Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Network Change, review

• 04-11-2009 4:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

Okay, I've had a bit of time on the new network and said I'd throw up a bit of a review and comparison with ipoker.
    The main reason I'm doing it is because I got a few PMs asking for information about the new site. The other reason is because when I went to find out about the network I couldn't find a thing except the standard run of the mill reviews... no detail.

Reasons for move:
    Main reason for move was the amount of decent regs at the low levels. There's plenty fish on ipoker too, but finding them isn't that easy. And almost all tables have a few regs on them. This means you're fighting each other as well constantly.
    If you don't fight back you get bullied by them..... and if you do fight back you end up in a very aggressive high variance type of game.
    I know I could probably beat them in the long run, if I focused and improved my discipline, but why put yourself through the pain if there are other options.

My first step is the poker network ongame. I chose this as the deal was good and I've heard the players are pretty fishy at ss levels.

Here's what I think so far.

Software:
    I've never played any networks other than ipoker / pokerstars / full tilt (and tribeca back in the golden age of poker), so wasn't sure what to expect. I know everyone has been giving out about the ipoker software so I thought it would be better.

Alas, no. The software is horrible. It's horrendously slow. Multi-tabling is a huge chore. So far the max tables I've played with is 4.... and that is tricky enough. I would not want to play more than that tbh.
    BTW, I can easily, if not that profitably :rolleyes:, play 9 tables on ipoker... more on pokerstars.

Tables
    The tables themselves are okay, just turn off the fancy figures etc. I still haven't found a good layout for my HEM/HUD though... need to do some research on that.
    They are slow though, even clicking a button takes a few seconds to react. This "might" have something to do with the update that's going in at the moment, or may just be some interaction problem with my PC. If that is the case, and others are not finding things that slow, please let me know.

The cash tables are 5 seater (10 seater as well, but I haven't played FR online in about 4 years) which I have never played before. I'm still not sure if I like them are not, but so far it's been working well for me.

Waiting lists
    There are none. :eek:
    This is just a complete shocker.... you can't put your name down for a table. You have to wait for a seat and grab it before someone else does. What this means is that I just don't table select at all. There is a function at the front where you just select your no. of players and limit and click play. Never thought I'd use it but I am.

Buddy List
    Again, there is none. :rolleyes:
    This is pissing me off at the moment, because there are LOADS of players I've already marked, but no real way to find them. I'm going to have to start using some other software to do it. Can HEM be used easily for this?

Connection
    I did have problems with connectivity on ipoker. Nothing more annoying that having 9 tables open and layed out nicely only for a stupid disconnect message to pop up and all your tables disappear.... table selection starts all over again :mad:

I have not yet had any connectivity problem on ongame, although I couldnt get into any games for a while yesterday. Seeming they are doing an upgrade at the minute. Not sure what it will be like long-term.

Cash Games
    The games are just brilliant. I am possible running exceptionally well, but either way, they are soft. Even the regs aren't great. I've only met a few players that I've marked as dangerous.
    I played a few hands at different levels to have a look. 50NL, 100NL 200NL and 400NL.
    At first I couldn't believe what was happening on the 200NL level. Players seemed worse than 50NL on ipoker. But I sat down anther day and it was a different story. I still think its pretty much a fishfest, but I will stick it out with 100NL. The 400NL was a tough enough game all right.

I have only played 2200* hands of 100NL so far, so it's still a very small sample size, and maybe I have just been getting lucky with the tables I land on.... but in general they are pretty good.

*I will be playing far less hands than on iPoker. I will not be multi-tabling more than 4 tables. Mainly because the software is too horrible to consider more, but also because I have moved up to 100NL from 50NL.

Tournaments
    I'm afraid I can't review the tournaments and I haven't played one, and have no intention of playing one.

Support
    The support is pretty good (I'm with HeyPoker). There is a live support via msn, although it is not online all that much. They do seem to be pretty prompt with the email support.

