Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Push, Pull, Squat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Normally, Id take a rest day on Wednesdays, but I had so much rest while being sick that I didnt want a rest day today. Went in and I did a repitition session cherry picking exercises from Rep 1 and Rep 2 and adding in some of my own for what was a pretty good session in terms of rehabbing my knees, hitting shoulders, bit of "core" and some shrugs and curls to finish off.

Laugh all ye want but heres what I did:

IP Warm up - 3 x 10

Single leg squats to varying heights - 5 x 8 per leg.
    I really really suck at these, but U kept lowering the distance and got through them

Push press
    20kg - 10
    40kg - 5 x 10

Band assisted Dips
    Green band 1 x 10
    Blue band - 4 x 10

Weighted sit ups + 20kg
    5 x 20

TB shrugs
    5 x 20 @ 60kg

Seated DB rear laterals
    10kg DBs - 5 x 10

Hammer curls
    10kg DBs - 10
    12.5kg DBs - 10
    15kg DBs - 10
    17.5kg DBs - 10
    20kg DBs - 15

Stretching

Foam rolling
    Rolled quads, hamstrings and calves with a 25kg plate.
    Also rolled IT bands, upper back and triceps.
    Rolled feet with a cricket ball at home

Weight down to 100kg on the nose today

IP warm up
    3 rounds of 10
    X band Walks
    Scap push ups
    hurdle over unders
    band face pulls
    hurdle step overs
    scap inverted rows
    quad/hamstring walks

S2

Speed Deadlifts
    90kg - 1 x 8

work sets
    110kg - 8 x 3 with 60 seconds between sets

Elevated Split Squats
    4 x 8 per leg at BW + 10kg

Hanging leg raises (toes to bar)
    10 + 5
    8 + 7

Benchin
    20kg - 2 x 10
    40kg - 2 x 8

work sets
    80kg - 5
    85kg - 5
    90kg - 3,3,3

Unsupported DB Rows
    40kg DB - 5 x 10

Plate shifting
    3 x 1 min with the 2.5 and 5kg plates

Rolling DB Tricep Extensions
    10kg DBs - 5 x 10

Foam Rolling - used the 25kg plate again for quads, calves and hamstrings
    stretching - did loads and loads of stretching

Today was just about getting through the session as best i could.
    Have very bad DOMS at the moment and still amnt fully over the flu.

The deadlifts were fast, definitely better than Monday.

I did an extra set on the elevated split squats, would like to add more weight but think a jump from a 10kg plate to a 20kg plate is a bit too much so might do them with the weighted X vest the next time out

The hanging leg raises are really coming on.
    Getting toes to bar and going from a dead hang on all reps

Benching was crappy enough but tbh I think thats because my triceps havent had a rest day all week and that said, I was only 2 reps off what I did on Monday.
    Am really focussing on bringing my feet back as far as I can and also trying the "pull the bar apart" thing

Unsupported DB rows were grand, 5 x 12 next time before I move up the weight again.

Plate shifting is becoming easier

Went light and high reps on the tricep extensions for reasons mentioned about triceps being battered lately.

Weight today - 99.7kg

7/1/11

IP warm up
    3 rounds of 10
    X band Walks
    Scap push ups
    hurdle over unders
    band face pulls
    hurdle step overs
    scap inverted rows
    quad/hamstring walks

S1

Box Squats[/b]
    20kg - 2 x 10
    40kg - 2 x 5
    60kg -5
    80kg - 5

work set
    100kg - 5

Will told me to change to Olympic Squats and work on form
    100kg - 4 x 5

Single Leg Deadlift
    24kg KB - 4 x 8 per leg

Russian Twists
    16kg KB - 3 x 20

Chin ups
    Green band - 2 x 8
    + 10kg - 5
    + 5kg - 5
    Red band -10 last 5 kipped
    Blue band - 12 last 7 kipped
    Green band - 10 no kipping

Speed Bench Press
    60%
    60kg - 8 x 3 with 1 min rest

45 degree back extension
    3 x 15*+ blue band

DB Seated Powercleans
    10kg DBs - 1 x 15
    12.5kg DBs - 4 x 15

DB hammer curls
    15kg DBs - 4 x 12

Weight today was 99.5kg so down another bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Will Heffernan

The free squats were much better than the rounded back box goodmornings you were doing.

