Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dragon Age: Origins

• 04-11-2009 8:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭

Dragon Age: Origins

Anybody looking to get this ? I think it will be worth a punt.. Supposed to be the 'Spiritual' successor to the Baulders Gate series ? Dont know about that but from what I have seen so far it looks quite good. No definitive reviews out yet though ?

Any thoughts ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,955 ✭✭✭rizzla

Gamespot
    IGN
    and Gametrailers all have reviews up for the game.

Looks quite good, very long and the 360 version is the weakest version. Don't think I'll be getting it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭RAIN

Too much stuff this month, Borderlands last week and Modern Warfare 2 next week!

Will get it down the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

rizzla wrote: »
    Looks quite good, very long and the 360 version is the weakest version.

Really? Haven't read anything about that, indeed, it seems that it's the PS3 version that's again lagging behind the others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

I wasnt too pushed on it but looking at vids and a few reviews I am leaning over to buying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Really? Haven't read anything about that, indeed, it seems that it's the PS3 version that's again lagging behind the others.
    Generally from what I've read they both have pros and cons. PS3 version suffers from slowdown alot in high action situations whereas the 360 version has inferior textures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,955 ✭✭✭rizzla

The gamespot review made a point of saying that the 360 version was the worst one. They gave the ps3 version 9.0 and the 360 version 8.5. I'm sure they're all very competent versions and wouldn't take away from the enjoyment of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,561 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Jim wrote: »
    Generally from what I've read they both have pros and cons. PS3 version suffers from slowdown alot in high action situations whereas the 360 version has inferior textures.

that what most sites and podcast i head are saying but i think theps3 frame rate can be improve easier than the graphic on the 360

also the big difference between the console and the pc is the standard view you can also use the console one as well in the pc but not the other way round

there's only over the shoulder 3rd person in the console the pc get above view of your whole team there's also more controls of you party members in the pc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Hmmm, might have to go for the PS3 version so. Just wish the joypad wasn't so awful.

Was going to get this on Xbox because I fancy relaxing on my couch and my PC isn't up to much these days. But the different view points in the PC version during combat seems too good to turn down :/ Goddamit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Apparently this game is about 60 hours minimum to get through!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

Hmm, bit loath to get the console version as the PC version is more tactically based... however i don't think my Laptop has good enough specs to run it at a quailty i'd be happy with.. so looks like PS3 for me :'(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,943 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

thinking of getting the ps3 version but it's not coming out til the 20th :mad:

just to say the sites that'll review each and comparing say that for the pc version you need the tactical view and have to pause a lot to beat some of the enemies even on normal the console version seem to have better (not for any technical reason but for game play stuff) A.I on your group

they have basicaly made two games a baldurs gate and a kotor

also while not available at launch the ps3 version may get mods later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

I have been playing this since i bought it (for 360) on Friday. I cant put it down, simply amazing.
    The texture is indeed a little rough but the game play makes up for it.

Great stuff altogether.

I couldn't get over how bad the graphics were, clipping everywhere, awful textures, bows don't even have strings but none of that realy matters when the gameplay and story are this good. I would like to give the PC version a go to see how bad the console port actually is compared to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Yo Mamma

Just bought this totay... cant wait to get stuck in........ must Finish Borderlands first though.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

Got this over the weekend, hadn't heard anything about it, just thought I'd risk a new game.

Turned it on for an hour on saturday ... enjoyed it .... turned it on yesterday and before I realised it had spent 4 hours playing. Great game. (so far)

i had loads of stuff done and was making a save because i was under the false impression that this was the end game so next up will be the final boss, not even close i need to among other thing save more ****ing elves (still loving it) i think i know why people hate those knife-ears now not like their real people anyway let them solve their own quests

finally http://www.penny-arcade.com/2009/11/6/

704358679_ayGHY-L.jpg

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

Loving this game but it does have some flaws and one or two annoying bits. I've just finished
    the fade section when you're taking back the tower after the demon invasion
    in the circle of magi. Very annoying mission but having finished it now I do have that sense of accomplishment that games like this give you.

Its a piy about the visuals because I'm really getting into it now. I named my elf Juriel and my battle hound Bund :P ahh making up names rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭EasyBoy1974

I've just finished
    the fade section when you're taking back the tower after the demon invasion
    in the circle of magi. Very annoying mission but having finished it now I do have that sense of accomplishment that games like this give you.

Is it me or is this mission WAY harder than the previous ones? My lvl 10 mage is struggling and getting killed a lot!