Deposits/Withdrawals
    I always deposit/wiithdraw with my visa card so I'm not sure if these issues exist with neteller or moneybookers.
    When I first joined the maximum I could deposit was $250.... so that's what I did.
    I then sent off my details (photocopy of passport/visa/utility bill etc) in order to up my deposit amount. I upped it to $5k.

I then went to deposit $2k* and to my surprise it wouldn't let me. I contacted support and they gave me the brutal truth, you cant deposit more than $250 at one time. So I have to do 8 deposits to get my $2k in there :eek:. Absolutely ridiculous :rolleyes:

*I know it's only 20 BIs, but it's not a life roll for me. I have no issue with a downswing.

My experience so far
    My stats for ipoker were a pretty standard 21/17/3.

In ongame that has drastically changed. It has gone up to 31.9/26.7/3.96
    For now I am going to presume there are two reason for this.
    1) 5 handed... this obviously means you will be in more hands. Not sure what the standard should be though.
    2) Aggression factor. Because the rest of the players are not as aggressive, I have upped my aggression.

I have also gone from very low bb/100 to 33.70 bb/100 :eek:. Again, there are probably a number of factors to that:
    1) New to the games. I have a habit of doing well after a change, like most poker players I think.
    2) Softer games.
    3) Running relatively well over a small sample size.

Well, I hope this information helps a few of ye guys that were asking about it. Let me know if you want any other information.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭TommyGunne

If you have HEM, you can analyse the network as a whole pretty easily, and pinpoint exactly what is different in standards of play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

TommyGunne wrote: »
    If you have HEM, you can analyse the network as a whole pretty easily, and pinpoint exactly what is different in standards of play.

Seriously? how do I go about doing that?

I really must learn a bit more about the software. All I currently use it for is HUD while playing and Analysing players (including my own) after the matter.

Another point of note for the review is that majority of the hands I played were prior to 6pm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭TommyGunne

Players tab, run report on all players, filtering by network, and you can view summary statistics for each statistic by clicking on each heading. Note the standard deviation though.

I doubt you have enough hands on OnGame to do this properly, but it might (but probably not) throw up something of interest. It will almost definitely show it to be more aggressive, so I'd suggest filtering the site that runs 6max games to include only 2 to 5 players, or if you've a big enough sample, only 5 players on each site.

For example, for the hands I have of iPoker constrained to 6 players (which is not very many,) 100NL has almost exactly identical VPIP stats, but a % lower PFR to Entraction. I haven't enough of a sample size to accurately compare though, and SDs are huge, so with my small sample it means nothing really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭Mullicker

I've tried propping on a small network called Melita Gaming Network with TrueMoneyGames. I have 100% rb as long as i start new tables whenever a table is full(there are a couple of other rules to follow). The software is actually one of the best out there after stars and full tilt. I made about €2000 including rakeback on the site in the last two months, but the fish have dried up a little. I've decided to withdraw my money as propping just isn't for me at the moment, but i would fully recommend it and particularly the site i played on. If you don't mind playing shorthanded and starting new tables this could be very +EV move for anyone.

Heres a few example hands to show the type of play.

No-Limit Hold'em, $1.00 BB (4 handed) - Hold'em Manager Converter Tool from FlopTurnRiver.com

SB ($125.25)
    Hero (BB) ($111.50)
    UTG ($101.15)
    Button ($98.50)

Preflop: Hero is BB with Kspade.gif, Kclub.gif
    1 fold, Button bets $4, SB calls $3.50, Hero raises $15, 1 fold, SB calls $12

Flop: ($36) 4diamond.gif, 2diamond.gif, 10spade.gif(2 players)
    SB checks, Hero bets $25, SB calls $25

Turn: ($86) Qspade.gif(2 players)
    SB checks, Hero bets $70.50 (All-In), SB calls $70.50

River: ($227) 2heart.gif(2 players, 1 all-in)

Total pot: $227

Results:
    SB had 10club.gif, 9spade.gif (two pair, tens and twos).
    Hero had Kspade.gif, Kclub.gif (two pair, Kings and twos).
    Outcome: Hero won $225

