Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

REPS4 2009 Payment

• 06-11-2009 8:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭

anyone know when this is due.
    there was a big rigmarole to getting paid last year, anyone get any shillings yet.
    it's a hungry year to be waiting around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭fastrac

I spoke to Jerry Gunning of IFA head office about this a week ago and he said that the Dept had assured them it will be paid in December.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭DanFindy

Not all will be paid in December approx 70% will but the rest will have to wait till the new year, thats what was said at the reps conference during the week...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭locky76

DanFindy wrote: »
    Not all will be paid in December approx 70% will but the rest will have to wait till the new year, thats what was said at the reps conference during the week...

Thanks for that Dan.
    how often can i expect to be inspected.
    i had a preinspection and i'm in it since ~may 2008.
    i've a lot of things in my plan undone for the simple reason i don't have the money to do it.
    how do they expect the work to be done if they're not ponying up with the shillings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭adne

How is the participants split..... those whose hound them with phone calls and those that dont!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

locky76 wrote: »
    Thanks for that Dan.
    i've a lot of things in my plan undone for the simple reason i don't have the money to do it.
    how do they expect the work to be done if they're not ponying up with the shillings?

Surely you sat down with your planner & discussed the cash flow re work to done?

Even the dogs on the street knew last may that there wasn't going to be funding available to pay out on time.

adne wrote: »
    How is the participants split..... those whose hound them with phone calls and those that dont!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Thats unclear......but you could be right??

Thanks for that Dan.

Cant say in regards Limerick but its a 5% inspection rate in Donegal at the moment but by the number of audits im fixing at the moment i have a feeling that %age is rising.....
    I understand that moneys tight locky, the reality is if the department inspect and find you have not planted your trees or whatever you are liable for a penalty unfortunately.....

snowman707 wrote: »
    Surely you sat down with your planner & discussed the cash flow re work to done?

Even the dogs on the street knew last may that there wasn't going to be funding available to pay out on time.

Ease up there snowman, i hadn't planned on yearling cattle being back €200 a head when i was making out my cashflow a year and a half ago.
    Part time farmer and i'm sinking money into the farm, it's hard to justify to the missus spending 3 or 4k on broadleaf trees etc when there's nothing coming in.

Ease up there snowman, i hadn't planned on yearling cattle being back €200 a head when i was making out my cashflow a year and a half ago.
    Part time farmer and i'm sinking money into the farm, it's hard to justify to the missus spending 3 or 4k on broadleaf trees etc when there's nothing coming in.

Good god lad there not goin t cost you that ??? Quicks are only about 1.50 or 2e each if your short on your hedges etc the max you would have to plant is 120 (excluding an option) thats 240e whip a fence round em n away ya go!!!!

I spent €1500 on hedging and trees today in Sap nurseries in Cahir to comply with 50% of my Reps requirements.
    Any idea when the shillings are coming through this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭red bull

Its December any payments yet ?

Supposed to be a pay run next week in Donegal anyway whether that materialises or not i dont know !!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

Much to my relief, I got a letter on Friday telling me that I had been accepted into REPS 4. Hopefully I'll get my payment shortly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,215 ✭✭✭FX Meister

Had my reps 4 accepted last spring and still no money has come through. Still have a load of work to do by the end of this year but someone said to me to hold off until the budget in case reps is cut. Can they cut it and I not receive my payment even though I've been accepted? If I don't get paid in December how long will I have to wait next year until it comes through?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

if it gets cut in the budget there will be a lot of planners havin a very quiet christmas!!

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Planners are pure robbers no need for them to update reps4 plans if they did job right first time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭agcons

Plans are amended for many reasons, mostly in my experience due to changes on the farm and sometimes because the farmer was less than 100% forthcoming with information when the original plan was being prepared. Most agencies to my knowledge charge an annual fee so there should be no extra charge one way or the other for correcting planner errors. If a farmer is being charged for an amended plan required solely to correct planner errors then he/she should seriously consider changing planners and reporting the planner to the Agricultural Consultants Association. If the planner or his employer is not in the ACA then you are dealing with either a mikey mouse operator or someone who wasnt allowed into that association.