Have to say it's a great game though (graphic issues aside) and has me well hooked ...

Yea when you
    get the spirit form
    it gets a lot easier because he has a really powerful spell. Then you get the
    Golem form
    and you're a tank so it gets easier. Final battle is a fúcker though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

RAIN wrote: »
    I couldn't get over how bad the graphics were, clipping everywhere, awful textures, bows don't even have strings

Got this yesterday, didn't get a chance to play it much as I was busy MW2, but just popped it in, created my Elf Warrier, loading up the game, and I was stunned by the poor graphics....The Textures are the worst I have seen on the 360, its like a PC game with the graphics turned down to the last.

That said, I am still looking forward to playing the game, and the poor graphics wont put me off, but its a visually, its a big dissappointment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

CKWPORT wrote: »
    That said, I am still looking forward to playing the game, and the poor graphics wont put me off, but its a visually, its a big dissappointment.

I really noticed how bad some of the graphics were last night. Was in Redcliff (I think) looking out over the lake there, and some of the graphics in the distance .... it reminded me of playing Mig 29 Fulcrum on the pc way back when.

But the game is proving to be fantastic.

I noticed the graphics early on too and found them very off putting but I've since sort of forgotten about them now that I'm stuck into it. I'm liking it but I do recognise it's flaws.

The graphics are highly inferior to the PC version alright, but I still don't regret getting it for the 360. Didn't fancy sitting upright at my PC all the time for this particular game.

i got the wardens keep dlc when does it give the quest to say that he's in the camp i don't have it yet but i'm still in the origin story

Despite my earlier comments about how bad the graphics are....I am really getting into this game now, its class, the graphics aren't that bad when you get used to it.

Couple of questions for you lads though:

Can you pause the game during combat and issue orders or tell party members what enemy to attack? Or do you just run to the nearest enemy and hold A and then do what ever special attacks till they are all dead?

If you are injured, how do you dress the injury?

I had more questions but I can't remember then now at all...

If you hold the left trigger you can select enemies (D-pad cycles, click LS to lock), spells, potions and what not and give orders. While holding the left trigger you can cycle through each party member and do the same by pressing LB/RB.

If you are injured select the party member using LB/RB and hold left trigger and go to potions (9 o'clock). In there if you have some Injury kits (red icon to narrow it down) you can select them and that party member will use it.

Cheers for that Shiv!

When holding in the left trigger, does the game pause?

Can't believe I have played nearly 6 hours and haven't used that feature yet.

Yea the game pauses as soon as you hold Left Trigger to bring up the radial menus. It's a little awakward because you have to cycle through all your party etc. while holding it to keep it paused but it works.

Cool, sounds a tad awkward all right tho, a pause button woulda been better, gonna get stuck into that after work, that should make the battles a bit easier if I can coordinate things better than I am at the moment...

Are you using the custom tactics at all?

Yea big time - I have one of the mages I picked up hanging back and have all her tactics set so that if I'm below a certain level of health she heals me or if the team are short on health she heals the lot of us.

Also have it that if I die she revives me and casts regeneration which gets my health going up and up etc.

Have my other fighter hang back and use ranged weapons unless someone gets in his face - then he switches to swords etc.

I have all party members set to use a health potion when their health is below 25%.

There's loads you can do to make it easier - it's worth investing the time in it - especially if you notice you or a certain party member dying first/too easily all the time - change it up for them and they'll be alot more useful.

Sounds complicated, but will give it a go.

It's not really - just time consuming. Takes a bit of time to go through each character. There are also presets you can cycle between - for example the mage I was talking about that heals us - when I set her to the 'Supporter' preset alot of those tactics I mentioned were there - I just tweaked a few of them to the way I liked it.

You chould be able to leave most of them as is - but as I said if one of your party seems too weak and dies first in each fight early you should see about changing them to ranged combat or get a mage to keep an eye on them.

I have two fighters in my party and one's an absolute tank but he gets all the attention. So both my mages are set to heal him when his health drops. He just brings the pain and soaks up all the hate from the enemy in the mean time and it works.

Tends to go balls up though if my mage gets targetted all of a sudden. That normally results in a reload. :pac:

I have a Rogue, a Mage and Alistair in my party, So I will see what I can do with them....

Thanks for the tips...

And what are you?

An Elf Warrior....

Also in my party I have another Warrior and Dog, but I am not using them at the mo.

Grand. You want to get your mage and rogue to sit back with spells/bows and let you and the other warrior be the tanks. Should be simple enough to customise for that.