No-Limit Hold'em, $1.00 BB (5 handed) - Hold'em Manager Converter Tool from FlopTurnRiver.com

SB ($119.70)
    Hero (BB) ($102.50)
    UTG ($100)
    MP ($170.50)
    Button ($135.40)

Preflop: Hero is BB with Jspade.gif, Jclub.gif
    3 folds, SB bets $3.50, Hero raises $11, SB raises $21, Hero calls $13

Flop: ($50) Qheart.gif, 3heart.gif, Jdiamond.gif(2 players)
    SB checks, Hero bets $30, SB raises $94.70 (All-In), Hero calls $47.50 (All-In)

Turn: ($205) Aclub.gif(2 players, 2 all-in)

River: ($205) 3diamond.gif(2 players, 2 all-in)

Total pot: $205

Results:
    SB had Aspade.gif, 3club.gif (full house, threes over Aces).
    Hero had Jspade.gif, Jclub.gif (full house, Jacks over threes).
    Outcome: Hero won $202

same villain as in previous hand. He is ultra aggressive, the crazy kind.

No-Limit Hold'em, $1.00 BB (4 handed) - Hold'em Manager Converter Tool from FlopTurnRiver.com

SB ($150.30)
    BB ($162)
    UTG ($102.50)
    Hero (Button) ($205.90)

Preflop: Hero is Button with Qspade.gif, Aclub.gif
    UTG bets $4, Hero raises $13.50, 2 folds, UTG raises $23, Hero raises $192.40 (All-In), UTG calls $75.50 (All-In)

Flop: ($206.50) 2spade.gif, 7club.gif, 3diamond.gif(2 players, 2 all-in)

Turn: ($206.50) 2club.gif(2 players, 2 all-in)

River: ($206.50) 8club.gif(2 players, 2 all-in)

Total pot: $206.50

Results:
    Hero had Qspade.gif, Aclub.gif (one pair, twos).
    UTG had 5diamond.gif, 5heart.gif (two pair, fives and twos).
    Outcome: UTG won $204.50

No-Limit Hold'em, $1.00 BB (5 handed) - Hold'em Manager Converter Tool from FlopTurnRiver.com

Hero (SB) ($98.20)
    BB ($112.70)
    UTG ($120.15)
    MP ($100)
    Button ($43.15)

Preflop: Hero is SB with Aspade.gif, Adiamond.gif
    UTG bets $3.50, 1 fold, Button calls $3.50, Hero raises $13.50, 2 folds, Button calls $10.50

Flop: ($32.50) 9heart.gif, 8heart.gif, 2spade.gif(2 players)
    Hero checks, Button bets $29.15 (All-In), Hero calls $29.15

Turn: ($90.80) 6spade.gif(2 players, 1 all-in)

River: ($90.80) 7heart.gif(2 players, 1 all-in)

Total pot: $90.80

Results:
    Button had 10spade.gif, Jdiamond.gif (straight, Jack high).
    Hero had Aspade.gif, Adiamond.gif (one pair, Aces).
    Outcome: Button won $87.80

This has to be the funniest one of all. I know it's just a bad beat, but wtf was he calling for :D

Hero (SB) ($103.25)
    BB ($40.15)
    UTG ($100.90)
    MP ($127.65)
    Button ($111.80)

Preflop: Hero is SB with Kclub.gif, Kheart.gif
    3 folds, Hero bets $2.50, BB calls $2

Flop: ($6) 5diamond.gif, 8heart.gif, Jdiamond.gif(2 players)
    Hero bets $4.50, BB raises $9, Hero raises $95.75 (All-In), BB calls $28.15 (All-In)

Turn: ($80.30) Qclub.gif(2 players, 2 all-in)

River: ($80.30) 10diamond.gif(2 players, 2 all-in)

Total pot: $80.30

Results:
    Hero had Kclub.gif, Kheart.gif (one pair, Kings).
    BB had Aspade.gif, 9diamond.gif (straight, Queen high).
    Outcome: BB won $77.30

Mullicker wrote: »
    I've tried propping on a small network called Melita Gaming Network with TrueMoneyGames. I have 100% rb as long as i start new tables whenever a table is full(there are a couple of other rules to follow). The software is actually one of the best out there after stars and full tilt. I made about €2000 including rakeback on the site in the last two months, but the fish have dried up a little. I've decided to withdraw my money as propping just isn't for me at the moment, but i would fully recommend it and particularly the site i played on. If you don't mind playing shorthanded and starting new tables this could be very +EV move for anyone.