IP warm up*
    3 rounds of 10*
    X band Walks*
    Scap push ups*
    hurdle over unders*
    band face pulls*
    hurdle step overs*
    scap inverted rows*
    quad/hamstring walks*
    S2*
    Speed Deadlifts*
    60kg - 2 x 8*
    work sets*
    110kg - 1 x 3*
    with Will looking at my form. Speed was good but he wanted me to work on taking tension out of the bar and driving through my heels.
    Videoed this 1st set and was able to see what Will wanted me to change.

Changed technique
    110kg - 3 x 3
    115kg - 4 x 3
    Elevated Split Squats*
    4 x 8 per leg at BW + 15kg x Vest
    Hanging leg raises (toes to bar)*
    12 + 3
    9*+ 6
    Benchin*
    20kg - 2 x 10*
    40kg - 2 x 8*
    60kg - 2 x 5
    work sets*
    80kg - 3
    85kg - 3
    90kg - 6 x 3
    Unsupported DB Rows*
    40kg DB - 2 x 12 & 2 x 10
    42.5kg DB - 1 x 10
    Didnt do plate shifting, did 45 degree back extensions by mistake*
    3 x 15 + red band doubled over*
    Rolling DB Tricep Extensions*
    17.5kg DBs - 12, 12. 10, 10, 9
    10' conditioning block
    Prowler pushing with Will
    Prowled*+ 80kg - 17 pushes in 10 mins

10' con block
    KB swings with 32kg KB
    20s on/40s off ~ 10 swings per round

Bag work
    Did the following bit of messing on the bag
    50 left jabs
    50 left jabs*+ right crosses
    20 kicks right leg
    20 kicks left leg
    10 right kick, 1,2 punch combo, left kick
    Various other stuff*

The deadlifts felt weird with the technique change, didn't feel as fast as normal but hopefully the speed will come with te

Split squats were grand - more weight in the x vest next time

The hanging leg raises are kipped but indent care

Benching was better today, my line was better and felt comfortable hitting 90kg for numerous triples even if the last rep was slow each time

Unsupported DB rows were grand

Triceps extensions were tough towards the end but I'm finding them to be a really good exercise

Had to get back on the conditioning horse today.
    Prowler pushing was tough - lungs and legs were screaming at the end and it didn't help that Will was pushing me all the way. I only wanted 12 pushes in 10 to get back into it, still though, 17 isn't bad.
    KB swings were grand and really enjoyed the bag work.
    I still have a nice bit of power in my right leg kicks but the left leg kicks are about as powerful as a mouse fart.

Weight today - 101.1kg
    Don't mind that the weight was up on Friday. The important thing is that it was down on the same day last week by over a kg.
    As long as the Monday weight keeps coming down I'll be happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭gymfreak

Fair play to you, you were definitely working hard whilst I was there.

Think ya may have earned your thai food tonight:)

gymfreak wrote: »
    Fair play to you, you were definitely working hard whilst I was there.

Think ya may have earned your thai food tonight:)

Thanks, yeah, it was a good session.
    Decided against Thai food in the end, too many carbs!
    Went to Mao and had stir fried chicken, wok fried greens and a side salad and kept away from rice, noodles and them god forsaken shrimp crackers!

10' conditioning block
    Prowler pushing with Will
    Prowled*+ 80kg - 17 pushes in 10 mins

Had to get back on the conditioning horse today.
    Prowler pushing was tough - lungs and legs were screaming at the end and it didn't help that Will was pushing me all the way. I only wanted 12 pushes in 10 to get back into it, still though, 17 isn't bad.
    I'm sorry for holding you back...it was good to see you taking it easy on me seeing as I'm an old man.

it's be kind to your elders week or something somewhere, yeah, thats it........

