Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weirdest place you've woken up..

• 19-11-2009 5:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭

The 'Walk of Shame' (tee hee) thread got me thinking about the weirdest place I've woken up.

It was in a lift in Berlin about 2 years ago. My friend was living there at the time and I had gone to visit her for a few days. We went out on the lash one night and ended up at some session. By about 5am I was hammered and decided it was time to call it a night. My friend wanted to stay and in my drunken state I told her I'd find my own way back no problem.

Que me wandering the streets of Berlin without a word of German or a clue where I'm going. Somehow I managed to find her apartment block but had unfortunately forgotten to ask her for the keys. I decided to press every buzzer until somebody let me in. I fell inside an dmade it as far as the lift where I curled up in a little ball an passed out.

Next thing I know I'm being woken up by a bunch of angry looking Germans shouting at me in what seemed like tongues!!

I'll never forget that feeling of confusion wondering where the hell I was, why my back was so sore and why these weirdos were screaming at me in some crazy ass langauge!

So girls & boys, where's the most bizarre place you've woken up (that you'll admit:pac:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

Went on a bender in London ,my one and only time drinking champagne, and woke up in the changing rooms of a gym in a boarding school in Surrey,with no shoes or socks on.
    And to this day I've no idea how i got there (the guy i was with also blacked out but woke up in his gaff).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Naked save boxers on the grounds of Ursulines Convent in Cork.

Don't ask me how. I just know I had been drinking with friends the night before and I live a mile away from the Convent.

Noone has ever explained it to me :(

It was a monday morning I woke up too, a school day!!! Luckily no one saw me!!! I had to go home the long way lest I be seen by the guards!!!

My phone was at home, so I am not sure if I had it out with me!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

on a picnic bench in a small, boxy, concretey back yard, with a trolley on fire still sizzling beside me, and four or five other people passed out on the ground/outdoor couches, etc around me.

had ended up going to this home/gig venue after already getting quite drunk, foolishly smoking a few cones when i got there, which promptly killed my memory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Warfi

I don't have any story like the others about myself....but when my ex was on duty in Germany, he woke up after a night of drinking to find himself on a train with a ticket collector poking him with his boot and yelling at him in German. All my ex had was his army ID card, his 'friends' :p had taken his wallet and keys and dumped him on a train to Bonn. Worse was to come...when the train finally stopped and he got off, while walking to the train office to use a phone to get back to camp, he happened to look in a window and found out that his 'friends' :p had drawn a swastika on his forehead! Germans being Germans, they found it hilarious as you can imagine! Poor sod.

Another friend of mine fell asleep while bent over a sink washing her hair :pac:

EDIT:All the other posts remind of that film that was out a few months back, can't remember the name of it (where the guys go to a stag in Las Vegas?).

I think waking up in a strange place and not knowing how you got there happens to men more than women, women usually make sure the whole group is accounted for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭Jessibelle

Similar to Warfi, I've none about myself, however one of my best mates went out with his work crowd one day after lunch for a session and woke up on the Eurolink Bus to London, ...just as it headed into Victoria Station!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

i've a few

*deep breath*

In someone's tiled bathroom floor naked.

In a car in a multi storey car park, got very drunk with bar owner, i presume my drunken reasoning took over. Found an unlocked car and slept all be it very uncomfortably. Messy.

That's all i can think of now, im sure there's more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

on a park bench! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

The summer after the Junior Cert a few of us were bush drinking and ended up totally stuck for somewhere to sleep, so we broke into our school and slept in the PE hall on the gym mats. The principal wasn't impressed.

Apart from that it's been pretty standard - beds, sofas, tents, vans, the odd floor.. I've never woken up anywhere and not known how I got there, my memory is always painfully intact.

And, not a weird place, but a weird situation to wake up in.. I once woke up on the sofa after a party to find my friend about to pee on my head, I don't think he was even conscious. I went "What are you doing?" and he went "nngh?" so I shoved him sideways and he peed on the floor instead.. the worst bit was this was in the library of an anarchist social centre in England, peeing on a library floor is pretty classy :eek: I told him about it afterwards and he had no memory of it at all.

Actually now that I think about it I suppose a library in an anarchist social centre is kind of a weird place to wake up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Woke up in plenty of weird places, but prob the weirdest...

