Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Panel

• 05-11-2009 10:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭

McWilliams presenting, giving Murphy, Maxwell and Delamere the chance to mess.

Thoughts so far?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Harpy

just turned it on a few minutes ago.. I'm enjoying it so far, mcwilliams seems to be enjoying himself..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Harpy

they're taking the piss out of him nicely now..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 willywonty

is it just me or is dave mcwilliams the boring bloke interrupting a funny story all the time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Still the ugly brother of Have I Got News for You.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭currythis

decent enough compared to most things on RTE lately,I'd be a lot happier if Neil Delamere wasn't on the panel,how that un-funny little gob****e get's on the telly is truely beyond me..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭jordata

Anyone know wtf mc williams said about miriam o callaghan? surely if he wants to apologise The Panel is not the place?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Aldito

Shockingly bad...

Anyone see the ad for it, I thought that was a piss take, didn't actually think it would be like that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 willywonty

something along the lines that she was trying to seduce him in an interview. he wishes. so do i:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

I had a great laugh at them taking the piss out of mcwilliams (longest apology I ever heard :D), that psychic is some tosser though, biggest douche in the universe by far. I've had a few laugh out loud moments so here's hoping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

Andrew Maxwells "Kids should be praised not scored.......someone shoulda told the priests!!!!" is the funniest thing so far imo! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

It's ok so far, nothing so get excited about. Yer man McWillams is fairly up himself though. Delamere simply isn't funny, neither is the girl, Jenny I think she's called. But we'll stick it out.

omahaid wrote: »
    I had a great laugh at them taking the piss out of mcwilliams (longest apology I ever heard :D), that psychic is some tosser though, biggest douche in the universe by far. I've had a few laugh out loud moments so here's hoping.

Haha what a creepy greaseball...

That was a great episode in fairness

Mc Williams thinks he is on Prime Time or something. SHUT UP and GET OFF,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,563 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Just a confused show these days. Doesn't know if it wants to be serious or a comedy and ends up falling between both stools.

Gilmore is the must unfunny person I have ever seen. I would prefer if they wheeled out a corpse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭boardsdotie

they are ruining the panel ffs

Yer one is as funny as gilmore, this is killing my buzz man :D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

they are ruining the panel ffs

It's been ruined for a long time now, to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

Lets not forget now the inspiration for this show, HIGNFY was largely based around politics also, they proved that approach can be funny. It's all to do with the jokes. These jokes aren't well written, those across the water were for the most part. All down to the participants.

Tuned in. Totally bored until Gilmore was asked has he ever sniffed a marker.

"No."

haha

I'd be up for putting Maxwell on prime time though, he seems more relevant than gilmore and davey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭bluefinger

Jesus, Maxwell don't talk about what you know nothing about. Stick to the unfunny obnoxious monkey routine.

Lol maxwell is making a fool of himself. Just shut up you clueless moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭gleep

Liking Maxwell here lads, anyone else? Give him Tubridy's job!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭TheRealist

Just turned in on 15 mins ago, what a fúcking disaster... Yer man McWilliams has to go, it's indistinguishable from Questions and Answers.

Waste of time without Dara 0'Briain presenting IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Gingervitis

Getting very Prime Time-y...
    Still, for what it's worth, it's not often you see these questions put to politicians

gleep wrote: »
    Liking Maxwell here lads, anyone else? Give him Tubridy's job!!

Are you serious? He hasn't an iota.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭el diablo

currythis wrote: »
    I'd be a lot happier if Neil Delamere wasn't on the panel,how that un-funny little gob****e get's on the telly is truely beyond me..
    I agree. That Delamare bloke is very unfunny and obviously not too bright either. He doesn't have a clue what their talking about now...

"Have you ever sniffed a marker?":rolleyes:

Why do the audience laugh at everything he says?

Orange pilled.

Such an odd show. McWilliams and Gilmore being all serious interspersed with Maxwell's mad monkey boy routines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭emee

they moved the show from rte 2 to rte 1 which is why they have mc williams presenting... trying to raise the tone of the show apparently.

was at the filming of it last night and can honestly say he didn't say one funny thing all night he just keeps blabbering on with the same crap he's gone on about in all his previous shows. based on that i'd say we can look forward to a full series of him talking about the economy as if we don't hear enough of it already...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

Liking Maxwell here lads, anyone else?