My planner is a member of ACA.
    My original plan cost 1350e. April 2008
    This year my planner reviewed my plan at a cost of 550e he said this needed to be dome or I would not get my payment in 2009. My information to him originally was 100%. Do you not think this is excessive ? My annual payment after 17%cut is less than 8000e. Got paid for few months of last year so far no payment for 2009. Had a lot of work to do to comply, spent over 10,000. Waiting in hope but bank manager does not believe in hope as you probably know. Never expected REPS4 as an income supplement but at least thought it would cover the costs of being an environement friendly farmer.

red bull wrote: »
    My planner is a member of ACA.
    My original plan cost 1350e. April 2008
    This year my planner reviewed my plan at a cost of 550e he said this needed to be dome or I would not get my payment in 2009. My information to him originally was 100%. Do you not think this is excessive ? My annual payment after 17%cut is less than 8000e. Got paid for few months of last year so far no payment for 2009. Had a lot of work to do to comply, spent over 10,000. Waiting in hope but bank manager does not believe in hope as you probably know. Never expected REPS4 as an income supplement but at least thought it would cover the costs of being an environement friendly farmer.

To answer your question about planner fees? from what you are receiving and what you were charged, it sounds way too expensive to me

I am with an indy planner who is literally fantastic. got me in for 5 years and 11 months in reps4 and pro rata to your figures seems to about 30 to 40% cheaper.

Next year my total outlay for reps will be 250 white thorn quicks and the planners annual fee of about €300.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,827 ✭✭✭✭road_high

red bull wrote: »
    Planners are pure robbers no need for them to update reps4 plans if they did job right first time

I think that is a generalising sweeping statement.
    If you have issues with your own planners charges and work detail, I think you should take it up with him. Ask what exactly is covered in that 550 euro, it does seem high though.

agcons wrote: »
    Plans are amended for many reasons, mostly in my experience due to changes on the farm and sometimes because the farmer was less than 100% forthcoming with information when the original plan was being prepared. Most agencies to my knowledge charge an annual fee so there should be no extra charge one way or the other for correcting planner errors. If a farmer is being charged for an amended plan required solely to correct planner errors then he/she should seriously consider changing planners and reporting the planner to the Agricultural Consultants Association. If the planner or his employer is not in the ACA then you are dealing with either a mikey mouse operator or someone who wasnt allowed into that association.

Yeah correct info there lad !

Redbull....gimme a break thats way too general a statement !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

To be honest, I feel that planners (my planner at least) base their fees by looking at what the farmer receives and then deciding what their cut should be. I can understand the cost of approx €1K ex vat at the start of a plan, but taking over €500 every year for what is essentially a form-filling exercise is IMO unjustified and excessive. In normal circumstances, there isn't an awful lot of work in submitting the annual application.

On a related topic, I see in this week's local rag that the minister has announced that REPS4 payments will issue from next Monday the 14th.

Latest news is it seems the 2008 REPS 4 applicants wont be paid until into 2010. All applications have to be checked against the 2009 SPS and that hasnt been finished yet.:( The 2009 applications that have been passed should be paid in the next few days:)

I was on to fds today they said payments were going out tonight. Didnt specify to year of application. Could do with payment applied 2008 lot of money spent to comply. Bad year need the money:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭razor8

my planner charged me €800 for setting up reps 4 and ive 82 acres. he now over over €550 for maintaining it this year and im sure he wants the same next year. i havent said anything yet as i thought it sounded high but wasnt sure what others charged

does anyone know what planners usually charge for setting up a young farmer for installation aid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭adne

razor8 wrote: »
    my planner charged me €800 for setting up reps 4 and ive 82 acres. he now over over €550 for maintaining it this year and im sure he wants the same next year. i havent said anything yet as i thought it sounded high but wasnt sure what others charged

does anyone know what planners usually charge for setting up a young farmer for installation aid?

I thought Installation Aid was gone

the Young Farmers Installation scheme was closed in Oct 2008. We used to charge 6-700 euros for it
    800 for an 82 acre farm sounds very cheap, 1150-1250 was the range we were in, the 550 annual fee is reasonable.
    Its a bit like the farmer selling a weanling for 550, you can look at it as handy money for 2 minutes in the sales ring or small money considering all the costs involved in getting to the ring.

Latest news is it seems the 2008 REPS 4 applicants wont be paid until into 2010. All applications have to be checked against the 2009 SPS and that hasnt been finished yet.:( The 2009 applications that have been passed should be paid in the next few days:)
    Spoke to an R I today , he said there will be a payment run on Fri evening, hoping to pay all the 2008 applicants except those still awaiting soil tests or with queries on their SPS applications. Also hope to be paying a large section of the 2009 applicants. Cash flow at last:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

the Young Farmers Installation scheme was closed in Oct 2008. We used to charge 6-700 euros for it
    800 for an 82 acre farm sounds very cheap, 1150-1250 was the range we were in, the 550 annual fee is reasonable.
    Its a bit like the farmer selling a weanling for 550, you can look at it as handy money for 2 minutes in the sales ring or small money considering all the costs involved in getting to the ring.

