Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Intermediate Cross Country C'ships

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭wizwill

Is this race clubs only? or can individuals run?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

wizwill wrote: »
    Is this race clubs only? or can individuals run?
    You would need to be registered with a club .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭mithril

shels4ever wrote: »

What distance are these times captured over?

I got a bit concerned when I read Mountain-runners account of the Dublin Senior event - a very good (sub 1:25 half marathon runner) finishing last.

http://www.mountain-runner.com/2009/11/races-dublin-senior-cross-country.html

Whats the standard of the intermediate - is it closer to the novice than the senior, or half-way in between?

So it might be a bit of a reality check for us, and my guess is that we may be running amongst ourselves for the final positions, but at least by competing we are setting down a marker that acts as a benchmark for improvement in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

mithril wrote: »
    Whats the standard of the intermediate - is it closer to the novice than the senior, or half-way in between?

I'd say it's a bit easier than novice. Might sound strange but novice is just more competitive.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I've heard a few claims of it being "easier" than the novice now, not entirely convinced myself but we'll give it our best shot regardless.

mithril wrote: »
    What distance are these times captured over?

I got a bit concerned when I read Mountain-runners account of the Dublin Senior event - a very good (sub 1:25 half marathon runner) finishing last.

http://www.mountain-runner.com/2009/11/races-dublin-senior-cross-country.html

So it might be a bit of a reality check for us, and my guess is that we may be running amongst ourselves for the final positions, but at least by competing we are setting down a marker that acts as a benchmark for improvement in the future.

8k :)
    Going on numbers at other races this year I hope there is a bigger field .

robinph wrote: »
    I've heard a few claims of it being "easier" than the novice now, not entirely convinced myself but we'll give it our best shot regardless.

Easy might be the wrong words :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Hi guys, I'm hoping to do this, if work and family life permits it. I have never run XC before though. I don't/have never had spikes, and am questioning the investment of 60-80 euro for a single race (potentially), in which in all likely hood, I'll be finishing at the back of the pack. Given that my motivation to do the race is to go out and support the club, and have a go at XC for the craic, do you think I would get away with wearing something like my Inov8 mudclaws, oe would I be severely disadvantaged in my challenge for second last place?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Looks as if there is some serious tread on those, not sure how they would compare to actual spikes though but that probably also depends on how churned up the surface is and how much mud you then start collecting on the shoes. The conditions that we had for the novice though you'd not have had a problem with those on your feet I don't think.

Definitely better off in those than regular road shoes though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Hi guys, I'm hoping to do this, if work and family life permits it. I have never run XC before though. I don't/have never had spikes, and am questioning the investment of 60-80 euro for a single race (potentially), in which in all likely hood, I'll be finishing at the back of the pack. Given that my motivation to do the race is to go out and support the club, and have a go at XC for the craic, do you think I would get away with wearing something like my Inov8 mudclaws, oe would I be severely disadvantaged in my challenge for second last place?

Hi Krusty your more than welcome to borrow my spikes, the only thing is my pair of spikes are a UK 8.5

Woddle wrote: »
    Hi Krusty your more than welcome to borrow my spikes, the only thing is my pair of spikes are a UK 8.5
    Thanks very much. If I put them on now and wear them until the race in two weeks time, they should have stretched to a UK 10 by then. Clowns have big feet. :)

I wore the mud-claws today, in some really bad conditions (grass, water, mud) and they seemed to cope well (they're kind of designed for that terrain). Obviously not as good as spikes, but as Robin mentioned, better than trainers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

Thanks very much. If I put them on now and wear them until the race in two weeks time, they should have stretched to a UK 10 by then. Clowns have big feet. :)

I wore the mud-claws today, in some really bad conditions (grass, water, mud) and they seemed to cope well (they're kind of designed for that terrain). Obviously not as good as spikes, but as Robin mentioned, better than trainers.

I have 10.5s.

Hi guys, I'm hoping to do this, if work and family life permits it. I have never run XC before though. I don't/have never had spikes, and am questioning the investment of 60-80 euro for a single race (potentially), in which in all likely hood, I'll be finishing at the back of the pack. Given that my motivation to do the race is to go out and support the club, and have a go at XC for the craic, do you think I would get away with wearing something like my Inov8 mudclaws, oe would I be severely disadvantaged in my challenge for second last place?[/QUOTE]
    Well looks like i'll be running so your challenge to be second last may not be much of a challenge..