Never even heard of these guys. How many tables etc would be running at a time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

Ill be making the move to ongame soon. Sick of ipoker regs and need some deposit bonus to help rebuild my roll after a sick 19BI downswing. Thanks for all this info it is v helpful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Ongame was ok before they changed the software, sounds awful now.
    How can you have no waiting lists ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭Mullicker

Never even heard of these guys. How many tables etc would be running at a time?

4-6 25nl
    0-6 50nl
    0-4 100nl
    0-4 200nl
    0-2 400nl
    0-2 600nl

As a prop player you cannot take the last seat at the table and must start a new table when the table you are sitting at is full, you also have to check in with the prop manager before playing on msn. If you ever find yourself playing too many tables you can just leave one. I played mostly 50nl but played fair share of 100nl and 200nl. Its softer than any site i have played at. Some guys seem to be losing all the time but keep reloading. The site has very low traffic but you can easily get on 4 50nl tables in the evenings and mix in 100nl 200nl as you wish. The great thing about the site is it was in euros so you are laying for more money with the feeling that you are moving up in stakes. The 100% rb is now paid weekly, it was paid monthly when i first startes playing there. I didnt play much volume and about 750 of my 2000 profit is from rakeback. Probably played 60% 50nl 20% 100nl 20% 200nl. I would guess i played less than 10k hands in two months. So the 100% rb is pretty sweet and the fact the site is in euros is a huge plus and im surprised at how good their software is. I know people might not trust small sites with what has happened at other poker rooms, but i'm glad i took this gamble.

ha, found a golden ticket there tonight.
    sat down with position on a guy who was sitting with $470.
    Over the 57 hands I played with him he had the craziest stats I ever saw: 93/50/9.
    I took every single penny off him :D:D

At the same time I did lose 1.5 buy ins from another complete fish who was hitting everything and anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Ongame was an awful regfest when I played there about 6-8 months ago, and little better than ipoker. I couldn't get used to the 5-max at all, really didn't like it. They must have changed the software because when I was there it was by far the fastest on offer. Oh and it was eye gougingly horrendous to play on even with mods.

zuutroy wrote: »
    Ongame was an awful regfest when I played there about 6-8 months ago, and little better than ipoker. I couldn't get used to the 5-max at all, really didn't like it. They must have changed the software because when I was there it was by far the fastest on offer. Oh and it was eye gougingly horrendous to play on even with mods.

Really? That's pretty surprising.... don't know how there can be that much of a turnaround in a few months.

I am coming across a few more all right. Seems like there is actually more of them on in the evening time to be honest. I still have only met a few that were any good though.

By the way, do you play on Everest Zuutroy? Can you give a quick review of it?
    It's a network I was thinking about, but the RB deals aren't anywhere near as good on it.

I don't really play anymore. I put a few $ on there recently just to donk around a bit. But 90% of the money I made playing poker was there. I always thought that the lack of RB was made up for by the standard of play. Thinking like yours kept regs away to a certain extent. I've just been playing micro stakes the past few days and the difference between there and Stars/FT is huge. FT I found to be about 60% regs even at that level, with Everest its about 10%.
    For 400nl+ I'd have it on my list of sites, but you couldn't get by playing there alone really.

Okay, I just had another 1.5hr session. 4 tabling played 715 hands. Ran at 50.24 bb/100.

My VPIP/PFR did come down to 27/22 though. I'd say that's a better stat than the 31/26 I was running at.
    I am definitely running well right now. I even won a 3 way all in fest AA vs KK vs QQ.

