Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Forget the Recession - Enjoy Christmas!

• 14-11-2009 3:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭

All anyone talks about anymore is the recession... I'm sure it's not just me who is sick of it?....

Anyway, with Christmas just around the corner I for one am happy to see lights & decorations going up early. I love all the buzz around Christmas, spending more time with friends & family - giving (modest) gifts.... eating & drinking a little too much!

That's what it's all about. I know there will be a lot of pressure on families this year, especially with young children. But the most valuable thing you can give to anyone is your love, time & attention.

So forgetting about mad expensive iPod's, gadgets and other Christmas gifts. What do you like about this time of year?

I like that the weather is getting colder; you can wrap up warm & have a nice hot chocolate on a cold winter day.

I like that Christmas carols will be played on the TV & radio over the next few weeks - they give you a nostalgic feeling & for me they take me back to my childhood.

I like that most people are in great form leading up to Christmas.

I like that all the old favourites will be shown on the TV over Christmas - not necessarily Christmas films, but things like The Great Escape, Die Hard, Willie Wonka & The Chocolate Factory..... These are shown every year!

I like that the whole country has a few days off to unwind, relax, eat, drink & be merry....

What do you like about the festive season? What will you be doing this year to make sure you have a Happy Christmas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I fcuking hate Christmas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

But the most valuable thing you can give to anyone is your love, time & attention.

Tell that to the collector general......... I just paid my 2008 tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Im all warm n fuzzy inside!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

phasers wrote: »
    I fcuking hate Christmas
    mikom wrote: »
    Tell that to the collector general......... I just paid my 2008 tax.

Some people...... They're not happy unless they've something to give out about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭rizzee

I fcuking hate Christmas

You stole my line. Cnut :pac:

Christmas is lame, I like Easter

only 110 days to go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I was being sarcastic................Im with Phasers n Mikom - Christmas sucks the big one!

Only messin :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

All anyone talks about anymore is the recession... I'm sure it's not just me who is sick of it?....

Anyway, with Christmas just around the corner I for one am happy to see lights & decorations going up early. I love all the buzz around Christmas, spending more time with friends & family - giving (modest) gifts.... eating & drinking a little too much!

That's what it's all about. I know there will be a lot of pressure on families this year, especially with young children. But the most valuable thing you can give to anyone is your love, time & attention.

So forgetting about mad expensive iPod's, gadgets and other Christmas gifts. What do you like about this time of year?

I like that the weather is getting colder; you can wrap up warm & have a nice hot chocolate on a cold winter day.

I like that Christmas carols will be played on the TV & radio over the next few weeks - they give you a nostalgic feeling & for me they take me back to my childhood.

I like that all the old favourites will be shown on the TV over Christmas - not necessarily Christmas films, but things like The Great Escape, Die Hard, Willie Wonka & The Chocolate Factory..... These are shown every year!

I like that the whole country has a few days off to unwind, relax, eat, drink & be merry....

What do you like about the festive season? What will you be doing this year to make sure you have a Happy Christmas?

Then why start a fucking thread with it in the title? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭KevArno

Christmas this year will be a humbling experience for a lot of people, and its just a watershed before January and February, a time that was dreaded even during the boom times...

That said, I am dying for my first mince pie, mmmmm pie! :)

TheZohan wrote: »

It was still fresh in my mind after reading a thread about it here....

My sincerest apologies if I unwittingly brought it to your attention.

Merry Christmas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Bah Humbug!!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

I'm going to be a jew this christmas and celebrate next year ,I might be able to afford by then.

yoshytoshy wrote: »
    I'm going to be a jew this christmas and celebrate hanukkah ...

FYP

FYP
    lol your thread died

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

lol your thread died

If only Christmas would do the same.

Why not forget Christmas and enjoy the Recession?

It'll last longer.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I get christmas day off and that's it. Damn having to work in retail. :( Saying that I'm gonna make the most of christmas day. And by most I mean I'll be doing sweet **** all the whole day. I'll spend a bit of time up in my brothers house and get my ass kicked by his kids in mario kart. In the evening I'll probably head over to a friends house for some cans and a few films and that's about it. To some that may sound boring but to me it's what christmas is all about.

You're all miserable!!!

Except the Cushion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

Sorry but Christmas won't be as fun without money as materialistic as that may sound. Trying to buy presesnts etc with next to nothing is actually very depressing! I'm a student again this year so I know what it's like to be scrimping and saving to buy measly boots gifts. Couldn't imagine providing for a family on the dole at Christmas. Even more depressing for those parents newly unemployed and used to the good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Aren't you only happy because you have the recession and humbugs to complain about? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Sorry, it's sort of fashionable to hate Christmas now. :rolleyes: I've never met someone who hated it that isn't 70 years old or over.

