Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Australia/New Zealand

• 17-11-2009 9:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭

Hi Guys, just wondering does anyone have any experience of working in Australia and New Zealand in the agriculture sector? I am hoping to go next spring as im starting to get sick of this country even though i have a good job. Im hoping to find some agri contracting work and from anyone i have talked to there is no shortage of jobs at it. If need be i would tackle a bit of dairying as thats my background but would rather the contracting side of things. Has anyone done this? How did you get on?

Also does anyone know of any websites which show jobs related to this field? The other thing i am thinking of doing is going to America and doing the grain harvest with Us Custom Harvesters. So anyone with any knowledge/experience in that i would be gratefull for your advise. Or any other countries that people have done agri contracting in.

Many Thanks for your advise
    Conor :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭bk1991

C0N0R wrote: »
    Hi Guys, just wondering does anyone have any experience of working in Australia and New Zealand in the agriculture sector? I am hoping to go next spring as im starting to get sick of this country even though i have a good job. Im hoping to find some agri contracting work and from anyone i have talked to there is no shortage of jobs at it. If need be i would tackle a bit of dairying as thats my background but would rather the contracting side of things. Has anyone done this? How did you get on?

Also does anyone know of any websites which show jobs related to this field? The other thing i am thinking of doing is going to America and doing the grain harvest with Us Custom Harvesters. So anyone with any knowledge/experience in that i would be gratefull for your advise. Or any other countries that people have done agri contracting in.

Many Thanks for your advise
    Conor :D

id also like to do this in next yr or so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭rooney32

outback staff obs@outbackstaff.com.au are a recruitment company worth a try.
    did it for a few months good experience but you will end up in the middle of nowhere. best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Cowmad

I worked in new zealand for 9 mths.try www.marvinfarservices.co.nz. They do both contracting and dairying. about america let me know if your going there cause i worked there too.hop this will be a help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭John-Holmes

I would love to have a go at something like this myself. Get the hell out of this place for a while.
    I know a boy who worked in the outback for a while. As a man above said earlier he was out in the middle of no where. Big massive fields were he had to use a GPS to make sure he stayed in a straight line. He said it would get while boring though. 12 hour days just driving up and down. I wouldn’t mind it to much as long as I had the Ipod or a wireless in the tractor. It's a great way for saving money as well as you have no overheads at all. Just a few dollars a week for the groceries.
    Good luck if you go for it lad!

Just a heads up. The above link doesn't work sah.

http://www.marvinfarms.co.nz/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

Cowmad wrote: »
    I worked in new zealand for 9 mths.try www.marvinfarservices.co.nz. They do both contracting and dairying. about america let me know if your going there cause i worked there too.hop this will be a help.

marvin farms are the people to talk to , otherwise keep an eye on the farmers journal and the recruitment section

the silage season would be over for the most part in new zealand by next spring as in febuary march

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Working in the middle of nowhere wouldnt bother me in the slightest as long as i had a radio, can be very relaxing! Ill look into those links lads, cheers. Is there work all year round available or are you tied to the summer season??

http://www.uschi.com/

Thats the website i was looking at for work in america, is that the sorta people you were working for Cowmad? Did you have your CDL? Or did you do it out there? The more i think about this the less negative reasons i can think of for going, just finding someone else to go with is the only thing. But that shouldnt be to hard.

Conor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭robototitico

I know a lad working over there, topping weeds for ten hours a day, Driving tractor in straight line for a few hours at a time

Is he working all year round or just in the "Season" really cant see that bothering me, what i do at the moment is very mentally stimulatiing and im just looking for something less demanding! Im to young for this craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭taram

Are there are jobs for more specalised agricultural workers going? I'm studying for a masters in agronomy at the moment, and would like to get practical experience in Australia or New Zealand before I try for a long-term contract over here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 D.Watson

Have worked in the US NZ and OZ.

Ohio State University are the crowd I got the placement with in the US.
    There's a Irish lad Mick o'Keefe over the programme.

The silage season would be in full swing in NZ at the minute but can be a bit hit and miss, the year I was there it lasted til middle of Feb, but if they don't get the rain like last year it's a non event! Maize is cut round April/May.

Lot of lads head for Oz for seeding in March. Outback Internatonal is the job agency I used. Harvest doesn't start til round November, but would recommend spending at least a month on a cattle station during a "Muster" something VERY different.

Would be interested in the seeding in march anyway, have you a link to any websites you used? Really thinking about doing this as i would like to get away from here for a while and im not one of these people who has to visit every country in the world. Just want to spend quality time in quality countries.