I'm not sure who plays these sites at this hour, but there is plenty of action. A whole ton of guys buying in for 65.78 kind of thing. All the tables felt softer than they did last night.... i.e. you might have one other semi decent player at your table, sometimes none. Last night there was normally two.

I have now turned my initial deposit of $250 (due to the restrictions) into $1350 at 100NL in the space of a week. Long may the good fortune continue :D
    Now, if only I could run well in tournaments :rolleyes:

I'll post up a few hands again in a while to show some of the terrible play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

Ongame also allows you to start 3 max tables that are great for isolating fish (at last it used to allow you anyways)

Dear God. I was just playing around with HEM taking a look at player stats to see who the biggest losers were etc when I found this guy... WTF is he on. How can you be that bad in 100NL and continue to play it :confused:

PlayerStat.jpg

Ah well...the good times had to end sometime. First losing session and it was a big one.

SessionStat.jpg

Think I was playing okay, just ran into some big hands. Also, didnt get paid off with my big hands.
    That's whats been great on this network, seemed to be getting paid quite easily.

I did make one "Tilt" play that cost me 3/4 of a buy in. That pissed me off more than anything.
    Also, the software was sending me on tilt as well. It was so ridiculously slow today.... my computer just seemed to be struggling like crazy. If I opened anything else it screamed in pain. I hope they sort that ****e out.

EDIT: I didn't sleep well last night and was pretty tired. Had been debating whether or not to play, but decided to do so. Probably a mistake. Not sure if tiredness had an impact on some of the decisions, but I definitely allowed myself to get frustrated and annoyed, which probably was the cause for some of the decisions.

Just a quick update to say how it goes.

1) Software. It is still slow, but not as bad as it was last week. Last Friday I was nearly tearing my hair out. Seems to have been somewhat sorted. Also, a tip. Turn off animations in the settings.

2) Aggression factor.
    Right, at first I thought aggression and 3betting were way down on iPoker, but I'm not that sure that is the case. I have started coming across more and more regs. 21/17 type players. The difference is, they're not very good. All but a few are actually very poor.
    The good iPoker regs also know when to fold. There in lies the difference.

And you will almost always have at least one normally two players that are the 50/21 type players. Often you get a 80/45 etc.

3) So, after 7.5k hands I am running at 21.7bb/100. Very happy with that, and I definitely could be doing a bit better. I am playing okay, but am still making some glaring errors too.....as is prob obvious from some of the posted hands.

4) I'm running probably slightly above average. Yesterdays session I got very lucky at times... once winning a 10% equity hand after the flop when my overpair sucked out to a lunatics flopped set. But at the same time I got horrendously sucked out on a few times with miracle river cards coming for guys calling to the river with middle pair.
    I reckon a 15bb/100 is probably my level at 100NL at the moment, but if I can improve on a few things that could be better. And if I continue on at this rate I will be moving up to 200NL next month.

NOTE: This is all from struggling to get above a 5bb/100 in 50NL on iPoker. Huge difference. I'm sure the number of tables has had an impact on the winrate as well, I've come down from 6+ to 4. But the network is definitely the biggest factor.

Oh, forgot to add. The biggest downfall on this network is the lack of a buddy list and waiting lists. This really comes to the fore the more you play there. It's such a shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

If you found a shoal, I don't understand why are you telling everyone.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    If you found a shoal, I don't understand why are you telling everyone.

haha, was thinking that myself at first. But at the end of the day a few factors convinced me to review the site.
    1) It is a main network, it's not exactly a "hidden" gem. It's just softer than iPoker.
    2) This mainly an Irish forum... don't mind helping out the irish.
    3) I doubt that many people will actually switch over. And those that will may not stay for one reason or another.
    i.e. in the grand scheme of things, I doubt it will make much difference... but might help a few boardsies...

Isnt that what this community is supposed to be about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

jimbling wrote: »
    I reckon a 15bb/100 is probably my level at 100NL at the moment, but if I can improve on a few things that could be better. And if I continue on at this rate I will be moving up to 200NL next month.

