Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Michael Bradley to leave Connacht.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

*Rubs eyes*

*Faints in shock*

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I'm exceedingly interested to see how well Connacht do next season now. I don't think a new coach will magically make them world beaters, but I do think Bradley held them back. With his inane selection policy is nothing else. He did fairly well with with Ireland down under last year - he might make a decent coach if he has someone over him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Heh funny that i know of another coach from a certain Irish province that's also stepping down this year :p Leinster fans to hold their breaths now !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭little173

Podge_irl wrote: »
    I'm exceedingly interested to see how well Connacht do next season now. I don't think a new coach will magically make them world beaters, but I do think Bradley held them back. With his inane selection policy is nothing else. He did fairly well with with Ireland down under last year - he might make a decent coach if he has someone over him.

The Change will be a good thing for Connacht, hope they go for an Irish Coach, but preferably not Elwood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Size=everything

....David Knox to Connacht shocker???

Stick it to Munster rugby and his old Leinster colleagues

*Wakes up* :D

That is fantastic news.

Ye Connacht fans have had to put up with the same drivel for 6 years (:eek::rolleyes:).

Now where's Clive Woodward? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Stev_o wrote: »
    Heh funny that i know of another coach from a certain Irish province that's also stepping down this year :p Leinster fans to hold their breaths now !

Shut. Your. Face. Now. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Size=everything

Blood would be spilled.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Oh happy day.

What's Jake White up to these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Wow! Where to next for the SiL?

He's still in charge of Ireland A though? Maybe a permanent role in that?

Praying to Allah/Buddah/Lucifer/Atari Jaguar he does not go east.

little173 wrote: »
    The Change will be a good thing for Connacht, hope they go for an Irish Coach, but preferably not Elwood.

Who else is there? McCall? I don't really know that many Irish coaches (though I don't pay a massive amount of attention to them either).
    Heh funny that i know of another coach from a certain Irish province that's also stepping down this year

Fair point, there is a good chance McGaghan might get the boot this season :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

That's great to hear. Regardless of peoples individual opinions of Bradley as a coach I don't think very many people will argue that this change isn't a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Gert Smal should be appointed to replace Bradley, he was looking for a head coach role before he came to ireland, and with him at the helm we could send all our young prospects who dont even get bench time over there under him. He would still have time for Ireland too.

Ya great news brings some badly needed optimism to the Connacht setup.Bradley hasn't been all bad but he's judged on results and on a consistent basis they haven't been good enough one off victories aside.

I hear Mick Galwey mentioned.Obviously Eric is the favourite for the job but I hope we think long and hard about this decision as it will influence Connacht Rugby and the players who come here for years to come.

Happy for this evening but this is just the first step!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Eddie O Sullivan would do a fantastic job at Connacht,

bamboozle wrote: »

I think he probably would, but i'd say he's happy enough with his job in the States.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

bamboozle wrote: »

Totally agree. Doesnt he live around Galway city somewhere anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

:eek: Getting seriously worried now man! :eek:

Put it this way, Bradley taking over at Leinster is boycotting matches terretory! Please god no!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Galwey would be a disaster.

Niall O'Donovan would do well there.

Bradley to Leinster is a possibility but I think McGahan's contract is up this season so Bradley could end up in Munster too. He's well enough connected to get either of the jobs.

[Jackass] wrote: »
    :eek: Getting seriously worried now man! :eek:

Put it this way, Bradley taking over at Leinster is boycotting matches terretory! Please god no!!

If he wasn't forced upon Munster last year, then he won't be forced upon Leinster this year. The LB would never appoint him voluntarily.

Lets be realistic here, neither the IRFU nor the LB can afford for Leinster to turn epically **** due to a bad coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

As a Munster supporter i'm happy with McGahan. If Bradley comes anywhere near the Munster border i'll be waiting there with a hurley!!:D

Is Eric Elwood the right choice for Connacht? Dont see how Mick Galwey could get the job. Has he any coaching experience?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

What about bringing back George Hook if he doesn't run for Lord Mayor of Dublin? :D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

What about bringing back George Hook if he doesn't run for Lord Mayor of Dublin? :D
    I'd imagine it's quite a paycut from his media work and selling impotence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

It's not an appealing prospect for any coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

"We gotta fix the lineout Eddie" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭Nukem

Conor O'Shea? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Aidric wrote: »
    It's not an appealing prospect for any coach.

IIRC Michael Cheika started at Padova in Italy. The Connacht job would be a very appealing prospect for a lot of young up and coming coaches keen to get their hands on a professional squad, no matter how badly funded.

Someone mentioned Gert Smal, I would love to see that happen if he was interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭fatguy2k1

i would almost put money on brads stepping into the Leinster/Munster job. he's got a slight 'in' at irfu level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭FridaysWell

This is great news for the wee green men out in the Wild Wild West!:D

Can't wait to see who takes over and how Connacht get on next season.
    Jake White? Mick Galwey?

Imagine Knox going over there. . . :D

fatguy2k1 wrote: »
    i would almost put money on brads stepping into the Leinster/Munster job. he's got a slight 'in' at irfu level.

Well yes, but I'm almost certain its the (admittedly not quite autonomous) branches that decide this kind of thing. I'd say Mick Dawson will have a larger say in this affair then Bradley's supporters in the IRFU.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭fatguy2k1

trust me, his in is far higher up the food chain the Dawson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

I don't think Eddie would go from province to country and back again, although its a possibility. I get the sense theres a pretty strong country v's province thing in the background of what we see day to day.

I'd like to see Mick Galwey take a shot at this one, and I can see Bradley at Leinster next year.

fatguy2k1 wrote: »
    trust me, his in is far higher up the food chain the Dawson.

I know, that's kind of my point. The IRFU don't really get involved in this kind of thing, the appointment will be largely left up to the LB - i.e. Dawson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,288 ✭✭✭crisco10

Dont see how Mick Galwey could get the job. Has he any coaching experience?

He had a reasonably succesful stint with Shannon IIRC...

Don't worry lads, our favourite IRFU lapdog will be sinking his incompetent teeth into another job soon.

Did someone mention Leinster? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,563 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Totally agree. Doesnt he live around Galway city somewhere anyway?

Bit further out around Moylough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I've had time to think about this.

It's actually obsured to suggest he'll get the Leinster job...isn't it? Leinster have ruled out an internal appointment more or less, so it is unfortunate that he's on the market at the same time, but he has done absolutely nothing to suggest he should be near the level to step into a top European job like Leinster. What worries me is though, they put him in charge of the national team when there was a gap!

Why are people talking of him going to Munster by the way? How long is McGahan's contract?

[Jackass] wrote: »
    Why are people talking of him going to Munster by the way? How long is McGahan's contract?

Til the end of the season apparently, which I didn't realise. It does make sense to send him to the lesser of the two provinces after all ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

I'm glad Bradley's term is over (at last). No wish to stick the boot in though. He did some good, alot of bizarre and some bad. He was far toolong in the job. 3 or even 4 years. Thanks Michael, time for everyone to move on.
    I think Elwood has the potential to be a good coach and he's certainly a popular character. Is he tainted by being a carryover from the previous team?
    Eddie O'Sullivan would be ideal. Lives in Moylough, was involved with Monivea, Galwegians, Corinthians and Buccaneers and even spent a brief spell up here in Sligo. He knows Connacht rugby inside out at this stage and would be the right man to instill some consistancy and systems. I can't see it happening though tbh. Shame.
    Knox has burnt his bridges over here imo. I don't think his behaviour appealed to the IRFU (I would assume) and certainly not the fans.
    Gert Smal is probably eyeing up something for after the Irish job rather than alongside.
    What's Victor Costello doing these days? His wife is from Leitrim and he has a home there. Not exactly a handy commute, but it's in the right province:)
    Mark McCall is at Saracens with Venter isn't he?
    Tbh, I can't see us getting much of a name. Hope it's someone with a bit of passion more than anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 795 ✭✭✭johnnyboy4711

I am feckin delighted!
    He held us back for years!
    slan
    johnny
    Cmon eddie I will even buy your book!
    slan
    j

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

il gatto wrote: »
    What's Victor Costello doing these days? His wife is from Leitrim and he has a home there. Not exactly a handy commute, but it's in the right province:)

Am he lives in Florida last time I heard, bit of a commute! Training to be a pilot actually!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

il gatto wrote: »
    I'm glad Bradley's term is over (at last). No wish to stick the boot in though. He did some good, alot of bizarre and some bad. He was far toolong in the job. 3 or even 4 years. Thanks Michael, time for everyone to move on.
    I think Elwood has the potential to be a good coach and he's certainly a popular character. Is he tainted by being a carryover from the previous team?
    Eddie O'Sullivan would be ideal. Lives in Moylough, was involved with Monivea, Galwegians, Corinthians and Buccaneers and even spent a brief spell up here in Sligo. He knows Connacht rugby inside out at this stage and would be the right man to instill some consistancy and systems. I can't see it happening though tbh. Shame.
    Knox has burnt his bridges over here imo. I don't think his behaviour appealed to the IRFU (I would assume) and certainly not the fans.
    Gert Smal is probably eyeing up something for after the Irish job rather than alongside.
    Mark McCall is at Saracens with Venter isn't he?
    Tbh, I can't see us getting much of a name. Hope it's someone with a bit of passion more than anything.

there was an article in the irish times recently on retired professional players and what they're up to, Victor is a ryanair pilot based out of the midlands in the UK.

Unfortunately there are no outstanding Irish coaches coming through the AIL as most clubs seem obsessed with employing SH coaches.
    i still think if Eddie O'Sullivan was put in charge and also given a role developing the u20's it would be of huge benefit to the national structure.
    long shot would be Bernard Jackman as forwards coach, assuming his spell as director of rugby at Clontarf this season goes well.
    bottom line for me is the appointment of an Irish Coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭peterako

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

don't worry I will be standing at the gates to the Leinster branch with a shotgun in my hands if there is even a sniff of him getting the Leinster job.

Have to say even though I don't like EOS I think he could do good things for Connacht and having 4 fully competitive Irish sides can't be a bad thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

As a Munster supporter i'm happy with McGahan. If Bradley comes anywhere near the Munster border i'll be waiting there with a hurley!!:D

Is Eric Elwood the right choice for Connacht? Dont see how Mick Galwey could get the job. Has he any coaching experience?
    don't worry I will be standing at the gates to the Leinster branch with a shotgun in my hands if there is even a sniff of him getting the Leinster job.

Have to say even though I don't like EOS I think he could do good things for Connacht and having 4 fully competitive Irish sides can't be a bad thing

With the threat of a hurley beating from the borders of Munster and a shotgun blast from the borders of Leinster there is just the one place left to go. Poor Mikey, does anyone love him?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭little173

EOS would indeed be a very good choice, he has been involved at the national level and although stubborn at times would undoubtedly bring new levels of detail and professionalism. He would be close to his family etc etc.

Other than that, not loads of options really, top coaches would obviously much rather the Mun or Leinster jobs especially when they do their due diligence and realise how little funding Connacht receive. I expect a Elwood/recently retired former player looking make his way to get the gig, though not ideal.

I actually think that Connacht's finishing position will have a big influence on whether Bradley gets one of the job jobs, if they qualify for the HC, he will be in a very strong position. I think they are both out of his league though and should stick with the U21's/A team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Would be surprised to see Bradley in Leinster or Munster. Both are big clubs who should attract the best managers. Would expect to see Mc Gahan's contract extended too if it suits him. I would rate Mc Gahan very highly, whatever about this seasons form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 successfan

Halleiluiah, the myth of Bradley will be finally exposed. That's if they pick the right coach next time rather than one who talks the talk but is unfortunately unable to walk the walk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Someone on the radio last night made a point that Elwood has already been in the set-up for a good few years, so might not be able to offer anything new.

Does Galwey really have the experience to take this on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 successfan

yes he's been in the set up(Eric, that is) but maybe not given authority to do things his way, he's Connacht through and through and could be good option