In the seeding what sort of equiptment do they use? Is it a min till style system or what?

What did you work at when you were there? Do you have any pictures??

Sorry about all the questions lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Cowmad

No i just rang a farm over in america cause a friend worked there thats how i got work over there.

Did you have to do the cdl test?

I didn't need a CDL because I worked on a farm in the states and could drive a truck up to 150 miles on car licence. If you're with a custom crew they'll pu you trough a CDL when you arrive. Here's a good thread on another forum about work in the states.
    A few pics from me travels:

Muster in Western Australia 2005
    scan0002.jpg
    scan0003.jpg
    scan0001.jpg
    scan0004.jpg

Cultivation and Combining USA 2001
    scan0008.jpg
    scan0007.jpg

Silage in NZ 2005
    scan0006.jpg

Tube wrapping in NZ
    scan0005.jpg
    ?action=view&current=scan0007.jpg

For the silage in nz did you need any special type of licence? Them pictures make me want to do it more and more

I didn't have any type of licence but by right you were meant to have a rigid licence for tractors but wasn't enforced.

Would advise any1 heading over to have at least a rigid licence as it'll stand to you with regards getting a job.

Also an artic licence from home can be transferred to an Australian 1 in Western Australia only but once you get it in WA you can drive anywhere.

Was sorry I didn't have a licence during OZ harvest as on slack days was left sitting on me arse and could have gotten a few more $/hr too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭babybrian

I worked at both the harvest and on a dairy farm. Last September(08) I arrived in Perth and after a few weeks my money was running out so started going into job agencies and looking thru the internet and found 2 jobs on 'gumtree', 1 job was near perth but poor pay $16/hour to start and going up to $18 depending on ability. I was going to take it as a last resort until I found another listing but it was a 3 hour flight from Perth(west) to north of melbourne(south-east). Booked the flights and flew over there for $20 an hour. I had planned to go to Melbourne for Christmas anyway so it worked out perfect.

Anyway about the harvest, usually starts in North Australia and works it way down. I was baling hay for 8 weeks from around 20th of October, great machinery, brand new John Deere 8350 and Krone big square baler. There were 4 balers in the outfit so it helped especially when your not too familiar with the machinery(Aussies are very good to help you learn and give lots of praise and encouragment). That lasted for 3 weeks until they had all their work done so I went to the boss and he rang around a few mates until he got me another job a few hundred miles away.
    These boys were on the grain harvest and again I was on a john deere and baler.
    Long hours on the harvest but great craic and they like the Irish lads for working. You will never be too far away from towns when your in the state of Victoria as it is well populated compared to some other states, south New South Wales would be the same and South Australia. I know the farms up North are huge, some fields of 1000acres but biggest I was in in Victoria was 400.

Went on holidays then until money ran out :mad: in March and back on the search for a dairy job(I am from a dairy farm also).
    Few sites are good, gumtree again, or http://www.aussiefarmjobs.com.au/

Got a farm in the south about 3 hours from Melbourne(big dairy area)
    climate is great too,not too hot and actually gets cool like Ireland in June and July.
    500 cow heard with brand new 50 rotary Parlour.
    You say your going out early next year, if you contact me I can ask the guy I worked with if theres any neighbours looking for lads to work. I'd suggest the place I was but I am going back out there in March so you cant have that :rolleyes:
    If you know someone working already it is great to get them to ask because usually the boss will know someone else who is hiring and is by far and away the best way to get a job.

Also dairy farm jobs will last all year whereas contracting jobs wont,
    Sept-Dec = silage, hay and harvest.
    Jan-Feb = very little(too hot)
    Mar-May/June = Sowing, spraying and Fertilizer
    July/Aug = Not too sure, imagine more spraying etc.

anyway I hope this helps and jasus I cant believe how much stuff I wrote.

And them websites again are
    www.gumtree.com.au
    jobsearch.gov.au/harvesttrail
    www.aussiefarmjobs.com.au/
    and to go direct the employment agency I got were jbek@bigpond.com
    ask for Paul, he usually has something and I have referred a few people to him.

Thanks for joining up and replyin, im still trying to figure out what to do maybe wait until next september that kinda time as march is looking a bit close. Dont know what but thanks for your help and ill definatly be in touch if/when i go for it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

what is the money per hour on average eg would you come home with more than you went with. sounds very interesting. would you need to be very mechanical or do they teach you a lot.

Money varies but I think if you dont get between 18-22 dollars on the harvest forget it, for the long hours you need to making alot.
    I worked for 8 weeks on the harvest and ended up with maybe around $9000 after tax.
    Cant remember what tax rate is but you get back most of it at the end of the year if you havent worked for a full year.