Gimme a couple of weeks and Ill be flying on that fecking contraption again

IP warm up
    3 rounds of 10
    X band Walks
    Scap push ups
    hurdle over unders
    band face pulls
    hurdle step overs
    scap inverted rows
    quad/hamstring walks

S1 (kinda)

Squats ATG
    20kg - 2 x 10
    40kg - 2 x 5
    60kg -5
    80kg - 5

work sets
    101kg - 3 x 5

1 hour of Beginners Muay Thai
    3 rounds of:
    2 mins shadow boxing
    10 push ups
    10 BW squats
    10 sit ups

3 min rounds of
    right leg kicks
    left leg kicks
    right body kicks
    left body kicks

1 x 3 min round of pad holders decision of all 4 leg kicks

Back to strength stuff for a while

Single Leg Deadlift
    22.5kg DB - 4 x 8 per leg

Chin ups
    BW - 5,5,5,5,7

Lots of stretching

Few mins rolling bjj with Hanley

good session
    enjoyed the MT class, esp the right leg body kicks, felt great to be throwing some bombs again. left leg needs so much work in comparison
    Leg kicks will need a lot of work.

Weight down to 100.3kg this evening.
    hope to get under 99 by friday

I definitely need to get some photos of you and Hanley rolling.

why?
    to show what happens when hippos roll?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

1258735271-two-pigs-fighting.jpg

Weight today after training at 21.45 - 100.1kg

IP warm up
    3 rounds of 10
    X band Walks
    Scap push ups
    hurdle over unders
    band face pulls
    hurdle step overs
    scap inverted rows
    quad/hamstring walks

S2

Speed Deadlifts
    60kg - 2 x 8

work sets
    120kg - 8 x 3 with 60 seconds between sets
    *These were pretty good. Trying to incorporate the pointers Will gave me the last day. Am finding bar speed slow for the first 3-4 inches and then bang, up she comes like a rocket*

Elevated Split Squats
    4 x 8 per leg at BW + 17kg in the X vest

Pull ups with 17kg in the X vest - 3

Hanging leg raises (toes to bar)
    4 x 10

Benchin
    20kg - 2 x 10
    40kg - 2 x 8
    60kg - 2 x 5

work sets
    80kg - 3
    85kg - 3
    91kg - 8 x 3
    *took plenty of rest between these sets, wrapped the wrists up nice n tight. 1st two reps on most sets were solid with a good line. The last set was a battle but I grinded out the three reps, it defo was all me bro.

Unsupported DB Rows
    42.5kg DB - 4 x 10 and 1 x 12
    *surprisingly easy, either 45kg for 5 x 10 next time or 42.5kg for 5 x 12*

Plate shifting
    3 x 1 min with the 2.5 and 5kg plates

Rolling DB Tricep Extensions
    12.5kg DBs - 5 x 12
    *backed off on the weight on these and upped the reps slightly coz of the extra heavy benching sets*

DB hammer curls
    15kg DBs - 5 x 10

Conditioning block
    10' prowler push.
    Prowler + 40kg
    22 pushes in 10 mins.
    Not very happy with this tbh.

Foam Rolling
    stretching

Food intake today
    meal 1 - 1 animal pak, 10 fish oils, 2 vit C tabs, 1 apple, 1 handful cashew nuts, 1 tbsp of peanut butter and 3 scoops pro matrix
    meal 2 - 1 apple, 1 handful cashew nuts and a green tea
    meal 3 - 2 chicken breasts, 200g carrot batons, lettuce, handful of grapes and 1L of water
    meal 4 - 3 scoops big whey
    meal 5 - 1 x protein bar and 2 scoops big whey
    meal 6 - 2 chicken breasts, 200g of carrots, 2 scoops pro matrix and 10 fish oils

I think all the extra fruit Im taking in this week has slowed my weight loss down, think ill change to more raw veggies

so, I eh, had about 3400 calories today.
    and Im in a weight loss thingy.

