Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phoenix Park to charge for group training??

• 14-11-2009 11:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭

HI there
    Not sure if this is the right place for this post - my friends and I play tag rugby in the Phoenix Park during the summer. We were contacted by the parks people to let us know they will be charging 'group training' groups from now on. They want 10 euro a day!
    IS anyone else aware of this??and how can they get away with it??:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

For real? Did this come from official channels, or were yous just approached by some guys who claimed they were real?

I can't see how this would be enforced at all tbh. I wouldn't hand over any money to them, even if it is official. I'd wait til they have the gardai out to remove you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

you could pose this question on the legal duscussion forum either op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

If they do.

They should be nailed to the wall immediatly to prevent it.
    Nobody should pay it and various local TDs etc should be contacted and made to scream about the stupidness of the situation.

A public amenity which is funded by taxpayers and they want to charge for people trying to keep fit because they are in groups?.
    This is nuts.

Whats next? Road tax on each set of runners sold?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭kida

what about if people are running a business using it as the base? Maybe thats what it is referring to? The likes of the army training boot camps etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Effigy

what can they classify as a 'business'?

Runnig clubs charge members...cycling clubs charge members..there is a group of nordic hill walking people there as well...I am sure there members pay some kind of fee.

Even if its targeted at the bootcamp style groups, they need to target the footbal and hurling groups that take up an entire section of the park. in other words, they have to target everyone

I think its madness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭kida

Effigy wrote: »
    what can they classify as a 'business'?

Runnig clubs charge members...cycling clubs charge members..there is a group of nordic hill walking people there as well...I am sure there members pay some kind of fee.

Even if its targeted at the bootcamp style groups, they need to target the footbal and hurling groups that take up an entire section of the park. in other words, they have to target everyone

I think its madness.

don't football and hurling groups pay for use?