Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blind date what to wear..??

• 19-11-2009 9:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭

Hi Guys

I have a blind date next week my best friend has set this up, going
    for drinks and food at a pub. I want to make a good first impression..I was thinking a skirt with boots and tights that kind of thing...or should I wear jeans or a dress?? Sorry useless at this department!

Many thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭Shzm

Just wear whatever you're comfortable in. He's blind after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

if your date is blind does it really matter what you wear:confused:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Any more of the same joke will not be appreciated, this is a warning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭Kormeera X

why not wear a nice dress or something ? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

hey it may have been a bad joke but my point still stands that unless you know the person you are going to be going on a date with (but as this is a blind date you won't) you have no idea what they are actually going to find attractive so don't over think it.

Just dress appropriately for the location you are going to and you will be fine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

Wear something you feel comfortable and pretty in :) No point in putting on something you think you should wear but don't feel good in so you're tugging on it all night. If your first thoughts were a skirt, boots and tights combo then go for it, you'll look fab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Just as long as you don't wear a tracksuit you'll be fine ! Wear what makes you feel comfortable, also the advice about wearing what fits the location is good too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

He'll be wearing jeans and a shirt. I'd recommend jeans, nice top and small heels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 nelkins

Fairycakes, I would go for a dress with dark tights and heels so it's not too dressy but still very feminine. I'd show a little bit of cleavage but not too much and I wouldn't wear knee-high boots on first date. Some guys can be a bit weird about them;) Have fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

nelkins wrote: »
    Fairycakes, I would go for a dress with dark tights and heels so it's not too dressy but still very feminine. I'd show a little bit of cleavage but not too much and I wouldn't wear knee-high boots on first date. Some guys can be a bit weird about them;) Have fun!

This is literally exactly what I was thinking.

Good luck with it anyway. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭DubLass

Id add runners and a hat to the equation and keep it low over your eyes so that when you see him and hes not what you thought you can run and he wont have recognised you either ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭what2do

nelkins wrote: »

I agree this is good advice - just make sure you are comfortable, nothing too short or low if this might make you selfconsious..

And let us know how you get on :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭fairycakes

thank you all, I was thinking along same lines dress with heels and dark tights nothing too short! dont want to scare the poor lad! I will let you know how it goes..jez nervous already!! thanks again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

Hi Fairycakes,I don't know what type of place you are going to casual/formal etc, or what kind of style you like,but I agree with the dress idea aslong as it is not overly glam like a sequinned floor length, prom like thing or something! (Unless your going somewhere very posh)

You could keep it simple,but still add some colour and character to your outfit whilst remaining classy. I love the whole colourful tights,black dress thing or vice versa.
    Like some of these I found on Google.

http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:SdazxhS6lE975M:http://www.catwalkqueen.tv/Hot%2520pink%2520one%2520shoulder%2520dress.jpg

http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:l_bve7zZYm-nOM:http://files0.lookbook.nu/files/looks/medium/223192_lb.jpg

Or you could add colour with your belt and shoes,like the ones in this. I would LOVE these shoe boots!

http://www.polyvore.com/cgi/img-set/BQcDAAAAAwoDanBnAAAABC5vdXQKFlZPNjVGZkUtM2hHa2YtNl8zQU9KakEAAAACaWQKAXgAAAAEc2l6ZQ.jpg

As you can see I love pink and black(especially with those black, fake leather, short and fitted biker jackets) ,but loads of other colours go together aswell.

Here's a few other kinds of dresses/outfits that can look really nice on some people:

http://www.awear.com/content/ebiz/awear/invt/10400899/10400899_Print_search.jpg

http://image.packshot.com/isp/erez?src=NLX/179019509.tif&width=150&height=150&clipcolor=FFFFFF

http://image.packshot.com/isp/erez?src=NLX/176054109.tif&width=150&height=150&clipcolor=FFFFFF

http://image.packshot.com/isp/erez?src=NLX/175388460.tif&width=150&height=150&clipcolor=FFFFFF
    (This with thick black tights,and patent black shoe boots would be lovely and wintery/christmasy)

Some nice tops:

http://image.packshot.com/isp/erez?src=NLX/181514601.tif&width=150&height=150&clipcolor=FFFFFF

http://s7v1.scene7.com/is/image/Littlewoods/pipp_thumb_grid?layer=comp&wid=121&hei=180&fmt=jpeg&qlt=90&resMode=sharp2&op_usm=1,1,10,0&$offerimg=is{Littlewoods/saleBadge_round_nosale?scl=1}&$productimg=is{Littlewoods/A912_SP104_14_GM112a?scl=1}&$productimgsize=121,180&defaultImage=/Littlewoods/imageunavailable

http://www.republic.co.uk/content/ebiz/republic/invt/84324/84324_sm.jpg

http://www.republic.co.uk/content/ebiz/republic/invt/34441/34441_sm.jpg

Don't know if you'll like any of the above clothes, just throwing about a few ideas for you.

One tip though,seeing as you will be both eating and drinking,wear something that is comfortable around your tummy,and not something that will make you feel abit bloated/self conscious.

Most important thing is to have fun with your outfit and hair etc. and not get too stressed about it,I'm sure that as long as you are comfortable and are happy with what you're wearing that you'll look fab.

Have a great night! :)

Great ideas there thank you some great advice you must be in the business! :) I like the idea of bright with dark classy but not over the top! I will remember nothing too tight want to be able to breathe after dinner!! :)

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭DubLass

When is it, how did it go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

fairycakes wrote: »
    Great ideas there thank you some great advice you must be in the business! :) I like the idea of bright with dark classy but not over the top! I will remember nothing too tight want to be able to breathe after dinner!! :)

Cheers

I wish!:)
    No,I'm usually very lazy picking my own clothes each day and live in jeans,but I absolutely love fashion and all the creativity you can put into it.
    I do this sometimes,but most of the time I need a kick up the backside to get motivated.
    It's gonna be one of my New Year's Resolutions to actually start wearing all the ideas I have in my head,and to try and have abit more confidence in wearing the things I want to.
    Hope all went/goes well on the date!:)

Its Wednesday I will post on Thurs let you know how it goes..thanks for all your help! x

Hi just a post to say thanks for your help! The date went well lovely guy but sadly no real spark there so no worries nothing ventured nothing gained eh!! Thanks guys for the help :) x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

fairycakes wrote: »
    Hi just a post to say thanks for your help! The date went well lovely guy but sadly no real spark there so no worries nothing ventured nothing gained eh!! Thanks guys for the help :) x

aww that is shame but nothing ventured nothing gained as you say, was it your first blind date? Fair play to you for agreeing to go on a blind date! I bet I'm not the only person that would be wary of going on them!

What did you end up wearing? Did he look nice? :)

Hi Kingtut

It was my first blind date I was nervous but we had chatted on email before we met and my best friend knows him very well so I knew he would be sound. He was nice but I could tell he loves to drink a lot and be one of the lads (which is grand but not what I am after!) I wasnt attrracted to him but he did have a great personality :) I wore a purple skirt, black tights, small heels and black top so not too ott but not too casual!!