I managed come home with a few bob after working 6 out of 11 months there and that included buying a car and travelling home through america so yes it is possible.
    Living there is a good bit cheaper than here.

what is the the rate of exchange. like how many dollars does a euro but. just clicked into some link and saw a 1990 civic and they were looking for $3500

That would sound about right, I got a 95 holden, big car 3.8l for 2500

Think at the moment €1 will buy $1.60

so a heap of ****e of a 1990 civic ie almost 20 years old would cost €2180 out there.

oh I dont think you would that much for a piece of crap. The cars over there even tho they have big milage seem to hold up better than here(must be the weather)
    I got mine pretty right with very little looking so I am probably not the best to be giving advice on cars over there to be honest

Second hand cars over there make big enough money especially camper vans.
    Best value you'll get is off someone thats leaving and needs to get rid in a hurry.
    We got a nice '90 Camry for $800 between 3 of us.
    Cost about $300 in parts and servicing.

Anyway we drove it from Sydney to Melbourne up to Darwin down to Perth back over and down to Tasmania back up to Sydney and sold it for $1300

Try and get one witha Western Australia plate too cos they don't need an NCT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

i was in new zealand in 1998 , bought a 1984 mazda 1. 8 litre petrol automatic for 700 NZ dollars which is less than 300 euro , the prices quoted for old cars here seem a little high unless cars in australia are a lot more expensive and from what ive heard , they are not

that said , australians and kiwis are not like irish people , owning a ten year old car is common place , you dont get near the number of new cars as in ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Fozzydog3

how much experience would one need for a job in kiwiland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭PMU

any of you that worked in Oz offered sponsorship to stay on there?
    my son is there and would like to stay.
    Pat

Thread revive!!

I've finally bitten the bullet. Visa has been granted, flights have been reserved and notice has been given to my current job. What the he'll am I doing ha. It is kind of a spur of the moment decision but j have had it in mind for a while.

Flying out on the 5th of October with a job setup on an 1100 cow dairy farm in new Zealand. They have a 60 unit rotary parlour and have four other people working for them (2 guys 2 girls.) Have never worked with a rotary before so it will certainly be an experience for me.

Have no idea how long I will stay for, I'm thinking 13 months or so because the rugby world cup is on over there next September so it would be crazy to miss that.

Fingers crossed everything works out, and I will keep you all posted on how I get on. Any tips or advice from people who have done this before would be greatly appreciated.

Conor

fair play man, you will love it...great to get away for a year and see how other people work.

On advise in a rotary parlour, get a good techinque on putting on the clusters. I used to go clockwise from back left and was doing a cow every 7 seconds on a good day..watch out for the jerseys too or especially the black jersey crosses(they can be narky)...

Cheers for the advice, I thought for a second you meant moving round the cows clockwise and I was lost but I coped on quick enough!! What dictates how quickly the cows move round or is it just a case of the system moves the same speed the whole time? Hopefully it won't take to long to figure out.

the user dictates the speed with a dial close to where he/she is working, tends to have to go very slow when cows are at peak production because if the platform goes too quick then the cows will be coming around a second time still milking and that wastes more time...ah its easy enough get the hang of it after a few milkings, its just trying to get up to speed but otherwise no hassle.

Thread revive!!

I've finally bitten the bullet. Visa has been granted, flights have been reserved and notice has been given to my current job. What the he'll am I doing ha. It is kind of a spur of the moment decision but j have had it in mind for a while.

Flying out on the 5th of October with a job setup on an 1100 cow dairy farm in new Zealand. They have a 60 unit rotary parlour and have four other people working for them (2 guys 2 girls.) Have never worked with a rotary before so it will certainly be an experience for me.

Have no idea how long I will stay for, I'm thinking 13 months or so because the rugby world cup is on over there next September so it would be crazy to miss that.

Fingers crossed everything works out, and I will keep you all posted on how I get on. Any tips or advice from people who have done this before would be greatly appreciated.

Conor

Major congrats man. I would love to take the plunge like you. I was thinking of going next year and I might yet if I can get the finger out. I suppose I'm a bit scared of leaving a good job and knowing it won’t be here when I come back.

Just out of interest how did you secure the job out there? Was it from one of those sites mentioned earlier? Did you find they were looking experience to work on the dairy farm? I'm a sheep man myself but I could throw my hand to the cows teets if needs must lol. Again, well done chief!