Haha! But you've got spikes. Let the race begin. :)

Yep have spikes but don't seem to have two working legs this week for some reason... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭jinka

ok to enter on day?

no, forms had to be in last friday(20th) to enter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭jinka

Usually able to enter on the day if ya get there early but to be fair unsure if im eligible !

jinka wrote: »
    Usually able to enter on the day if ya get there early but to be fair unsure if im eligible !

oh ok , maybe you can best to check with the county board i'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭snack_ie

Anyone got a lend of some spikes for the race? Pretty Please! Size 10/10.5 if so.
    Much appreciated.

So where abouts on the big splodge of green calling itself Tymon Park is it that we need to head for tomorrow?

http://maps.google.co.uk/?ie=UTF8&ll=53.301467,-6.334691&spn=0.020774,0.026436&z=15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Parking is beside Judes/Faughs GAA off Wellington Lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

best of luck to the boards team

kennyb3 wrote: »
    best of luck to the boards team

Thanks should be fun tomorrow

As its a 1.30 start tomororw, is the womens race at 1:30 or the mens?

Is it definitely 1:30pm? The link here says 1pm.

I'm going to be there from 12:15/30
    Was looking at http://www.dublinathletics.com/dynamic/pdf/Fixture%20List%202009.pdf race card says 1:30pm not very clear at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Cold, wet and windy for tomorrow so twill be interesting to see how we get on. Hope i don't leave the side down.

chinguetti wrote: »
    Cold, wet and windy for tomorrow so twill be interesting to see how we get on. Hope i don't leave the side down.
    Just by turning up, we're representin'. We may not win it this year, but next year...<evil cackle>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Good luck tomorrow folks, whether it's 1:00 or 1:30, I'll be tucking into a Sunday roast somewhere - but I will be thinking of you;).

Best of luck lads, I'll be there at about 12:30 with the camera to cheer yous on.

Looks like it's going to be a touch wet and windy out there today. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Looks like it's going to be a touch wet and windy out there today. :eek:

I think it's referred to as 'character building'!

Call me old fashioned, but i'm sure you could do 'character building' indoors with the heating on in front of a nice fire?:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

*rolls over in bed again*

christeb wrote: »
    *rolls over in bed again*

Wimp.

Jaysus, can everybody who's involved with the race, just politely and quietly agree not to turn up?

I need to HTFU (Hope They Favour Umbrellas?)

Jaysus, can everybody who's involved with the race, just politely and quietly agree not to turn up?

Then as the only team to show up we win by default. :D

looks like a great day for it :)

I doubt it from looking out my window
    looks like a great day for it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭snack_ie

That was so mucky that it wasnt funny.
    I dont think the park will ever be the same again.
    There were pools of water with swans swimming in them, before the race.

snack_ie wrote: »
    That was so mucky that it wasnt funny.
    I dont think the park will ever be the same again.
    There were pools of water with swans swimming in them, before the race.

Yes that was funny, it was strangly enjoyable :). Have hte biggest blistre i've ever seen on my big toe now, beats the in Run fat boy run anyday.

That was more than a little wet and muddy, although the wind wasn't as bad as it could have been but that hill took me by surprise first time round, and second time round...
    (Hope They Favour Umbrellas?)

...then Woddles umbrella took me by surprise and I was wondering if he was looking for favours and I lost count of how many laps we were supposed to be doing. Unfortunately there was still two more to go.

I was never quite sure if the best route was through the middle of the many puddles or not, but was thankful that the swans didn't seem interested in what we were up to.

Despite appearances I did enjoy todays outing.

That was more than a little wet and muddy, although the wind wasn't as bad as it could have been but that hill took me by surprise first time round, and second time round...

...then Woddles umbrella took me by surprise and I was wondering if he was looking for favours and I lost count of how many laps we were supposed to be doing. Unfortunately there was still two more to go.

I was never quite sure if the best route was through the middle of the many puddles or not, but was thankful that the swans didn't seem interested in what we were up to.

Despite appearances I did enjoy todays outing.
    Wasn't a bad way to spend a Sunday afternoon,

How did we do, I couldn't hang around as I had to collect the kids. My pictures are uploading as I type
    http://www.racepix365.com/Dublin-Intermediate/photos107.aspx
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/25938822@N07/sets/72157622774646859/

Woddle wrote: »
    How did we do, I couldn't hang around as I had to collect the kids. My pictures are uploading as I type
    Was only able to hang around for a while myslef, so didnt get the team results, i'd day its close between ourself and frontrunners again for last place :)

4144336244_cf9ee61a2c.jpg

Well done lads
    4143607989_ff43801676.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

Boards runners were:

43rd 35.46
    54th 36.21
    73rd 40.40
    76th 41.48

for 246 points and 9th place.

Well done.