Totally agree OP, I like the weather getting colder, I like the decorations, for Christ's sake if people even made an effort and tried to be happy for the sake of other's it wouldn't be half bad. Lets hope for a white Christmas. :D

Do it for this guy:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Define Christmas though

I don't mind Christmas day, it's nice to have an old fashioned feast with the family and all that

I fcuking hate the fact that people are preparing for it 2 months in advance, and I hate practically everything that's been commercialized because of it

It's just one day ffs.. not 1/6 of a year :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

Steviecakes, your post was a pleasure to read, thank you:). I know things are tough for most of us..but if you start early and get little bits every week it helps take the pressure off. Write a list of who you need to buy for and mark them off as you buy stuff, it calms me down when i think 'shiit! I've loads to do!'
    The thing with having feck all money, when you find a bargain, you feel great.
    The local shopping centres have their decorations up already and the music is playing. Christmas is the best time...after the pissy Summers we seem to be always having lately, it's the highlight of the year. People say it's too early for all the sparkle and ads etc but I think..fcuk it, it gives me a lift anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭time42play

I am anticipating the look of disappointment on everyone's faces when they open the homemade gifts that are all I'm giving this year! I might hate Xmas slightly less than usual, normally I just wish I could sleep through the whole stupid thing.

Aren't you only happy because you have the recession and humbugs to complain about? ;)

No. I'm happy cos it's almost Christmas. Fcuk the recession. Forget about it for a while and enjoy the important things in life.
    Define Christmas though

I don't mind Christmas day, it's nice to have an old fashioned feast with the family and all that

I fcuking hate the fact that people are preparing for it 2 months in advance, and I hate practically everything that's been commercialized because of it

It's just one day ffs.. not 1/6 of a year :mad:

It's not just 1 day though. It's a 'season'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

It's nowhere near Christmas yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

I get christmas day off and that's it. Damn having to work in retail. :( Saying that I'm gonna make the most of christmas day. And by most I mean I'll be doing sweet **** all the whole day. I'll spend a bit of time up in my brothers house and get my ass kicked by his kids in mario kart. In the evening I'll probably head over to a friends house for some cans and a few films and that's about it. To some that may sound boring but to me it's what christmas is all about.

My husband works in retail too but he's in stores so he has a decent break thank God..his workmates however just have Xmas day off, they're in the whole day. I think that's so unfair. It should be compulsory to close businesses on Boxing Day. I know people in hospitals and the like have to do their share of shifts though but that's impossible to avoid.
    You have a great positive attitude AM. I hope you have a great Xmas and your days in work turn out to be fun days with lots of Christmas cheer and craic:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It's not just 1 day though. It's a 'season'.

It is in me hole!
    Christmas (pronounced /ˈkrɪsməs/) or Christmas Day is an annual holiday celebrated on December 25 that commemorates the birth of Jesus of Nazareth

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Alessandra wrote: »
    Sorry but Christmas won't be as fun without money as materialistic as that may sound. Trying to buy presesnts etc with next to nothing is actually very depressing! I'm a student again this year so I know what it's like to be scrimping and saving to buy measly boots gifts. Couldn't imagine providing for a family on the dole at Christmas. Even more depressing for those parents newly unemployed and used to the good times.

My sister is a student and doesn't work part time. I'll be doing the same as I did last year, I'll be telling her not to by me anything. If she does I'll guesstimate what it costs and get her some credit for her phone in January or give her money when she's heading out to make up for it. My family never really got caught up in the spending loads at christmas thing. It would be quite uncommon for one of us to spend more than €25 on another. €50 would be the max and that's at a push. We usually pool our money together to get mum and dad something good but that's about it. My youngest sister (the one whos at college) wanted to chip in for mum and dads but didn't have much money so I told her that I'd chip in some for her and she could pay me back when she gets it. I still haven't seen that money and if I get my way I never will. So seriously don't worry about not being able to buy them expensive stuff. If they actually cared about you they wouldn't give a crap what you got them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

My sister is a student and doesn't work part time.

Is she hot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I don't see the point in shops opening on Stephen's day. Stephen's day should be the day of nursing the hang over from xmas day. Not going shopping in Dundrum Shopping Centre :mad:

Ann22 wrote: »
    My husband works in retail too but he's in stores so he has a decent break thank God..his workmates however just have Xmas day off, they're in the whole day. I think that's so unfair. It should be compulsory to close businesses on Boxing Day. I know people in hospitals and the like have to do their share of shifts though but that's impossible to avoid.
    You have a great positive attitude AM. I hope you have a great Xmas and your days in work turn out to be fun days with lots of Christmas cheer and craic:).