I will try that later and see how I get on, I am not too far in yet, but I am at Redcliffe, so I think there is a good bit of fighting coming up, so that will be a good test.

Need to level up too so I can put my strength to 33 or 34 so I can dawn my CE Blood Armour too.

Aye there's plenty of fight coming your way at Redcliff - game really kicks off from there so you'll start levelling up fast.

I get my party as you suggested and it has made a big difference, Alistar kept dying on me, so switched him out for Shale, who is class, he can take a beating and dish out a lot of damage too...

The mage Morrigan is working out great, taking from a distance and healing characters in trouble.

I have Lelani as my rouge archers, she keeps switching to her sword though and doesn't switch back to the bow, haven't sorted that yet. She was getting killed a good bit too, so swapped her out for Alistar for a short while, but he is disaster, I can't keep him healed...

16 hours in now.....its a bit addictive.

when you get to the deep roads in the dwarf city play using the elf dwarf and a healer with a human warrior human, you'll have a smile on your face

not really any spoiler but some people are weird on what is or is not a spoiler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Single Malt

Cool, sounds a tad awkward all right tho, a pause button woulda been better, gonna get stuck into that after work, that should make the battles a bit easier if I can coordinate things better than I am at the moment...

Are you using the custom tactics at all?
    In the option menu you can switch on toggle for the left trigger. No more holding to pause.

This game is fecking brilliant, I got this and MW2 on the same day and haven't been able to put this down.

What was that you were saying Varik...I have just gone through the Deep Roads, I am Elf Warrior, I have that drunken Dwarf with me, who I really regret bringing,he is a bit crap, Morrigan and Shale....I have probably missed whatever you were talking about.

The last fight in the Anvil of the void is a nightmare, I am stuck there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭NunianVonFuch

In the option menu you can switch on toggle for the left trigger. No more holding to pause.

Cheers for that, really bugging me. I think I'll have to look up a guide online for the uses of poisons and traps - you only seem to be able to use them in battle and setting them up is a bit problematic as the battles are fairly quick and short (so far - I'm only at the bit where
    you do some work for the Chandry if you like before heading to RedCliffe
    Not really a spoiler but better safe than sorry!).

Morrigan's shapeshifter spell is really cool, haven't used it in battle yet but it was amusing roaming the town chatting to folk - especially the Templars - "You don't look right... I've got my eye on you" :P

Hey lads,

Any idea how I go about enchanting a weapon?

I have just recruited all parties with the grey warden treaties, is there much left in the game or am I near the end?

Caoimhín wrote: »
    Hey lads,

Any idea how I go about enchanting a weapon?

Crafted an item - got this info from X360A.org
    Open your radial menu with the LT button and select "Potions" or "Poisons and Traps" and push A. If you selected "Potions", select "Herbalism" and if you selected "Poisons and Traps", select "Poison-Making". If you have the necessary materials, you'll be able to craft an item here. You'll find the materials scattered throughout Fereldan. Search bodies and plants for the materials. You'll find some for sale from merchants as well.

Below are the potions, poisons, and traps you can make with the first level skill. As you move to Improved, Expert, and Master, more recipes become available. These are the easiest though. Be aware that you'll have to buy flasks from merchants.

Potions
    Lesser Health Poultice: 1 Elfroot, 1 Flask
    Lesser Lyrium Potion: 1 Lyrium Dust, 1 Flask
    Mabari Crunch: 1 Elfroot, 1 Deep Mushroom

Poisons
    Venom: 1 Toxin Extract, 1 Flask
    Deathroot Extract: 1 Deathroot, 1 Flask

Traps
    Rope Trap: 1 Trap Trigger
    Small Caltrop Trap: 1 Metal Shard
    Small Claw Trap: 1 Metal Shard, 1 Trap Trigger
    Small Shrapnel Trap: 1 Metal Shard, 1 Trap Trigger

Crafted an item - got this info from X360A.org

Cheers, but it was enchanting a weapon I was looking for.

I have found it though, you have to go to that dwarf in the main party camp. Of the two dwarfs, you have to speak to the eh, em, tard..

I think I'll have to look up a guide online for the uses of poisons and traps - you only seem to be able to use them in battle and setting them up is a bit problematic as the battles are fairly quick and short

I never really used traps in this game or any of the older Baldur's Gate/Neverwinter nights. Seems kind of pointless setting up a trap when the battle is more or less on top of you.

I'm sure there's players out there who have figured out how to use them to effect but for the moment I just make 'em so I can sell 'em.