Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCU in a Dangerous Area?

• 06-11-2009 12:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭

Never been here so i cant/am not judging.

Is there much scum around? Much crime in the area?

I know its on the Ballymun rd and Ballymun has been improved etc. but DCU is on the 'Northside' and i know the rep is never as bad as the reality, but what is it like?

Much chance of trouble, etc. on a night out?

Im what you could call a 'culchie' technically:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭douglashyde

well considering if your going on a night out in dublin city, you will more than likely be on the south side...

As for DCU, well it is on the ballymun road, the ballymun road is mostly in glasnevin.

Ballymun however is a complete kip, which has been decorated very nicely. While most areas have good and bad parts, all of ballymun is bad. However the good news is that, the scum seem to stay in ballymun and dont venture near DCU.

Infact growing up in Drumcondra and currently attending DCU , I would say DIT and Trinity would be in more dangerous areas, the only nicer area being UCD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Piriz

think i'd agree with most of what Douglashyde said...
    i don't think Ballymun is as bad as its reputation, i mean you could walk through the place in relative safety...late at night might not be as safe..i dunno....but you will never need to if you don't live there..
    DCU is relatively well located..the surrounding areas are quite 'normal' (besides 'da mun'), i'd imagine renting in the locality would be reasonably priced in comparison to the UCD locality and the public transport is decent..town ain't too far either..
    Anyway i write to say do not be intimidated by the Northside, it has a bad reputation at times but its mostly bull**** and often its' 'bad rep' is the opinion of some Non-northsider prejudice ****e-bag who in my opinion is not welcome here. In summary the Southside has far more prestigious areas than the Northside and South city center is better too however besides these both sides are much the same. Most Northsiders are proud to be Northsiders and as a result are upstanding participants in the city both North & Southside..there are plenty of "Culchies" living here too, city life will be good for ya, embrace it, hope you get to DCU or wherever ya aim for..

Regarding trouble on nights out... i go to town every weekend almost and have done for years, i rarely witness any trouble, im not saying it dosn't happen but i've lived in Carlow town for a year and seen more fighting there than i have done in all my time in Dublin...nothing to worry about in my opinion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Cy_Revenant

I lived in Ballymun for a year, never had any trouble.

I'm not denying that "scum" resides therein, I'm just recounting my personal experience. I wandered around at night too.

Worst that happened to me in Ballymun was that some guy tried to punch me off my bike while I was cycling through one time.

To be perfectly honest, I've had more trouble on the mean streets of Cavan than I've had in Ballymun. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

People exaggerate how bad Ballymun is, I worked their for a year in musgraves right beside the flats and cycled home from their at night and never had any problems. The only area near DCU I'd be worried about is Finglas (again its a generalisation because there are good/bad parts), which unless you live there you wont need to go through to go to DCU.

Yes it's a kip, yes there is scum there but in my own experience they're more interested in taking drugs and riding those little dirt bikes and horses about the place than randomly attacking people...you'd really just need to be in the wrong place at the wrong time, which can go for anywhere in this city.

I've lived on the northside my whole life and funnily enough I've only ever been attacked once in my entire life, on the southside.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

DCU is fine, Trinity and DIT are in worse areas. It's mostly students about the place anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭stainluss

thanks for the info lad(ie)s
    looking forward to the open day this month il check it out then:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭stringy

stainluss wrote: »
    Never been here so i cant/am not judging.

Is there much scum around? Much crime in the area?

I know its on the Ballymun rd and Ballymun has been improved etc. but DCU is on the 'Northside' and i know the rep is never as bad as the reality, but what is it like?

Much chance of trouble, etc. on a night out?

I actually cannot believe this is a serious question, how sheltered a life you must have lived to think the "northside" is bad/dangerous, or that the "scum" of Ballymun will be waiting to get you. Both sides of the city equally have their problems, so your concern should really be about Dublin city as a whole.

As for DCU, you're as safe as you are in any other campus or university/college area.

You should have no concerns whatsoever about location, rural towns at 2am on a weekend night no doubt attract more trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Shea O'Meara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Somnus

DCU is grand. No need to worry about it being dangerous. Ballymun is up the road but as was said there's not too many knackers around DCU.

That said my mate got hopped on last night going through a lane across the road from DCU. But don't worry, DCU is a nice place, great relaxed atmosphere too I thought, especially in first year.

