Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will Boards.ie ever die ?

• 18-11-2009 5:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭

i know i know.

its not exactly bebo or facebook now but Boards has being around more than 10 years now ! :eek:

will there be a day when people will stop joining ?

will there be a day the spam bots will get too much and run the site ?

thoughts please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Shhhh! Don't upset the nerds, man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

We'll Never Die, We'll Never Die, We'll keep the Boards flag flyin' high!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,681 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

I'm sure the name will last

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

The real threat is whether boards becomes sentiant, it knows so much about us, if it were to develop an identity, it would be unstoppable

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

You would have to get at the admins. But they are locked in their tower of steel and have many guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Only if I get my hands on the servers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

Not in my lifetime :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

If I have anything to do with it...yes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Boards may never die but the users,eventually will..in many cases painfully.

Just thought i'd cheer everybody up a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

The Hamster oft dies but the Wheel remains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

we are boards and we'll never die

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,121 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I don't think it will die as in just be gone some day, my guess is that it'll need to develop so much to suit the increasing number of people using it that it will become either diluted in bureaucracy and commercialism or slowly split itself into smaller factions because people aren't happy with whatever direction it goes in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

As long as the rent is payed on time it will stay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

In fairness, the developments tend to keep it reasonably fresh. More of a danger of people getting pissed off with the tendency to over-moderate.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,560 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Everything's got a beginning, a middle, and an end. Boards is in the middle for now.

It'll never die and will eventually just replace the Dáil..

Brummytom for Taoiseach!

... An English man boy in power?

:p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Hush with your dissparging remarks..didnt the english build the pyramids or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭Takk

Boards.ie is the origins of Skynet. It will try to kill us all.

Hmm.. Was unaware of this.

Ads by Google for Taoiseach!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Sites like this always reach a critical mass and either evolve into something completely different and better, or die.

I'm racking my brain to think of any major site still around from say, ten years' ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭spoofilyj

All things die but hopefully Boards will live for a long time yet, it hasent even gone into its teens yes, all full of angst and rebellion, the best is yet to come IMO....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

If the AH mods delete any more funny posts in the name of political correctness then the site should be renamed to www.boring.ie

Ads by Google for Taoiseach!

Ads by Google for the spam filter!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Only way it will die is if the owners allow it to be taken over by spotty faced, lank haired,pierced geeks with pallors like slugs who have been living under slates for two decades

:eek:jaysus!!

We are on the way out.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

If nerds ever go extinct, then maybe..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Only way it will die is if the owners allow it to be taken over by spotty faced, lank haired,pierced geeks with pallors like slugs who have been living under slates for two decades

:eek:jaysus!!

We are on the way out.:cool:

What are you talking about? They have tans... oh wait no thats cheeto dust.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Saibh wrote: »
    If nerds ever go extinct, then maybe..

Didn't you know the whole site was set up to make sure that gamers breed?
    The boards.ie gamer/nerd mating program is well on it's way with kids being born at quiet a rate these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Thaedydal wrote: »
    The boards.ie gamer/nerd mating program is well on it's way with kids being born at quiet a rate these days.

Good to hear, that means it will never die :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Riddle101

lol at the people on here bashing nerds, not knowing they're nerds themselves.:mad:
    Boards.ie is the origins of Skynet. It will try to kill us all.

That's what this one said and look what happened to her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

It could fizzle out if a few smaller, more specific forums, take members away from the popular boards forums e.g Soccer, AH etc. We already seen a forum on here "died a death" after one user left boards and set up his own.

Noting unusuall about private hosted forums having thier day and dying off and the same with someother forums. The pitch and flow always changes but boards keeps growing.

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Teaching the younglings about Klingons and Atari 2600s then?

They want 3 keyboardcat moon tshirts for christmas....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,575 ✭✭✭✭PFJSplitter

Currently active users: 3739 (1260 registered, 2479 guests)

Always more guests?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

Currently active users: 3739 (1260 registered, 2479 guests)

Always more guests?

There always seems to be about twice as many guests as users at any given time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭SarahChambers

robbie_998 wrote: »
    i know i know.

its not exactly bebo or facebook now but Boards has being around more than 10 years now ! :eek:

will there be a day when people will stop joining ?

will there be a day the spam bots will get too much and run the site ?

thoughts please.

It will die someday, everything has its life cycle. I think it could already be on the way out due to excessive and very poor moderating.

I think the moderators moderate moderately.

wudangclan wrote: »
    I think the moderators moderate moderately.
    Im moderately confused by this post.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

wudangclan wrote: »
    There always seems to be about twice as many guests as users at any given time.

Always seems to be. Alot of people happen accross boards as part of a google search, read a useful post and then bugger off without ever even realising what boards is.
    It will die someday, everything has its life cycle. I think it could already be on the way out due to excessive and very poor moderating.

Yeah, been hearing that since I started taking an interest in boards.

It's twice the size it was then.

Overheal wrote: »
    Im moderately confused by this post.

Alliterately illiterate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,467 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

For every poster that comes and goes because of 'over-modding' there's ten users still here because of the fact spam, trolling and flaming are rather better managed on these forums than most...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭SarahChambers

Always seems to be. Alot of people happen accross boards as part of a google search, read a useful post and then bugger off without ever even realising what boards is.

Yeah, been hearing that since I started taking an interest in boards.

It's twice the size it was then.

Well it will get rid of the the sensible people, who can account for taste?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Sleepy wrote: »
    For every poster that comes and goes because of 'over-modding' there's ten users still here because of the fact spam, trolling and flaming are rather better managed on these forums than most...
    Well it will get rid of the the sensible people, who can account for taste?

What he said.

By the way, got any examples of my excessive and poor moderation?

Because there's 500 mods. even if there's 10 crappy ones, or 50, it's a tiny proportion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

It better not die!! Then what will i do on the rare days i actually go into college??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

When FaceButt dies, Boards will die. No doubt Our Great Leader will be able to host the Boards servers in his subconscious. Or something. Then all we have to do is infect him with a virus and BANG, Boards will be gone.

I nominate Flutt to do the infecting, he lives in the sewer anyway.

I think it could already be on the way out due to excessive and very poor moderating.

The only excessive thing I've seen lately is people bitching about not being allowed to do shit that would get them banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭loldog

Well are there any good alternatives to boards.ie? I'd be gone like a shot.

I have to hold my nose every time I come to this site, frankly, due to the moronic mods.

loldog wrote: »
    Well are there any good alternatives to boards.ie? I'd be gone like a shot

Yes. That little x up in the corner.
    loldog wrote: »
    I have to hold my nose every time I come to this site, frankly, due to the moronic mods

Every time? In the whole, two days you've been a registered user?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,467 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Well then leave loldog, go see the Oxegen message boards to see what happens when forums aren't modded... oh, that's right, you can't, it's been shut down.