No! Maxwell thinks raising your voice a lot makes you funny! When Dara left they should of killed the show.

audience sound delighted its over - can't blaame them

el diablo wrote: »
    I agree. That Delamare bloke is very unfunny and obviously not too bright either. He doesn't have a clue what their talking about now...

"Have you ever sniffed a marker?":rolleyes:

Why do the audience laugh at everything he says?

The funny part was Gilmore's reaction tbh. Answering as though it was a serious question.

Overall verdict: Not wildly impressed, could do better (as my own report card from the Christian brothers used to say), second half was dire but 1st was ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

I'm all for Colin Murphy as host, he seemed the best of a bad lot last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭bluefinger

I'd say gilmore's probably regretting going on it now. It was a bit of shambles. There are no stupid question but there's a lot of inquisitive idiots.

Such an odd show. McWilliams and Gilmore being all serious interspersed with Maxwell's mad monkey boy routines.

Exactly what I was thinking. What a load of rubbish. He acts like a retard then asks Gilmore questions he thinks will get loads of applause and wants to be taken seriously.

Mairead must have said at least 8 words in that episode.

Shalln't be watching this again anyway...

zuutroy wrote: »
    Are you serious? He hasn't an iota.

And doea Tubridy? At leat Maxwell got to grips with a politician and didn't let him off the hook. He forced an answer, fair play.

emee wrote: »
    they moved the show from rte 2 to rte 1 which is why they have mc williams presenting... trying to raise the tone of the show apparently.

was at the filming of it last night and can honestly say he didn't say one funny thing all night he just keeps blabbering on with the same crap he's gone on about in all his previous shows. based on that i'd say we can look forward to a full series of him talking about the economy as if we don't hear enough of it already...

See your first problem there was going to the Panel and actually expecting it to be funny...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Cecil Mor

Shockin!!

Koloman wrote: »
    When Dara left they should of killed the show.

Oh ffs, OMG Dara left, lets turn off RTE :mad: No, they should keep trying to do something good, plenty talent in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Nate--IRL--

I think the show needs Jason Byrne to save it.

Nate

And doea Tubridy? At leat Maxwell got to grips with a politician and didn't let him off the hook. He forced an answer, fair play.

Unfortunately his question was rooted in the fact that helacks any comprehension of the issues being discussed. He reminded me of Rainman, was waiting for him to start hitting himself.

A show like the panel just has to be comedians taking the piss out of the week's news with the odd guest here and there. The tone of the show is all over the place. The comedians look bored when McWilliams and Gilmore are talking and the when the comedians are messing about McWilliams looks lost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭The Express

was it just me or did Andrew Maxwell's fringe resemble the NIKE 'Swoosh' Logo?

A show like the panel just has to be comedians taking the piss out of the week's news with the odd guest here and there. The tone of the show is all over the place. The comedians look bored when McWilliams and Gilmore are talking and the when the comedians are messing about McWilliams looks lost.

Agree 100%, first half was funny second half was serious, all over the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Flicking in between this and V.

I think it is an improvement not sure if it will save it. I thought McWilliams was good, but a little too much about his book.

zuutroy wrote: »
    Unfortunately his question was rooted in the fact that helacks any comprehension of the issues being discussed. He reminded me of Rainman, was waiting for him to start hitting himself.

Ok, so he may not be an economist, but what he did was stop Gilmore spouting off as politicians love to do. He made Gilmore shorten his monologue to two lines, in which he basically said all that had to be said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,352 ✭✭✭Ardent

Caught the first 10 mins of this before I switched over. Thought it was car crash stuff - painfully strained humour and McWilliams laughing way too hard at everything. Ugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Enjoyed the first half . . Although McWilliams looked and sounded like a fish in space . .

Not a usual Panel watcher , but actually enjoyed the second half aswell . .

I would say that Gilemore is sick he went on the show. He looked vunerable as he didnt expect the questions he got.

He admitted he cant change NAMA if he gets elected . . Thats actually a very big admittance to make and quite damaging if the papers want to have a go at labour.