Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

INTO ballot over industrial action

• 02-11-2009 2:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭

Source: RTÉ News website
    The Irish National Teachers' Organisation is beginning a series of nationwide meetings to ballot members for industrial action.

The INTO executive is asking primary school teachers to support its call for up to three days of industrial action in response to threats to pay, pensions and conditions of employment.

The result of the ballot will be known on 16 November.

Meanwhile, representatives of the Frontline Alliance, which represents gardaí, nurses and firemen, are meeting officials from the ICTU to discuss how best to co-ordinate protests planned across the country this Friday.

So the group with jobs which are some of the most secure, well paid and shortest hours in this economy are balloting for strike action.

My faith in these unions grows on a daily basis :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Ballot for three days of industrial action - that's just a mid-term break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

fcuking teachers - easy job, high pay, nice pension, and harder to sack than mary macaleese. they fookin spoof so much about how difficult their jobs are and underappreciated they are that they really believe it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

kincsem wrote: »
    Ballot for three days of industrial action - that's just a mid-term break.

They're just back from their mid term and already complaining

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Every one has the right strike so long as proper procedure (such a ballot and notice of a strike) is followed.

I would challenge you about job security. New teachers spend their first 5 years or so on short term contracts. They travel the length and breath and the country taking work if they can get. Also, if you think teachers working hours are confined to classroom time than you are seriously deluded.

My girlfriend puts in 60 hours weeks on a regular basis. She is only on a contract till March. It beats being unemployed for sure, but its hardly the cushy number some (who have never worked a day teaching in their lives) make it out to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    Also, if you think teachers working hours are confined to classroom time than you are seriously deluded.

God forbid the primary teachers have to go home and mark little tim and toms drawings for accuracy!

Every one has the right strike so long as proper procedure (such a ballot and notice of a strike) is followed.

I would challenge you about job security. New teachers spend their first 5 years or so on short term contracts. They travel the length and breath and the country taking work if they can get. Also, if you think teachers working hours are confined to classroom time than you are seriously deluded.

My girlfriend puts in 60 hours weeks on a regular basis. She is only on a contract till March. It beats being unemployed for sure, buts hardly the cushy number some (who have never worked a day teaching in their lives) make it out to be?
    The majority of those balloting are on permanent contracts-so do have plenty of job security. One of the reasons why it is so hard to find a job is because the Government needs to cut down on the teaching wage bill as per budget constraints. If every teacher took a pay cut they could open up posts for those who don't have a job in theory.

This is anecdotal evidence, my sister-in-law is a primary teacher and she certainly doesn't work a 60 hour week-and she is on a temporary one year contract.

I take your point though, good luck to your GF hope she manages to get a place for the coming school year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

Greedy bastards!

If I was in charge, I would half their wages. And if they didn't like it, they could piss off, because there are loads of teaching graduates looking for work.

What really annoys me though is that they put the children out in the firing line, pretending to be acting in the interest of the students. Can't the teachers at least be honest and admit that they're only acting in their own self-interest: to protect their ridiculously high wages. :mad:

segaBOY wrote: »
    The majority of those balloting are on permanent contracts-so do have plenty of job security. One of the reasons why it is so hard to find a job is because the Government needs to cut down on the teaching wage bill as per budget constraints. If every teacher took a pay cut they could open up posts for those who don't have a job in theory.

I agree actually. If the Govt came out and announced they would have 5% pay cut for teachers in return fro recruiting extra teachers than I think their might be good deal of support for that. I recognise that pay cuts are inevitable in the Public Sector and but I think workers have the right to defend their corner as best they can. Its worth remembering that they're was no strike over the pension levy cut. I think many feel that the Public Sector lack of action than has prompted the Govt to have a second go at cutting wages. Basically this strike is about getting a 5% cut instead of a 10% cut.

As regards reform, almost every teacher (especially the younger ones) will tell you the urgent need to reform the way schools are run internally particularly when it comes seniority when promote teachers to poorly defined positions of responsibility. These reforms should have been in place years ago but the Govt was never really bothered. There was no pressure from the Media and no great clamour from the public.

Its refreshing to hear you acknowledge that not all teachers are in a similar position. Some posters around here choose to ignore that and continue to spouting their anti-public sector non sense. All its does is antagonise workers more and make them more likely to strike.

Greedy bastards!