REPS 4 plan, done 2008, 81 acres = 730euro
    Fee for update last year = 0, planner said update was so small, the fee would be minimal. We agreed he would add a few quid to next years fee...

I was told that the charge for the REPS plan was based on the payment, usually being about 10%

Maybe the amount of work to be done on each REPS4 plan is very different? I don't run a very intensive operation, so maybe my plan was a lot easier than others... I dunno...

Installation aid scheme = 500 euros, to be paid when the aid is received. (I say when not 'if', dont be upsetting me now by coming back with 'ifs' people...) ;)

according to to-day's IFJ, payments are delayed 'cos of a glitch in the computer system, is this another way of saying there is sfa in the kitty?

snowman707 wrote: »
    according to to-day's IFJ, payments are delayed 'cos of a glitch in the computer system, is this another way of saying there is sfa in the kitty?

Make what u want of it, heard the same thing :(
    Computer glich............aaah come on t f**k there really running out of excuses now:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭fastrac

God I hope the Dept staff get their wages and will be able to have a lovely Christmas with this dodgy computer glitch thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Dirac98

Hello all, been looking at the forum for a few weeks and found it very imformative/interesting, anyway I spoke to Dept today and there was a REPS payment run last night. Said money will be in bank before Xmas. If you call them and give them your Reps number they checked to see if payment was made and the amount. Couldn't have been more helpful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Ms. Ka

hmm, talking to the AES section this week and they said they had made a run but are having huge problems with discrepencies between REPS plan and SFP form, if they dont match exactly then the payment is being held up.

Ms. Ka wrote: »
    hmm, talking to the AES section this week and they said they had made a run but are having huge problems with discrepencies between REPS plan and SFP form, if they dont match exactly then the payment is being held up.

that is what planners are are for, to make sure they do match up amongst other things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Ms. Ka

I dont think it is to do with the planners. DAFF have redigitised lots of land parcels since May 15th and this is where the problems are occuring.

When we signed up for reps 4 we were promised 75% payment in October with the further 25% in December.
    I think it would be a safe bet that the Social Welfare computers dont have glitch's. Its time our farming organisations got fair play for farmers in this difficult year:mad:

I dont think it is to do with the planners. DAFF have redigitised lots of land parcels since May 15th and this is where the problems are occuring.

ffs.. more red tape.

Exactly correct there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭networks

will we get paid b4 christmas for reps 4 or has anyone got paid ???

When I spoke to the reps payment section at the Dept of Ag last Friday a payment run had been done on the Thurs evening and was told it will be in my bank before xmas. Apparently it takes 3-5 days depending on which bank you are with. I'm with AIB and hoping to see it in there in the morning...but maybe I live in hope!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,171 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

spoke to dept today. told me my payment was at account stage next stage is payment said they hoped to have it done before xmas .

money there in the bank this mornin!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭networks

feck all in my a/c today,thanks 4 nothing dept of agriculture and a happy xmas to ye!!maybe in 2010,it'l be in a/c???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,171 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

money in account this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Cran

only got confirmation of approval yesterday, money in the account today. some system ! now need to start working on the plan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭wiilow74

networks wrote: »
    feck all in my a/c today,thanks 4 nothing dept of agriculture and a happy xmas to ye!!maybe in 2010,it'l be in a/c???

Know how you feel.It's stupid. I rang Reps dept this morning only to find out there's a soil query so no payment!!!!:( Then rang planner he said there's queries on ALOT of plans and they(planners) were told about it last week but not told how to fix it!!!Reps dept said it'll take 2 or 3 weeks to process payment once I return soil query within six weeks,so that means New Year
    maybe Febuary cos we all know how busy the dept of agri are!!!:mad: Happy Christmas to everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

both planner and reps inspector made mistakes on my application, planner had to much land and inspector had to little, bringing it over the 3% tolerance :eek:.have to wait till new year now, cause inspector wouldnt travel to sign off on corrected errors, due to poor road conditions, bad frost:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:
    farmer makes a mistake, its a world or red tape and paperwork. dept wakes a mistake its just one of those things:mad::mad::mad::mad:

Got letter money in bank. More than I expected.
    Happy Christmas n New Year to you my friends:D