Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

genetics

• 13-11-2009 8:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭

how much of a role do genetics play in fitness?

i think a lot, some unhealthy people can look better than a person who trains in a marathon and i believe there is a limit to an individuals potential.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭Captain Furball

How tall are you irishultra?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭irishultra

not sure think 5 foot 8 or 9

Do you do squats?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

Genetics, there really only useful for one thing...

633910285832867275-genetics.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭irishultra

yes naturally i have strong lower body i got a big bubble but lol but tbh sometime i prefer to have less of a butt despite the advantages it gives me, like im so fast and people are always like you dont look like someone who would be fast but ye im prob fastest person i know.

irishultra wrote: »
    yes naturally i have strong lower body i got a big bubble but lol but tbh sometime i prefer to have less of a butt despite the advantages it gives me, like im so fast and people are always like you dont look like someone who would be fast but ye im prob fastest person i know.

Your not stronger if your smaller.
    :D You just got less work to do.

Haha well you are a natural sprinter so fair play to ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

Trevor Coulahan is spot on...genetics this - genetics that is a load of bolllocks.

go train as hard as you can. Be the best you can.

When you get to the the olympics and do badly then blame genetics - before that blame bad diet , lack of training, injuries (actually don't blame injuries cos ijured people sound like whingers - sorry they do even if they're genuine)
    irishultra wrote: »
    how much of a role do genetics play in fitness?

i think a lot, some unhealthy people can look better than a person who trains in a marathon and i believe there is a limit to an individuals potential.
    yeah but so few every get there why bother thinking about it?

you'd be better looking at your missus ma and thinking "diirrrtyy"

Trevor Coulahan is spot on...genetics this - genetics that is a load of bolllocks.

go train as hard as you can. Be the best you can.

When you get to the the olympics and do badly then blame genetics - before that blame bad diet , lack of training, injuries (actually don't blame injuries cos ijured people sound like whingers - sorry they do even if they're genuine)

otherwise look at your missus ma and think "diirrrtyy"
    So genetics matter only at the Olympics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

So genetics matter only at the Olympics?

well if you want me to spell it out to you - since not all sports are olympic sports : when you get to olympic level or world level - worry about it.

too many people bang on about genetics and they're nowhere near a level where that will effect them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭injured365

Genetics might be a limiting factor.......but very very few people ever reach their genetic potential....blaming genetics for failing in a lift is like blaming the rain for not running

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

injured365 wrote: »
    .blaming genetics for failing in a lift is like blaming the rain for not running
    I did that today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Ah I dunno lads sometimes when I lose I can actually feel my genetics burning.

Bitch and moan all you like, nobody is talking about people making excuses for their lack of determination.

Genetics play a very large part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

Bitch and moan all you like, nobody is talking about people making excuses for their lack of determination.

Genetics play a very large part.

Not for your typical gym-goer/sportsman they don't. That's what we're getting at.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

What's the best way to train your genetics??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Hanley wrote: »
    What's the best way to train your genetics??

Aren't they located behind you're posterior chain?I'd say quarter squats should cover it..

Remmy wrote: »
    Aren't they located behind you're posterior chain?I'd say quarter squats should cover it..

I think they've something to do with your adrenal glands?

When you get to your genetic potential, give me a shout back on this thread.
    2rnam2h.jpg

One guy in this picture can power clean 200kg, the other is a world record holder for swimming.

You are aware people have bones right?You are aware muscles have insertion points on these bones right?lol you guys are hilarious.
    Waits for more asinine brushing aside remarks.

2rnam2h.jpg

One guy in this picture can power clean 200kg, the other is a world record holder for swimming.

You are aware people have bones right?You are aware muscles have insertion points on these bones right?lol you guys are hilarious.

Unless your in either picture.........when you get to your genetic potential.......

injured365 wrote: »
    Unless your in either picture.........when you get to your genetic potential.......
    What are you trying to say with them dots? Is this hang man?
    I am 5 foot 2 and i run 100 meters in 4 seconds.Miracle? I think so ;)
    I have to head out to the gym anyway. I'm expected to be benching 1000 pounds today ,dam I forgot,my arms are 84 inches long ooops.

Papa Shongo below, is a world class "athlete".How long are his arms, 4 inches?

Note to self! Don't take physics seriously.

You do realise what you are saying is actually agreeing with previous posters saying that few people reach their genetic potential. No one here has said genetics are not limiting factors, clearly they are, the fact is few people train hard enough and often enough to reach this potential. Those that do become world champions or close to world champions. Just because someones genetics profile says they would be more suited to a certain sport or activity doesnt mean they should stop doing other sports they enjoy more. Irish people, in general, are more suited to sports like boxing, rowing or track cycling* yet that doesnt change the fact that Paul Hession is one of the fastest white men in the world. Do what you like and what you want to not what your genetics tell you.

*I know your going to ask me for proof of this but at the moment the book im taking this from is in someones elses hands!
    I should learn to stop giving books out, i never get them back!!

Sorry can't talk ,bench pressing, only 3 inches to go to full lock out.Woohoooooooo.
    After my bench I'm going to be throwing a javelin.I expect to reach 6 miles, my arms are perfect for that sport also.

2rnam2h.jpg

Is this a joke?

If its not, I am totally confused by this post.

d'Oracle wrote: »
    Is this a joke?

Do you do science in school?

Was there a point to that Pm??
    All i could take from it was that your just a troll

Is this a joke?

You expect his posts to make sense?

Now I'M confused.

Do you do science in school?

Are you trying to insult me?

I do physics.Hang on a sec. My lever is shooting blanks atm, I cannot get the 6 miles I thought god said I would.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

If you've got wrists that are 7 " in circumference,you'll be bigger and stronger than somebody with 5" wrists..likewise somebody wityh a predisposition to muscularity is going to be able to build more muscle than somebody who's naturally skinny with long limbs.

Degsy wrote: »
    If you've got wrists that are 7 " in circumference,you'll be bigger and stronger than somebody with 5" wrists..likewise somebody wityh a predisposition to muscularity is going to be able to build more muscle than somebody who's naturally skinny with long limbs.
    Cant be true,

Genetic Potential is for pussies.

If you are thinking in terms of "I have reached my genetic potential"
    its time to retire from whatever sport you are a professional at.

Genetic Potential is for pussies.

If you are thinking in terms of "I have reached my genetic potential"
    its time to retire from whatever sport you are a professional at.
    My mind is rational.
    If you "feel" genetics don't matter,then forget about bio-mechanics and just keep squatting with your 7 foot frame.You'll hit 400kg in no time.
    I'm off back to the gym shortly.I'm doing gymnastics rings with my 7 foot long BODY.
    Njoy your saturday! I know I will :D
    soccer,
    boxing,
    ufc,
    boxing
    Wooohooooooooooo

CYA LATER !!!! GOING TRAINING

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Captain Furball - anymore rubbish and you will be banned for a week.