Oh dear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Summary of conversation

Liam: "i had 12 scoops of protein today."

Everybody: "you're an idiot"

Good stuff. Nice work benching.

So I recalculated my food intake from yesterday, putting in some custom foods like the whey i use and put in the amount of grams of chicken I had etc and it actually put my cals for the day UP even more!

Breakdown is as follows:
    kcals - 3993
    protein - 471g
    fat - 135g
    carbs - 219g

Ratio of P : F : C was 49% : 30% : 21%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭the drifter

So I recalculated my food intake from yesterday, putting in some custom foods like the whey i use and put in the amount of grams of chicken I had etc and it actually put my cals for the day UP even more!

Breakdown is as follows:
    kcals - 3993
    protein - 471g
    fat - 135g
    carbs - 219g

Ratio of P : F : C was 49% : 30% : 21%

facepalm_third_party.jpg

I put it up there to get that reaction.
    I clearly need help.
    I'm "on" whey and am clearly addicted to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭the drifter

I put it up there to get that reaction.
    I clearly need help.
    I'm "on" whey and am clearly addicted to it

the think is...with the progress youve been making on the IP stuff...sorting this out should see some even better results...

Dont be beating yourself up over this...were all guilty of stuff like this...

Ah yeah, Im not gonna get too cut up about it. I only moved to that kind of food intake a few days ago so its not too bad.
    its good to know though and jaysis, that FitDay is fierce handy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

its good to know though and jaysis, that FitDay is fierce handy

Really? I hated it - took the pleasure out of eating, and I found it way too easy to obsess over.

G86 wrote: »
    Really? I hated it - took the pleasure out of eating, and I found it way too easy to obsess over.

ah yeah, sure I mean, I was 1000kcals away from my own estimation as to what I was shoving down my piehole.

Ill mess around with it til I hit BM in lbs (220) x 12 = 2640kcals
    and Ill run with whatever amount of food that is per day for the next 3 weeks and try to get to 95kg.

I obviously dont need 470g of protein per day but I am happy with the ratio.
    So, gotta drop 1400 kcals from what I had yesterday and keep the ratio.

Trained in school this evening coz I was coaching

IP Warm Up x 2

Con. Block-10mins
    Rounds of:
    Farmers Walk with 2 x 30kg DBs -15m up and back.*
    15m jog
    Suitcase carry -22kg*+ waiter carry - 16kg - 15m up and back alternating hands
    15m jog
    *9 rounds*

15min Work Block
    Reverse lunges with 10kg med ball - 10
    10 sit ups
    6 band assisted pull ups
    *13 rounds*

Con. Block-10mins
    Rounds of:
    Farmers Walk with 2 x 30kg DBs -15m up and back.*
    15m jog
    Suitcase carry -22kg + waiter carry - 16kg - 15m up and back alternating hands
    15m jog
    *9 rounds*

Was coaching then for 90 minutes and did a few bits and pieces demoing stuff.
    1 armed DB push press - 30kg - 3 x 6 per arm
    Some rows
    Deadlifts
    Russian twists
    Plank

Calories in today - 2637

Ratio:
    P : C : F
    240g: 180g : 84g

99.2kg today at lunch time.
    Progress

5.4km run in ~ 33 mins

Ran in my vibrams - very weird, calves are cramping up already.

foam rolling and stretching and lots of chicken to follow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dartstothesea

Ran in my vibrams - very weird, calves are cramping up already.
    This interests me.
    Do you think this'll be a good thing for your calves though?
    I hope it is, like. Not saying I doubt it or anything, just wondering.

This interests me.
    Do you think this'll be a good thing for your calves though?
    I hope it is, like. Not saying I doubt it or anything, just wondering.

havent a clue.
    and i doubt running is something Ill ever do a lot of.
    was getting cabin fever in the apt and off i went and just said Id try them out.