If I was in charge, I would half their wages. And if they didn't like it, they could piss off, because there are loads of teaching graduates looking for work.

Come on now. There are almost 50,000 teachers in Ireland. At best their might be 2,000 umemployed teachers. About 1,000 a year graduate. Some will have got work.

Where are you going to find 48,000 extra teachers from?

Come on now. There are almost 50,000 teachers in Ireland. At best their might be 2,000 umemployed teachers. About 1,000 a year graduate. Some will have got work.

Where are you going to find 48,000 extra teachers from?

So, there's only 2000 unemployed teachers in Ireland? Well, if that's the case, then teachers obviously haven't felt the recession yet. Time to cut their wages methinks!

I agree actually. If the Govt came out and announced they would have 5% pay cut for teachers in return fro recruiting extra teachers than I think their might be good deal of support for that.

I think 5% is a bit low more like 10-15% would be required. Particularly considering the volume of unemployed teachers out there and the fact that teachers start on €36k gross. But I take your point, I wonder if there would really be widespread support among INTO though.
    I recognise that pay cuts are inevitable in the Public Sector and but I think workers have the right to defend their corner as best they can. Its worth remembering that they're was no strike over the pension levy cut. I think many feel that the Public Sector lack of action than has prompted the Govt to have a second go at cutting wages. Basically this strike is about getting a 5% cut instead of a 10% cut.

I'll have to nit pick here (please forgive me :) ) the CPSU did strike over the pension levy but I see where you're coming from.
    As regards reform, almost every teacher (especially the younger ones) will tell you the urgent need to reform the way schools are run internally particularly when it comes seniority when promote teachers to poorly defined positions of responsibility. These reforms should have been in place years ago but the Govt was never really bothered. There was no pressure from the Media and no great clamour from the public.

Agree, the public sector wage bill and recruitment patterns were out of control years ago. However this was spurred on in the back drop of an overinflated economy relying on a building boom. A recipe for disaster, and I'm glad that some PS workers realise the need for reform out there in one way or another.

Its refreshing to hear you acknowledge that not all teachers are in a similar position. Some posters around here choose to ignore that and continue to spouting their anti-public sector non sense. All its does is antagonise workers more and make them more likely to strike.

No problem, of course not all are. But the likes of retired teachers taking subbing positions over newly qualified unemployed teachers is just sickening and one example of a failed system. The whole system needs to be changed and we need to keep everyone in mind for this not just the old reliable secure pensioned teacher but the likes of your gf too. But at the same time the majority of INTO fall into the secure, permanent, pensionable teacher category so you'll probably understand the reason behind my initial post.

Best of luck. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭foodie66

Okay i am going to both criticise and back up teachers on this post so ill piss everyone off :D

I have worked in a school for 4 yrs, not in a teaching capacity. Teachers do not have the cushy number a lot of people think. The amount of grief they put up with from teachers who are getting more and more forward and critical as time goes on can be harsh. I have seen teachers reduced to tears because of verbal attacks and sometimes threatening behaviour from teachers, all for doing their jobs and disciplining the children. The wages are not ridiculously high. It is a comfortable wage but hardly a wage that you can live the good life on. The 9-3 arguement is ridiculous and im not even going to go into that because its just put out there by ignorant and jealous people. It can be very stressful at times but on the whole it is a rewarding profession.

Now for the criticism. Posts of responsibility posts which add a few thousand onto the teachers wage needs to be better regulated. I remember a teacher in charge of Science decided to set up a kind of showcasing for different science activities, a book display etc which was a great concept but entailed her literally instructing the ancilary staff (SNA's etc) as to where to put what and then leaving them to supervise the different class groups as they came to the Halla to see it. She fecked off bk to her class to teach popping in now and again to admire her great work :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:. So the ancillary staff basically did her job for no extra pay themselves, very lucky if they go a thank you! Hardly fair was it. Other teachers with Special posts did SFA as far as i could see!

Some teachers coast through their jobs but others are truly great teacers and i do know that most do not want to strike but are being encouraged by the INTO!! I also know that by the time July comes around most teachers are wrecked so i say they deserve the time off! In some respects they have a cushy number but i guarantee if you were to sit in a cold prefab with 35 kids, some with special needs and behavioural problems and having to pay for resources out of their own pocket you might not be so quick to attack them! They also have to put up with Principals some of which can be horrible to work with. Talk about mood swings!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Teachers.

