas dinner)

Hmm, throw in Ben Stiller and you have a comedy movie. Go figure :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭100gSoma

A guy I know found 3,500euro in an envelope on the street a few years back. Handed it into Gardai and got a receipt.
    1 year later he went and collected the entire 3500 in the same tatty envelope etc. He was stunned it was not claimed. Obviously delighted too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Bill-e

I found £450 a few years back. I probably could have found out who the owner was cause there was a slip of paper with a mobile number on it.

I didn't and I spent it, but always feel kind of sh!tty about it... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Fair play to you OP. Ya did the right thing...... well, not you; but your girlfriend!

Whether it's re-claimed or not you'll have peace of mind & a clear conscience this Christmas. If it's not reclaimed in a year & a day, Christmas 2010 will be one to look forward to!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Fair play. There're not enough decent people like your gf left in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭lifelonglufc

You're girlfriend is a keeper, therefore...

Propose to her on Christmas Day!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

What planet are you living on?
    How much did the banks get recently from nama?

What has Nama got to do with the money his girlfriend found on the side of th road? Unless it belonged to Sean Fitzpatrick or something keeping it wouldn't make them Robin Hood and Maid Marian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

Gonna tell us how much it was now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Ciaran500 wrote: »

... and where your GF handed it in? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

You're girlfriend is a keeper, therefore...

Propose to her on Christmas Day!!!

And she can buy the ring in a year and a day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭ki

Ciaran500 wrote: »

Or at least around how much

1000+
    10000+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Boxfresh

ki wrote: »
    Or at least around how much

1000+
    10000+

It was over €1000 but nowhere near €10000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭ronano

Does it have id with it or just the cash? either way i think hand it in. I think after x amount of time you can claim it as your own from the gardai?

I found a girls purse earlier with cash and cards and managed to track her down. You'd feel bad thinking about it being near xmas,recession yada yada.

Hand it in

#edit#

saw you handed it in,good going,i hope you get it in a year and do something nice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭neil_purdy

Your girlfriend made the mistake in telling you!!!! Should have kept it for herself..

Anyway im heartless and i would prob just keep the money... But thats just me!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

It's mine, could you post it back to me? Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Anna Molly

karma will bite you in the ass, eventually.
    Say it to the police but don't say how much,
    If no one reports it, HAPPY DAYS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭rizzee

Check my thread. Funny situation eh. You mind telling me which station you left it in? ;)