I know you're probably hugely +ev, a good player, and the network is full of fish but...That kind of winrate is unsustainable. Over 100,000 hands there's very few to none who could maintain that, nobody wins at that rate over a huge sample unless they're a huge huge exception. No doubt you'll win and do well and make money, but don't set your expectations too high. A winrate of 7bb/100 is actually very good and achieveable, anything beyond that would be a bonus. If things start going bad for you don't get too dismayed, you've a very impessive winrate at the moment but it more than likely wont be the norm and neither will anything close to 15 bb/100. I'm not trying to put you down here, I've no idea how good you are, just trying to give advice to not aim for a winrate that high.

Just played a pretty horrible session there. Seems to be nothing but regs on the site today.... perhaps I spoke too soon.

This session more resembled the ipoker session that I have been trying to get away from.
    i.e. massive preflop pots.

e.g. one of the regs 5bet shoved me. I actually called with A10o. And was good. I knew I probably was. He had KQo, but obviously won.
    I hate that type of poker. It's just such high variance. I much prefer when I can safely call a raise with 74s on the button full sure that I wont be re-raised by one of the blinds.

I tried to table select, but it's too difficult on the site. So I just kept joining new tables and closing others... but struggled to find good value today. In fact, only found 2 very fishy players that had a stack, but both ran off before I could get money from them.
    This is the first occasion where it has been so difficult.

Slash/ED wrote: »
    I know you're probably hugely +ev, a good player, and the network is full of fish but...That kind of winrate is unsustainable. Over 100,000 hands there's very few to none who could maintain that, nobody wins at that rate over a huge sample unless they're a huge huge exception. No doubt you'll win and do well and make money, but don't set your expectations too high. A winrate of 7bb/100 is actually very good and achieveable, anything beyond that would be a bonus. If things start going bad for you don't get too dismayed, you've a very impessive winrate at the moment but it more than likely wont be the norm and neither will anything close to 15 bb/100. I'm not trying to put you down here, I've no idea how good you are, just trying to give advice to not aim for a winrate that high.

Thanks for the advice Slash/ED, and you're probably right. And on top of that I actually don't think I'm that good a cash player at all. I've been playing tournaments so long that this is all a re-education for me. Also, the games have changed drastically since I was playing a few years ago.

I've only put down about 65k hands over the last few months since getting back into it... I know I still have a ways to go.

Ongame has fixed the horrendous slowdown on the software. I can actually multi-table without freaking out wondering if my click of the button is ever going to actually carry out the task.

Thank god for that. Much improved. Down from using 60% CPU to about 10/15%.

Next up, waiting lists :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

Recently moved to ongame myself. Software is horrible but so are the players so it works out well. To bad I'll be moving down to 10NL. Damn withdrawals.

Tonight was my first late night session. Played from about 11pm to just now. Brilliant stuff, some of the calls people made were hilarious. Turned a 4 buy in downswing to a 4 buy in upswing. So so uber soft.

Regfest again today. Down 5 buy ins. All in pre flop only 5 times and lost every one. Was behind for most of them too.... although the 3-way KK vs AQ vs AK hurt pretty bad.

It'll be great next week when I can no longer play during the day... can concentrate on extracting value in the evenings.

I don't know why I've turned this thing into a bit of a blog..... ill stop now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭1stimpressions

jimbling wrote: »
    Regfest again today. Down 5 buy ins. All in pre flop only 5 times and lost every one. Was behind for most of them too.... although the 3-way KK vs AQ vs AK hurt pretty bad.

It'll be great next week when I can no longer play during the day... can concentrate on extracting value in the evenings.

I don't know why I've turned this thing into a bit of a blog..... ill stop now.

Well i am finding it interesting and i dont play cash at all. Anything that helps poker players on here is to be encouraged. Comparing and recommending sites although it seems counterintuatuve could actually be very beneficial for the poker community here. Blog on.

Cheers.