On a bench, beside a fire-pit... on a fecking island. 3 miles from shore :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

When i was living in Canadialand a few of us went out on the rip and i had to be brought home in taxi in a dreadful state. I woke up the next morning on my suitcase, beside beside a huge puddle of larger-puke and with about 50 messages asking if i was still alive. I very nearly wasnt...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Gonzales

In college in Athlone RTC in the late 90's a buddy of mine woke up in the front bucket of a JCB, got up & went to Friday morning practical covered in ****e.

If you're reading, yes you know who you are!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

I'm generally pretty responsible when I drink so I usually find my way home. Someone's home, anyway. It's good for safety etc but bad for when these kinda questions come up...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

haha, i love having slightly more sober people around while im dhrunk. last weekend i was knackered and drunk at the same time, was chilling on a couch outside, told my mate (apparently) not to listen to what drunky me says later, if i say that im grand on the couch, im not, dont leave me there, and please find an inside place for me to pass out.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

In RCSI carpark, although I was at least in a car, otherwise in a basement, enough said.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Back garden. Was sharing a house with some mates and my girlfriend. Got locked out after a night out drinking and couldn't wake them up with the doorbell, stones on windows, etc..

Just decided to try to sleep in the back garden eventually. The drink got me to sleep alright, but the cold woke me up fairly rapidly and I was in a jocker from it. Cue stroke of genius, walked into the local town and rang them from a pay phone (not sure why I didn't have a mobile with me, but I didn't). My girlfriend at the time woke up. Win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭shivvyban

A ditch in the back arse of nowhere in Germany... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

In your bed...ssshhh :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Warfi wrote: »

EDIT:All the other posts remind of that film that was out a few months back, can't remember the name of it (where the guys go to a stag in Las Vegas?).

The movie is called "The Hangover"
    Jemmy wrote: »
    In your bed...ssshhh :P

oi! you promised you wouldn't tell :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Waking up in the drivers seat of a ferrari 355 that was parked in a hotel lobby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

I woke up in a spare room of a Boardsie's house, following a beers.

When we arrived back to her house (Agentsmith, Kingtut, I, Blondie7 and her boyfriend) after a mad night in Karma, we started drinking more.

I had a very strong vodka, drank about half of it before Miss Blondie comes over with the bottle of vodka and throws a load more alcohol in!
    I had a few more gulps, then felt incredibly tired ... So she brought me into her spare room and I fell asleep within seconds.

Fast forward three hours, I wake up to find Agentsmith standing above me, shaking me and hear these really loud, strange noises...
    I had no idea what was going on!
    Terrifying!

Turns out, they'd set up Rockband in the living room! They'd been playing for three hours, while I was knocked out!

Agentsmith, I'm still annoyed at you for waking me up ... I sat there in a trance, on the couch for about two hours, before we ACTUALLY make tracks!
    :mad::p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

Outside my apartment door in my boxers.

I had been very very drunk, but made it home to bed. At approx 8.45 I decided to do a bit of sleep walking and headed right out the door, closing it behind me. My flatmate was at his girlfriends house, and my phone was in my pants pocket (behind the closed door).

So I had to walk to the other side of town to a friends house so I had a couch to crash on for a few hours, and use of a phone to get my flatmate to drop down clothes.

This involved walking straight through the centre of town, at ten to nine on a Monday morning during the school rush. In my boxers. Half pissed.

Now THAT is the walk of shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I woke up in a spare room of a Boardsie's house, following a beers.

When we arrived back to her house (Agentsmith, Kingtut, I, Blondie7 and her boyfriend) after a mad night in Karma, we started drinking more.

I had a very strong vodka, drank about half of it before Miss Blondie comes over with the bottle of vodka and throws a load more alcohol in!
    I had a few more gulps, then felt incredibly tired ... So she brought me into her spare room and I fell asleep within seconds.

Fast forward three hours, I wake up to find Agentsmith standing above me, shaking me and hear these really loud, strange noises...
    I had no idea what was going on!
    Terrifying!

Turns out, they'd set up Rockband in the living room! They'd been playing for three hours, while I was knocked out!

Agentsmith, I'm still annoyed at you for waking me up ... I sat there in a trance, on the couch for about two hours, before we ACTUALLY make tracks!
    :mad::p

Damn part-timer posh people, waking up in Beds as their funny drunken stories!!!! :P

Still an outside chance I make it to the beers tonight!! I might have a story tomorrow!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭ghosttown

Many years ago, on holiday in Corfu, woke up by street cleaners, as I slept on a chair in an open air restuarant. Wearing a girls t-shirt, nothing too bad there. Couldn't really recognize where I was, so looked for a taxi knowing the apartment name..................turns out I was in a town (I think called Ipsos or like that), which was about 40 miles from Benitex (something like that) where I was staying !!! Still had money, got back, mates said I disappeared from a club with 2 English girls the night before. The rest is a blank !:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

in my mates covertable in london, i puked in it to :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

I was at a party fell asleep in the hallway .I was blocking the passage through the hallway so my friends dragged me into the closet under the stairs ,woke up didn't know where I was.

