Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Battle of the Sexes

• 20-11-2009 10:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭

Battle of the Sexes is a new two-part series presented by Miriam O'Callaghan and Ray D'Arcy exploring the state of the modern Irish man, the modern Irish woman and their relationships with one another.
    In the past four decades, Irish society has changed fundamentally and the clear lines that once set apart traditional male and female roles have blurred significantly. The big questions are whether these changes have been entirely positive for both sexes or if Irish men and women are now struggling to make sense of their evolving roles in an even more rapidly changing world.
    To try and understand this better, RTÉ commissioned a survey of over 1,000 men and women nationwide, asking them about everything from how they rate the opposite sex in bed to whether the sexes will ever be truly equal in the home and the workplace.
    In the first programme, Mná na hÉireann join Miriam O Callaghan to analyse their men: Is the modern Irish male struggling for a role? For a purpose? Is masculinity in crisis or are Irish men still enjoying unequal power and privilege? How are they performing as parents, lovers, partners? And exactly how attractive is an Irishman in a county jersey?
    In the second programme, the men of Ireland join Ray D'Arcy to have their say: asking whether women demand too much? Are they ever happy? Do they focus too much on irrelevant details like housework and celebrity gossip? The men speak frankly about sex and love and about whether it is time to let go the reins of power and try to create a society that is really equal.
    Battle of the Sexes is a fun, entertaining, lively and relevant debate about the state of play between the sexes in modern Ireland. In each programme, 15 invited guests, a mix of fresh, incisive commentators and ordinary people from around the country lead the charge.

Starts Sunday night at 9.30 on RTE 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Fannys Vs. pricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

More pontificating from D'Arcy.

The cock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

This looks to be absolutely atrocious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Bring back the "clinic", quick!!!:rolleyes:

More pontificating from D'Arcy

Will this word be used more thanks to a certain person on the LLS??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

My ex boyfriend is on the panel. He had yer typical views when it came to women.
    The panels just look full of z list celebs and journalists. What could be a genuine debate will now be your stereotypical man vs women bashing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Sandwich

Seems to be doing its best to perpetuate the stereotypes.
    RTE reaches down to the Sunday World market.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 hairy cake

Obviously this show is aimed at those that find Ryan Tubridy intellectual and thoughtful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Claire Tully is pretty hot.

That's all I have to say about this vile tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Proxy

Said it many times before - only women will turn you off women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Elba101

K4t wrote: »

She's a nice person too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭NormanNicetouch

Holy sh*t. Rampant rabbits and Miriam O'Callaghan in the same programme. On RTE on a Sunday night. That just seems so wrong on so many levels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭The Prophet

"Men haven't a clue with romance!"
    /cliched jab to get nods of agreement

"Women expect us to be mind-readers!"
    /cliched jab to get nods of agreement

Ugh. These kinds of lowbrow soundbite "x VS. y" panel shows are invariably unenlightening cheap schedule-stuffing crap.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Men bashing crap. Women are idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

This show is pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

FearDark wrote: »
    Men bashing crap. Women are idiots.

That deserved a thanks. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

What a massive bitch in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

K4t wrote: »

That's all I have to say about this vile tv.

"If he's over 30 and doesn't have a car, he's obviously a waster blah blah" ... how materialistic and narrow minded can one be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

I don't know where they found the women to appear on this but I found the general man-bashing tone pretty embarrassing.And I'm a woman.

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »
    I don't know where they found the women to appear on this but I found the general man-bashing tone pretty embarrassing.And I'm a woman.

I think it was more the production and editing that gave that impression than the actual speakers. In saying that though there were a couple of people who seemed to be out for the kill :pac:

Cianos wrote: »
    I think it was more the production and editing that gave that impression than the actual speakers. In saying that though there were a couple of people who seemed to be out for the kill :pac:

Hard to edit or produce smug expressions like they had.
    Annoyed to have missed the lads, how'd they go?

amacachi wrote: »
    Hard to edit or produce smug expressions like they had.
    Annoyed to have missed the lads, how'd they go?

I think that's next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

What women did they get to speak on it?

I think that's next week.

Ah right, thought it'd be a bit of both each week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 SeanOBigMan

jimmyw wrote: »
    Bring back the "clinic", quick!!!:rolleyes:

More pontificating from D'Arcy

Will this word be used more thanks to a certain person on the LLS??