Hope you enjoy it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

DCU and the surrounding area is fine. Going way off to Ballymun or West Finglas is a bit dodgy but you're rarely, if ever, going to need to go into those area's. The Ballymun road (even when you actually go into Ballymun) is fine. It's just a main street like most other suburbs.

stringy wrote: »
    I actually cannot believe this is a serious question, how sheltered a life you must have lived to think the "northside" is bad/dangerous, or that the "scum" of Ballymun will be waiting to get you.
    lol

It was a general wonderment, i do not think anyone is 'waiting' for me in Ballymun.

[rant]
    Sheltered life?I grew up in a part of London that makes the most dangerous place in Dublin look like Beverley Hills, and i wouldnt get angry when someone from outside London asked about it, because it was as bad as its reputation.(I have only been living in the 'bog' for 3 years, but proud to be a 'culchie' now:P)

Dublin is well and truly nothing special. Don't worry 'Stringy', i already knew that. I am just going there for college;)

[/rant]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Noodleworm

I expected far worse when I moved up. Admitedly I don't roam much further than across the road in the dark but the college is mostly surrounded by pretty little houses where mostly old people seem to live. worst ive had is some 14 year olds trying to sell me drugs when I was sitting outside the helix, I just laughed at them.
    Id say your in far more danger in the city center. DCU is pretty much in suburbia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

(I have only been living in the 'bog' for 3 years, but proud to be a 'culchie' now:P)

Three years?
    Pfffft, the locals call you a "blow-in" behind your back. ;)
    If your family doesn't go back three generations in that village then you are a blow-in

Ballymun is infamous even to people who have never been in Dublin. So it is a serious question. And if I moved to Cork I'd be in that forum asking the same questions as the OP and looking for info.

But as said Ballymun Road where DCU is, is in Glasnevin.

Lots of good places to rent, ask the Students union and they'll know the local areas.
    I know Artane, it's only 10-15 minutes on a bicycle so that's an ok area but you might find somewhere closer.

Only a wannabe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

This has got to be the funniest thread i have the pleasure of being in for a while. DCU is not in a dangerous area. The op leads a sheltered life so I will give you some general dublin advice.

Ballymun road is 3 miles long. the DCU end is at the bottom or top third so 1-2 miles from "Ballymun"

In faireness all of dublins suburbs is a no go area for culchies.

Dont sit upstairs on a bus.

Dont sit in the back of a taxi on your own(Driver watches you as being suspect)

Dont use any Dublin park at night. Night occurs a 4 in the winter! Unless you would like the George michael experience.

Join Sinn Fein. They are very active in DCU!

Rest in the knowledge that if your a bloke there is more ladies in DCU than gents! to boot a lot are nurses!

Stay out of ballymun! Because ballymun does not want you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Cy_Revenant

Dont sit upstairs on a bus.

Dont sit in the back of a taxi on your own(Driver watches you as being suspect)

What?

I've heard the bus one before, but I tend to sit upstairs all the time. Never had a problem.

Why shouldn't I sit in the back of a Taxi? :/

And you can't be serious about that Sinn Féin nonsense?

I thought the same thing, not sure though!:confused:

http://www.redbrick.dcu.ie/~sinnfein/
    feckin eejits:P:rolleyes:

I thought the same thing, not sure though!:confused:

http://www.redbrick.dcu.ie/~sinnfein/
    feckin eejits:P:rolleyes:

This is why this thread is such a childish and stupid thread willing to believe what you hear on the grapevine but are very critical of what is not understood. If i was told about this subject by a third party I would accuse you of being a fackin idiot. Would I have been fair! No. As the other chap points out the rumour about upstairs exists but is hardly likely to happen.

We can all sit in a shell and live our life sheltered. Yes we will be safe but we will have nothing! Or we can get up explore the world and take some precautions. For example there is not many parts of the country I would want to be in at night! Including Trinity college!

All this thread has become is an attack on ballymun and yes I agree there is a massive amount of scumbags going around it but "Unsafe" just google DCU and ballymun, bet you wont find many bad news story!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,235 ✭✭✭lucernarian

This is why this thread is such a childish and stupid thread willing to believe what you hear on the grapevine but are very critical of what is not understood. If i was told about this subject by a third party I would accuse you of being a fackin idiot. Would I have been fair! No. As the other chap points out the rumour about upstairs exists but is hardly likely to happen.