Yeah I work in a store but the problem is St Stephen's day is our busiest day of the year so everyone has to be in. Bit of bitch but a necessary evil I suppose. If it's really quite christmas eve we usually close early so all you bastards who do your shopping christmas eve better not be doing it this year. :pac:

Isn't it only the last few years when shops opened back up on Stephen's Day?..... I remember when I was younger all the shops stayed shut on Stephen's Day... Am I imagining things?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

TheZohan wrote: »
    How do you catch a falling egg without breaking it?

Think about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Vagante

What do I love most about Christmas-the smell of Pine trees, and making the Christmas cake.
    Its a tradition I love,and I do have to say my cakes are always popular with friends and family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Overheal wrote: »
    Has the egg reached terminal velocity when it's caught?

It is in me hole!

I mean in the sense that you have almost a month to absorb everything associated with Christmas going on.

I take it you'd be happy to work until 5pm / 6pm Christmas Eve, take Christmas Day off and then forget about it completely come the 26th Dec? - Straight back to work.

All the people on here giving out about Christmas... I pity your families - I'd say you're a right mood-killer.

Isn't it only the last few years when shops opened back up on Stephen's Day?..... I remember when I was younger all the shops stayed shut on Stephen's Day... Am I imagining things?

Maybe. I've been working in the place for two years now and we've opened st stephens day on both of those and a few years before it. A lot of places still don't do it though.

A net would probably cushion the blow a little.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

FYP

I was referring to being mean ,FYI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Yeah I hate retail jobs. It means my brother is there for a few hours on Thanksgiving and Christmas and then poof - gone to fight another war.

In contrast I love working for a Family boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭VinnyTGM

With a giant cushion.
    Seriously though I know what you mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Depends on how old you are. In the 80's smaller owner-ran shops sometimes opened on the 26th but that was really it. By the mid-90's it was common for bigger shops to only close on the 25th. I worked in a supermarket on the 26th in 1996 and it was pretty common by then.

The 26th has also been a HUGE shopping day in England for decades, so the growth of English chain stores in Ireland means that most "high street stores" now open that day too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Irjudge1

Im with you OP. I do think its a bit early yet and the whole advertisement craic as soon as halloween is over is a bit annoying. But hell yeah its the season of goodwill if you want it to be. If you think its **** well then it probabaly will be.

Christmas for me starts on the day I finish work and ends the day after new years day. I'll be off for almost two weeks this year so I suppose that contributes to my view in a big way. Everybody else in the business Im in is generally off as well for the same amount of time so there is no catching up on return to work like the summer holidays.

I will see people I havent seen all year. Family will be home from across the water. Ill watch films eat, drink and be merry. Gifts I couldnt care less about as long as the kids are looked after.

I think shops should be closed on stephens day give people a break, but then I think shops should be closed on sundays. Im just weird I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Johnnnybravo

I love christmas, its what I live for. Fcuk the recession Im goina be spending on crap, eating and drinking plenty, CANNOT WAIT :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Meh, I've worked every Christmas for the last 8 years, bar 2.

One I was back at work at 3pm Stephens Day, and the other I was on call Stehpens Day.

I hate the run up to Christmas, all that forced jollility, and the Christmas parties, where everyone gets ****faced and tries to roide the young wan that has had 4 WKD's too much.

I do however like going to our Christmas party, where I get ****faced, and tried to roide the young wan that has had 4 WKD's too much. (This is untrue. I just get ****faced.)

I hate working hospitality being so bloody nice to everyone, especially when they're puking in the sinks, and leaving the santa hat on top of it.

iguana wrote: »
    Depends on how old you are. In the 80's smaller owner-ran shops sometimes opened on the 26th but that was really it. By the mid-90's it was common for bigger shops to only close on the 25th. I worked in a supermarket on the 26th in 1996 and it was pretty common by then.

The 26th has also been a HUGE shopping day in England for decades, so the growth of English chain stores in Ireland means that most "high street stores" now open that day too.

25... I remember in my teens going into town to see Aslan in the point on St. Stephen's Day a couple of years and everything was shut, bar Burger King on O'Connell Street!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

25... I remember in my teens going into town to see Aslan in the point on St. Stephen's Day a couple of years and everything was shut, bar Burger King on O'Connell Street!

Places in the city centres may have been closed but suburban supermarkets have been opening since the mid-90s. I was working in them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭john-joe

I thought it was too early for christmas threads?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=63008861#post63008861

john-joe wrote: »
    I thought it was too early for christmas threads?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=63008861#post63008861

Woah, woah, woah.... dont be taking your frustration out on me. I didn't lock your thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭john-joe

Woah, woah, woah.... dont be taking your Frustration out on me. I didn't lock your thread!

FYP

I know you didn't, not frustrated.... ;):)