And just a quick follow up. Once again I was cruising tonight. Recovered the 5 buy ins lost today. So from that, if I had not played during the regfest of the last two days I would be up 11 buy ins in 4 hours play at night.

I'm done with day time poker, not worth it. I'll be back to the grindstone in my real job next week anyway.

Day time poker is a different story on a Saturday. I think I'm going to have to see it as a working day from now on, incredible value. :D
    Played two 2 hour sessions. Ran pretty well and was up 10.5 buy ins for the day.

So, after my first 17k hands on ongame I have increased my initial deposit of $250 (due to the deposit restrictions when I first joined) up to $2550. Pretty impressive going, even over such a small sample size.

Stats_1.jpg

The stats have gradually changed as the hands grew. I had started with a huge VPIP and PFR. Seemed the games were very docile and passive so I was been very aggressive. That seems to have changed a bit, most games are aggressive although not nearly as bad as iPoker.

Something else that I didnt mention in my original review was the shortstackers. I found those guys such a headwreck on iPoker. There was just so so so many of them.
    There are shortstackers on ongame too, but there are a lot less of them, and they are normally the very poor standard shortstackers only playing 1 table rather than the efficient shortstackers playing 20 tables on ipoker.
    I have only spotted one reg guy who is actually a decent shorty.

:mad:

graphEV_2.jpg

Was playing okay, only made one mistake when I called a guys river bet with AA when it was pretty obvious I was beat.

Sickest hand of the session:

SB ($105.75)
    BB ($53.10)
    Hero (UTG) ($239.25)
    Button ($133.90)

Preflop: Hero is UTG with Kheart.gif, Kdiamond.gif
    Hero bets $3, Button raises $10.50, 2 folds, Hero raises $27, Button calls $19.50

Flop: ($61.50) 8spade.gif, Kspade.gif, 10club.gif(2 players)
    Hero bets $35, Button calls $35

Turn: ($131.50) 5club.gif(2 players)
    Hero checks, Button bets $68.90 (All-In), Hero calls $68.90

River: ($269.30) Jspade.gif(2 players, 1 all-in)

Total pot: $269.30

Results:
    Button had Qdiamond.gif, Aspade.gif (straight, Ace high).
    Hero had Kheart.gif, Kdiamond.gif (three of a kind, Kings).
    Outcome: Button won $267.30

And it got worse. :(

graphEV_3.jpg

And that doesn't even include some of the horrible rivers that people got on me before the money went in.

Is anyone good enough to get away from this hand?

SB ($105.45)
    BB ($110.85)
    UTG ($100.50)
    Hero (MP) ($162)
    Button ($205.55)

Preflop: Hero is MP with 9heart.gif, 9spade.gif
    UTG bets $3.50, Hero calls $3.50, 1 fold, SB calls $3, 1 fold

Flop: ($11.50) 9diamond.gif, 8spade.gif, 8heart.gif(3 players)
    SB checks, UTG checks, Hero checks

Turn: ($11.50) Kdiamond.gif(3 players)
    SB checks, UTG bets $7, Hero calls $7, SB calls $7

River: ($32.50) 8club.gif(3 players)
    SB checks, UTG checks, Hero bets $30, SB raises $94.95 (All-In), 1 fold, Hero calls $64.95

Total pot: $222.40

Results:
    SB had 4diamond.gif, 8diamond.gif (four of a kind, eights).
    Hero had 9heart.gif, 9spade.gif (full house, nines over eights).
    Outcome: SB won $219.40

I know it was most likely an 8, but villain is a 32/10 monkey with inf aggression on the river. I'd say he would do the same thing with a K here.

I am so pissed off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

You have to bet the flop there. Whatever about the river, bet the flop!

Sick run. But at least depsite running 7 buy ins below ev you've only dropped 4, so you've managed ti still play decent and the damage to your roll is minimum

Slash/ED wrote: »
    You have to bet the flop there. Whatever about the river, bet the flop!