We can all sit in a shell and live our life sheltered. Yes we will be safe but we will have nothing! Or we can get up explore the world and take some precautions. For example there is not many parts of the country I would want to be in at night! Including Trinity college!

All this thread has become is an attack on ballymun and yes I agree there is a massive amount of scumbags going around it but "Unsafe" just google DCU and ballymun, bet you wont find many bad news story!
    You're not able to access TCD for most of the night, so your concept of feeling unsafe in it is an interesting one:D

I feel quite safe around DCU. But I'm not going to convince people one way or another with opinions. So I just stated my own experiences.

There is certainly nothing wrong with someone asking a question and trying to cure their ignorance. The question may be based upon a bit of a stereotype but that couldn't be helped. Hopefully the OP has a better idea now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Noxin

DCU is not fine. I live across the road (Collins Ave side) and I will be waiting for you all. Muwhahahahaha. :eek:

It's perfectly fine. Random events can and will happen but that's the same as everywhere! It's not preyed upon by "scum" at all.

Living at the door of Ballymun for 20 years and attending DCU 4 years, I can tell you now that Ballymun is one of the worst areas in Dublin, if you wander into the heart of Ballymun(flat land) you have a very good chance of getting "started on". This was the last mention of Ballymun in the news:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/1028/ballymun.html dated 28/10/09

DCU however is far enough away from Ballymun not to be affected, however you do get the odd overflow of scum.

No offence to the honest people living in Ballymun, I have family living there! and my Dad grew up in Ballymun forest an area beside Dublin Airport.

Not to drag on, but my advice to students thinking of going to DCU is " Don’t rent in Ballymun PERIOD " rent in Glasnevin, Whitehall, Drumcondra and DCU campus! After all, in these recessionary times, rent is not exactly expensive.

I have just worked the perfect solution...... Cancel your admission to DCU and go to UCD instead.....

No, stay in DCU, the greatest college in Ireland and stay a far far distance from Ballymun, one of the worst areas of Ireland...

And Joey, you are right, not going into Ballymun is living part of your life sheltered. Nothing wrong with being sheltered from certain things.

No, stay in DCU, the greatest college in Ireland and stay a far far distance from Ballymun, one of the worst areas of Ireland...

And Joey, you are right, not going into Ballymun is living part of your life sheltered. Nothing wrong with being sheltered from certain things.

Your too stubborn to realise why your comments are offensive and prob childish. I honestly dont believe you have family in ballymun. But to be fair to you I thought your quoted article was interesting and terriable.

The title of the article was is DCU in a dangerous area. The answer is prob yes. You are more likely to be judged by your apperence than your actual ability.

This is why brendan brady never achieved anything in politics. He always though he was the working class hero but knows nothing about ballymun.

To the op. You will be fine. I would not rent in ballymun either reasons being they dont rent to students. There is a large student complex on santry avenue which by the way is in ballymun but if you leave early for college you can do a five mile round trip and experience Omni/White hall and collins avenue on your way in.

Say hello to the nurses for me. Its the very reason i went to DCU.... Enjoy

Your too stubborn to realise why your comments are offensive and prob childish. I honestly dont believe you have family in ballymun. But to be fair to you I thought your quoted article was interesting and terriable.

The title of the article was is DCU in a dangerous area. The answer is prob yes. You are more likely to be judged by your apperence than your actual ability.

This is why brendan brady never achieved anything in politics. He always though he was the working class hero but knows nothing about ballymun.

To the op. You will be fine. I would not rent in ballymun either reasons being they dont rent to students. There is a large student complex on santry avenue which by the way is in ballymun but if you leave early for college you can do a five mile round trip and experience Omni/White hall and collins avenue on your way in.

Say hello to the nurses for me. Its the very reason i went to DCU.... Enjoy

Shangan Hall, is an apartment complex that rents to students for a very affordable price and by-God stay away from it.

Also if you do choose to live in Ballymun, it is very much advisable to get to know as many nurses as you can, especially those trained in treating stab wounds.

Opps, how stubborn of me….

No attack is meant against Ballymun here, rather it is an attack on some of the filth that live there.

I have a friend, who makes an obviously silly, but still, interesting statement;

“I would rather live homeless in somewhere like Blackrock than rent in Ballymun”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Shiny

Lived in the middle of Ballymun for 2 years in a place known
    locally as the fish tank. Basically behind the Travel Lodge hotel.