Dont get me started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Ya know what?**** em

foodie66 wrote: »
    The amount of grief they put up with from teachers who are getting more and more forward and critical as time goes on can be harsh. I have seen teachers reduced to tears because of verbal attacks and sometimes threatening behaviour from teachers, all for doing their jobs and disciplining the children.

Whats this got to do with anything? Problems like this are internal.. they need to be delt with correctly, like people would if they were being abused in ANY job..

And teachers have it very cushy, when you think of the work the nursing staff in the country do, or the gards etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Greedy bastards!

Who the fvck give's you, or anyone else the right to call a whole group of people "bastards"?.

Try that in one of the many Roma beggar's or hot Polish chic's, or a thread talking about civil patnerships and you'll have your arse handed to you pretty damned quickly.

But Noooooooooo, there's no such protection here for our own.

By all mean's look upon them as a greedy bunch, few will disagree but why the need to refer to people as 'bastards' eh?.

Who the fvck give's you, or anyone else the right to call a whole group of people "bastards"?.

Try that in one of the many Roma beggar's or hot Polish chic's, or a thread talking about civil patnerships and you'll have your arse handed to you pretty damned quickly.

But Noooooooooo, there's no such protection here for our own.

By all mean's look upon them as a greedy bunch, few will disagree but why the need to refer to people as 'bastards' eh?.

Political Correctness doesn't apply to our own, just ask the PC brigade.

Whats this got to do with anything? Problems like this are internal.. they need to be delt with correctly, like people would if they were being abused in ANY job..

And teachers have it very cushy, when you think of the work the nursing staff in the country do, or the gards etc

There are positives and negatives to EVERY job! Are you a teacher? Have you ever worked in a school? If not then son't be so judgemental and presumptious as to the cushiness of there job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

segaBOY wrote: »
    Political Correctness doesn't apply to our own, just ask the PC brigade.

Just thinking, in this case I don't think its down to political correction, more so than using the term "greedy bastards" to provoke a response and incite a bit of hatred along the way.

Personally I think its idiotic for anyone in this current climate to take strike action, however as someone pointed out its perfection legal once the proper course of action is taken - just something I don't personally agree on.

I'm not a teacher, however on the whole I've grown to hold them in the highest regards over the last few years, mainly down to my daughter being severely dyslexic and witnessing how each and every teacher has went way beyond what I thought would have been in their job description to provide her with the assistance she needs - it that doesn't stop when the school bell sounds.

Just thinking, in this case I don't think its down to political correction, more so than using the term "greedy bastards" to provoke a response and incite a bit of hatred along the way.

Personally I think its idiotic for anyone in this current climate to take strike action, however as someone pointed out its perfection legal once the proper course of action is taken - just something I don't personally agree on.
    I agree, one of the main reasons I have a problem with unions is the complete disregard for the madness of conducting industrial action in the current economic climate.
    I'm not a teacher, however on the whole I've grown to hold them in the highest regards over the last few years, mainly down to my daughter being severely dyslexic and witnessing how each and every teacher has went way beyond what I thought would have been in their job description to provide her with the assistance she needs - it that doesn't stop when the school bell sounds.

I wouldn't take that away from any teacher. Good to see they are out there-I'm not commenting on how good they are at their job-more on how ridiculous it is to ballot when they have a relatively stable, well paid job with short working hours.

There are positives and negatives to EVERY job.

Exactly, and teachers have it better than most.. yet they're still trying to hold the country to ransom every few months with strike action.

And no, i haven't worked in a school, but i went to a couple for quite a few years..

Exactly, and teachers have it better than most.. yet they're still trying to hold the country to ransom every few months with strike action.

And no, i haven't worked in a school, but i went to a couple for quite a few years..

Right, like that gives you an insight into all aspects of a teachers working day. Also teaching isnt the same as it was, a hell of a lot more paper work and admin is involved so don't be glib! :pac::pac::pac:

Do primary school teachers have to wipe the kids' arses now?

Don't think so........

Do primary school teachers have to wipe the kids' arses now?

Don't think so........

Ahahahaha .... NOT!!! :pac:

You know i don't think you lot are criticising teachers over fears for children's education or over impending strike action... its blatant jealousy that they work approx 183 ? days a yr while all of you are lucky to get 2 weeks. Get the hell over it, you could have opted for it when you did your leaving if it is the cushy number you all think but you didn't. So quit cribbing!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Some teachers coast through their jobs but others are truly great teacers

I'd say around half are good teachers, the other half are incompetent and couldn't give a crap about their job. It is virtually impossible to get rid of permanent teachers and they know this only too well. What other industry would one get away with this - going into work and not performing? You'd be shown the door pretty fast..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

most teachers work a hell of a lot harder than most guards , unless your based in a rough urban area , a guard is a bit of a doss for the most party , stamping passport application , renewing gun licences , overseeing dole registration or sitting on your arse every week in the district court while your summons for some yong drunk pissing in a hotel door comes up before the judge , thier are obnoxious little brats in every school in the country , most guards are not our tailing mr big drug lords every day

as for nurses , yeah they work hard but they are incredibly well paid by international standards , a grand a week on average , i dont know what it is about nurses in this country , they have a uniquely special place in the hearts of irish people , they are the most sacred of sacred cows , could be something to do with the fact that irish women have traditionally emmigrated to work as nurses , therefore to criticise a nurse is for a sizeable number of the population , to criticize your mum

ps , my mum was a nurse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭stripysocks85

Oh excellent, another teacher bashing thread. How original (!)

Also to add, teachers are merely using the threat of a strike as a way of discouraging the government from further cuts in Education. By all means, raise the taxes, but do not cut any more funds available for special education etc.

We are all fundamentally aware that there is no cash, but there ARE better methods of gaining this 1.3million that the government are hoping to save by cuts in education.

Again, teachers didn't reap many of the rewards that private sector workers did during the good times, and are prepared to pay their fair share, and yes they get good holidays and decent working hours, but please don't forget that they often put in 'behind the scenes' hours.

And really, in a time of economic crisis, is it really wise to rely on the media for battling private sector v public sector, and even within those sectors again? Why not pull together and use our heads for something worthwhile.

Finally, everybody had/has the opportunity to pursue a career in teaching - do it if it's so desirable.

It's not as easy as it looks.

So, there's only 2000 unemployed teachers in Ireland? Well, if that's the case, then teachers obviously haven't felt the recession yet. Time to cut their wages methinks!
    Amazing you haven't tried out for the teaching profession yourself - the easy number it is and all :)

Although with that narrowminded, egotistical and misinformed attitude you wouldn't last very long.

Thankfully, you're not running the country I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Yea because it was the teachers getting payed too much that messed up our economy. Who gives a Fcuk how well payed the people who are educating our children are? Fcuk them! Lets just reduce the pay so that no smart person would want to do the job.

My dad is a teacher and has already had to take a large pay-cut and now they are looking for another one. It takes years to work your way up to good wages as a teacher.

My dad has been a teacher for over 30 years and is very good at his job. If you think that it is an easy job to educate 30, 12 year olds then you must not remember what it was like to be a 12 year old. If you had been working that long at a job and then where told that your pension and pay would be cut I suppose you would be fine about it?

Another thing a series of nationwide meetings to ballot members for industrial action is not the same thing as industrial action!

There is nothing wrong with being in a union!

irish_bob wrote: »
    most teachers work a hell of a lot harder than most guards , unless your based in a rough urban area , a guard is a bit of a doss for the most party , stamping passport application , renewing gun licences , overseeing dole registration or sitting on your arse every week in the district court while your summons for some yong drunk pissing in a hotel door comes up before the judge , thier are obnoxious little brats in every school in the country , most guards are not our tailing mr big drug lords every day

as for nurses , yeah they work hard but they are incredibly well paid by international standards , a grand a week on average , i dont know what it is about nurses in this country , they have a uniquely special place in the hearts of irish people , they are the most sacred of sacred cows , could be something to do with the fact that irish women have traditionally emmigrated to work as nurses , therefore to criticise a nurse is for a sizeable number of the population , to criticize your mum

ps , my mum was a nurse

Wait what? A nurse gets a grand a week? WTF?

Also i think there is a difference the attitude toward nurses V teachers because the perception is that nurses 'get their hands dirty' whereas teachers just sit on their ass and boss children around whilst filing their nails and waiting for 3pm so they could go shopping!!! Its all jealousy!

If you have a problem with any teachers you know, then you should do something about it. Any of the teachers I know work damn hard and put a lot of time and effort into their schoolwork, so I think the teachers you're referring to are in the minority. Like with any job, there are those who are good at it, and those who are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Any key?

Ignorance is bliss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Also, if you think teachers working hours are confined to classroom time than you are seriously deluded.

Well they're certainly confined to non-Summer months :pac: Unless they get the cushy number of correcting exams.

I think we've all had teachers who were terrific and should be paid triple to keep on in the job... and the opposite is the case too. I know which group outnumbered which from my own days and that's the real problem. Not pay or anything.

Amazing you haven't tried out for the teaching profession yourself - the easy number it is and all :)

Although with that narrowminded, egotistical and misinformed attitude you wouldn't last very long.

Thankfully, you're not running the country I suppose.

I don't think he's being narrow-minded in fairness; he's just making a very valid point about there being only 2000 teachers unemployed in the country. 'Only' in relation to other professions.

He mightn't have felt the teaching profession was for him, like it obviously isn't for thousands of teachers in this country, yet they remain at it. Like the teachers who can't control their classrooms, never could, never will be able to do so. It's fine, work away, you're in a permanent position and untouchable.

<Ollie> wrote: »
    I don't think he's being narrow-minded in fairness; he's just making a very valid point about there being only 2000 teachers unemployed in the country. 'Only' in relation to other professions.

He mightn't have felt the teaching profession was for him, like it obviously isn't for thousands of teachers in this country, yet they remain at it. Like the teachers who can't control their classrooms, never could, never will be able to do so. It's fine, work away, you're in a permanent position and untouchable.
    How do you know what situation I am in? You don't know me.

I think there are so many 'facts' thrown about regarding the cushy number teachers are on, but honestly, try and entertain, nurture, teach and so many other things a group of 28 5 year olds.........It's not as easy as I thought it was when I entered college.

How do you know what situation I am in? You don't know me.

I think there are so many 'facts' thrown about regarding the cushy number teachers are on, but honestly, try and entertain, nurture, teach and so many other things a group of 28 5 year olds.........It's not as easy as I thought it was when I entered college.

I wasn't talking about you. I'm talking about teachers in general. It's just so wrong that so many crappy teachers can remain in jobs until their retirement, when they obviously can't do the job. There are some really great teachers out there, but a huge number of truly awful ones too, yet they're untouchable.

I 100% agree. There was one in my school up until this year. I know of private sector jobs where 'clowns' exist also, which is most certainly inconceivable considering there are so many skilled and experienced people unemployed at the moment, yet there are idiots occupying their places.

You make a very good point about "the clowns" in the private sector being unemployed, because you can sack them a lot easier than you can sack a teacher. That's my whole point. You can't deny that permanent teachers are virtually untouchable.

I can't, but I also know of plenty of workers in the private sector, who either because of relationships within the company, or their position in the company, or merely because they've been working there for 20 years that make them virtually impossible to sack also, unless you're prepared for a redundancy fee.

I worked part time in a shop and one of the full timers was a right old wagon, and many customers had complained to the boss but he admitted he couldn't touch her. She was lazy, incompetent, rude, and yet couldn't be touched.

It just seems so strange to me, given all the people I know that recently their jobs (many good, long term employees), yet I've never in my whole life heard of a permanent teacher been sacked.

Why would they lose their jobs if they were good employees? Or are you referring to the recession antics? If so, then many teachers DID lose their jobs through cutbacks, but with a permanent contract you can be offered another job in a nearby school, which means then that those graduating from college have little chance of securing any employment.

Perhaps it's not fair that this happens, and am sure there are some better newly qualified teachers over those in permanent positions, but c'est la vie. And I repeat, there are good and bad workers in EVERY walk of life - from doctors, to bar staff!

Why would they lose their jobs if they were good employees?

Are you serious here? Because they were made redundant, we're in a recession. They didn't want to lose their jobs. Companies go bust, cutbacks in staff etc. My point is teachers are a lot harder to sack than most other employees in this country. It's a fact!!

Oh excellent, another teacher bashing thread. How original (!)

Also to add, teachers are merely using the threat of a strike as a way of discouraging the government from further cuts in Education. By all means, raise the taxes, but do not cut any more funds available for special education etc.

We are all fundamentally aware that there is no cash, but there ARE better methods of gaining this 1.3million that the government are hoping to save by cuts in education.

Again, teachers didn't reap many of the rewards that private sector workers did during the good times, and are prepared to pay their fair share, and yes they get good holidays and decent working hours, but please don't forget that they often put in 'behind the scenes' hours.

horse****e

1st of all , i despise your dishonest attempt to try and associate teacher wage cuts with a loss in special needs teachers , the reality is , cutting wages and cutting services are two entirely different things , if every teacher in the country took a wage cut , thier would be no need to cut the number of special needs teachers and we could also work on reducing class sizes , time and again down the years , teacher have chosen wage hikes at the expense of reduced class sizes just as nurses and doctors have chosen wage hikes over investment in beds , it is a myth that education or health were underfunded in this country , they were malfunded , all the money went on wages

as for your recycled union rhetoric about how ps workers or in this case teachers could have made more money in the private sector during the boom , where exactly could they have made more money , tell me , the unions would have us believe that every one single one of the 350,000 ps workers could have been the next founder of a GOOGLE but instead chose to serve mother ireland during the past decade , its empty rhetoric which doesnt stand up to an ounce of scrutiny , its depression how every single ps worker is always on message to regurgitate such rhetoric , like clones to the last man and woman , not an independant though among them
    And really, in a time of economic crisis, is it really wise to rely on the media for battling private sector v public sector, and even within those sectors again? Why not pull together and use our heads for something worthwhile.

Finally, everybody had/has the opportunity to pursue a career in teaching - do it if it's so desirable.

It's not as easy as it looks.

horse****e

1st of all , i despise your dishonest attempt to try and associate teacher wage cuts with a loss in special needs teachers , the reality is , cutting wages and cutting services are two entirely different things , if every teacher in the country took a wage cut , thier would be no need to cut the number of special needs teachers and we could also work on reducing class sizes , time and again down the years , teacher have chosen wage hikes at the expense of reduced class sizes just as nurses and doctors have chosen wage hikes over investment in beds , it is a myth that education or health were underfunded in this country , they were malfunded , all the money went on wages

as for your recycled union rhetoric about how ps workers or in this case teachers could have made more money in the private sector during the boom , where exactly could they have made more money , tell me , the unions would have us believe that every one single one of the 350,000 ps workers could have been the next founder of a GOOGLE but instead chose to serve mother ireland during the past decade , its empty rhetoric which doesnt stand up to an ounce of scrutiny , its depressing how every single ps worker is always on message to regurgitate such rhetoric , like clones to the last man and woman , not an independant though among them

farmers , vets and mechanics get thier hands dirty too but they dont have the same angelic immage that nurses do , as i said earlier , nurses have a special place in irish peoples hearts , of that their is no doubt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Since when did nursing and teaching become all about the money?

i thought it was a calling to help the weakest in society

Doc wrote: »
    Yea because it was the teachers getting payed too much that messed up our economy. Who gives a Fcuk how well payed the people who are educating our children are? Fcuk them! Lets just reduce the pay so that no smart person would want to do the job.

My dad is a teacher and has already had to take a large pay-cut and now they are looking for another one. It takes years to work your way up to good wages as a teacher.

My dad has been a teacher for over 30 years and is very good at his job. If you think that it is an easy job to educate 30, 12 year olds then you must not remember what it was like to be a 12 year old. If you had been working that long at a job and then where told that your pension and pay would be cut I suppose you would be fine about it?

Another thing a series of nationwide meetings to ballot members for industrial action is not the same thing as industrial action!

There is nothing wrong with being in a union!

years to work up to good wages as a teacher :eek:

they start off on 36 k , thats more than those on the average industrial will ever take home

Since when did nursing and teaching become all about the money?

i thought it was a calling to help the weakest in society

Well come on thats rather idealistic, people need to make a living. Having a love of your job is important but so is having enough money to pay the mortgage!

If you have a problem with any teachers you know, then you should do something about it. Any of the teachers I know work damn hard and put a lot of time and effort into their schoolwork, so I think the teachers you're referring to are in the minority. Like with any job, there are those who are good at it, and those who are not.

What are you talking about? Im sticking up for teachers, im saying thats the preception thats out there!!! You misread!

Any key? wrote: »
    Ignorance is bliss.

You do realise i said thats the perception not my personal opinion!!!