Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stadium Announcer Croke Park

• 18-11-2009 3:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

Who is this guy? Why is the volume so load. Why does he shout so much?

At one stage he was shouting so much during the Oz match that Jerry Flannery couldn't hear the Line out call. Idiot!!

He was also comical calling out the Australian names. Couldnt pronounce Mark Giteau. Hilarious. Obviously knows nothing about rugby. However he had a big shout for Rocky Elsom so he is obviously a Leinster bang wagoner. Which would confirm he know nothing about the game

Also whast the story with the fake accent?

Futhermore he was horrendous during the Munster Leinster final last season as well

I hope this guy stays in Croke Park and doesnt folllow us to the propper rugby stadium that will be Landsdown Road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭jack01986

Thats Mr Leinster he does all the Leinster home games as well. A quality announcer if there ever was one;).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Herbal Deity

He sounds like the same guy that does the annoucements at Leinster games in the RDS.

And yes, he's extremely irritating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

Fock. There is a good chance he might continue to Landsdowne Road so.

The guy hasnt a clue about the game. Why does he have to be SO loud!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭NotWormBoy

He annoys the crap out of me.

Funny moment at the last game, he hadn't been paying attention it seems, so when it came to announcing the score he had to check the score from the board beside his box.

His voice annoys me more than anything else. Doesn't look anything like I thought he would from the voice though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

His voice is one thing but is he responsible for playing that stupid music after every conversion? It made me want to apologise on behalf of the nation to the Australian fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

NickDrake wrote: »
    At one stage he was shouting so much during the Oz match that Jerry Flannery couldn't hear the Line out call. Idiot!!

lol, seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

Couldnt pronounce Mark Giteau.
    Obviously knows nothing about rugby.
    ;):pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

I presume it's Declan, can't remember his surname, who was sports editor of INN. Always hated his voice.

Aidric wrote: »
    lol, seriously?

Ya not messing. Saw it on telly. Fla has to keep looking for the call. All you can hear is your man shouting the the background.

Risteard wrote: »
    ;):pac:

You knew by the way he was calling it out. Hadnt a clue who he was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Yep, I noticed he seemed to be pronouncing "Mark" as "Matt" for some reason :D

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Neither do I. Matts brother perhaps? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Four-Percent

Penalty for Australia....

Scored by Maaaaat Gittoooooo!

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

He was also comical calling out the Australian names. Couldnt pronounce Mark Giteau. Hilarious. Obviously knows nothing about rugby. However he had a big shout for Rocky Elsom so he is obviously a Leinster bang wagoner. Which would confirm he know nothing about the game

He's the announcer at the RDS for Leinster games ;)

wixfjord wrote: »
    Neither do I. Matts brother perhaps? :pac:

Oh ****e! Ya upps its Matt. But you get my point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Yeah I laughed my ass off when I heard him over the Tv, half expected a "and here's 1/3 of YOUUURRRR LEINSTER TEAAAAAM....and some Munster, Ulster, and exiles. ahem."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

actually the volume of himself and the music/adverts etc. was pretty oppressive. well it was for me in Section 726. Not sure if it was just the speaker above that section or a problem in the stadium as a whole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭podsieboy

well im positive he is not announcing in croke park when gaa is bein played.
    also from all the ireland matches iv been to he announces at them so looks lik rugby is stuck with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

He did half stumble with his words "And here's your Leins..............Ireland team!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭pawrick

he was just plain awful.

music was bad too but my Italian friend thought it was great (her first rugby game) must be a foreign thing they like bad music. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Offside

RuggieBear wrote: »
    actually the volume of himself and the music/adverts etc. was pretty oppressive. well it was for me in Section 726. Not sure if it was just the speaker above that section or a problem in the stadium as a whole.

I was in 726 and thought my eardrums were about to explode!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Blured

Crash wrote: »
    Yeah I laughed my ass off when I heard him over the Tv, half expected a "and here's 1/3 of YOUUURRRR LEINSTER TEAAAAAM....and some Munster, Ulster, and exiles. ahem."

Couldnt hear it on the telly - but presume he gave it the auld "LETS SEE THOSE FLAGS" as the teams came out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Peter B

Offside wrote: »
    I was in 726 and thought my eardrums were about to explode!

I was in section 716 in Davin Upper. The music was far too loud. I was trying to chat to my mates in the seats beside me and couldn't hear them. This was half time by the way! The song was "Tonight's gonna be a good night".

This reminds me I was going to send a letter of complaint.