In those 2 years there was fighting, cars burning, stabbings, horse
    riding, annoyingly loud bike riding etc outside but not once did anything
    every happen to me or my flat.

To be honest I found it entertaining to live there. There was ALWAYS
    something going on. We refereed to it as Ballymun TV. ;)

As long as you use common sense you will be fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

One day I'm going to get up the courage to leave my Mammy's house and venture outside my lovely bubble to see the real world.

You'll have to excuse me now as I need to logoff the computer I stole from a student, have a quick ride of his girlfriend who'se still chained up behind me and then pop out to buy some little baby kittens from Wicklow to eat alive for dinner.

Now where did I put that Uzi 9mm, ah, there it is, beside my copy of An Phoblacht and NWA cd's, silly me, I'm always misplacing it after a drive-by shooting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Mad_Max

Shiny wrote: »

Good job DCU isn't there then!!

Shiny wrote: »

In those 2 years there was fighting, cars burning, stabbings, horse
    riding, annoyingly loud bike riding etc outside but not once did anything
    every happen to me or my flat.

To be honest I found it entertaining to live there. There was ALWAYS
    something going on. We refereed to it as Ballymun TV. ;)

As long as you use common sense you will be fine.

The travel lodge hotel is at santry cross. Funny that one. Its hardly te middle of ballymun.

I am clearly a Dub have been all over the place. The comments are so generalised on this thread that you could not have family living in ballymun or work and visit there.

The OP knows what to do.... Try being homeless in blackrock...:rolleyes:

Your right there, this thread is becoming far to generalised.

I suppose one point everyone here can agree on is that, DCU is a brilliant college and it is NOT located in a dangerous area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

The travel lodge hotel is at santry cross. Funny that one. Its hardly te middle of ballymun.

It's not at "Ballymun Cross", it is slap bang in the middle of Ballymun.

http://maps.google.com/maps?source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=santry+cross&sll=53.396119,-6.264696&sspn=0.004248,0.010493&ie=UTF8&split=1&filter=0&rq=1&ev=zo&radius=0.22&hq=santry+cross&hnear=&ll=53.396579,-6.263827&spn=0.004248,0.010493&t=h&z=17

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Sounds like you might be thinking of the Days Hotel Dublin Airport, which is at Santry Cross. Still it's just at the top of the main road in Ballymun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Verbal_Kint

Beware... do not leave the farm... they can smell us coming. young burds rob the cigarettes, young lads threaten us with screwdrivers we dont see, ould ones overcharge us and the little ****s throw rocks. its like being in iraq you dont know whether the locals will just stare or go on the attack. blend in and get addidas gear head to foot, smoke dangling from the corner of your mouth, walk like someone did a mischief to your most private area and most importantly snarl at everyone or they will know you were foolish enough to leave the farm. living the quiet life with peggy may is much safer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Shiny

I should have clarified my point.

None of that stuff ever happens in DCU and security run the scumbags
    off campus regularly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 PixyChick

Well referring back to the OP I have to say as a first year (woman) I have found intimidated at times. I did have reason to ring security once, and they were fantastic.

I have noticed a lot of local kids around the college grounds at night, surely the campus should be gated off at night?

PixyChick wrote: »
    Well referring back to the OP I have to say as a first year (woman) I have found intimidated at times. I did have reason to ring security once, and they were fantastic.

I have noticed a lot of local kids around the college grounds at night, surely the campus should be gated off at night?

You cant gate the campus for the simple reason that there are people coming and going all night for legitimate reasons.

But even ring DCU security on your mobile if in doubt.

However, no DCU student should have reason to worry as long as they are on campus or even the close surrounding area.

Just stay the hell away from ballymun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭tullie

look, DCU is a fantastic college, and sure in my time there I was aware of some not so nice 'events' that happened there.

But that's life, sure Ballymum has an awful rep but so do loads of places.

If DCU has the course for you go for it - keep your wits about you where ever you go, trouble isn't solely located in areas with bad reputations.

Ballymun,ballymun,ballymun,ballymun,ballymun,ballymun,ballymun,ballymun,ballymun,ballymun,ballymun,ballymun,ballymun,ballymun,ballymun,ballymun,ballymun,ballymun,ballymun Jesus this is more about ballymun then DCU. This has to be illegal under the discrimation standards.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

Thank you all for your comments, I think this thread has now run it's course.