The Clinic has been cancelled by RTE. That was the very last episode. Ever. Really gutted about it. I think it's a huge mistake. The Clinic was maybe the best drama RTE have ever done and now they've got rid of it. Apparently ratings were down this year a bit. X Factor extra (those terrible bloody twins) took away a chunk of the audience. So now The Clinic's gone. A real shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

next week, Whites versus Blacks in "Battle of the Races". :pac:

RTE anger me so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

I watched the first 15 minutes of this to see what it was like, jaysus it was awful, but more importantly what's the point of such a program ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 focusfan

So that we can amaze at how cosmopolitan and diverse we are. It was so educational up there with World at War and Life on Earth, most informative programme of the decade. RTE are the best

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

panda100 wrote: »
    What women did they get to speak on it?

A Housewife of the year
    A Lapdancer
    A woman from IVenus.com
    A glamour bimbo
    A barrister
    And a Womens Council woman.

Probably more but I can't remember.

What annoyed me was they were all (not all, most) talking about men not tidying up or doing housework.
    Then they showed a clip of a woman who works 9-4 annd does all the housework with 4 kids while her husband is on the farm all day.
    She was tying the shoelaces of a kid perfectly capable of doing it him or herself.

Stop moaning if you are enabling it!

The only decent point touched on was to have structural changes to allow men and women to work and have time for their kids. Unfortunately no one elaborated on what to do about it.

what about the woman whose caption was "works in I.T" - she was so annoying - going on about Irish men and dating etc. she was such a pain in the hole - no wonder that she's single (and bitter).

as as for the lapdancer and topless page 3 / glamour model - how did they ever expect to be taken seriously....

they were some balanced viewpoints but very few and far between.....

I would be surprised if the male version next week was as unbalanced...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

focusfan wrote: »
    So that we can amaze at how cosmopolitan and diverse we are. It was so educational up there with World at War and Life on Earth, most informative programme of the decade. RTE are the best

Yes I can't for the life of me figure out how they are classifiying this program as "educational"
    going on about Irish men and dating etc. she was such a pain in the hole - no wonder that she's single (and bitter)
    yeah i was wondering that about several of them

Alright so. The glamour model Claire Watsit. She made some crack about irish men not being classy. This from the chick who gets her kit off for money. Really ? Seriously ? The chick who takes her clothes off for cash ir pontificating about class. I don't mean to be judgemental at all now, if you want to make money that way, more power to you, but i'm struggling to think of a context in which getting naked for cash is considered classy. Am I wrong ?

Best bit of the program was the soundbite from the zookeeper: What do I look for in a woman ? "Pretty much the same thing i look for in a gorilla. Hairy chest, hariy feet and one that runs around banging her chest! " :eek::D:D

Edit:
    I would be surprised if the male version next week was as unbalanced...
    I suspect it will be atrocious. But I hope its dignified and intelligent just so we aren't portrayed as badly as the ladies were :P

hmm I actually thought the sylist one Roxanne something was kinda good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Jezzington

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »

With that gormless politically correct coward Ray Arsey "in charge" of the male retort next week, I think it's fair to say the male bashing will continue rather than end ;-)

To be honest, I think I can get away with the Liveline cliche "I didn't see it Joe, but..." as coming from RTÉ, the home of The Panel, Ryan Confidential, I Dare Ya, Podge and Rodge, Fair City, Katherine Lynch et al, one doesn't really need to look at one of their shows to know that it is going to be vile cack regardless of the context. I can imagine it'll be the usual hand-picked fame hungry cretins packaged in a certain way, "empowered" women like Tully trying to justify why she should be taken seriously while engaging in every disgusting anti-male cliche imaginable, while next week (we hardly need a crystal ball...) the men will miraculously "confirm" Tully's fears about males by being boorish perfectly on-cue, talking about nothing but football and lager, and pathetically smiling in agreement when a male bashing comment is made. Put it this way, I can't imagine that doormat Ray bringing up a subject like fathers' rights, female violence against men, or the vile way males are often portrayed in ads. The outcome of this show was already determined a long long time before it even went into production. All men and women with anything happening between their ears will avoid it like a dose of ebola.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

"If he's over 30 and doesn't have a car, he's obviously a waster blah blah" ... how materialistic and narrow minded can one be?

well even the other women in studio weren't having that one and they had to cut to voiceover almost straight away - lol

well it was the "glamour model" aka classy lady who said that. In her case it is understandable that she will need some poor sod to pay all the bills after her baps aren't quite as firm as they used to be and her short career is over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭santana75

+1.