Sick run. But at least depsite running 7 buy ins below ev you've only dropped 4, so you've managed ti still play decent and the damage to your roll is minimum

Ya, I normally would, but I was on a bit of a tilt at the time as I had lost so many hands where I was ahead, and people were folding every time I had the nuts. I wanted someone to catch something to get money on later streets..... Just not another 8 :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

I dont hate the flop check but id raise the turn to set it up for a river shove, never fold there vs anyone btw.

Ran sickly bad again last night. Ran monsters into monsters on three occasions, so my EV line was well below 0 anyway.

graphEV_4.jpg

Also lost two buy ins to the biggest loser on the network at 100nl. Very upsetting. He played the hand well though, exactly how he would with weak pair.... my shove on the turn did nothing to put him off his flopped set though.

I quit after the below hand, I just couldn't take anymore. I had just lost JJ vs AK all in pre on another table about 10 seconds before. Then this monkey calls a 5bet shove with AJ :eek: and gets away with it.

SB ($348.80)
    BB ($124.75)
    UTG ($100)
    MP ($149.30)
    Hero (Button) ($98)

Preflop: Hero is Button with Jdiamond.gif, Jclub.gif
    UTG bets $3.50, 1 fold, Hero raises $12, 2 folds, UTG raises $34, Hero raises $86 (All-In), UTG calls $60.50

Flop: ($197.50) 10heart.gif, 10club.gif, Aclub.gif(2 players, 1 all-in)

Turn: ($197.50) 4spade.gif(2 players, 1 all-in)

River: ($197.50) 6spade.gif(2 players, 1 all-in)

Total pot: $197.50

Results:
    Hero had Jdiamond.gif, Jclub.gif (two pair, Jacks and tens).
    UTG had Adiamond.gif, Jspade.gif (two pair, Aces and tens).
    Outcome: UTG won $194.50

Tiredness is the biggest killer in the game. It's not that you don't play well at first.... the issue is that when you start taking some hits you get so frustrated. This then leads to major errors. At one point I check-raised all in on a turn with 33 on a 6JK board without any real knowledge of my opponent. Was just sick of getting overrun. Terrible stuff.

This god damn site is rigged. :rolleyes: Run like god when you join, then run like the devil after that.

7 buy ins below EV again today.

4 times I lost all in with KK pre flop.

Made some great calls and every time the guy hits his outs. Every time. Any time I push with draws I get called and not once did I hit.

I'm on uber tilt now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭shano_88

played 200 hands on everest there. Software was kinda tilting but i think i could get used to it. Easy to lodge and easy to cash out. Gona play a few thousand hands and see how i get on.

• shano_88 wrote: »
    played 200 hands on everest there. Software was kinda tilting but i think i could get used to it. Easy to lodge and easy to cash out. Gona play a few thousand hands and see how i get on.

same, there's some absolute nutters on the site.

After 10 mins at one table, notes on one player was "seems to have no understanding of poker, called bet on every street with 82o, hitting nothing"

Told yiz! Its another world. Most of their marketing is done in France and Italy....enough said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭fatguy

Let's not tell the whole world just yet. It can stay our little secret for a while, right? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭FullOf..IT

Anywhere you can buy Everest Hand Histories?

not afaik.

I just feel sick. I had upped my account from $250 to $2500. Took out $1k... I prefer to keep only a small part of my bankroll on the account, normally serves me well for tilt issues.

The account is now empty. 15 Buy In downswing. I played okay for the most part. Made mistakes yes, probably lost a few buy in due to tilt. But I just run bad. I've been running bad for a year. One good spurt for two weeks made me think it was the software change, but it wasn't.... I'm back to my old self.

graphEV_5.jpg

I know the EV line is only break even anyway, but the graph doesn't get across my true pain. Also not sure if you notice it, but the Winnings line does not stop at the -900 it goes right down to -1200, not sure why it can't be seen. I just lost two monster pots in a row. 1010 vs AA on a 10 7 K board (we were both 200bb deep in 3bet pot) and 10 6 vs JJ on a 789 board.

Really not sure I'm cut out for cash poker.... and that's pissing me off more than anything.

I'll at least be taking one or two weeks off before depositing again.