Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mocks

• 06-11-2009 3:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭

Only 13 weeks until the mocks. Time will fly by between the mocks and the junior. Everyone ready? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭bluejay14

eh no and I don't think i will ever be.We have christmas tests that start on Monday and I'm nowhere near ready for them!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭CookieMonster.x

Dreading them! I said I'd study in September and made a timetable but I think I put too much and now I am really behind :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭GO'S

lads pres will be impossible...way harder than the actual junior cert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

GO'S wrote: »
    lads pres will be impossible...way harder than the actual junior cert

They aren't impossible... but they are harder then the actual Junior Cert.

it a metaphor really...no need to be all oxford don

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Evan93

What ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

You all need to chill out slightly, the mocks are more than likely going to be harder than the actual JC. The marking will vary depending on who corrects it, but in the JC It is marked relative to everyone else, i.e. there can only be a certain amount of each grade.

The maths mock last year was a nightmare compared to the actual J.C. and it shows, I went from barely scraping a C to getting a B in my JC and I had gotten an A in the christmas exam two months before my mock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Closed ac

Hmm, well I had pre-mocks before mid-term and I've started getting some results back this week. 4B's & 2A's so far, so I'm quite happy but will still work hard to bring some B's up to A's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭coldwood92

eh no and I don't think i will ever be.We have christmas tests that start on Monday and I'm nowhere near ready for them!:eek:

xmas tests in november?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

You often wont be fully prepared before the mocks nor do they expect you to be. Relax and whatever result you get you should improve on 1 or 2 grades depending on the amount of work you do. Good luck but remember they are marked hard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Steve Collins

We call them Pres instead of mocks here. In our school we have Pre Pres in November (they're the same as Christmas exams really, except a little earlier) and I just finished them today. I'd say I got really mixed results. But no one studies for these as much as they do for the actual pres or the JC, so I'm not too pushed.

But at the moment I'm not ready for the the actual pres, we have so much of the course left in Maths and History. I dunno how we're gonna finish it by February.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭knockane_ali09

finished my xmas test 2day !!
    i know what you mean i have a terrible history teache and she moves sooo slow i am never going to get the course finished !!

my pres start the 22 febuary when r yours??

We call them Pres instead of mocks here. In our school we have Pre Pres in November (they're the same as Christmas exams really, except a little earlier) and I just finished them today. I'd say I got really mixed results. But no one studies for these as much as they do for the actual pres or the JC, so I'm not too pushed.

But at the moment I'm not ready for the the actual pres, we have so much of the course left in Maths and History. I dunno how we're gonna finish it by February.

We have Pre's also, but we did then just before Halloween. Got my report card today & I'm quite happy with my results. :)

did you do well ??;)

3rd of February!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

what are you on about????
    You are making them out harder then they'll be. They are grand!

coldwood92 wrote: »
    xmas tests in november?
    Yeah finished them yesterday.I think we had them so early because they would be too close to the mocks to do them at the end of December.Already have 3 results back: English - B
    Science - A
    Irish - A

Feels so good to be feel, going to take a nice long rest now:D

1st of February :(:eek:They cost 130euro aswell!

Ours are only 115 euro? Ourteacher said they're the same as last year I think.

mine are 131 aswell its sooo expensive, maths business, english,irish are all double papers so they cost double the price of normal papers !!

did you do well ??;)

Yes, I did thanks. I'll be looking to try and bring a few B's up to A's though for the JC. :)

thats good... i get my results back next week i hope i do well !!;)

Ours are only 115 euro? Ourteacher said they're the same as last year I think.

Maybe you're not doing as many subjects?Are you doing 11(I think it's 11)Do ye have to do religion as compulsory?

my pres are split a week before and a week after the midterm which means no rest duribng that.They start on the 8th of feb and cost 110 euro which is dearer than jumior cert .i also have xmas tests on the 16th of december

my pres are split a week before and a week after the midterm which means no rest duribng that.They start on the 8th of feb and cost 110 euro which is dearer than jumior cert :o.i also have xmas tests on the 16th of december
    We did our Christmas testas tests last week, although they should have been called November tests rather then Christmas tests.Our mocks start on the 1st of February and last eiher 2 weeks or a week and a half so we'll be finished before the mid-term.Delighted I am:D!

thats good... i get my results back next week i hope i do well !!;)

Yeah, good luck! :D

Maybe you're not doing as many subjects?Are you doing 11(I think it's 11)Do ye have to do religion as compulsory?

I do 12, but everyone else is doing 11. Maybe I'm wrong but I could've sworn she said 115 :confused:

i only do 10 and mine are €131.. we got a form to fill out from our teachers with all the prices and what level we r doing and stuff like that... maybe your school are paying for some of the price???

we're doing 11 but ours cost 130euro (sorry still don't have a clue where the euro symbol is, I am so blind:D)All we got was a note saying that they were 130euro and when we had to have them paid by

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Groe

We've been told to aim to get around 60 percent in everything and we will be able to get an A or B if we keep working untill junior cert. If i didnt touch a book until the mocks I could pass everything but since I am studying every night I'll be fine so, yes I'm ready :P

well you're starting early enough aren't you?I'm taking a break because we've just finished our Christmas tests last week, so far I've got 2 B's and 3 A's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Steve Collins

Got my Pre Pre results in the post yesterday. I did kinda bad, 2 B's, 6 C's and 2 D's, they're all higher level. I know a C's an honour like, but I wish I got at least one A. And the results were more lss the same as my class mates, a lot of people failed so in that way I'm happy.

I gotta work really hard from now to June.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Gaeilge-go-deo

Got my Pre Pre results in the post yesterday. I did kinda bad, 2 B's, 6 C's and 2 D's, they're all higher level. I know a C's an honour like, but I wish I got at least one A. And the results were more lss the same as my class mates, a lot of people failed so in that way I'm happy.

pre pres? thats kinda a waste of money.. how much was it? :O

I think he just means like Christmas tests, well not "Christmas" tests but normal tests.

thats what our teachers call our Christmas too "pre pres" cause they are the biggest exam we will do before our pres

Are your normal class tests called pre pre pres?;):D:rolleyes:

So far in my Christmas tests I've got 6 A's and 2 B's, I think

We don't get Christmas tests, just the mocks :(

Are your normal class tests called pre pre pres?;):D:rolleyes:

So far in my Christmas tests I've got 6 A's and 2 B's, I think

Well done. :D

Don't worry about it, they aren't bad results at all. Remember, the teachers mark pre's really hard to encourage you to study more. :p

DKZ wrote: »
    Well done. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I thought the mocks themselves were prety similar to the JC, the marking was just stricter, same with the LC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

It varies a lot.

I got a B in my HL Irish mock and stopped working in Irish because I assumed I was set (I was never going to get more than a B in Irish!) but it turns out he had marked the exam really easily.........

Needless to say I got a C in the real thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭vladglenin

Fad wrote: »
    It varies a lot.

I got a B in my HL Irish mock and stopped working in Irish because I assumed I was set (I was never going to get more than a B in Irish!) but it turns out he had marked the exam really easily.........

Needless to say I got a C in the real thing.
    owl1.jpg

On a more serious note, Fad is completely correct. The mocks are not regulated at all, so they really are all over the shop.