Yeah I saw that alright. Is she for real? So in claire's view Gandhi, the man who led the Indian revolts against the British, was a waster because he didnt have a jammer? What a way to look at the world. The caption said that shes single........with an attitude like that she'll be single for a long time.

santana75 wrote: »
    +1.

Yeah I saw that alright. Is she for real? So in claire's view Gandhi, the man who led the Indian revolts against the British, was a waster because he didnt have a jammer? What a way to look at the world. The caption said that shes single........with an attitude like that she'll be single for a long time.

That's what I thought too after she said it...how empty must a life be that the only operable axis of positivity is material gain. But I guess in a way it's a reflection of how the person perceives the world to perceive them, and further, their placement within the world. If someone feels their only worth is fickle and materialistic (e.g being a 'glamour' model), then eventually they will assess others by those qualities as well because we engineer our lives by how we feel how we compare with others in relation to the qualities we ourselves share.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭PYRO#1

She hasn't changed her tune either, she practically quoted herself from the summer interview! She is so far up her own.....................

PRINCESS:eek:

http://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/independent-woman/love-sex/claire-tully-what-a-girl-wants-1764751.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Yeah a right stupid, dumb blonde bitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

WindSock wrote: »
    Then they showed a clip of a woman who works 9-4 annd does all the housework with 4 kids while her husband is on the farm all day.
    She was tying the shoelaces of a kid perfectly capable of doing it him or herself.

Stop moaning if you are enabling it!

In any case it's hardly the best example of an ungrateful idle husband, your typical farmer does 50-60 hours a week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Henry Chinaski

What if you have a car but it's an old, clapped out piece of ****(a bit like her)...would that do?

994 wrote: »
    In any case it's hardly the best example of an ungrateful idle husband, your typical farmer does 50-60 hours a week

To clarify, the woman in the clip wasn't moaning about her husband. It was a lot of the other women from the vox pop and on the panel, but that clip sort of showed (to me) why it is as it is.

And as for people giving out about Claire Tully....

Is it because of her occupation that people on here are so angry at her?

Granted I called her a glamour bimbo, I never heard of her before. Her comments seemed a bit silly, but why is there such vitriol? If she were more tactful she could have said she is not attracted to a man who has little to show for himself and little motivation. That's not being materialistic, imo.
    I'd hardly call her old either. She's 23 or something.

To clarify, the woman in the clip wasn't moaning about her husband. It was a lot of the other women from the vox pop and on the panel, but that clip sort of showed (to me) why it is as it is.

Granted I called her a glamour bimbo, I never heard of her before. Her comments seemed a bit silly, but why is there such vitriol? If she were more tactful she could have said she is not attracted to a man who has little to show for himself and little motivation. That's not being materialistic, imo.
    I'd hardly call her old either. She's 23 or something.

But it's the narrow mindedness of her view that motivation = material gain. What about motivated volunteers, motivated artists, motivated academics and so on.

She was also talking about having him provide for her and the child/ren had they a family. Assuming she would have to quit getting her jabbers out once there is a baby stuck to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭santana75

She was also talking about having him provide for her and the child/ren had they a family. Assuming she would have to quit getting her jabbers out once there is a baby stuck to them.

I understand what youre saying windsock but I really dont think theres any defending her on this one. Even the other women jumped in and told het to get out of it. It was a very narrow minded view of people and the world, thats whats got everybody slagging her off, I really dont think it has anything to do with her occupation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭DaBreno

T

Not a bit. Its because she suggests any man who has not "achieved" material success at 30 is a failure.

Horrible person, regardless of her occupation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭donster79

The IT "consultant" ahem one obviously does not understand the concept of irony anyway judging by her comment at 6mins 20 secs...

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1060709

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Johnny Giles

Ready for the men TONIGHT.

Probably gonna be worse than the women in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Men's turn lads!!! Wooo hoooo.

It's on now!!

Ladies take note :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Johnny Giles

What is this joker flapping on about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

ha he speaks the truth!