Major congrats man. I would love to take the plunge like you. I was thinking of going next year and I might yet if I can get the finger out. I suppose I'm a bit scared of leaving a good job and knowing it won’t be here when I come back.

Just out of interest how did you secure the job out there? Was it from one of those sites mentioned earlier? Did you find they were looking experience to work on the dairy farm? I'm a sheep man myself but I could throw my hand to the cows teets if needs must lol. Again, well done chief!

It is tough to ditch a good job in to go but I guess I'm better off doing it now before I'm settled down with a mortgage kids etc...

As regards getting the job I kinda cheated! I have family out there and that's who I will be working for. But they said that if I wanted work with machinery they have contacts that could organise me a job, or if I wanted to work on a sheep farm that could be organised to. So I'm not sure how much experience is required for dairy work. Get the flights booked and ull get something sorted!! Thanks for the support

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭bk1991

Good luck with it atleast you made the move . you should register on www.farmingforum.co.uk there are loads guys on it that has been out there and tryed there hand at everything and would have great tips advice for you . You have to have a paid email address for it ie not msn or yahoo etc . I set up a campus.ie address or eircom one will do .

bk1991

It is tough to ditch a good job in to go but I guess I'm better off doing it now before I'm settled down with a mortgage kids etc...

As regards getting the job I kinda cheated! I have family out there and that's who I will be working for. But they said that if I wanted work with machinery they have contacts that could organise me a job, or if I wanted to work on a sheep farm that could be organised to. So I'm not sure how much experience is required for dairy work. Get the flights booked and ull get something sorted!! Thanks for the support

Not so bad lad. I will probably check the sites that Brian threw up on the previous page. All the best on your travels sir and make sure you let us know how you get on.

I will do indeed. I'll try throw the odd update on here and maybe a few pics, I'll see what I can do. The only thing that's annoying me is it's still so far away, two months is alot of waiting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

I will do indeed. I'll try throw the odd update on here and maybe a few pics, I'll see what I can do. The only thing that's annoying me is it's still so far away, two months is alot of waiting!

Best of luck Conor, I'd love to be young and single again and I'd be gone like a shot with the bag on me back with the boots in it, in case I run into a Junior B team with only 14 fellas' somewhere......

Dunedin wrote: »
    Best of luck Conor, I'd love to be young and single again and I'd be gone like a shot with the bag on me back with the boots in it, in case I run into a Junior B team with only 14 fellas' somewhere......

Men would be dropping off like flies in a Junior B game with 40 degree heat lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Claasman

best of luck, just back from 2 years in the southern hemisphere myself. Its a brillant farming experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

Thread revive!!

Conor

what part of new zealand are you going to be working in

The farm I am going to is on the south island, 20 minutes from Christchurch.

north or west?

It's 10km from darfield if that helps!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

cant remember darfield ( spent four mths there in 1998) but for your sake i hope its south , north of christchurch is extremley sparsley populated and very boring , while i believe the south island is better for a holiday , id perfer work or live on the north island , i need some form of civilisation to stay sane

Lots of big dairy farms around there alright. I can highly recommend the bakery and chip shop in Darfield:D, got the breakfast/dinner and supper there often enough...

Claasman wrote: »
    Lots of big dairy farms around there alright. I can highly recommend the bakery and chip shop in Darfield:D, got the breakfast/dinner and supper there often enough...

Are you over there at the moment?? Anything you can tell me about the area and farming over there would be very much appreciated!! I'll have to try out the cafe for sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Dazzler88

Are you over there at the moment?? Anything you can tell me about the area and farming over there would be very much appreciated!! I'll have to try out the cafe for sure
    ive just spent the last 3 months working on a farm in Athur River,Western Australia.It is a cattle feedlot for 5,000 attle and I loved it.I can give the number of the farmer if you like because he always looking for staff and loves the Irish workers.Its pays $15.50 an hour and your accomdiation and food is free,its a great way of saving money.

Dazzler88 wrote: »
    ive just spent the last 3 months working on a farm in Athur River,Western Australia.It is a cattle feedlot for 5,000 attle and I loved it.I can give the number of the farmer if you like because he always looking for staff and loves the Irish workers.Its pays $15.50 an hour and your accomdiation and food is free,its a great way of saving money.

Yea certainly send me the number, not sure if on going to so auz yet but that could tempt me! Does he have many people workin at once for him?? Money does sound very good, would be a good incentive to go accross. What all were you doing? Are the cattle in fields or housed or what??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Fozzydog3

Dazzler88 wrote: »

howmuch experience would ya need for a jobby like that ?