Also was finished night shift work drove home in my car fell asleep at the wheel at the top of the slip road woke up when I had joined the M4 !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭morninwood

Fell asleep in front of the toilet in a friends house. Woke up to the sight of a mate standing above me having a p!ss. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭bman

I love hear stories like this. Make some of mine seem not so bad.

Got home one night after too much drink. All the housemates were gone for the weekend and I can't find my key. After much messing about looking for my key and trying windows to see if they're open I decide the best plan is to go round the back and sleep under a bush.

About 3 hours later I wake up very wet and very cold. Try my pockets one last time. There's my key! I was just delighted to get inside.

Another time, in Gran Carnaia, I was rudely awoken by cleaning ladies and their hoovers trying to clean a shopping mall. While I was asleep under the elevator. I just got up, found the beach and went left. Found the appartment and got into bed.

Thank God I don't do that kinda stuff any more ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Under a kitchen table

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

(addendum to my earlier post)

I eventually found my shoes by wandering into the gym of the school and there they were under those climbing ropes that you find in gyms,going from floor to ceiling,which explained the excruciating pain in my hip and heel.
    Still no socks though. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Well about 4 times on the Nitelink after it had been to Tallaght and was on it's way back to town.

Went back to a girls house, remember getting into things on the couch, blank, Field halfway between hers and mine. Don't know if I was asleep but I just remeber being in the field standing up and asking myself what the hell just happned.

Few weeks ago went wandering home from a friends house after 5 pints in the local then he fed me two measuring jugs of Vodka and orange juice. Left in a fine state and about half way home just got really dizzy and stumbled in a circle before falling over. Woke up about an hour later and continued on my way.

Interrailing 2 years ago and in Vienna my mate and gf went home, I stayed on with a friend who worked in a bar, got home and they wouldn't answer their phones to let me in. Woke up at 7am on the front steps of the building. Very sore and tired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

lol a good friend when we were in Tenerife fell asleep on a mattress face down with her head off the end in a pot! Never drink Tequila like its water! Silly Girl! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Bazzy

in a field in stillorgan with a hedgehog looking at me... Good times!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 225 ✭✭calahans

1) Woke up in a playground beside a mate in Ios in greece looking up at the sun at 11 in the morning. Steaming drunk and we followed some people to a party, they stopped near play ground and we must have fell asleep?

2) Work up in a strange house under the kitchen table after a party. Using my arm as pillow. Went to move said arm and it wouldnt budge. Upon closer inspection I found gum connecting my hair to my sleeve. Student days eh?

3)Lastly reading festival. Was watching concert steaming drunk around 3PM. Blacked out and woke up to someone's boot in my head at 10. Music blaring, people everywhere, me lying like a star fish on the ground. Embarrassing as f*ck.

They were when I was aged 18-22. None for a few years since :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Not me, but a friend of mine woke up a couple of weeks ago in bed between her parents! :eek: And she doesn't even live at home, it would've cost her about forty euro for a taxi out there (she has no recollection of the night!)

My stories are all pretty tame. Just other peoples' beds! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Beetlebum

Hee hee....some quality stories there folks!!

Another one of mine also happened in Germany and is even weirder then the last one. I had been out on the lash with my friends and I completely blacked out. I woke up the next morning with an old man of about 70 leaning over me in bed with a bowl of soup or something in his hands. He peered down at me and said

'Goulash? You vant goulash?'

My first thought was...oh my God...I couldn't have, he's about 70!!!! As it turns out I had stumbled back to my friends apartment but once again I didn't have keys. The old man was the groundskeeper for the building and had found me in a drunken mess banging on her door. He said I looked like I needed to sleep it off so he brought me to his apartment upstairs and put me to bed.

Luckily he was a little sweetheart and took care of me but imagine if he was a weirdo! I'm older and wiser now and (mostly) wake up in my bed but jeez have I been foolish in the past!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭victoriaa

For me it's the classic toilet seat and the occasional bath tub.