Who do I send it to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭dreamer_ire

Penalty for Australia....

Scored by Maaaaat Gittoooooo!

:(

When reading the Aussie line up he managed to extend Giteau's surname by about 4 syllabels!

Section 710 and it was brutal there too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

Dunno if its the same guy who does the soccer, but he's had some quality ones at football matches:

"Substitution for Wes- I mean Germany"

And

"Lets have a special round of applause for our Special Olympic athletes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭subfreq

"Australian substitution. Stephen Moore being replaced by, Tatatatafafa notoo, tanofotapa, popo tatopu..."

He then just gave up.

I actually think that is borderline disrespectful when the team is announced in the middle of the week. Probably take him 5 minutes to learn the names phonetically. Certainly very embarrassing during an international.

The volume of the PA was a joke to everyone in our section.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

He called him Matt Giteeaa when the teams were announced pre match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Offside

Peter B wrote: »
    I was in section 716 in Davin Upper. The music was far too loud. I was trying to chat to my mates in the seats beside me and couldn't hear them. This was half time by the way! The song was "Tonight's gonna be a good night".

This reminds me I was going to send a letter of complaint.

Who do I send it to?

Almost garenteed if they attempt to fix the problem as a result of complaints they'll be gettin complaints after the saffer game from people saying they couldn't hear it... Not a chance they'll get it right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I cringed when I heard him roar before the game:

"LET'S SEE THOSE FLAGS!"

john_stewart_facepalm.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Lizzzard

Hahahahahahahahaha, I was waiting for someone to bring this up. I couldn't wait for someone to score, or a sub to come on to hear this chap going mental on the mic, aaaahahahahaha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

subfreq wrote: »
    "Australian substitution. Stephen Moore being replaced by, Tatatatafafa notoo, tanofotapa, popo tatopu..."

He then just gave up.

Lets see how he gets on with the Fiji Prop: Alefoso Yalayalatabua. His attempt to pronounce that could be worth the price of admission on its own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭ch2008

He is the worst thing about going to the RDS.

They also played the daft music when O'Gara was taking his conversion. I agree the old drab stadium announcer had to go but surely there's a happy middle ground???

Trevor Brennan for instance ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Teg Veece

Haha. You could hear him on the coverage in Australia giving out about people smoking. His voice just boomed over the commentators at one stage.

And what about this gem when Ireland scored:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FJc_q8eH2ng

Cringe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 943 ✭✭✭OldJay

How many of you alleged 'experts' can pronounce Digby Ioane's surname? I'll give you a clue: Its NOT pronounced aye-oh-nee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭redmca

So good to read these comments .... I used to think it was just me who hated this fake hyping ....

And yes, it is a constant irritant at the RDS matches

That said, I love the little trumpet bit after all succesful Leinster place kicks, an on-going tribute to the great Contepomi !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭NotWormBoy

Justind wrote: »
    How many of you alleged 'experts' can pronounce Digby Ioane's surname? I'll give you a clue: Its NOT pronounced aye-oh-nee.

In fairness, we don't get paid to announce people's names to a packed stadium.

(I've just realised, I have no idea if yer man does either. I assume he does though).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

We will have to ask for Len Dineen to be brought up in future!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭ch2008

I am no expert, that was uncalled for

how many of us are paid announcers in croke park?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Four-Percent

And this is relevant how?We aren't announcing the teams.Did anyone criticise his pronunciation of Ioane's name? And who alleged that anyone is an "expert" here?

What's with the attack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

I'm putting a fiver on "Ee oh nay"

Do I win a prize?

I say "Aye Oh Aww Nee" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

E I E I Ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

Is case some folks didn't know the song that comes on for Irish scores for the past year is Dexy's Midnight Runners' "Geno". Just thought i'd thrugh that in.

I say "Aye Oh Aww Nee" :D

yoh-ah-nee actually but nice try :)

And this is relevant how?We aren't announcing the teams.Did anyone criticise his pronunciation of Ioane's name? And who alleged that anyone is an "expert" here?

Just a tad self-righteous in the criticisms on the fella, thats all. I know him and he is one hell of an afficianado of rugby and soccer. An information station on the sports.

People who can, do. People who can't, criticise.

If I came across a little snappy then apols. Its the internet. Not a courthouse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭subfreq

To be fair he might be a sound fella but I think you fail the basic afficianado status if you don't know how to pronounce Matt Giteau's name!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

I know him and he is one hell of an afficianado of rugby and soccer.

hey Justin are you still doing the announcements in the RDS tommorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic