Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'm just a girl

• 19-11-2009 7:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

I wonder has anyone else came across this attitude.

In the past few days there have been two memorible things happen to me. One was someone is painting their house and needed a filler to repair the walls after taking out nails. She was given the wrong one by a guy in a 'hardware' shop that was about 50-60. I was helping her paint and she was giving out about the guy she ended up saying "he should have known what I needed, how should I have known I'm a woman" this is another one from the person who said "women are ment to be skinny, men are ment to have some fat on them"

With the woman above most of her family is the same, she has a nephew that's a little shít, alright he is going into a teen but he has been thought to think that he's better than any woman and that he shouldn't do women stuff (housework). The entire family just go with the gender rolls, most of the women being nurses(the ones that work anyway) and the guys are mechanics/builders and so on.

I remember in college the lectures telling us of a sexist student they had who was a woman and she was convinced that men were just better at everything :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I fcuking hate people like that!!! I really do. I mean, sure men will be better at somethings (Peeing standing for example (yeah, I brought that out :P)) But that doesn't mean we are better at everything.

It's self-deprecating, wrong, stupid and most of all ignorant!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Sinall

I particularly dislike it when it is used by girls to get guys to do things for them. Like when they faff around helplessly pretending to carry something/lift something and then say "Oh this is too heavy for me - I'm just a girl!" whilst making eyes at some guy to come and do it for her!

If you need a hand with something, just ask for it! Less embarrassing for everyone concerned and more time efficient. There's no shame in asking for help and that goes for both men and women!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

If you are raised to think you are incompetent in certain areas you will believe it.

Saying that, i give her kudos for even knowing what filler is, I havent a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭loalae

I hate women like that. I know a woman who refuses to get in a car when another woman is driving, she actually got off a plane when she found out that the pilot was a woman. She thinks that men are able to do things like driving and DIY and that women should stick to looking after babies or cleaning. Every time I see her she asks me when I'm going to find a man to give me babies to look after. She makes me so angry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Sinall wrote: »
    I particularly dislike it when it is used by girls to get guys to do things for them. Like when they faff around helplessly pretending to carry something/lift something and then say "Oh this is too heavy for me - I'm just a girl!" whilst making eyes at some guy to come and do it for her!

Thats when a gentle man offers a hand, which she excepts and then.

He begins to clap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

If you are raised to think you are incompetent in certain areas you will believe it.

Saying that, i give her kudos for even knowing what filler is, I havent a clue.

She didn't know, she just went into the place to look for something to fill the holes the nails left.

If it was me I would have found out exactly what I needed before going into the shop.

I somehow unsubscribed to my own thread:confused:

Orla K wrote: »
    She didn't know, she just went into the place to look for something to fill the holes the nails left.

If it was me I would have found out exactly what I needed before going into the shop.

Lol. I would have called the handyman. Learned that lesson after my walls were polka dotted when I tried to put up curtain rails.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

It's nearly as bad as the saps who come on here using PMS as an excuse to be a prick to people.

It's also just as bad as women who think that stupid = cute. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭lemon_sherbert

That drives me insane, I know just what you mean. I have an acquaintance/friend who constantly excuses herself because she's "just a girl" or "such a blonde" and considers her time in university a waste, because she has no intention of using her degree (if she gets it, it's doubtful), she intends to being a housewife and SATM. (Don't get me wrong, it's a valid choice when made for honourable reasons, but she's going to do it only because she feels it's the proper place for a woman and she has nothing more valuable to add to the world, merely on the basis of her gender.) Really, I feel sorry for her, her parents seem to have her so brain-washed.

Growing up in and accepting a family environment which allows you to ascribe faults and weaknesses to your gender makes for lazy people who don't seek to improve or challenge themselves. It just perpetuates a society in which men and women can feel trapped, pressurised and victimised by gender stereotypes.

I recognise that men and women certainly have different strengths and weaknesses, but these are generalisations and often don't hold true when you compare two individuals. It just seems such a pity when people become reduced to such victims to an outdated notion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭almostnever

I think that if her view of what a woman is was universally accepted,in society's eyes I would be an amazing failure as a woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Messerschmitt

Men weren't born knowing which filler to use, they had to figure it out somewhere along the line and women are just as capable of that. Women are capable of doing all sorts of things that men do, and even have advantages in certain areas. Why should you let some old fashioned view stop you, if you think you're up for it then give it a try.

Just don't turn all feminist on us. I know a guy who held a door open for a woman, because it was pouring rain and she had suitcases, and she said to him, "You think I can't open a door because I'm a woman?". So, I think you can be independent but still leave some room for us guys to be chivalrous :D.

The same can happen the other way around, I have held doors open for guys (for various reasons but mainly because I've just walked throught it or I'm about to walk through it) and they were quite annoied that I (a girl in there eyes) would hold a door open for them. In my lesser moods I have said alright then and closed the door as they've walked through but I don't get in that mood often.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

Sinall wrote: »

If you need a hand with something, just ask for it! Less embarrassing for everyone concerned and more time efficient. There's no shame in asking for help and that goes for both men and women!

when i worked in a shop i used to do all the manly jobs like lifting boxes etc i wouldnt expect the guys to do it for me just because i was a girl, i think it al depends on how you were raised and your family etc,my stepdad is a nurse so there were never really enforced gender roles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Sinall

Men weren't born knowing which filler to use, they had to figure it out somewhere along the line and women are just as capable of that. Women are capable of doing all sorts of things that men do, and even have advantages in certain areas. Why should you let some old fashioned view stop you, if you think you're up for it then give it a try.

Chivalry is kinda like politeness and nice manners - it works both ways - so no matter who was carrying suitcases in the rain, I would hold the door open for them. And I would hope that someone (either man, woman or child) would do the same for me! If someone does something nice for me I will thank them, not snap at them like the woman in the above post!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Chivalry is kinda like politeness and nice manners - it works both ways - so no matter who was carrying suitcases in the rain, I would hold the door open for them. And I would hope that someone (either man, woman or child) would do the same for me! If someone does something nice for me I will thank them, not snap at them like the woman in the above post!

Well yes, thats true, but a man might offer to carry the suitcase, while a woman would probably not. Nevertheless, your point is valid, chivalry should be universally practiced.

Thaedydal wrote: »

She is ensuring there will be no dudes left to fill the holes in the wall :D

Wow. So many men so few bullets. Im surprised you haven't gotten slammed for posting up misandry yet.

I found that kind of disturbing really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

It's an anime series called gunslinger girls.

Yes some poeple have different skill sets to others, but the majority of house hold tasks can be taken on by anyone who takes the time to get a how to book or to learn the skill from someone who knows.

As my parents would say hands have no gender, and they can change an oil filter or bake an apple tart no matter who they are attached to, all it takes is willingness to learn and practice.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I know a guy who held a door open for a woman, because it was pouring rain and she had suitcases, and she said to him, "You think I can't open a door because I'm a woman?".
    My answer is and has been I open the door because I'm a gentleman, not because you may or may not be a lady.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

It's an anime series called gunslinger girls.

Yes some poeple have different skill sets to others, but the majority of house hold tasks can be taken on by anyone who takes the time to get a how to book or to learn the skill from someone who knows.

As my parents would say hands have no gender, and they can change an oil filter or bake an apple tart no matter who they are attached to, all it takes is willingness to learn and practice.
    Nail on the head*. I know many very practical people that just happen to have their gonads on the inside and many impractical people who carry them swinging in the breeze. When people use their gender as an excuse it royally irks me. In either gender. Hell even when its on the basis of strength. G'em a fellow boardsie? All girlie, fash and blonde** and looks like a brisk wind might carry her away and she's way stronger(in more ways than one) than the majority of men who post on this site.

*save for the anime stuff. I know jack about that stuff:D

** I'm now dead. Nice knowing you all it's been a pleasure.....

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SheRa

^^^^^
    +1,000,000

I had to laugh the other day when there was a wii sports competition going on in work at lunchtime. Myself and a bunch of lads were having fun with it, and a bunch of women came in to sit in the corner, to watch gossip and giggle. They were very vehement about not playing.
    Fair enough if it's just not your thing but it seemed a bit daft

I also hate "i'm just a girl, i couldnt possibly ask a guy out"

hate "i'm just a girl" excuses in general
    loalae wrote: »
    I hate women like that. I know a woman who refuses to get in a car when another woman is driving, she actually got off a plane when she found out that the pilot was a woman. She thinks that men are able to do things like driving and DIY and that women should stick to looking after babies or cleaning. Every time I see her she asks me when I'm going to find a man to give me babies to look after. She makes me so angry.

i would so throttle her :mad::mad:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Wibbs wrote: »
    ** I'm now dead. Nice knowing you all it's been a pleasure.....

We gather together today to remember fondly boardsie Wibbs, strangled to death by an index finger :)

• when i worked in a shop i used to do all the manly jobs like lifting boxes etc i wouldnt expect the guys to do it for me just because i was a girl, i think it al depends on how you were raised and your family etc,my stepdad is a nurse so there were never really enforced gender roles

That's different though. I'm a petite girl, and I have back problems, and so I appreciate being helped out with carrying heavy boxes and suitcases. Women often ARE physically weaker than men, so I don't see a problem with this. It's the women who see non-physical tasks like changing lightbulbs or fixing a printer as man's jobs who annoy me.

[quote=[Deleted User];63097963]It's the women who see non-physical tasks like changing lightbulbs or fixing a printer as man's jobs who annoy me.[/quote]

In my place I normally have to get a guy to do that, even standing on a chair I cant reach:o and most the other women I know aren't much taller than me.
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Orla K wrote: »
    In my place I normally have to get a guy to do that, even standing on a chair I cant reach:o and most the other women I know aren't much taller than me.

I don't have any guys living here so have to do it on my own with a combination of phone books and a sturdy chair! But I was more referring to the act itself, some of my friends, even if they could easily reach, just wouldn't think of doing it. They'd call a man over to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

grrr. one of my fella's favourite ways to wind me up is by telling me that im a girl and can't do certain things (or that i should be doing certain things because i am a girl). it's all just fun and jokes though.

for the most part, if there is something i can't do, ill ask for his help and get a sigh and roll eyes, and an 'oh, ill do it'. i have to say 'no, ill never figure it out if you just do it for me. tell me how!'

at the same time, twas just a week ago after dropping my phone on the ground nad the back coming off it, that i just *couldnt* get back on. could get 2 bits clipped in, or the other two bits clipped in, but couldnt get all four bits clipped in at the same time. happened to be with my fella at our mates' house, the husband of which is one of those guys who is always tinkering with some sort of hands-on project, but i did go into them and requested tongue in cheek that the 'manly men' please fix my phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

Orla K wrote: »

I wouldn't... I'd have gone in and asked the presumably more knowledgable people about what kind of product I needed. What the hell kinda service is that if they can't recommend me what I need? :confused:

I wouldn't expect them to know because they're men and I'm a woman, but jeez... if the people in the hardware shop know nothing about hardware then that's kinda stupid.

But, I get your point. I hate it when people use their gender as an excuse, men and women. What really riles me more than "oh I'm just a girl" stuff is this deprecating, belittling, "ah sure he's only a man" stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭Trankton

As my parents would say hands have no gender

Thats just brilliant, I'm keeping it for future reference. Sometimes I think the 'I'm just a girl' excuse is used because some girls just couldn't be bothered, why should they do something when they can get a man to do it for them...laziness!!

Nothing better than a girl who's not afraid to give anything a go, also nothing wrong with asking for help if you need it, whether you be woman or man, just don't be giving stupid excuses!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

My mate works in a hardware store and she's constantly getting people (mostly aul' lads) assuming that she hasn't a clue and going to the male workers for help instead. The irony being that the other main worker there is male and has no clue about anything in the shop, whereas she knows everything there is to know, having been working there for about 5 years part time.

I'll help a girl lift some heavy stuff or whatever but only if they can't manage, and only to the extent that I'd help a guy who was weaker than me too. I don't give handouts and I don't condescend but if someone needs help, I'll give it, regardless of sex, age etc.

Same with opening doors. I have a friend who would never let me hold a door open for her because she thought I was being sexist in presuming that she needed a door held open for her. It was only after I explained that I hold doors open for anyone cos it's the polite thing to do, that she eased up and accepted it. To this day though, she makes sure that if I get a door for her, she gets the next one for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Thats not being a feminist. That's just being a dick.

I really don't understand this opening door gender thing. I always open the door for the person behind me regardless of who or what they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

I'm pretty good at most stuff. I can light fires, change lightbulbs, cook, bake and clean. I can be the soft mammy and the disciplinarian. I can decorate and drill, I can hang pretty pictures. I can manage the finances and do the shopping. I'm an all round kinda gal.

I have my weaknesses though, just like superman. I cannot for the life of me summon up enough upper arm strength to haul myself into my attic. Not helped by the fear of balancing precariously at the top of the stairs to attempt it! So I had to ask a neighbours fella to help me get the christmas stuff down.
    I also know nothing about cars. I know wher the oil, brake fluid, anti freeze etc goes, and I can ahange a tyre. but anything more than that and I'm lost.
    So I ask for help with those things.

But I HATE the girls who simper and whimper, ooooohhhh, poor me, I don't know how to do that. Nearly as much as pregnant women in their early pregnancy who ask me to pick stuff up for them.....grrrrr.

Having said that though, I think a fair few boys like the damsel in distress act. I've had more than one guy tell me I intimidate them a bit. Not that I'm physically threathening or anything. But that I can run a home, work, rear a child etc and I do it alone. and I don't struggle (outwardly)but they say that it looks like I'd be the type who doesn't need a man and apparantly thats a turn off. Then again, they were mammys boys anyway :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Morgase

grrr. one of my fella's favourite ways to wind me up is by telling me that im a girl and can't do certain things (or that i should be doing certain things because i am a girl). it's all just fun and jokes though.

Snap! Only mine says it's cause I'm a smelly girl. It's all in good fun though, I know he doesn't mean it. Telling me I can't do something is also a good way of getting me to do something, he has me sussed!
    shellyboo wrote: »
    I wouldn't... I'd have gone in and asked the presumably more knowledgable people about what kind of product I needed. What the hell kinda service is that if they can't recommend me what I need? :confused:

I wouldn't expect them to know because they're men and I'm a woman, but jeez... if the people in the hardware shop know nothing about hardware then that's kinda stupid.

OT but I've been in one or two hardware places where I know more about what I'm buying than the person working there. And said person will try to bullsh*t me into getting the wrong thing cause I'm female. Needless to say those hardware shops are avoided by me now.
    But, I get your point. I hate it when people use their gender as an excuse, men and women. What really riles me more than "oh I'm just a girl" stuff is this deprecating, belittling, "ah sure he's only a man" stuff.

Absolutely! That "only a man" stuff helps nobody.

This place I wouldn't call a proper hardware shop, it's more a place that sells paint and furniture and then some other bits. The place I go to is a proper hardware shop and the two guys in there know what they're doing, they've been at it for as long as I can remember.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

Wibbs wrote: »
    My answer is and has been I open the door because I'm a gentleman, not because you may or may not be a lady.
    I had that said to me once by a woman in her thirties. My response was that I always open doors for the elderly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Kooli

MizzLolly wrote: »

It's also just as bad as women who think that stupid = cute. :rolleyes:

This is what annoys me the most! There are girls I know who are definitely smart but they play up the ditsy giggly girl act!
    Although the lads who do think it's cute are as much to blame...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭confusticated

I work in a hardware shop but tbh if someone wants to ask a man about something instead of me, I let them off cos they're generally going to be awkward customers anyway. Saves me more hassle than it causes me grief. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Any key?

I think you can still be feminine and attractive and be well able to take care of yourselves and do any handy job a man can do.:)

At the same time Its nice to still see a proper gent every now and again who will offer to carry something for you, open a door, help you out etc etc not because you can't or you batted your eyelashes but because they genuinely want to be of aid.

(Although Its nice when girls help you out in this way too and I don't like to say It but in my experience women are more helpful and willing to offer an extra hand If you need It)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Raspberries

I hate that kind of attitude. My parents are the worst for it. It's one rule for the boys in the family, another for the girls. Boys allowed go to discos, girls werent. Boys allowed take the car, girls werent. Boys dont have to do housework etc.

I count myself lucky that I didnt take it to heart and realised it for the bullsh*t it was!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Elba101

O god, my sister couldn't parallel [FONT=&quot][/FONT]park the other day and stopped a guy walking down the street and asked him, in her most annoying 'damsel in distress' voice, to park the car for her:eek: